HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.264 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
45 out of 53(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product with a couple of annoying quirks

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Daytona Beach
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ignoring the Windows 8 issues ....
Battery life: very good, screen: magnificent, performance: outstanding. It's solidly built, not too heavy (but if you've never had a 17.3" laptop its size can initially be overwhelming). SIt back, put your feet on the desk, laptop in your lap and it doesn't get too hot. Great job, HP. The GT 740M (upgrade) is not overly impressive (slightly slower than my 3+ year-old Radeon HD 5570) but this is not a product one would buy just to watch movies and browse the internet, so I can live with that. I don't use it to play games. Someone who does may well want a faster graphics card.
The TouchPad is useless for anything more than moving the cursor and clicking. Right-click (two-finger tap) is hit-or-miss; dragging is virtually impossibly. Even if you get an object to 'stick' on the second tap, you're quite likely to drop it anywhere but where you want. So you really need a mouse: problem solved.
I use the Envy for software development and make extensive use of the function keys. Most keyboards allow dual (or triple) functions to be associated with the function keys. The Envy is no different. What is different is that they reversed the logic. So if you need the F12 key, you have to hold down the Fn key (lower left) and push the F12 key (upper right), which means taking your away from the mouse. The default F12 functionality is to turn off the Wi-Fi! Same 'feature' with all the F-keys. Hopefully there is a registry fix to reverse th (il)logic.
The above-mentioned quirks are not enough to detract from the value of this laptop. The overall quality and performance make this an excellent purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hate Windows 8 Love the laptop

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:OK
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Went from Vista to 8, still can't figure out how to do simple things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Torrance, CA`
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop has great speed, an excellent screen and great battery life. As delivered, it was very easy to set up - about 30 minutes to setup both users, the network connections and security software, and start the Win8 Updates. Great job, HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Some Annoying Issues, but Still Worth It

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I chose the HP Envy because it was the only laptop I could find that fit my desired specs. It has a true HD screen, a discrete graphics card, 16gb of RAM and it's still the lightest laptop I've ever owned, plus it has a pretty decent battery life (4-5 hours).
For the most part I am very pleased with its performance - I'm even getting used to Win8! Despite the overall positive experience, I have experienced a few very annoying problems.
1) The screen's viewing angle is not great. I find it much more straining to read on this laptop than my previous one (a Dell XPS, also with a true HD screen).
2) The wireless card is horrible. I have never had problems with my wireless before but this one will drop me to limited status or disconnect me entirely while I'm in the same room as my router. It's gotten to the point where I am seriously considering a usb dongle for wi-fi instead.
3) The trackpad. I thought I would adjust to it after a week but I still find myself aggravated with how this trackpad works. I hate the integrated button design and often find myself right clicking by accident since it's impossible to tell which side you're on when you're not looking at your hands. I also find that the trackpad is less accurate than many others I have used. The two-finger scrolling is a neat feature though.
Despite the negative aspects, some of which are quite annoying, I will be keeping my laptop as the combination of available features, battery life, and weight are not found anywhere else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Laptop

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found everything great with this new machine with exception of the touch-pad. I found its use very limiting. Buy yourself a mouse to go with this and all will be great. This is the coolest running laptop I've seen. It doesn't burn you sitting on your lap. Graphics are superb and the backlit keyboard is wonderful. HP does not give much in the way of documentation, but most you can figure out pretty easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vey stable, fast machie

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Martinsburg, West Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Use this machine to DJ using various audio, video and karaoke formats all at the same time. Fast processing. Also Haswell processor much cooler than my other HP17 17" laptop. To describe in one word. SWEET!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than expected

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm not the type to write up major reviews but I must say that this computer was more than I thought it would be. It is pretty thin and light to the point I feel I'll break it. Aside from that I love this computer. It is way larger than I needed but it is a wonderful device to do work on and just browse for awhile.
Personally I'm not a huge fan of Windows 8 but I'm getting accustomed to it and it does flow really well with Hp. I highly recommend this computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome laptop

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every aspect of the his laptop is great. I have had this laptop for over 2 months now and have not had any problems with it.. I would recommended either taking the hybrid drive or the ssd cache. The Nvidia graphics are decent and can play most games on medium settings. The back lit keyboard is also a nice add on. My only minor con is that the keyboard flexes on the left side
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but not without limitations and issues.

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The 17-inch screen and the backlit keyboard are nice features. The available memory and processor are what I needed. Contrary to other users, my upstairs network reception and bandwidth with a downstairs Cisco Linksys WRT160N router was fine, especially when I had to WiFi 500 GB of Windows Updates. It has a nice slim design and it is very light in comparison to my HDX18.
As for issues, the hard disk availability was limited to 5400 RPM, and no acceleration feature can be applied if you order more than 8 GB RAM. The system hung four times into a condition beyond intervention by the Task Manager, which was the primary reason I returned it. It was configured for Windows 8 from the factory in China, but it needed 56 updates from Microsoft before it was stable. Norton is an unacceptable CPU hog, and the free Windows Defender is more than adequate. Needs a HDMI to VGA connection. System comes from China, so expect a long delivery wait.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wireless Network card is not great

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Toronto, Canada
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is too late.....I already changed my laptop last month before HP offered me a favorite price and payment method. I have used my old laptop exactly 5 years and suddenly motherboard gone bad and so I replaced with new one as a repeated customer.The new laptop that I have similar machine HP offered here is great except only one thing, that is Wireless Network Adapter built in (Intel (R) Centrino (R) Wireless-N 2230). I played around as a well experienced user so many times but wireless connection is not stable unless I have to place the computer near the router which has worked perfectly for my old Windows 7 HP laptop. I eventually replaced my old router with AC-1600, which cost me another $149.99 in addition to the cost of new computer ($899). Now it is working perfect any place in my home. Isn't the wireless card built in the machine supposed to work with any type of router or modem with wireless signal ??? Watch out the new HP laptop.... too new to adopt old router(?) unless there is a way to get around to make it work. That I do not know.
Charles
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Network card not great for me

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Asheville, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I have an older laptop that works fine in my living room. The network card in the Envy would not work unless it was closer to the router. I upgraded my router firmware, played with all different setting according to the Intel site, but nothing helped. I can't see buying a wireless laptop and have to sit by the router to use it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far its great

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, Alabama
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only thing I would change would be more battery life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This Is A Great Computer

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have purchased the HP Envy 17t-J000 Quad Edition Notebook recently, I also purchased Microsoft Office Home & Student 2013 in addition to this computer. My brother & I have had this computer for one month now & it is working smooth as silk. The Intel processor is amazingly fast, as good as it gets for a laptop. The integrated Intel HD graphics works seamlessly to save power & still provide us the power we need to get stuff done. The NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M is excellent, however we would have preferred a NVIDIA GTX 700 series graphics processor. The 8GB of system memory is very good & very fast, running at 1600MHz! We highly recommend the acceleration cache. The Beats Audio from this computer is excellent. This computer has all the ports we need, however we do miss the VGA out port (for monitors). Intel makes up for this by having the ability to connect to multiple wireless displays thru Intel HD graphics. We would recommend this computer to anyone who needs to get work done fast & efficiently.
Our Customized HP Computer:
Windows 8 64
System Recovery DVD with Windows 8 64
4th generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4800MQ Processor
NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M Graphics with 2048MB of dedicated video memory
17.3-inch diagonal HD+ BrightView LED-backlit Display (1600 x 900)
8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
24GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
Standard Keyboard
HP TrueVision HD Webcam w/ integrated digital mic
802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Machine!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Worth
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is fast, but MS Office 2013 needs some colors. lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Glasgow,Kentucky
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best laptop I have ever had . Love it. The only thing I regret is not having the backlit keyboard. Definitely 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!! No complaints on service or shipping. Way to go HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beautiful but flawed

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall:
The Envy 17t-J000 Quad Edition is a beautiful notebook, but several design decisions by HP make it a poor performer for the cost. If you're looking for a gaming notebook I'd suggest looking elsewhere, there are better performers in this price range, and great performers for just a bit more. If you are looking for a multimedia powerhouse, there are equivalent performers available much cheaper. Overall I found the performance to be equal or worse than my 2011 Envy DV6t-6100 with a Radeon 6770, 7200RPM drive, and Sandy Bridge 2630QM quad core i7.
Hopefully HP will address some of these flaws in a refresh at a later date.
Pros:
+ Quad Core Intel i7 4700MQ Haswell improved performance and battery life over previous generations
+ Switching Graphics (Intel & Nvidia) seem to work flawlessly, 3D applications were detected and run with the discrete card automatically.
+ Matte finish display is bright and has good viewing angles
+ Full Size Keyboard + Numpad
+ Speakers sound very good for a notebook.
+ Backlit keyboard option
+ Metal "top" is fairly solid, not as solid as a unibody but probably as close as you can get. The entire laptop with the exception of the keyboard (see below) and tray loading DVD drive feels very solid.
+ Limited amount of "bloatware". Aside from the requisite HP support apps, only a handful of third party apps come pre-installed. The ones that are are mostly useful (for example box.com, a dropbox like cloud storage service, Cyberlink dvd and blu-ray playing software).
+ Dual Hard Drive Option (The caddy for the second drive can be hard to find, and costs almost as much as ordering with dual drives. Recommend if you want two drives, just order with 2)
+ At under 6.5 pounds this is one of the lightest notebooks available with this size screen
+ New power supplies are smaller and lighter (but have different size jack, see below)
Cons:
- Slow 5400 RPM hard drives. Extremely poor random I/O performance. If you do decide to purchase this notebook spend the extra for the mSATA card for some improvement, or better yet save the money and invest in a SSD drive.
- Nvidia GT 740M is a poor performer. The card is only GDDR3. I found even older games were barely playable at high, and not playable at ultra settings.
- Poor tactile feedback from keyboard, and a lot (1/8" +) of flex on left side while typing (WASD key area).
- Track pad clicking is so bad as to be basically unusable. Not a big deal if you use an external mouse (FYI: the touchpad can be disabled in MOUSE control panel, not from synaptics/touchpad control panel, when using an external mouse).
- Side usb ports and headphone jack on the right are located such that anything plugged into them interferes with mouse operation
- No slot load DVD/Blu-Ray option
- No 9 cell battery option like previous models
- Single Headphone/Microphone Jack. I can see doing this on smaller notebooks and ultrabooks, but surely this 17" notebook has room for separate jacks?
- New Power Supply uses a 4.5mm plug, compared to the 7.4mm plugs previous Pavilion and Envy models used. The replacement/spare power supplies for this unit are (as of this writing) not available on HP parts website. Multiple attempts with HP support to order a replacement power supply resulted in the older 7.4mm jack size ones being shipped to me. FYI: This includes the power supplies listed as accessories when you purchase/configure the notebook! I did find that the 7.4mm to 4.5mm “dongle” for Dell XPS 12/13/MLK systems will work with older HP Smart Power Supplies and this notebook, however use at your own risk as this will likely void your warranty.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big and beautiful

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fontana, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this laptop for a couple of weeks now and love it! I think one of my favorite features is hardly even mentioned in the laptop description. It can keep all of your passwords stored for websites and you just need to scan your fingerprint to access the page...genius! The display is big and beautiful as well.
Only thing that didn't exceed my expectations is the Beats audio. Not that great in my opinion. Oh well. Love it overall!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Madison County, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing computer. Was very easy to set up and use, and is packed with features that work well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

luv it!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered my laptop HP ENVY 17 (without touch screen) for college. I was on the fence about choosing the screen size for awhile. I am very happy I went with the 17". It will come in handy when viewing large spreadsheets. I have no complaints about my laptop but Windows 8 slows me down a bit. It will be perfectly fine once I get used to it. So strange having the start menu as an actual screen but hey, things are always changing and you have to learn to adapt otherwise you sink. Thank you HP, great job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The touchpad needs work

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the backlighting on the keyboard, but the touchpad could use some work. I find it selects something when I was only scrolling. The scrolling is not the best either. I either touch too hard or not hard enough. I'm hoping to get used to it after a while, but it's been a couple of weeks and I haven't gotten the hang of it yet. The performance is good, and the battery life is decent. I usually like upgrading to the latest technology, but I find myself missing my old laptop. Sometimes newer is not better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.