HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC

HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.12 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
10
76 out of 92(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great ammentities, but definitely has flaws

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, Or
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased my HP Envy 17t-3200 (i7-3720 QM, 8 gb ram, 1 TB hd, Radeon HD 7850) about 6 months ago, so I have had the time to appreciate some of it's great computing power and some of it's definite downfalls. My first overall impression was great. The laptop is very sturdily built, with beautiful and soft back-lit keys, a handy volume knob, and great sounding built in speakers. The computing power was unbelievable, ripping through video and audio conversions like nothing. The screen is absolutely gorgeous; it makes my phone and other screens look like junk. The wifi works great and I love the abundance of USB ports, the HDMI port, and the multiple audio outputs.
Great stuff said, let's move into the gray areas. It comes with 2 display ports, which are not common cables to find (The gal at Best Buy had no idea what they were when I asked her), and all of the ports, when something is plugged into them, leave part of the metal connector exposed (That is, the plastic sleeves of the cords don't quite match up to the edge of the sleek aluminum frame on the Envy). This isn't a big deal, but just seems a little inappropriate given the quality of the laptop. The Envy 17 is also definitely a desktop replacement and not necessarily something you want to be toting around everywhere, for weight, size, and battery life reasons, so keep that in mind.
There are definitely some serious quirks with the envy, which I have found to be pretty prevalent for other users as well. One of my biggest complaints is the terrible audio quality that results when you use the audio output jacks to feed something like a 5.1 system. Beats Audio automatically levels power output of whatever you're playing, so parts with just singing are much louder and parts with bass are much quieter. There was no way to disable this that I found other than downloading a file that disables beats audio completely (hard to do since it's part of the audio driver). Also, notice that when you disable beats, it intentionally messes up the Windows audio equalizer found under your audio output settings control window, so it is intentionally making itself sound better by messing up the natural audio of the system. This can be easily reset after disabling Beats, but it's just shady. Another issue I've found is that the computer screen will occasionally stay black when I try to wake it up from sleep mode, forcing me to put it back to sleep and then wake it up without difficulty. I'm still searching for a solution to this, but it's a pretty sloppy oversight into something that is clearly an easy programming error.
That said, I think it's a really great laptop/desktop-replacement overall. I have an additional monitor attached to it now to allow me to have multiple PDFs and programs open while I study, and it handles this with ease. I bought a tablet to take around with me to cafes because this thing is so heavy, but I'm definitely happy with it now that I have the Beats auto-leveling issue fixed and I'm on the path to fixing the monitor issue :) There are definitely other laptops out there (ie. Dell XPS series) that offer many of the same amenities for a similar price range which may definitely be worth looking into, as I haven't heard any of these issues from them. My last 3 laptops have been HPs though, and I'm pretty happy with them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicely packaged, impressive design, fast. If I ever do it again I'd go to a larger SSD and forgo the added hybrid-drive. I really haven't had all the time I need to get more specific but, so far - so good!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Flawed

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Provo, UT
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sadly I have to say I was very disappointed in this product. Initially I ordered the Envy 15, but it worked very poorly and never seemed to run as it should. So I returned and ordered the Envy 17 just to find that within 90 days of my purchase wireless signal drops intermittently and sometimes slows to a crawl. I have also had to disconnect the battery once to get my Envy to restart after freezing in sleep mode. A force restart wouldn't even do anything to wake my computer. Processing performance seems to come and go, at times being great, and the rest of the time being much slower then expected. Overall very disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A software developer's dream

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northern California
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I installed a 180GB Intel 530 SSD in the second (empty) drive bay. I appreciated the supplied drive cable in this empty bay. Next I installed Windows 8 Pro on this SSD, and now I never boot to the original Windows 7 OS on the supplied 750GB hybrid drive, but it's there if I need it. Most of the drivers for Windows 7 seem to work on Windows 8, with the exception of the Radeon display adapter, so I'm just using the default Intel display adapter for now.
This machine is really fast. Visual Studio 2012 builds are so fast I sometime have to check if missed them. The SSD is being backed up to the hybrid drive using Paragon imaging software, and I also use robocopy scripts to backup important folders to a home server, which itself is backed up to the cloud using CrashPlan.
About the machine itself: the screen is a delight, and I added an anti-glare film which makes it better in a lighted office. The keyboard took a little getting used to, and there is some spongy play on the left-hand side. Also the small up and down arrow keys suck. This is the fist thing the next model must address. This LED lighted keys are great at night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good desktop replacement

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently purchased this laptop to replace my desktop to free up some space since I'm moving to a smaller apartment. The laptop is fairly big, but it's exactly what I was looking for. The screen is huge and spacing on the keyboard is great. My primary uses are Photoshop, VM Ware, multimedia and of course web browsing. After buying this, I upgraded the RAM to 16GB and installed an mSATA SSD since it was cheap (compared to HP pricing). The only thing that urks me is the lid. It's a fingerprint magnet, but I'm OK with this since most gadgets tend to be like this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's OK

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I upgraded from my hp Envy 15 Beats 2010 model year. The main reason for the upgrade was for the 10-key, backlit keyboard and internal blu-ray drive. My specs are below. For non-gaming use, I don't notice much of a difference. SSD was easily the highest performance upgrade vs OEM. Memory upgrade vs OEM was not noticeable. Video performance vs my 2yr old Envy 15 scored disappointingly the same. CPU performance vs my 2yr old Envy 15 seemed similar. CPU temp under no load is low 20C vs my 2yr old Envy 15 60C. This is a huge difference when placed on my lap. I don't sweat as much in the summer.
The keyboard has a very very poor feel to it, but the backlighting and 10-key is huge for me. But these features can be found in many brands.
The bezel is flat from end to end, except the rubber padding on the edge. There are no raised boarders leaving dust stuck in there. However, the bottom of the bezel is cheaply made of multiple plastic stickers that peel off. I already had to request for new parts after a week of ownership. The screen is rather thick, almost 1/2". I am disappointed. Cosmetically, it is matte gunmetal. It looks cheap.
The volume dial is great. Hopefully, it doesn't go bad and lose its smoothness, or start to wobble and pop off. The speaker is much better, more bass, and takes much more volume to distort than my Envy 15. It also has a 'subwoofer' if you want to call it that.
You have to easily pop out one cover to get at the hard drive. But you have to remove all two covers to get at the memory. It's easy though. The Envy 15 only had one large cover held in place by many various size screws. It's cumbersome to remove.
I was disappointed it does not come with a TPM chip to utilize Window 7 Ultimate Bit-Locker. Ultimate might not be a useful $100 upgrade for this reason.
Finally, I downloaded the Windows 7 install DVD, wiped the OEM drive of bloatware, partitioned the drive the way I want it, and did a fresh install using the OEM key. The only program I lost was Adobe Photoshop and Premiere because I didn't bother to write down the product keys. Everything else can be downloaded and reinstalled. I have the OS and application recovery discs, but it requires a full install of both. You can't pick individual programs to reinstall.
I HIGHLY suggest buying the cheapest components, buy higher quality aftermarket components for less, and then sell your old OEM parts. You come out ahead with better performance and recover the cost. High-end OEM components are overpriced. The exception is the i7 3820QM CPU, as they are not available individual for sale yet.
My Envy 17:
i7 3820QM (Windows Index 7.7)
6GB RAM 2 slots Hyundai & Micron DDR3 1600 11-11-11 (Windows Index 7.7)
Upgraded to Kingston HyperX 16GB KHX16S9P1K2/16 9-9-9-27 (Windows Index 7.8)
ATI Radeon HD 7850M 1GB DDR5 (Windows Index 6.8)
Samsung 1TB HD 5400 rpm (Windows Index 5.9)
Upgraded to OCZ Vertex4 256GB SSD (Windows Index 7.9)
My Envy 15:
i7 720QM CPU (Windows Index 7.0)
8GB RAM 4 slots DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 (Windows Index 7.3)
ATI Radeon HD 5830M 1GB DDR3 (Windows Index 6.8)
WD Scorpio Black 320GB HD 7200 rpm (Windows Index 5.9)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I've owned

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laptops have been getting better all the time - I own many (mostly older), but a couple newer ones, but this one is the best I've owned. I upgraded the main drive to a Samsumng 830 SSD, and put the spindle drive in the secondary bay, and everything is so responsive! The Core i7 3610 barely breaks a sweat during gaming, video watching, or serious multi-tasking, and the Randeon 7850 handles everything I can throw at it, and it never gets too warm to keep on your lap! The screen is absolutely gorgeous on this laptop as well - it sets it apart from any sitting next to it (except an IPS panel - it's not quite _that_ good). All in all, the name is highly appropriate - everyone of my friends has indeed been envious!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome quality and performance

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent laptop for all of your media needs. I can run GTA IV on High settings with a solid 40fps no problem. I recommend upgrading from an i5 to an i7 for increased performance capabilities. Afterall if you are already spending this kind of money for a laptop, why not go for the upgrade? Anyways, I was really impressed with the build quality. It's like something you'd expect on a macbook, however you definetly will get much more performance for the money because of all of the newer and better hardware. Overall, I have nothing bad to say about this amazing computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performance

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Medina, MN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this pc primarily for photo processing. With the OS and the application software on the ssd, I find the performance is outstanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AVOID THIS COMPUTER AT ALL COSTS.

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
While a beautiful computer that should, in theory, work... the Envy was without question the worst machine that I have ever purchased. It was slow, broke within a day and made me so frustrated that I almost switched over to that dreaded, unnamed competitor with a cult following. I assumed that I had gotten the PC version of a lemon, but was told by some tech friends that every person they have known who purchased an Envy was running into the exact same issues.
AMAZED that the online research I did -- reviews, etc. -- never once addressed its basic structural issues or terrible color problems that led to horrifying eye strain during the 6-8 hours when the computer actually worked (which wasn't related to the faulty C drive).
Avoid this computer.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied except...

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Who thought it was a good idea to make F5 the key to turn on/off the backlight for the keyboard? F5 is the refresh key. Now I have to use two hands for CTRL-F5 to refresh which is extremely inconvenient. Also, F4 is used to put the cursor in the addresss line. Now it dims/brightens the screen. Would have been 5 stars except for those.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent display & sound

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For a desktop replacement, this laptop is quite light. The display is excellent, my only critique would be a matte screen which would provide a better view when in the sun. The sound is great compared to other laptops but for the most part I plug in my desktop speakers for when I'm listening to music or watching a movie. The cascade effect on the keyboard is cool, and the ability to change brightness levels on it is as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow...what an amazing laptop!!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Thomasville, NC
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is by far the greatest most powerful and most aesthetically pleasing laptop that I have ever owned. Wayyyy sexier than an overpriced Macbook. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who wants a beautiful laptop that has styling, class, and can dominate any Macbook any day. Well done HP. I am a customer for life. HP YOUR PRODUCTS ROCK!!! :)
Justin
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jackson, MI
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this 17" Envy laptop. Bought it to replace an older desktop. It is quick and has many new features. I'm still learning about all the features but so far so good. Love the graphics on it too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the laptop for about a week now and so far so good! It can handle the games I play that are not that much and don't really require a super computer and in terms of performance and speed, it's lightning fast!
I would recommend this product to those who think 17-inch is not that big :P If you like small, you should consider the 15-inch but this 1080p HD display is amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sterling, VA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this laptop for travel and business use for my Kids Relson Gracie Jiu Jitsu school. The sound is amazing and the graphics are out of site. I am able to hook it us to my High Def TV using the HDMI port and show amazing competition videos to my students parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
machine is a beast. I know there were some complaints about the glossy display but I haven't had an issue in terms of relection. Performance is top notch. I opted for SSD which was a fantastic idea. Boot times are fassssst. I like the design choice for the most part, machine is also very pretty to look at. My one complaint is with the keyboard. Always found the flat keys difficult to type quickly on. Otherwise I love everything about it, and would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Has great features

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:jersey city, nj
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this for my work mostly, a very capable laptop.. but has disappointing sound .. was excited about the hoopla around beats.. that was fizz the sound cracks at high volume...
and there is a constant crackling sound...
The laptop had minor scratches when i received it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

so so laptop

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Laptop specs itself are great, but my laptop came with paint missing on some parts of the laptop. Either it was reused parts of poor quality. The trackpad is hard to use, and the build quality itself looks subpar
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best laptop I've purchased!

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Panama City, FL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I customized a HP ENVY 17t-3200 with a 3rd generation Intel i7 processor with 12 gigs of RAM, Windows 7 professional, Radeon HD7850M graphics 1 gig GDDR5 memory, Hybrid SSD & 750 gig 7200 RPM hard drive, MS OFFICE Home & Business 2010, 17.3 Radiance Full HD Infinity LED 1920 x 1080 display, Blu-ray/multi DVD burner, 720p HD video streaming WEBCAM supporting Skype, Intel N WLAN and BLUETOOTH, Backlit Keyboard, Adobe photoshop and Elements 10, TARGUS DOCKING STATION with 3 display capability and many more 3.0 USB Ports and more. I am a happy man and this should serve my purpose for at least two to three more years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.