HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.264 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
45 out of 53(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 41 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Poor trackpad performance

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Erratic trackpad behavior makes it difficult to use Windows 8. Scrolling is extremely poor. Cannot find a fix. Lots of bloatware to remove. HP notices and offers keep popping up. Had to uninstall. Otherwise, nice machine.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the buy

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I was first shopping around for a new PC, one that could replace my faulty Toshiba, I was a little skeptical on what brand to buy. But after a few months of looking around, I decided to go with HP. They have a good reputation with hardware not malfunctioning - I'm looking at you, Toshiba Satellite - and anyone I have asked about them hasn't had many bad things to say. So at that point, it was just a matter of settling on which one to get. I wanted the latest i7 processor, and it was only by chance that this model was released when I finally had the money to buy it.
I received my computer almost three weeks ago, and I am still very much in love with it. I'm used to big computers, so size was not an issue for me, and it's not difficult for me to adapt to new things, so the unique features didn't take much to get used to. It was a little disorienting at first, having the mouse buttons hidden beneath a full trackpad, and I think it took me a moment to figure out hitting the "function" key *before* pressing F5 (which turns on the backlit keyboard), but apart from that it was perfect from the start. Cosmetically, it's sleek and shiny, and it looks really classy whenever I pull it out of my admittedly ginormous carrying case.
As for performance, I have been consistently impressed. I upgraded to the most powerful processor I could afford, and dished out some extra for NVIDIA graphics. I have not been disappointed. My display is crisp and clear, and the CPU is barely a whisper. If the computer gets a little warm, CoolSense kicks on and takes care of it right away. This thing runs like a well-oiled machine. I have yet to test it out on resource-intensive gaming (I am itching to install Skyrim on this baby and see what it can do), but I have a feeling that it won't let me down. This is definitely a computer to keep for the long haul, and with the option to extend the warranty, I will definitely be holding on to this PC.
My configuration:
• Windows 8 64
• 4th generation Intel Core i7-4702MQ Processor
• Included 2 Year Warranty
• NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M Graphics with 2048MB of dedicated video memory
• 17.3-inch diagonal HD+ BrightView LED-backlit Display (1600 x 900)
• 16GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 1.5TB 5400 rpm Dual Hard Drive
• NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
• No Additional Office Software
• No additional security software
• 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
• Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
• Backlit Keyboard
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam w/ integrated digital mic
• 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great engineering workstation

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:United States
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this laptop as a desktop replacement for college. I am majoring in electrical engineering and while I won't have to use that much CAD software, I figured that I needed a laptop that would last for 4 years and that meant some major performance upgrades in this laptop. The i7-4700MQ is a decent, and still top of the line processor, but I really wanted some more performance in this machine so, I upgraded to the i7-4900MQ. I think that was the best decision I ever made in a laptop build because this laptop boots up really fast and it really feels like a top of the line sports-car. It was a given that I needed a discrete GPU and full HD screen, and There is absolutely no lag in the graphics whatsoever and the full HD screen is just great on this 17" laptop.
I was quite skeptical about the audio on this computer, but it is really loud and hats off to HP for putting in a discrete audio amp for the Headphone jack! The headphone jack can drive 64 Ohm headphones easily and I think it can definitely drive even 300 Ohm headphones pretty loud! Although, the audio wasn't a major factor in choosing this computer, it was a pleasant surprise and makes using this laptop much more enjoyable.
I got the backlit keyboard and wifi + bluetooth upgrade. Another great feature is that the laptop comes with a Blu-Ray player standard, And as I configured my computer I put 2TB of storage + the 24GB cache which is great since it boots up fast and I have plenty of storage for media and other files.
There aren't really any downsides to this computer, It has everything I need + More, so I am really happy with it!
My Configuration:
• Windows 8 64
• 4th generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4900MQ Processor
• Included 2 Year Warranty
• NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M Graphics with 2048MB of dedicated video memory
• 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080)
• 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 2TB 5400 rpm Dual Hard Drive
• 24GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
• No Additional Office Software
• No additional security software
• 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
• Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
• Backlit Keyboard
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam w/ integrated digital mic
• 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top laptop with great specs

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shopped around for roughly a month before deciding to finally go with this laptop. Had a budget of about $800 max in order to justify price/technological advancements in next 6 months. with the combination of the coupon codes and sale prices on HP.com I was able to stay within that budget and get the latest laptop and don't regret it one bit. This model has everything I wanted:
-Newest most efficient processor,
-Lots of expandable ram,
-Big hard drive with option to add a 2nd hard drive in future,
-Backlit keyboard (only option I added from stock configuration),
-17" screen,
-Bluray/DVD Burner drive for movie watching and sending Bluray movie signal to TV and installing programs.
-One of the slimmest profiles and lightest weights compared to Toshiba, Dell, & Lenovo brands with similar build specs.
-Longer standard warranty (2 full years) than other brands which gives me a bit more peace of mind
Performance-wise in the last 3 days I have been impressed, battery life with no tweaking after first boot has been 5 hrs+ (5hr 20min if you want to get specific). With additional tweaking and battery conserving options enabled I think 7hrs+ can easily be achieved. 9.5hrs according to HP website may be a stretch in real life usage if you ask me. For a 17" laptop with some of the latest options and specs that's pretty good compared to the 4.5-5.5hrs on other comparable laptops. When you take into account that other brands have similar specced laptops for $1000+ this laptop starts looking even better.
I'd recommend this laptop to anyone looking for a lot of screen real estate that is into video related usage.
Video editing tasks shouldn't be a problem with the Intel integrated graphics HD4600 processor (not like HP site stating HD4000 which is incorrect) according to several reviews online by tech sites etc. If you are into gaming (which I'm not) it should do fine for most games at 3/4 settings, but there is also the dedicated video card option that is getting good reviews for gaming scenarios but has been reported that laptops run warmer and battery life is a little less.
I also do highly recommend the backlit keyboard when choosing options. It saves a lot of frustration when trying t find buttons in dark room.
Audio sounds great. clear and fuller sounding than other brands I tried out.
Fans are undetectable and laptop stays very cool both physically and by monitoring software I installed
The only bad thing I can report so far would be that MAYBE I should have waited for the 17t touchsmart model but then again that would have taken me out of my budget. So to each their own in that department.
Overall I say this laptop is a great choice for the price, build quality, standard specs/features and available expandability in the future.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy!

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this machine for about a week now. Still getting used to Windows 8, but my daily routine has gotten very easy to get through. Program customization and data transfer went smoothly. Screen is very clear and crisp. Really like the HP Simplepass feature. Internet setup and connection to other wireless devices on the home network was also easy. Overall, I'm enjoying my new HP Laptop.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Laptop, But Windows8.

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am trying to downgrada to Windows7. The NVIDIA GT740M is just ok. With 64bit Bus width And DDR3 Memory type.
User submitted photo
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Fast, Very Sturdy, Good Value

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Williamsburg, Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a desktop replacement laptop, make no mistake. This is not something you are whipping out on the airplane, the Starbucks bistro table, or anywhere else but an office desk or meeting room table. It's big and barely (and I mean, barely) fits in any of my standard laptop bags and backpacks (including Targus varieties), so if you are planning on shuttling around with this, budget for a new bag.
It's extremely fast - in fact, the only way it could be faster is if it had a solid state drive (SSD); I have one on my ultrabook (that I use for travel only) so I can guarantee you that's the only speed topper.
Windows 8 is very responsive on this (and I won't devolve into a "what was MS thinking" critique as that doesn't have much to do with the laptop itself). HP has really cut down on the bloatware that comes along with it, which is really nice (mind you, it's all relative, but compare it to some of HP's competitors).
The hardware is quiet. After a month of usage, I still can't tell if its on without sitting at it or otherwise going up and putting my hands on it. After usage for 8 hours straight, it wasn't any hotter than any other laptop I've ever used in 16+ years, and it was definitely cooler than many others on the market (Yes, I'm looking at you Lenovo).
My wish list for the next version of this has one item on it: a lit keyboard. I've seen other reviewers suggest a touch-screen, but I've had mixed experiences with those over the past two years. I just don't think the technology is there on a consistent, durable basis yet. And consistency and durability is what you want with a desktop replacement.
Graphics are very nice. I edited photos on it (mind you, I'm doing minor stuff like retouching to eliminate spots or redeye, cropping, etc. - I'm not a professional photographer) and played some graphic-based games (largely Civ V and SimCity 3). Went along just fine.
Strongly recommended if a true desktop replacement is what you're in the market for.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of the best on the market

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
At this point envy laptops are one of the best. If you are not so big fan of the big screens on te laptop, you can get 15,6 inch touch screen with true hd resolution. thos one on the other heand is just exalent. You get the horse power in very slim nice body. Meybe it wont be the best in gaming but it will be the best for buisnes or study
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great computer!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Dakota
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In preparation for college I began searching for the perfect computer for my needs. This I found after a week of searching all places, stores, and brands. Price was perfect for me and features were customizable which I loved. I have always been good with computers so I wanted lots of memory, a good hard drive, a large screen, a light computer, and good battery life. This computer has all of that and more. The memory (8GB) is good, the hard drive (1TB) is good, the screen is big and awesome, it is EXTREMELY light--which is great for a college student--and the battery life is wonderful! It also has a Blu-ray player which is so awesome! Windows 8 runs well and is easily navigatable, and I am very in love with this computer.
The only thing I am maybe a little not the fan of is the quality of the webcam. It is not very good, but sometimes that is expected from a webcam that comes with the computer, but the webcam wasn't the reason I purchased the computer so it isn't a deal-breaker. Just another feature.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome! After the downgrade

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let me start by saying I order this on June 16th and received it by July 5th (China to Pennsylvania). This happens to be an excellent laptop, but I didn't like windows 8 so I downgraded my machine. I would like to give some advice to others who are on the fence about this computer because of the operating system. It can be downgraded but to want to save you some of the headache that I ran into while trying to figure out why Windows 7 installation CD would stop after loading the initial files.
First, you must enter BIOS and enable legacy or you will be pulling your hair out for hours, then change the boot order to allow CD to boot first (normal stuff). Second, you must set USB 3.0 to auto or your external drives, wireless mouse, etc won't work (I almost went back to Window 8 before finding this). After that, you can pretty much use all the drivers found for this laptop for Windows 7. I also, used drivers for HP Pavilion 17 for windows 7 (I don't think this was necessary but I started there at first just because I thought the Envy stuff would work with 7 but I was wrong)
I got everything working again but the Ethernet controller, PCI Device, cyberlink wouldn't run because it said I needed an authorized machine???) NO IDEA! So you have an unknown device, also the USB serial controller has no driver. I felt this was all minor stuff that I probably could resolve but I been fooling around with this for an entire day and I need it functioning for work, so I let all that go for now.
Lastly, I want to leave you with the spec of my machine and I hope this review helps others when thinking about purchasing and downgrading.
Final note: Super fast on start-up and initialing programs! I could be happier with this purchase.
HP ENVY 17t Quad
• Windows 8 64
• 4th generation Intel Core i7-4700MQ Processor
• Included 2 Year Warranty
• NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M Graphics with 2048MB of dedicated video memory
• 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080)
• 16GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
• NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
• No Additional Office Software
• No additional security software
• 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
• Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
• Standard Keyboard
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam w/ integrated digital mic
• 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A dream notebook

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This notebook has incredible power, options, screen, and it is just easy and simple to use. I have had HP laptops for the last 10 years, and I just can say this notebook is gorgeous.
My set is: Intel Pentium I-7 4700, Hard drive - 1 TB, Screen 1600:900, Blue ray player-DVD writer, Nvidia Geforce Graphics Card-2GB, Lighted keyboard, Bluetooth....
Excellent laptop performance with computer has been very quiet.
Highly recommend this laptop!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice system - some annoying limitations

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Park City, UT
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm OK overall with the system. But, the following are annoying:
- Sharp edge on front of system cuts into the palms if the touchpad is used frequently. Can also cut into the wrists if laptop is positioned to high. Obviously this sharp edge design decision was made by the "form over function" marketing folks to make it look cool ascetically. But, my palms are sore enough after a couple of hours of using the system that I'm considering returning it for this reason.
- I often use the keyboard to copy/cut/paste using the Insert key (e.g. <cntrl><insert> to paste). This no longer works on the Envy and actually removes what I'm trying to copy from memory. Of course, I can use the <cntrl> c, <cntrl> v to cut/paste, but its a learning curve.
- Batter life is Good. But, don't expect to get the 8 or 9 hours HP advertises. Real world its 3-4 hours with normal usage. Doing a lot of graphics/video editing or watching a movie or anything requiring a lot of hard drive access will cut this down to 1-2 hours.
- Finger print scanner is somewhat unreliable. Supposed to be able to swipe a finger over the scanner to be able to log in. About 1/4 of the time this doesn't work properly and I have to manually log in.
- Had a couple of HP System messages saying the Smart AC power supply was under powered and I should get a more powerful one so performance isn't impacted. This is the power supply (90W) that came with the system -- and while it doesn't appear to affect anything, HP should have shipped the laptop with a more powerful one if the system needs it.
Pros:
- Very light for a 17" system
- System seems pretty fast ... this is my perception, I haven't run any CPUMark tests.
- Display is Great!!
- Keyboard has a nice feel for touch typists (I can type about 50 wpm)
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for HP ENVY 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

First impression: snappy with deeply flawed inputs

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Morganville, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance-wise, I'm very happy with this laptop. Once some of the preinstalled programs are removed, it's quite a workhorse. The 4th generation CPU appears to make a difference in terms of heat generation and power usage. My impression (keeping in mind that I've only had it for a day) is fairly positive in that respect.
Where it really falls apart is in the physical design of the laptop, particularly the keyboard and mouse. This thing is huge - it has a 17" display - matte and pleasantly resistant to glare. It has two drive bays, a discovery which I was banking on because I was previously told that it didn't, so if you want to add an SSD, you can do it (you'll need a drive caddy).
With all of that room, you would think HP would have the space to put a nice keyboard on it. They do, but they didn't - the keyboard is tiny (30% or so of the total size of the laptop body) and the rest of the body is the laptop equivalent of whitespace. They had A LOT more space they could have used if they chose to. The key spacing is weird, such that you will find yourself hitting home instead of backspace most of the time, and the up and down arrow keys are TINY compared with the needlessly large left and right ones, making it impossible to scroll up with the keyboard. For a coder such as myself (taking your hands off of the keyboard during development can slow you down), this is a problem. Some keys appear to "miss" when pressed (particularly when hitting the same key twice in a row, even when you hit them slowly and HARD), and I often find letters missing from my words despite hitting all of the right keys. I am by no means a poor typist, but this laptop makes me into one.
Onto the mouse: I've never seen such a poor trackpad in my life. In a nod to Apple, there are no buttons (or as the laptop wants to type, "butons") on the trackpad. Instead, they are embedded in the moveable area of the trackpad itself. This is really annoying because you can no longer click the mouse without moving it at the same time. If you rest your finger on the button area while trying to move the mouse as well (you know, "dragging"), the touchpad will interpret that as a multitouch gesture and try to zoom rather than moving the mouse. Then there's the matter of clicking - you can still click, but this takes a great deal of force - enough to move the laptop. You can get around left-clicking by pressing the touchpad itself, but you're up the creek if you ever need to use the right mouse button ("buton").
The design of this laptop strikes me as a MacBook lookalike, executed with mimicry but not understanding (also, the weird half-rounded shape of the trackpad is unattractive in its current location and size). As a result, there are several deep design flaws that just make this laptop unlivable for me despite its performance. These could in theory be solved with an external keyboard and mouse, but what is a laptop for if not standalone portability? I'm afraid it will have to go back despite the fact that it is a capable machine functionally.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.