HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC

HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
18 out of 25(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performance and build for price!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Somewhere Over the Rainbow, WA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is probably the best deal you will find on the internet today, in terms of gaming laptops. This is an $800 laptop priced at $650 (with the right customizations). I'm going to go through the configuration I got, which was a total of about $675 with a few discounts.
1) Processor: The AMD A10 5750m is a lighting-quick processor, and I am typing this while saving a Windows Movie Maker movie that is about 2 minutes long in 720p (which is very cpu-intensive) and getting no lag. Windows 8 is a pretty good OS if you know your way around a computer, but it might not be as good if you aren't skilled with computers. The only time you will notice lag is after the startup, when it is still warming up, but that's normal with windows.
2)Graphics card: Gaming is pretty good for a laptop on this computer. You can play Just Cause 2 at 720p with Medium-High settings, or at 1600x900 at Medium. I don't recommend 1080p, however, for any game. I don't know why, but it slows down considerably when you go from 900p to 1080p. It's okay though, since 1600x900 is still a high resolution. You can't really play Crysis 3 or 2 at any more than 720p at lowest settings and get 30-45 fps. COD and RE6 run very good, 60fps at High on COD, 60 fps on Medium-High in RE6. Grid 2 runs at 60 fps medium high.
3) Fan: The fan does not get too loud, except for when gaming. I have my laptop on a blanket right now, which is a big no-no if you want to keep it cool, but the fan is staying fairly quiet right now, and is unnoticable if you are watching a movie.
4) Build: The build and finish is fantastic. It has a very nice, metal feel on the lid, touchpad, and the area around the keyboard. The keyboard itself reminds me of the Macbook pro, but better. And no, this laptop is in no way a ripoff of the macbook, because it isn't overpriced and extremely thick. Speaking of which, it is fairly thin for a laptop of these specs, especially near the front, which is about 1 cm thick. It is tapered, so it looks thin if you look at it from an upward angle, which most people do, but if you look closely, it is about 2 AA batteries thick. When the laptop is closed, it just looks like any normal HP laptop, but when you open it, it looks very nice.
5) Display: The 1080p display is pretty nice, you get good brightness and vivid colors. The viewing angles aren't too great though.
6) Fingerprint reader: The fingerprint reader stopped working completely within 2 or 3 weeks, but I don't really use it anyway. It's a shame though.
7) Overall: Overall, very fast laptop, stays very cool on normal day-to-day tasks, and it has the most amazing build quality on any laptop I've seen, aside from perhaps a Sony Vaio. Display lacks good viewing angles, but the keyboard and touchpad are nice. I'd recommend this laptop for any gamer looking for a gaming laptop under $700. Otherwise, get a desktop.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milwaukee
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Honestly, I do not know what people is expecting out of a laptop of this price even when HP has given everything it had to provide. The best laptop in this price range, undoubtedly. Even I would say it is much better than other high price laptops in the market.
1. Processor : The new AMD Quad Core A8 processor just blows away mind. Its performance is perfect. For the first time I experienced desktop like speed in a laptop.
2. Display : I have customized it to 1080p display which looks great while watching HD Movies and other high resolution tasks.
3. Battery : Amazing battery life. On low brightness and WiFi turned off Windows 8 says upto 7hr 35 minutes left.
4. Weight : Since it does not have DVD drive, it is indeed very light to carry.
5. Build : Amazing finish at this price range. It is really thin especially at the front.
6. Keyboard : Perfect quality keyboard. Feels wonderful to type.
7. Audio : Mind-blowing audio. With so many speakers (4 speakers + 1 subwoofer), it creates amazing perfect quality and loud too. But like for any speaker they need burn-out time to stabilize after bought new. This is the best portable device audio I have ever heard.
8. Memory : 6GB RAM is hopefully more than enough for everyone else.
9. Customer Service : It is perfect. I had once issue with charger. They immediately sent me a new one without any delay.
10. Webcam and Mic : They are of very nice quality indeed.
11. Heating : This is the most amazing of all the features. Initially I thought it was a marketing gimmick from HP which is HP Coolsense. It is like Ripley's believe it or not - it does not ever heat up! With dual vents at the side, the machine runs cool even when kept on the carpet. This is a massive blow from HP. Immaculate indeed.
12. TouchPad : It is total fun to use especially in Windows 8, although I am not at all a liker of Windows 8.
13. HardDisk : 750 GB is great for daily life storage. Probably this would satisfy one's need in storing huge number of files. Still you can upgrade it to greater storage.
Please stop listening to those say that this is a MacBook copy, does not perform well. Probably they do not know how to judge a electronic device.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Biggest issue is the SUPER loud fan, even with NO programs running the fan runs incredibly loud , think 747 jet engines. The other issue is the terrible touchpad, whenever you lift your finger to click, the pointer will essentially flinch a half centimeter so you have to readjust the cursor. SUPER annoying. This is probably because they tried to copy the touchpads on macs and remove the buttons but they failed hard. This whole laptop is a cheap mac knockoff. DO NOT BUY THIS LAPTOP.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Awesome sauce! "

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milford, CT
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for student use. Easy set up and expect it to last as long as our other HP laptops/computer at home. Never had a problem with "factory defects" as the other brands I have tried and bought. As my daughter would say, "awesome sauce!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORSE DISPLAY EVER

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wanted a good looking laptop with great specs and thought I found one in the Envy Series. It took almost 2 weeks to get it shipped from China--no big deal but the way it was packaged was not good enough for shipping a laptop. The laptop was NOT damaged in any way but it as scary looking at the box and being able to hear things shifting around inside.
What I dislike: The Display is absolutely the worse display I've ever seen in my life. I'm returning this laptop solely because of it. the viewing angle is so horrific that you cant even see half of whats on the screen. If you tip the display at a ridiculous 160 degrees then you can see text clearly. Trying to use it at normal viewing angles is simply not possible. Text is washed out and barely visible, photos and videos look absolutely horrible. Poor washed out colors and clarity is fuzzy and blurry.
If you are susceptible to getting migraines, this display could trigger one, that's how bad it is. there's no way I can continue using this laptop.
What I like:
Beats Audio is phenomenal. I have it on my HTC One and on this lap top. the sound quality is amazing and after just 24hrs with this laptop I cannot see myself having another laptop without Beats Audio.
Build Quality: Ive read reviews on HP and Best Buy with many users complaining about the Envy feeling flimsy and making creaking noises when using the keyboard or touch pad. luckily for me I have NO SUCH ISSUE.The build quality is solid, the keys are great for typing, the touch pad works without any issues. The laptop does NOT squeak and creek or make any noises. Its very thin and light weight. I love the metal finish. speaker placement is outstanding, plenty of USB ports. I ordered the backlit keyboard which is something Ive always wanted since I often use my laptop in low light.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Thin in Every Sense

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wilmington, OH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First, let's admit it - Windows 8 is a mistake. That said, the Envy seems to be caught on the bleeding edge of thinness. The device is flimsy-period. It flexes when you pick it up by one end with the lid open. The bottom actually flexes (oil cans) when picked up. This has caused the plastic plates get out of aligned and stuck, to the point where my battery doesn't make contact correctly and the device won't start on battery power. What a bunch of baloney. I sent it back to HP, and who knows what they did, but the core problem persists.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Notebook for the Money

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St. Louis, MO
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The HP Envy 15z-j000 has lots of the features you want and expect in a modern notebook and overall is a nice looking feature packed notebook for the price. I opted for 8GB of RAM, a backlit keyboard, and bluetooth support. Specifically:
- AMD A8 feels adequate for most applications.
- 1080 display is crisp. Darks could be a little darker.
- Beats audio sounds better than average notebook speakers...especially voice.
- Has every type of input/output you'll need.
- Aluminum construction looks sleek. Maybe a little squishy here and there but no biggie.
- Full chiclet style keyboard with numerical pad feels nice and is responsive.
- Track pad and buttons functions smoothly w/ right amount of pressure.
I disliked a few standard features, though most of these are probably going to be found with almost all new laptops and probably do not apply to average users who will just use the system as is. But if you're a power user and this is the first new system you've purchased in a few years, there are a few things you need to know before you buy.
This computer did not come with physical installation media (i.e. a Windows 8 and drivers disk). Instead, a hard drive recovery partition containing an image of the OS (including crapware) is used if you want/need to do a rebuild. The Windows 8 product key sticker is nowhere to be found and is actually burned into the system BIOS. You will need to use a software tool like Nirsoft ProduKey or Belarc Advisor to obtain your actual product key. Unfortunately, the key is an OEM key that will only work with the HP recovery image and will not work with a retail version of Windows 8. The UEFI BIOS includes the "secure boot" protocol and will not let you load drivers or OS loaders that have not have not been properly signed with a digital signature. Luckily, you can enable legacy support in the BIOS. UEFI also means that the hard drive uses the standard GUID (or GPT) partition table. This wasn't a problem until I tried to install Truecrypt whole disk encryption and discovered GPT partitions are not currently supported! I don't believe whole disk encryption is an option with bitlocker. There are ways to convert GPT partitions to MBR (search YouTube) but this may have negative effects on certain applications. In the end, I decided to create my own recovery image before nuking everything and rebuilding with a real version of Windows 8 Pro.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not meet expectations.

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had great expectations from this product since my previous laptop was also an HP for five years. This laptop was built slanted. When it is closed, the left side of the screen touches the base but the right side stays about an inch away from the base. Te fan seems to have a mind of its own. It runs at highest speed possible even when I'm not running anything. Which leads to heating issues. My laptop gets super hot super quickly even when I'm watching YouTube videos only with nothing running in the background. I've had this laptop for about ten days and I'm seriously considering sending it back. Maybe this was only an issue with my laptop. Other reviews I've seen seem to be having a good experience with their computers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Lauderdale, Florida
I have used HP products for a number of years. Over the years I have had 3 desktop units, 3 laptops all HP products. The Envy has been a problem for me. It is not the Windows 8. . The first one the hard drive failed and it was replaced by another Envy. The second one is now behaving the same way. I am not able to access the internet and when I do it may fail for no good reason.
I honestly can't recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice machine for Linux

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ordered the customized Envy 15z-j000 with dGPU. This machine is capable to install LinuxMint 15 out of box under legacy BIOS mode. Install the latest AMD Catalyst beta driver then you could disable the dGPU with around 5~6 hrs battery life (light loading). HP's UEFI recognizes Arch Linux's live USB but I do not have chance to dig into this in the meantime.
However, I would say the touchpad is awful to click; speaker sound is too small, and the screen reflects so badly. I wish the wight could be similiar to retina Macbook pro or lighter.
Overall, it is a great machine for who want to install Linux. Good job, HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good for gaming, just update AMD Catalyst!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop is very fast, when gaming and when browsing the web or just going through the Windows 8 UI. For maximum performance, I recommend downloading and installing the latest AMD Catalyst driver, because it increased my GPU performance and even helped my CPU (don't ask me how). For gamers, I recommend downloading Razer Game Booster, because it actually helped me (no, I am not being paid to say this.). After doing all of this and defragging the hard drive, my computer runs blazing fast. In one word, this laptop is a BEAST. I can play Battlefield 3 at Medium-low settings, 1600x900 with an average of 45 FPS. When it comes to raw processing, the A10 is no slouch, for video editing and rendering games. However, if you do not want a gaming laptop, then you should get a laptop with an intel processor. You can probably get a good one at Costco. The displayl is a bit glossy, but no other part of the laptop will get dirty at all. Mine still looks like new.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It has no disk space to download

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Aiea, HI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I wish I had not picked this one, as I have a lot of products and can't load them. I can't even watch my DVD movies, and I have 750.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Laptop

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Windows 8 is OK but a instruction book w/shortcuts would be nice. After calling Hp for help- Windows 8 & I are doing fine. A mouse is a MUST-its much easier than the touch pad. Windows 8 has a lot of good features
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good overall, but a few concerns.

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My mom got this laptop yesterday and honestly it's a very good laptop for the price. I inspected every aspect of it but the battery life (I will do that soon) as I plan on buying a 15t-j000 quad core edition myself and almost everything seems to check out. My 1st concern is the screen...it flexes a bit too much and is a bit worrying. It's not like it's a bad screen but the lid seems like it's made from quit ea thin plastic, although it doesn't seem as though it would break easily. My second concern is the weight. It says it's around 4.5 lbs and I don't doubt it is, but it does feel a little on the heavier side of 4-5lbs. When lifted with 1 hand it seems very heavy but when held with 2 hands it's quite light, for a 15.6in screen I can assure you it's quite light. My Third and main concern is the battery life. As mentioned I haven't tested this in depth but I have played around with the settings and pretty much turned everything to low, and it seems as though even on power saver it gets a maximum of 3.5 hours. Although I believe this to be a fault in Microsoft's battery life indicator utility, it's not as accurate as one would hope, but just judging by that it seems as though that is correct. Until I fully test this I can't really say if this is true or not or really how the battery life is, but when I do I will edit this if possible.
Because of the 3 concerns I took off 1 star, but don't let that discourage you. This device is VERY good. It has a dedicated cooling feature that seems like it makes the fan spin faster to provide a better cooling experience. Which made the bottom feel exactly like metal, I'm not sure if it is, but it made the palm rest quite cool which was very nice. Overall the laptop is very fast, it woke up from sleep instantly, as if it had an SSD instead of an HDD. There's a lot to like about this particular laptop from the design, to the beautiful backlit keyboard, (looks absolutely gorgeous in the dark and in the light, HIGHLY recommend) to the nice feeling and very functionable keyboard, the fast and low voltage AMD processor, and to the software that actually lets you control the clock speeds to save power.
If you're looking for a laptop in this price range then this may be for you.
Ratings:
Overall - 9/10, would easily recommend
Cooling - 9/10, haven't tested when gaming, very cool when browsing and watching videos
Keyboard - 10/10, very nice to use and little to no flex on the 15.6 in model
CPU - 7.5/10, better than an i3 not as good as an i5
GPU (IGP) - 7/10 not as good as HD 4400, but good
Screen (1080p), absolutely gorgeous, and IPS like from the top but not the bottom
Touchpad 7.5/10, harder to use than a mouse, but works nicely, especially the scrolling
Battery life 5/10, not sure if it can reach 9 hours and 45 mins at all, need to test more
Weight - 8/10, light for a 15.6 in model
Thickness, 10/10 very thin for a 15.6 in model
Build quality, 8.5/10 wish it wasn't mostly plastic, but they built it pretty well, quite solid
Customer service, ?/10 didn't have to use
Shipping , 9/10 questionable routes, but got here 1 day before estimated date
Packaging, 7/10 box was punctured from shipping, should have been double boxed
Brightness, 9/10 pretty bright, quite impressive
Software, 8/10 windows 7 should be a free option, but good software overall
Speakers, 7/10 not nearly as good as karmon/hardon but still pretty decent
Beats audio, 8/10 not as good as Waves MaxxAudio but does improve sound quality
Features, 8/10 nice additional things like a fingerprint reader, good I/O options, etc.
Bloatware - 10/10 didn't have to uninstall anything, just had to delete a couple of shortcuts
Expandability 8/10 has the standard doors on the bottom, for that thickness it's nice to see it
I'm impressed, and I most likely will buy myself a 15t-j000 quad core edition if no other company can do better.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Laptop - Almost

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop was purchased with all the goodies to run Linux, full HD display, A10, 16GB, etc. And, it has largely been a good experience. The trackpad, not having a disable button has not proved to be an issue; few if any accidental mouse moves. I did dump UEFI from the system. Fedora 19 loads fine with legacy mode enabled in the BIOS. The only thing I was unable to get working with the Xorg Radeon driver was the HDMI port for an external display.
If this laptop was UEFI only, I wouldn't have purchased it. HP should state clearly in the specifications whether non-UEFI booting is supported. HP could easily become the preferred choice of Linux users with minimal effort.
Otherwise, this 15z has been a joy to run. Get the 1920x1080 display. You won't regret it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What you'll be looking for!

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay so I got this laptop for a great price to start off on. I do a lot of heavy graphic work like photoshop, sony vegas, after effects, and a ton of multi-tasking it's just unbelievable. So a guy like me would know I need a good processor to run all these programs at a good speed, AMD A8 5550m does a great job at keeping everything running smooth. I selected 12GB RAM which is great for the multi-tasking I do. I didn't upgrade the graphics card because honestly I don't game at all anymore. If you're a computer geek like me and are really concerned on a good laptop that can perform the actions you do on your computer at high speeds for a value price, this is the laptop for you. If I had another hundred dollars I would probably get the A10 processor and a bigger hard drive for all my editing and stuff. But I love what I have!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One word.... AWESOME

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Frankfort, KY
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this laptop for a few weeks now. I love the multi-touch on the touch pad.
The hardware
-AMD A8 M-5550A 2.1/3.1
-AMD Dual Graphics
-8GB of RAM
-1TB HDD
I owned a Compaq CQ65 which only had an Intel Celeron running max of 2.1 GHz, 2GB of RAM, and only 250GB HDD. So you guess that this is a jump. For anyone that is wanting the feel of a Macbook, this is the laptop to get. I have gone in to Apple Stores and messed around with a few and this has the same feel, mainly in the keyboard though. The screen is beautiful, yet I am still looking for ways to cut down the brightness of the whites.
Windows 8 was first something that I was a little nervous about, but with the time that I have been playing with it, I have actually grown to like it. Just waiting for Service Pack 1 to come out.
Now trying to get into the BIOS and such was a little bit of a task but I eventually figured it out.
All-in-all I love this computer, everything from the screen to the "Simplepass." This is laptop is awesome.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Students

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brookings, OR
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I chose the processor, GPU, RAM, and HDD upgrades. So far so good! I received the laptop a few days ago and I am really liking this machine! Does everything you need it to and a little more. Games are excellent on this if you have the right settings. Most modern games should run well on medium/high settings. W8 still takes a little more to get used to but I can live with it. The bloatware is also minimal (comes with a Cyber Suite). The audio is very good for a laptop!! The subwoofer does add a little kick to your music which is nice. Its a snappy laptop and looks amazing! I would definitely recommend this laptop to any students looking for a responsive system that can also run games well at decent settings. HP did a great job with this one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm very pleased with my purchase!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My computer just arrived a few days ago and I am very pleased with it thus far! As for my personalized features, I got it with 6GB RAM, the terabyte hard drive and backlit keyboard. I highly recommend the back-lit keyboard addition, for the price I feel like it is a very nice ad practical feature. This computer is very user friendly, and once you add your personal touches to Windows 8 it becomes bearable. Its been very quick and has had no problems running or downloading anything, including pretty heavy pc games and music software.
My only complain so far would probably be for the buttons on the trackpad, they take quite a bit of pressure to activate and become a bit of a burden when you;re trying to be quick, but this can easily be fixed by switching to the double tap method for your left click.
Overall I believe this computer t be a great little package for the price. I look forward to its many years of use ahead! I would highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 15z-j000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply amazing

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got this in today and its a wonderful laptop, my friend got the AMD version but this is the Intel i7. The quad core has yet to be tested on some heavy games, but everything so far is good. I highly recommend this, and lets not forget the finger scanner??? whaaat, not mentioned specifically but its a nice surprise.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.