HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.264 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
45 out of 53(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beautiful but flawed

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall:
The Envy 17t-J000 Quad Edition is a beautiful notebook, but several design decisions by HP make it a poor performer for the cost. If you're looking for a gaming notebook I'd suggest looking elsewhere, there are better performers in this price range, and great performers for just a bit more. If you are looking for a multimedia powerhouse, there are equivalent performers available much cheaper. Overall I found the performance to be equal or worse than my 2011 Envy DV6t-6100 with a Radeon 6770, 7200RPM drive, and Sandy Bridge 2630QM quad core i7.
Hopefully HP will address some of these flaws in a refresh at a later date.
Pros:
+ Quad Core Intel i7 4700MQ Haswell improved performance and battery life over previous generations
+ Switching Graphics (Intel & Nvidia) seem to work flawlessly, 3D applications were detected and run with the discrete card automatically.
+ Matte finish display is bright and has good viewing angles
+ Full Size Keyboard + Numpad
+ Speakers sound very good for a notebook.
+ Backlit keyboard option
+ Metal "top" is fairly solid, not as solid as a unibody but probably as close as you can get. The entire laptop with the exception of the keyboard (see below) and tray loading DVD drive feels very solid.
+ Limited amount of "bloatware". Aside from the requisite HP support apps, only a handful of third party apps come pre-installed. The ones that are are mostly useful (for example box.com, a dropbox like cloud storage service, Cyberlink dvd and blu-ray playing software).
+ Dual Hard Drive Option (The caddy for the second drive can be hard to find, and costs almost as much as ordering with dual drives. Recommend if you want two drives, just order with 2)
+ At under 6.5 pounds this is one of the lightest notebooks available with this size screen
+ New power supplies are smaller and lighter (but have different size jack, see below)
Cons:
- Slow 5400 RPM hard drives. Extremely poor random I/O performance. If you do decide to purchase this notebook spend the extra for the mSATA card for some improvement, or better yet save the money and invest in a SSD drive.
- Nvidia GT 740M is a poor performer. The card is only GDDR3. I found even older games were barely playable at high, and not playable at ultra settings.
- Poor tactile feedback from keyboard, and a lot (1/8" +) of flex on left side while typing (WASD key area).
- Track pad clicking is so bad as to be basically unusable. Not a big deal if you use an external mouse (FYI: the touchpad can be disabled in MOUSE control panel, not from synaptics/touchpad control panel, when using an external mouse).
- Side usb ports and headphone jack on the right are located such that anything plugged into them interferes with mouse operation
- No slot load DVD/Blu-Ray option
- No 9 cell battery option like previous models
- Single Headphone/Microphone Jack. I can see doing this on smaller notebooks and ultrabooks, but surely this 17" notebook has room for separate jacks?
- New Power Supply uses a 4.5mm plug, compared to the 7.4mm plugs previous Pavilion and Envy models used. The replacement/spare power supplies for this unit are (as of this writing) not available on HP parts website. Multiple attempts with HP support to order a replacement power supply resulted in the older 7.4mm jack size ones being shipped to me. FYI: This includes the power supplies listed as accessories when you purchase/configure the notebook! I did find that the 7.4mm to 4.5mm “dongle” for Dell XPS 12/13/MLK systems will work with older HP Smart Power Supplies and this notebook, however use at your own risk as this will likely void your warranty.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the buy

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I was first shopping around for a new PC, one that could replace my faulty Toshiba, I was a little skeptical on what brand to buy. But after a few months of looking around, I decided to go with HP. They have a good reputation with hardware not malfunctioning - I'm looking at you, Toshiba Satellite - and anyone I have asked about them hasn't had many bad things to say. So at that point, it was just a matter of settling on which one to get. I wanted the latest i7 processor, and it was only by chance that this model was released when I finally had the money to buy it.
I received my computer almost three weeks ago, and I am still very much in love with it. I'm used to big computers, so size was not an issue for me, and it's not difficult for me to adapt to new things, so the unique features didn't take much to get used to. It was a little disorienting at first, having the mouse buttons hidden beneath a full trackpad, and I think it took me a moment to figure out hitting the "function" key *before* pressing F5 (which turns on the backlit keyboard), but apart from that it was perfect from the start. Cosmetically, it's sleek and shiny, and it looks really classy whenever I pull it out of my admittedly ginormous carrying case.
As for performance, I have been consistently impressed. I upgraded to the most powerful processor I could afford, and dished out some extra for NVIDIA graphics. I have not been disappointed. My display is crisp and clear, and the CPU is barely a whisper. If the computer gets a little warm, CoolSense kicks on and takes care of it right away. This thing runs like a well-oiled machine. I have yet to test it out on resource-intensive gaming (I am itching to install Skyrim on this baby and see what it can do), but I have a feeling that it won't let me down. This is definitely a computer to keep for the long haul, and with the option to extend the warranty, I will definitely be holding on to this PC.
My configuration:
• Windows 8 64
• 4th generation Intel Core i7-4702MQ Processor
• Included 2 Year Warranty
• NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M Graphics with 2048MB of dedicated video memory
• 17.3-inch diagonal HD+ BrightView LED-backlit Display (1600 x 900)
• 16GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 1.5TB 5400 rpm Dual Hard Drive
• NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
• No Additional Office Software
• No additional security software
• 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
• Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
• Backlit Keyboard
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam w/ integrated digital mic
• 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

First impression: snappy with deeply flawed inputs

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Morganville, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance-wise, I'm very happy with this laptop. Once some of the preinstalled programs are removed, it's quite a workhorse. The 4th generation CPU appears to make a difference in terms of heat generation and power usage. My impression (keeping in mind that I've only had it for a day) is fairly positive in that respect.
Where it really falls apart is in the physical design of the laptop, particularly the keyboard and mouse. This thing is huge - it has a 17" display - matte and pleasantly resistant to glare. It has two drive bays, a discovery which I was banking on because I was previously told that it didn't, so if you want to add an SSD, you can do it (you'll need a drive caddy).
With all of that room, you would think HP would have the space to put a nice keyboard on it. They do, but they didn't - the keyboard is tiny (30% or so of the total size of the laptop body) and the rest of the body is the laptop equivalent of whitespace. They had A LOT more space they could have used if they chose to. The key spacing is weird, such that you will find yourself hitting home instead of backspace most of the time, and the up and down arrow keys are TINY compared with the needlessly large left and right ones, making it impossible to scroll up with the keyboard. For a coder such as myself (taking your hands off of the keyboard during development can slow you down), this is a problem. Some keys appear to "miss" when pressed (particularly when hitting the same key twice in a row, even when you hit them slowly and HARD), and I often find letters missing from my words despite hitting all of the right keys. I am by no means a poor typist, but this laptop makes me into one.
Onto the mouse: I've never seen such a poor trackpad in my life. In a nod to Apple, there are no buttons (or as the laptop wants to type, "butons") on the trackpad. Instead, they are embedded in the moveable area of the trackpad itself. This is really annoying because you can no longer click the mouse without moving it at the same time. If you rest your finger on the button area while trying to move the mouse as well (you know, "dragging"), the touchpad will interpret that as a multitouch gesture and try to zoom rather than moving the mouse. Then there's the matter of clicking - you can still click, but this takes a great deal of force - enough to move the laptop. You can get around left-clicking by pressing the touchpad itself, but you're up the creek if you ever need to use the right mouse button ("buton").
The design of this laptop strikes me as a MacBook lookalike, executed with mimicry but not understanding (also, the weird half-rounded shape of the trackpad is unattractive in its current location and size). As a result, there are several deep design flaws that just make this laptop unlivable for me despite its performance. These could in theory be solved with an external keyboard and mouse, but what is a laptop for if not standalone portability? I'm afraid it will have to go back despite the fact that it is a capable machine functionally.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Value with some problems

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USa
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This review is about my HP ENVY 17 with i7 4900MQ at 2.8Ghz, with 8 gigs of RAM and a 1T hard drive, purchased July 2013.
I bought this laptop as a replacement to my 10 year old Dell Inspiron 9200 (has a 17" display and fabulous audio).
There are great, good, poor and bad features about this laptop. It's hard to please everyone on everything.
The great:
The 17.3” HD display (1920 x 1080) is fabulous. It took a couple of hours to get it calibrated, but once done, it has excellent color depth, clarity and visibility. It is NOT a touch screen - thank you very much.
I also popped for the NIVIDA GT 740M dedicated GPU along with the standard Intel HD Graphics 4600. It clicks along very well, with hang-ups attributed to Win 8 Pro and flaky drivers.
The back-lit keyboard is great.
The HP SimplePass where you use a finger swipe to log-on is a very nice feature.
The good:
The final price was very competitive. No complaints about price or delivery time.
I ordered directly from HP and had most of the "bloat-ware" not installed. It still came with some HP “bloat-ware” programs, some cause pop-ups surfing the Internet. I deleted most of the bloat-ware and that stopped the pop-ups.
The integration of two GPUs is a bit odd. You don't have complete control over which GPU is used for specific applications. You can specify many applications to use a specific GPU, just not every application.
I've had absolutely no issues with heat. Benchmarking the NIVIDA GPU caused the fan to kick on, but it wasn't too hot to have on my lap.
I don’t like the keyboard much. It doesn’t have a tactile feel and is easy to mistype things.
I don’t like the touchpad much either. It’s too large and is very sensitive. I’m constantly moving and clicking things I didn’t want to.
Battery time is acceptable but nothing to brag about. I've gotten almost four hours out of it, watching videos with audio at full volume. The battery is a 6 cell. I Wish HP had an 8 cell battery.
The poor:
The touch-pad is overly sensitive and it scrolls too quickly. WIN 8 has gotten "confused" a few times and caused all keyboard entries to be Fn or Alt entries. I figured out that by clicking both Ctrl keys gets it back functioning correctly.
The hard drive isn’t all that fast, 5400 rpm, and I don’t know how much cache it has. It’s the lowest scoring device on the Device Performance tests.
WIN 8 Pro has issues. You'll either love it or hate it. I can't wait for version 8.1 to come out, and it won't be a second too soon. Don’t believe the quick start function. Yeah, it brings up the Start Page quickly, but it still takes some time to really fully load.
The bad:
Beats Audio
I know laptop audio speakers are not intended to be all that good, but the speakers on this laptop along with Beats Audio are just a joke. The clarity is fine, but there is very little volume. I generally have it turned all the way up, and yes, I did review the Forums and talked to Tech Support and optimized it the best it can be. It doesn't hold a candle to my 10 year old Dell. There's no SPDIF or TOSlink output or any Dolby 5.1 functions.
Beats Audio is so bad that I almost returned the laptop for the lame audio performance. Beats Audio will not come close to filling a small room with audio. You'll have the laptop directly in front at of you at full volume to hear clearly. It's really very bad.
I have found out that placing the laptop on a hard surface, like a desk or TV Tray projects the sound a lot better than having it on your lap, bed or any soft surface.
The audio has no Dolby or other sound options, just plain old stereo, even going out the HDMI port to a capable HDTV. It has IDT High Definition Audio CODEC, but don’t let that name confuse you. There’s nothing “High Definition” about the audio performance.
Overall, I give this laptop 3 stars. The Beats Audio is a major factor in my rating.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A dream notebook

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This notebook has incredible power, options, screen, and it is just easy and simple to use. I have had HP laptops for the last 10 years, and I just can say this notebook is gorgeous.
My set is: Intel Pentium I-7 4700, Hard drive - 1 TB, Screen 1600:900, Blue ray player-DVD writer, Nvidia Geforce Graphics Card-2GB, Lighted keyboard, Bluetooth....
Excellent laptop performance with computer has been very quiet.
Highly recommend this laptop!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome! After the downgrade

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let me start by saying I order this on June 16th and received it by July 5th (China to Pennsylvania). This happens to be an excellent laptop, but I didn't like windows 8 so I downgraded my machine. I would like to give some advice to others who are on the fence about this computer because of the operating system. It can be downgraded but to want to save you some of the headache that I ran into while trying to figure out why Windows 7 installation CD would stop after loading the initial files.
First, you must enter BIOS and enable legacy or you will be pulling your hair out for hours, then change the boot order to allow CD to boot first (normal stuff). Second, you must set USB 3.0 to auto or your external drives, wireless mouse, etc won't work (I almost went back to Window 8 before finding this). After that, you can pretty much use all the drivers found for this laptop for Windows 7. I also, used drivers for HP Pavilion 17 for windows 7 (I don't think this was necessary but I started there at first just because I thought the Envy stuff would work with 7 but I was wrong)
I got everything working again but the Ethernet controller, PCI Device, cyberlink wouldn't run because it said I needed an authorized machine???) NO IDEA! So you have an unknown device, also the USB serial controller has no driver. I felt this was all minor stuff that I probably could resolve but I been fooling around with this for an entire day and I need it functioning for work, so I let all that go for now.
Lastly, I want to leave you with the spec of my machine and I hope this review helps others when thinking about purchasing and downgrading.
Final note: Super fast on start-up and initialing programs! I could be happier with this purchase.
HP ENVY 17t Quad
• Windows 8 64
• 4th generation Intel Core i7-4700MQ Processor
• Included 2 Year Warranty
• NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M Graphics with 2048MB of dedicated video memory
• 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080)
• 16GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
• NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
• No Additional Office Software
• No additional security software
• 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
• Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
• Standard Keyboard
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam w/ integrated digital mic
• 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but not without limitations and issues.

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The 17-inch screen and the backlit keyboard are nice features. The available memory and processor are what I needed. Contrary to other users, my upstairs network reception and bandwidth with a downstairs Cisco Linksys WRT160N router was fine, especially when I had to WiFi 500 GB of Windows Updates. It has a nice slim design and it is very light in comparison to my HDX18.
As for issues, the hard disk availability was limited to 5400 RPM, and no acceleration feature can be applied if you order more than 8 GB RAM. The system hung four times into a condition beyond intervention by the Task Manager, which was the primary reason I returned it. It was configured for Windows 8 from the factory in China, but it needed 56 updates from Microsoft before it was stable. Norton is an unacceptable CPU hog, and the free Windows Defender is more than adequate. Needs a HDMI to VGA connection. System comes from China, so expect a long delivery wait.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top laptop with great specs

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shopped around for roughly a month before deciding to finally go with this laptop. Had a budget of about $800 max in order to justify price/technological advancements in next 6 months. with the combination of the coupon codes and sale prices on HP.com I was able to stay within that budget and get the latest laptop and don't regret it one bit. This model has everything I wanted:
-Newest most efficient processor,
-Lots of expandable ram,
-Big hard drive with option to add a 2nd hard drive in future,
-Backlit keyboard (only option I added from stock configuration),
-17" screen,
-Bluray/DVD Burner drive for movie watching and sending Bluray movie signal to TV and installing programs.
-One of the slimmest profiles and lightest weights compared to Toshiba, Dell, & Lenovo brands with similar build specs.
-Longer standard warranty (2 full years) than other brands which gives me a bit more peace of mind
Performance-wise in the last 3 days I have been impressed, battery life with no tweaking after first boot has been 5 hrs+ (5hr 20min if you want to get specific). With additional tweaking and battery conserving options enabled I think 7hrs+ can easily be achieved. 9.5hrs according to HP website may be a stretch in real life usage if you ask me. For a 17" laptop with some of the latest options and specs that's pretty good compared to the 4.5-5.5hrs on other comparable laptops. When you take into account that other brands have similar specced laptops for $1000+ this laptop starts looking even better.
I'd recommend this laptop to anyone looking for a lot of screen real estate that is into video related usage.
Video editing tasks shouldn't be a problem with the Intel integrated graphics HD4600 processor (not like HP site stating HD4000 which is incorrect) according to several reviews online by tech sites etc. If you are into gaming (which I'm not) it should do fine for most games at 3/4 settings, but there is also the dedicated video card option that is getting good reviews for gaming scenarios but has been reported that laptops run warmer and battery life is a little less.
I also do highly recommend the backlit keyboard when choosing options. It saves a lot of frustration when trying t find buttons in dark room.
Audio sounds great. clear and fuller sounding than other brands I tried out.
Fans are undetectable and laptop stays very cool both physically and by monitoring software I installed
The only bad thing I can report so far would be that MAYBE I should have waited for the 17t touchsmart model but then again that would have taken me out of my budget. So to each their own in that department.
Overall I say this laptop is a great choice for the price, build quality, standard specs/features and available expandability in the future.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Network card not great for me

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Asheville, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I have an older laptop that works fine in my living room. The network card in the Envy would not work unless it was closer to the router. I upgraded my router firmware, played with all different setting according to the Intel site, but nothing helped. I can't see buying a wireless laptop and have to sit by the router to use it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This Is A Great Computer

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have purchased the HP Envy 17t-J000 Quad Edition Notebook recently, I also purchased Microsoft Office Home & Student 2013 in addition to this computer. My brother & I have had this computer for one month now & it is working smooth as silk. The Intel processor is amazingly fast, as good as it gets for a laptop. The integrated Intel HD graphics works seamlessly to save power & still provide us the power we need to get stuff done. The NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M is excellent, however we would have preferred a NVIDIA GTX 700 series graphics processor. The 8GB of system memory is very good & very fast, running at 1600MHz! We highly recommend the acceleration cache. The Beats Audio from this computer is excellent. This computer has all the ports we need, however we do miss the VGA out port (for monitors). Intel makes up for this by having the ability to connect to multiple wireless displays thru Intel HD graphics. We would recommend this computer to anyone who needs to get work done fast & efficiently.
Our Customized HP Computer:
Windows 8 64
System Recovery DVD with Windows 8 64
4th generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4800MQ Processor
NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M Graphics with 2048MB of dedicated video memory
17.3-inch diagonal HD+ BrightView LED-backlit Display (1600 x 900)
8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
24GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
Standard Keyboard
HP TrueVision HD Webcam w/ integrated digital mic
802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big and beautiful

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fontana, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this laptop for a couple of weeks now and love it! I think one of my favorite features is hardly even mentioned in the laptop description. It can keep all of your passwords stored for websites and you just need to scan your fingerprint to access the page...genius! The display is big and beautiful as well.
Only thing that didn't exceed my expectations is the Beats audio. Not that great in my opinion. Oh well. Love it overall!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Fast, Very Sturdy, Good Value

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Williamsburg, Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a desktop replacement laptop, make no mistake. This is not something you are whipping out on the airplane, the Starbucks bistro table, or anywhere else but an office desk or meeting room table. It's big and barely (and I mean, barely) fits in any of my standard laptop bags and backpacks (including Targus varieties), so if you are planning on shuttling around with this, budget for a new bag.
It's extremely fast - in fact, the only way it could be faster is if it had a solid state drive (SSD); I have one on my ultrabook (that I use for travel only) so I can guarantee you that's the only speed topper.
Windows 8 is very responsive on this (and I won't devolve into a "what was MS thinking" critique as that doesn't have much to do with the laptop itself). HP has really cut down on the bloatware that comes along with it, which is really nice (mind you, it's all relative, but compare it to some of HP's competitors).
The hardware is quiet. After a month of usage, I still can't tell if its on without sitting at it or otherwise going up and putting my hands on it. After usage for 8 hours straight, it wasn't any hotter than any other laptop I've ever used in 16+ years, and it was definitely cooler than many others on the market (Yes, I'm looking at you Lenovo).
My wish list for the next version of this has one item on it: a lit keyboard. I've seen other reviewers suggest a touch-screen, but I've had mixed experiences with those over the past two years. I just don't think the technology is there on a consistent, durable basis yet. And consistency and durability is what you want with a desktop replacement.
Graphics are very nice. I edited photos on it (mind you, I'm doing minor stuff like retouching to eliminate spots or redeye, cropping, etc. - I'm not a professional photographer) and played some graphic-based games (largely Civ V and SimCity 3). Went along just fine.
Strongly recommended if a true desktop replacement is what you're in the market for.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but with some flaws

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First the good. HP allows you to customize this computer to add some really nice features. I upgraded my system to include the i7-4900 and the NVIDA 740 graphics card (which is ok, but not high end). It woudl have been nice if they offered 7200 rpm hard drives instead of the slower 5400 rpm. The touch pad on this laptop is not very fun to use and can be frustrating. The keyboard layout is not great and I find myself making more typos than usual. Windows 8, if you haven't heard already, is also not very fun to use.
My recommendation would be to check it out in a store before buying and make sure you can live with the short comings of this laptop. I like what's under the hood, but I think a lot of the user interface could have been better.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wireless Network card is not great

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Toronto, Canada
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is too late.....I already changed my laptop last month before HP offered me a favorite price and payment method. I have used my old laptop exactly 5 years and suddenly motherboard gone bad and so I replaced with new one as a repeated customer.The new laptop that I have similar machine HP offered here is great except only one thing, that is Wireless Network Adapter built in (Intel (R) Centrino (R) Wireless-N 2230). I played around as a well experienced user so many times but wireless connection is not stable unless I have to place the computer near the router which has worked perfectly for my old Windows 7 HP laptop. I eventually replaced my old router with AC-1600, which cost me another $149.99 in addition to the cost of new computer ($899). Now it is working perfect any place in my home. Isn't the wireless card built in the machine supposed to work with any type of router or modem with wireless signal ??? Watch out the new HP laptop.... too new to adopt old router(?) unless there is a way to get around to make it work. That I do not know.
Charles
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this model when the hard drive on my 3-year-old HP dv7t gave out. I'm extremely happy with the purchase so far. The computer arrived at my door only a day after the original build date estimate, so I'm very pleased with the turnaround.
This computer performs like a champ. It stays very cool, and the fans only speed up when gaming and multitasking. The hybrid drive and mSSD make the system very snappy on startup, and the great processor and memory make for no problems with multiple tabs/windows open.
I find the touchpad great to use if my hands are completely dry, after tweaking the cursor speed up a little bit. It can get a little gummy if you press too hard or get sweaty fingers. The multi-touch is great. I prefer to keep a wireless mouse regardless, though.
Windows 8 is no problem at all. It's all of my favorite things about Windows 7 plus new options to explore if I want to.
So far, so good!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great engineering workstation

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:United States
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this laptop as a desktop replacement for college. I am majoring in electrical engineering and while I won't have to use that much CAD software, I figured that I needed a laptop that would last for 4 years and that meant some major performance upgrades in this laptop. The i7-4700MQ is a decent, and still top of the line processor, but I really wanted some more performance in this machine so, I upgraded to the i7-4900MQ. I think that was the best decision I ever made in a laptop build because this laptop boots up really fast and it really feels like a top of the line sports-car. It was a given that I needed a discrete GPU and full HD screen, and There is absolutely no lag in the graphics whatsoever and the full HD screen is just great on this 17" laptop.
I was quite skeptical about the audio on this computer, but it is really loud and hats off to HP for putting in a discrete audio amp for the Headphone jack! The headphone jack can drive 64 Ohm headphones easily and I think it can definitely drive even 300 Ohm headphones pretty loud! Although, the audio wasn't a major factor in choosing this computer, it was a pleasant surprise and makes using this laptop much more enjoyable.
I got the backlit keyboard and wifi + bluetooth upgrade. Another great feature is that the laptop comes with a Blu-Ray player standard, And as I configured my computer I put 2TB of storage + the 24GB cache which is great since it boots up fast and I have plenty of storage for media and other files.
There aren't really any downsides to this computer, It has everything I need + More, so I am really happy with it!
My Configuration:
• Windows 8 64
• 4th generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4900MQ Processor
• Included 2 Year Warranty
• NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M Graphics with 2048MB of dedicated video memory
• 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080)
• 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 2TB 5400 rpm Dual Hard Drive
• 24GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
• No Additional Office Software
• No additional security software
• 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
• Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
• Backlit Keyboard
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam w/ integrated digital mic
• 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice system - some annoying limitations

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Park City, UT
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm OK overall with the system. But, the following are annoying:
- Sharp edge on front of system cuts into the palms if the touchpad is used frequently. Can also cut into the wrists if laptop is positioned to high. Obviously this sharp edge design decision was made by the "form over function" marketing folks to make it look cool ascetically. But, my palms are sore enough after a couple of hours of using the system that I'm considering returning it for this reason.
- I often use the keyboard to copy/cut/paste using the Insert key (e.g. <cntrl><insert> to paste). This no longer works on the Envy and actually removes what I'm trying to copy from memory. Of course, I can use the <cntrl> c, <cntrl> v to cut/paste, but its a learning curve.
- Batter life is Good. But, don't expect to get the 8 or 9 hours HP advertises. Real world its 3-4 hours with normal usage. Doing a lot of graphics/video editing or watching a movie or anything requiring a lot of hard drive access will cut this down to 1-2 hours.
- Finger print scanner is somewhat unreliable. Supposed to be able to swipe a finger over the scanner to be able to log in. About 1/4 of the time this doesn't work properly and I have to manually log in.
- Had a couple of HP System messages saying the Smart AC power supply was under powered and I should get a more powerful one so performance isn't impacted. This is the power supply (90W) that came with the system -- and while it doesn't appear to affect anything, HP should have shipped the laptop with a more powerful one if the system needs it.
Pros:
- Very light for a 17" system
- System seems pretty fast ... this is my perception, I haven't run any CPUMark tests.
- Display is Great!!
- Keyboard has a nice feel for touch typists (I can type about 50 wpm)
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vey stable, fast machie

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Martinsburg, West Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Use this machine to DJ using various audio, video and karaoke formats all at the same time. Fast processing. Also Haswell processor much cooler than my other HP17 17" laptop. To describe in one word. SWEET!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than expected

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm not the type to write up major reviews but I must say that this computer was more than I thought it would be. It is pretty thin and light to the point I feel I'll break it. Aside from that I love this computer. It is way larger than I needed but it is a wonderful device to do work on and just browse for awhile.
Personally I'm not a huge fan of Windows 8 but I'm getting accustomed to it and it does flow really well with Hp. I highly recommend this computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The touchpad needs work

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the backlighting on the keyboard, but the touchpad could use some work. I find it selects something when I was only scrolling. The scrolling is not the best either. I either touch too hard or not hard enough. I'm hoping to get used to it after a while, but it's been a couple of weeks and I haven't gotten the hang of it yet. The performance is good, and the battery life is decent. I usually like upgrading to the latest technology, but I find myself missing my old laptop. Sometimes newer is not better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.