HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.109 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
36 out of 46(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best PC I've Owned

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this laptop to replace my 2 year old HP desktop (Pavilion Elite e9220y), which still works great- however I wanted something more mobile. This laptop outshines my desktop in every way!
The exterior of the laptop is beautiful! The material quality is great and I absolutely love the LED keyboard lights. The screen is so bright and clear, movies and games are a blast.
I'm able to run multiple programs without any issues. So far I haven't had any problems with games (WoW, Sims 3), however I'm unable to use the 3D feature in the games without sacrificing fps. I like to have my games run on highest graphics settings possible and I refuse to lower graphics simply to view in 3D.
Movies are beautiful on this screen! I was under the assumption that I needed a 3D Blu-Ray movie to experience 3D on this laptop; but it isn't necessary as it upgrades basic Blu-Ray movies to 3D- which was an awesome find.
The HD cam is good enough to show my blemishes, no issues with it. The "CyberLink" YouCam suite also comes installed, which is quite interesting! You can alter your appearance; something I've never done before except on a Mac.
The beatsaudio is nice, but certainly doesn't blow anything out of the water. When connected to external sound systems, it sounds awesome.
I was unaware that my purchase of the Envy came with HP concierge support, which so far has been one of my best experiences with customer support. When I called about a question, I was instantly directed to an operator that spoke clear English and was very friendly. A couple days later I received a phone call from HP making sure everything was okay and if I had any other questions.
This is a great computer that is able to handle any tasks I've thrown at it. It handles all my entertainment needs without any issues, though it was a let down finding that the 3D doesn't work that great on intense graphical games.
The value is great, wouldn't have changed a thing except maybe a better video card. The customer service is exceptional and should be the standard for all companies. I've had the laptop for two weeks now and still falling in love with it, thanks so much HP!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably one of the best machines one can buy out there right now...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

picture

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Trooper
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the quality of the monitor is really good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This laptop is a desktop replacement.

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Redmond, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The large screen and fast processor make this laptop ideal as a desktop replacement and multimedia player with the blu-ray and Beats audio.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

VERY FAST.. SHARP DETAILED COLORS

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CORNWALL,NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXTREMEY HAPPY WITH PURCHASE. VERY FASR AND GREAT TRUE MONITOR COLORS FOR PHOTO EDITING
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Iowa
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow what a great product. I was a little concerned when I read the reviews, but I have had a number of HP products throughout the years and I don't ever remember being disappointed. I got the fully loaded version and it has been great. Very, very fast and the screen is amazing We tested the 3D with the glasses that came with the laptop and to quote my 6 year-old "Wow, that's awesome".
I really wanted the product as quickly as possible, so I ordered the two day shipping and used the HP financing. Both were well worth it. The financing was immediate and I got a confirmation phone call the next day to make sure I actually made the purchase. The unit was scheduled to ship about two weeks after the order date, but instead shipped out one week after I ordered it. The estimated ship date then showed it would arrive the day it was originally supposed to ship; however, instead it actually arrived 3 days earlier. From order to in my hands was twelve days (including weekends), that was great.
When it arrived, it looked really good. I had seen some reviews where there were dings or dents and that was not the case with mine. It was a great looking laptop and deserving of the name ENVY.
I bought the game so that I could play video games in the same room my wife is reading or watching TV. So video and sound performance were important. The video performance was absolutely amazing. Every game I play looks 100x better. Some reviews have critized the sound system, but I think it is great. The dial for the sound system was a neat improvement.
Some have critized the touchpad. It is more sensative than others I have used, but it really hasn't detracted from the performance of the laptop. it seems offset, but in reality it is centered around the keyboard portion. Since it also has a number pad, the pad looks shifted left. I have pretty big hands, so I don't really think there is an issue with the touchpad.
There were other critizisms about the screen being too refelctive. Once again, it does reflect but I haven't found that to be very distracting. In fact the quality of the screen seems to me to be tied to the shininess of it. The picture, including 3D, has been amazing.
In summary, if you are on the fence or looking for a good computer. This is the one. If you can afford it, get all the bells and whistles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst experience ever

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Istanbul, turkey
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I had my sister help me purchase this laptop and after the delay in manufacturing time and posting she finally sent it to me in turkey where I used to study as I have just graduated and it got held up in customs after a long process to pick it up the laptop won't even turn on! I plug it in to charge and a white light at the ac power indicator keeps blinking and still the laptop does not come one and now Hp has asked me to return the laptop to the states which will cost a fortune. Now am screwed!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice laptop

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great laptop, as advertised. Quick startup, great screen.
My only dissappointment was the 6 speaker, Beats audio with subwoofer. Its good, but unremarkable.
Volume wheel is a nice touch!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't Deliver

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Waterford, CT
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After hours on the line with tech-support, they came to the conclusion that it doesn't have the Wi-Di it is supposed to. They claim it will someday, when they fix the drivers, but said it could be many months before that happens. With upgrades I paid over $2200 for a laptop that doesn't do what it is supposed to.
But my biggest complaint is actually the horrible glare. Unless I find a room with virtually no light, I usually have to strain to see the screen, it is just to glossy.
Other negatives:
Not as fast as my Mac Book Pro, despite a faster processor
Plastic cover is a finger-print magnet and looks awful after a day of use
Typing is nightmare, since the touchpad is placed poorly and gets nudged while typing often.
A few positives:
Great audio
Decent 3D
Volume knob is useful
I'm only 3 weeks in to ownership, but I'm not impressed yet.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP ENVY 17 3200 3D Laptop

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop was purchased to Author and Edit 2D and 3D Blu-Ray Disks. For that reason it is loaded.
First, the good. It is fast when rendering a Disk. The screen works very well for both 2D & 3D.
The Bad. The touch pad is a half baked piece of junk. Gestures are unreliable, the cursor jumps all over the place and is often unresponsive. Selection may occur all on it's own. If you buy this laptop, expect to have to buy an external mouse.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing Envy 17 3D features

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Backlit keyboard feels good 3D screen looks good. performance is good. Now for the bad:
1. Random hardware freezes. After many months of being informed this was the only reported case of this nature, and being directed to reinstall the Operating System to fix the freezing, a BIOS update is eventually released to fix the problem. Please insert inappropriate language of your choice here
2 Thermal shutdown problems. had to be repeatedly returned for repairs. May be fixed now
3 No "Num Lock" key to toggle numeric pad function, except with onscreen keyboard
-problem for World of Warcraft users
4 Touchpad -cannot disable area under buttons with software settings. Seems to disable on its own sometimes, but will suddenly re-enable during use to cause major pointer navigation difficulties
5 If "action keys" are disabled, "insert" key is only usable with pressing "fn" key
6 Slot loading optical drive does not support mini disc sizes
7 No Windows 7 32-bit driver support
8 WiFi Action key toggles off radios for WiFi AND Bluetooth simultaneously! no Bluetooth
mouse function without WiFi when that happens
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Laptop I've ever owned

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beachwood, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this custom built. It arrived a day ahead of schedule. I was amazed when I powered it up for the first time. The speed is awesome. After going through the initial setup, the boot time is ten seconds and it's ready to go. The sound quality can't be beat in my opinion. I have a rather large music collection and every song I have played sounds fantastic. I had an HP DVT-7 Series. It was a very good laptop. It can't compare to the HP Envy 3D though. If you have the extra cash, I would get a customized one built the way you want it. It's worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken OS features like the 3090NR version

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This notebook is being shipped with a broken OS.
The Intel HD 4000 and WiDi do not work.
There will be no patch-fix issued for the problem.
You will get no more than 3 Hrs of battery life unless you turn EVERYTHING off and reduce the brightness to 30%, and set to power saving mode.
YOU CAN NOT WATCH A BLUERAY DISK FROM START TO END, YOU WILL RUN OUT OF POWER 80% THROUGH.
Unacceptable performance for the 3rd Gen i7 3610QM processor that is supposed to EXTEND your battery life.
HD 4000 does not work and neither does the WiDi that depends on it, you can't transmit wirelessly to your TV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Much better than the early 2012

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
They June 2012 Envy 17 Units are improved with the ivybridge and a little better on the GPU. Still just a mid-grade GPU but a few steps up from the previous disaster of the AMD 7650 that hardly ran games on low settings. The newer AMD 7850 is better but nothing compared to the gaming machines on the market now. The overall unit is great. Quality all around. Keyboard is SOLID! Back lit keys could use a couple of different brightness settings. The screen is fantastic. Wide viewing angles and great color reproduction. I have no complaints other than the weak GPU units they are throwing in these wonderful machines. If this had a Nvidia 670 or higher I would give it 5 stars across the board and be in heaven. But for now it is what I work and live on. I am writing this from this particular machine. I love the quality of the Envy units but they always leave the GPU weak and ruining what these machines could be. The true Envy on computing laptops. HP, I don't understand why you don't do this.
Pros: They are everything that are no under the following cons list.
Cons: Different levels of brightness for keyboard. Weak Graphics Processors (GPU'S). Deteriorating customer service. Not to say it still exists but to get to a case manager that can fix your issue if you have one is like hacking into the pentagon while under attack from a collection agency.
Conclusion:
I would recommend this unit to my best friend with warning that the build quality comes at the price of a weak GPU leading to weak gaming capabilities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not too impressed

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is my 3rd HP computer. I replaced an HP G7. I truly cannot tell a difference in the performance of the 500.00 and this 2000.00 model with upgrades with the exception of this one freezes up more frequently.
I did upgrade the processor and cannot find anything that seems to be moving any quicker.
I am extremely disappointed. I also thought I might see a bit of difference in the screen. Side by side I, as well as others, cannot tell any sort of difference worth the kind of extra money I paid.
Save your money and buy the much more reasonably priced machines or try a different brand all together.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Performance.

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vallejo, CA.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a very expensive gaming desktop and this laptop is actually faster. Both of them have SSD's. The desktop is a Sandy Bridge and this laptop is a new Ivy Bridge. Myself and many others were led to believe that this laptop has integrated graphics. The non 3D model has but the 3D model does not. As a result the 3D model is connected to the discrete AMD HD 7850 graphics card at all times which shortens battery life considerably. The 3D model when plugged in is fantastic. It does everything very well. The sound and graphics are excellent. But as a portable, just remember you will get 2 to 3 hours, at most, battery life. But then who uses a 17 inch laptop as a portable anyway? Overall, I think it is a great laptop and would highly recomment it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best High End Laptop

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Bend, WI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do SharePoint development which often requires running 2 VMs as well as the Windows 7 OS on my machine. It needs to be solid and responsive. I use it to present proof of concept to my clients and it is also my main development machine. This machine meets all those requirements far better than any other machine I've used or seen. It's an incredible performer and appears to be solid as a rock.
If you want a machine that helps you, rather than holds you back, this one is highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

envy the beast

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:mass
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i only got my laptop for 2 weeks but this thing runs on steroids , a little disappointed on the battery life when playing games but besides that i am 100% happy with this product its still early to do a full review but as now its a 4.5 stars because of the battery
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not my best purchase

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too big, too heavy, locks up frequently on touchpad, 3d not great.
Don't like it but stuck with it!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 17t-3200 3D Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CO
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The is a total desktop killer, and portable to boot. There are two things that I would suggest to HP for the undated Envy 17 3D. 1.) That a better graphics card be used, such as your competitors have done with their 3D models. 2.) That a better HD webcam be installed. Other than what I have recommended I want everyone to know that the 17 in. models do not display a burnt orange for the red colors as the 15 in. do, Note: The Spectra model does not have this issue, thus different sceen. The 3D graphics are compelling, though the AMD graphics card is average and needs to be at least 2 GB, 3 GB preferred, and more geared for 3D. Would recommend purchasing!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.