HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.264 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
45 out of 53(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product with a couple of annoying quirks

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Daytona Beach
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ignoring the Windows 8 issues ....
Battery life: very good, screen: magnificent, performance: outstanding. It's solidly built, not too heavy (but if you've never had a 17.3" laptop its size can initially be overwhelming). SIt back, put your feet on the desk, laptop in your lap and it doesn't get too hot. Great job, HP. The GT 740M (upgrade) is not overly impressive (slightly slower than my 3+ year-old Radeon HD 5570) but this is not a product one would buy just to watch movies and browse the internet, so I can live with that. I don't use it to play games. Someone who does may well want a faster graphics card.
The TouchPad is useless for anything more than moving the cursor and clicking. Right-click (two-finger tap) is hit-or-miss; dragging is virtually impossibly. Even if you get an object to 'stick' on the second tap, you're quite likely to drop it anywhere but where you want. So you really need a mouse: problem solved.
I use the Envy for software development and make extensive use of the function keys. Most keyboards allow dual (or triple) functions to be associated with the function keys. The Envy is no different. What is different is that they reversed the logic. So if you need the F12 key, you have to hold down the Fn key (lower left) and push the F12 key (upper right), which means taking your away from the mouse. The default F12 functionality is to turn off the Wi-Fi! Same 'feature' with all the F-keys. Hopefully there is a registry fix to reverse th (il)logic.
The above-mentioned quirks are not enough to detract from the value of this laptop. The overall quality and performance make this an excellent purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hate Windows 8 Love the laptop

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:OK
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Went from Vista to 8, still can't figure out how to do simple things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Torrance, CA`
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop has great speed, an excellent screen and great battery life. As delivered, it was very easy to set up - about 30 minutes to setup both users, the network connections and security software, and start the Win8 Updates. Great job, HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Laptop

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found everything great with this new machine with exception of the touch-pad. I found its use very limiting. Buy yourself a mouse to go with this and all will be great. This is the coolest running laptop I've seen. It doesn't burn you sitting on your lap. Graphics are superb and the backlit keyboard is wonderful. HP does not give much in the way of documentation, but most you can figure out pretty easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vey stable, fast machie

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Martinsburg, West Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Use this machine to DJ using various audio, video and karaoke formats all at the same time. Fast processing. Also Haswell processor much cooler than my other HP17 17" laptop. To describe in one word. SWEET!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than expected

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm not the type to write up major reviews but I must say that this computer was more than I thought it would be. It is pretty thin and light to the point I feel I'll break it. Aside from that I love this computer. It is way larger than I needed but it is a wonderful device to do work on and just browse for awhile.
Personally I'm not a huge fan of Windows 8 but I'm getting accustomed to it and it does flow really well with Hp. I highly recommend this computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far its great

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, Alabama
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only thing I would change would be more battery life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Machine!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Worth
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is fast, but MS Office 2013 needs some colors. lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Glasgow,Kentucky
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best laptop I have ever had . Love it. The only thing I regret is not having the backlit keyboard. Definitely 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!! No complaints on service or shipping. Way to go HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big and beautiful

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fontana, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this laptop for a couple of weeks now and love it! I think one of my favorite features is hardly even mentioned in the laptop description. It can keep all of your passwords stored for websites and you just need to scan your fingerprint to access the page...genius! The display is big and beautiful as well.
Only thing that didn't exceed my expectations is the Beats audio. Not that great in my opinion. Oh well. Love it overall!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Madison County, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing computer. Was very easy to set up and use, and is packed with features that work well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

luv it!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered my laptop HP ENVY 17 (without touch screen) for college. I was on the fence about choosing the screen size for awhile. I am very happy I went with the 17". It will come in handy when viewing large spreadsheets. I have no complaints about my laptop but Windows 8 slows me down a bit. It will be perfectly fine once I get used to it. So strange having the start menu as an actual screen but hey, things are always changing and you have to learn to adapt otherwise you sink. Thank you HP, great job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than a Dell

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
This is our second HP. I love the ease of access and speed. So far no issues and hope it stays that way. My prior Dells had memory and out of box failures and the costumer service was awful.
I'm a very happy owner of this Envy 17
Thank you HP
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best laptop for the money

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty decent laptop.With all features and in the price budget.
I tried some different brands and finally decided to stick to HP.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the ticket.

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northwest
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 2nd HP laptop that I have purchased. This is a very nice laptop. As is the case with HP they make it so easy. Just turn on and the system does all the work in set up and registering all the programs. I love the ease of use and operation. Considering letting this one replace my desktop. Would purchase again and again.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't Envy Me - Get One of Your Own!!

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SF Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had my build-to-spec HP Envy 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC for over eight days now, and l-o-v-e it!! It is the perfect size and weight for my needs. Large enough to watch an HD movie and feel totally immersed, but light enough to easily pack with me for all my portable computing needs. One of the best features is the backlit keyboard: perfect for low- and no-light situations. The design is sleek and eye-catching, while not being showy or pretentious. With its max 16G DIMMS, it performs heavy memory-based multi-tasking with ease (Word/Excel/Powerpoint concurrently in use), and with the upgraded GPU does just as well in the graphics-overload arena of gameplay. The quality of components for the price makes this a top product for a fastidious person who not only has been an HP customer for over 20 years, but has always built her own desktop PCs. Good job, HP!!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Envy 17t-j000

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sumter, SC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this for my wife as an early college graduation gift. She LOVES it! I'd jacked up the specs a bit with screen and video card, blu-ray player. She's still figuring out the finer points of Windows 8, but she's liking it more every day.
This home has five HPs running, one over eight years old. No problems from any of them.
HP rocks!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this model when the hard drive on my 3-year-old HP dv7t gave out. I'm extremely happy with the purchase so far. The computer arrived at my door only a day after the original build date estimate, so I'm very pleased with the turnaround.
This computer performs like a champ. It stays very cool, and the fans only speed up when gaming and multitasking. The hybrid drive and mSSD make the system very snappy on startup, and the great processor and memory make for no problems with multiple tabs/windows open.
I find the touchpad great to use if my hands are completely dry, after tweaking the cursor speed up a little bit. It can get a little gummy if you press too hard or get sweaty fingers. The multi-touch is great. I prefer to keep a wireless mouse regardless, though.
Windows 8 is no problem at all. It's all of my favorite things about Windows 7 plus new options to explore if I want to.
So far, so good!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coming from a Toshiba Satellite A665-S6070. I received mine 4 days ago. The first thing I noticed was that Beats Audio sounded pretty bad. Did some research and today I finally got it sounding incredible. Everything with this laptop so far is superb. Copying files to a usb3 drive is blazing fast. I have 2TB of hard drive space and nvidia, SSD, screen and backlit. Good choice if you want power and great screen real estate. Don't play any PC games, so this My first HP...
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a nice size.

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love how quickly it responds.
I wish it came with more information on all that it does. Still wondering around it.
My last computer was an HP and it was very reliable. That's why I got another and I'm hoping it will be the same.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.