HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
3.796 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
38 out of 49(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

CAUTION: READ BEFORE U BUY

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:BOSTON
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hello,
I purchased my 1st HP Envy Quad back in early august. When I received it everything worked great. Within 2 weeks my desktop was converging with my homepage, my fingerprint scanner stopped working, my screen froze up several times which caused me to do a hard restart. I had to return it and reorder another HP Envy. After waiting 5 weeks it finally showed up. When I took it out of the box there was dirt, dust, and glue all over my new envy. Also, when I turned it on for the first time to set it up, it skipped steps that I had to do the first Envy I received. It also had a program that should not have been on the computer. This caused me to believe that my new laptop belonged to somebody else before me. I am more then sure that somebody had already received this laptop and had issues with it so they returned it to HP. I have used HP laptops for the last 10 years. I never had an issue until I started purchasing this new Envy.
With all that being said, I do believe this new Envy Laptop is destined for greatness. But I also believe that it is so new that not even HP has critiqued it. This new Envy will be one of the best laptops on the market once they figure it out. My only other complaint would be that the keyboard is extremely weak. It really does flex a lot on the left hand side when you push the keys. I was so excited to receive this machine back when I ordered it but now am left with nothing but a bad experience. HP if you read this review please consider tweaking what needs to be tweaked. The Envy really could be one of the best laptops on the market. It just needs better craftsmanship.
I just put on one of my favorite songs by Mark Morrison. It's called "Return of the Mac"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is average

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:new bedford,MA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
configuration of this model is good i customized this laptop and my configuration is
core i7-4700
16gb ram
2gb graphic card
1tb hard disk @5400rpm
1366x768 display
although configuration is good but the built quality is too bad it is very delicate and the beats audio is quiet normal. dont expect much about beats audio it works like just normal laptop speakers
especially keyboard chassis very weak while typing with the keys the plastic part beside the keys also go down and it irritates a lot
Pros:
good for gaming
good hardware for the price
have 4 USB 3.0 ports
touchpad and gestures are working very fine without any irritation
HP finger print is useful to login into frequent access websites(facebook,gmail,etc)
Cons:
very delicate body
no DVD drive
delicate plastic in between the keys and goes down with keys
this is the better machine getting some what rich hardware at better cost .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's alright

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This computer is the bomb in preformance. It is very good for video editing, gaming, web browsing, and so on. The slimness is great, but I have 4 problems with it:
1. The screen flexes. If i gently press my finger on the back of the screen, i can see my finger. So honestly I am scared to put something on the lid because the metal isnt strong enough and it goes down about 1/2 cm.
2. Overheating.
3. Really wish i got the 1080p display, really is a difference.
4. Kinda slow for a i7.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loaded with too much stuff

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros:
- Startup speed @ 30 seconds if you disable all services on boot
Cons:
- Slow to open programs for an i7
- Loaded with too much programs that are useless
- Windows 8
- No CD drive (needs external)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not all it's advertised

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
This is a very nice computer, fast and great battery life, I particularly like touch screen and the backlit keyboard. It lives-up to its specs in every way but one: It doesn't have wireless-N. The wireless-G works fine but wireless-N doesn't exist. I worked with HP support people for weeks, they sent me a replacement wireless card, but nothing works. One HP representative actually told me it's just not built into this model. It's disappointing to have the "latest and greatest" laptop in most respects, but not including wireless- N. Other than that, I like it a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit Mi.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this unit custom built with all the features I wanted and still the price was less than my off-the-shelf laptop cost 6 years ago. It is perfect, sleek, light, fast, and easy to use. I looked at a dozen computers from several makers before I bought this and I think I made a great choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very powerful and well featured device

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:PA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The HP Envy 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook is worth buying (when you can get deals). The thing about the touchpad some people don't realize is that it isn't like normal touchpads. It's a lot like the touchpad on a macbook. You don't have to push any buttons to click, you just have to tap. The touchpad by itself can do a lot of cool stuff so unless if you ABOLUTELY must have touchscreen, just go with this edition. You'll save money, increase battery life, which is still average, (not good battery life but ok) and you can customize other things. I have seen people with touchscreen laptops and very few people actually use the feature so if you think you want touchscreen you may very well be wasting your money.
HP has a reputation for creating unreliable products. On day 2, I started hearing a small scratching sound in the device. It is most likely the hard drive, so I made sure to set up a backup (in case anything goes wrong) and PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD GET AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. There are a lot of situations that your laptop can break and you will be in trouble. Again, you can probably afford the warranty if you opt out of touchscreen.
Windows 8 is the the sliced bread. It's worth what you're paying for it and if you don't like it you still have the desktop.
It's a pretty thin laptop. It looks really sleek and stylish. It's an eye catcher and that's why they call it "Envy".
Again, don't be afraid to embrace all the new things that computer companies are trying to do. If you are the kind of person who wants that more personal connection with your computer, maybe you can do the touchscreen. It will greatly improve your interaction with the computer.
Another thing, this laptop has a 4th gen intel i7 processor and 8 gb of RAM. It is fast but it is not gaming fast. If you are a light gamer (medium - low graphics) then this is a fair choice but do not, i repeat, DO NOT buy this computer if you are a hardcore gamer. This laptop is meant to infuse the best of performance, design, and portability, so each dimension has to be compromised a little bit. It's a good balance.
Protip: buy
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Fast

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am using laptop for about 3 weeks now. So now I can fairly review this product.
Pros:
1. Very fast processor (Starts the computer in about 10 seconds)
2. Good speakers
3. Multi-touch touch pad, can easily zoom and scroll with multi-fingure touch
4. Slim
5. Aluminum body
Cons:
1. No cd/dvd drive (Not a show stopper for me, since I hardly use that)
2. Although I don't play much game on laptop, I tried once. At that time it got very hot. So the laptop fan was making loud noise.
3. On the configuration page, it says battery will run 9 hrs. But I didn't expected 6 cell battery to be that long. It runs for about 4hrs. And that's what we should expect for 6 cell battery to run.
So far, I am very happy with the product. There are some cons. But I bought the product, knowing those cons.
One more thing, when I received my laptop, it was packed with silica sand bag. But the silica sand bag had hole. So many of the silica sand went into my laptop. Had to waste almost an hour to remove them from laptop.
My Configuration:
Windows 8 64
4th generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4700MQ Processor
Intel HD Graphics 4600
15.6-inch diagonal HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1366x768)
8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
1TB 5400RPM Hybrid Hard Drive
6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
Backlit Keyboard
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flawless product (almost)

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros : Awesome specs; Sleek design; Great audio;
Cons : The trackpad could have been better; especially the right click almost always results in left click.
When I recieved my machine, I was worried about reports of keyboard flex and flaky wifi connection. I observed no such thing. The design is supersleek (my MacBook Air/Pro friends are very jealous) and the performance is awesome. Had it not been for the poor trackpad, it could easily have been the best machine out there for its price-tag but since I will primarily be a linux user, it doesn't worry me much
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owesome with little problem

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Harbin China
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goodness: This PC is quite good at that price. Rank nearly 20000 in Ludashi testing Program. It beats 98% of the PC in the world.
Short coming:
1. the bottom of the PC is extrem not plateful and flat. It always do not get balance. So I have take some actions
2. the keyboard is so flimsy. Not hard enough. When I press, I feeel the board so soft. Not good.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my daughter in college. Her review is below:
Absolutely love the computer! It's small and compact, and it works beautifully.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The operating system is a disaster!!!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Wayne, Indiana
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The computer itself is fantastic! All though I cannot find the 25 GB SSD drive. It looks like they may have used it for the D recovery drive. I think it would boot faster as the boot C drive.
I let the salesman talk me into Windows 8. Big mistake! I did a transfer from my old computer of data and software, but none of them will work with Windows 8. I need to get a refund for Windows 8 and go to Windows 7. If you just want the old simple Solitaire you use to get free it now is different and will cost you to buy it or watch Ads with a Solitaire program you do not like.
I could not even get Turbo Tax to transfer so Do not know what I will do next year?
I have some medical tests to take and then I plan on contacting the online HP Store where I bought this to get the OS replaced or return the computer. So upset with the purchase. It could have been a great computer. It is so frustrating!! DO NOT GET WINDOWS 8 unless you never had a computer to compare it too. You will be paying for every thing as far as software through the nose.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good laptop, cool style, fast enough

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Advantage: Cool style, not so heavy as I expected, easy to carry on.
Fast respond, much fast than I expected,
HD display
Cons: Wait too long to get the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great laptop!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Omaha, NE
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently upgraded to this laptop to replace my 5 yr old DV7 and it has been great. I've had it for about a week now, and I have found this laptop to be awesome.
Here is my setup:
-i7-4700mq
-8GB Ram
-NVIDIA GPU
-Backlit keyboard
-1080p display
-Normal wireless card with the Bluetooth upgrade
-No hybrid drive or mSSD cache
The laptop itself is a good looking machine. It is relatively light, but still has some heft to it. It is well worth getting the 1080p upgrade. It looks amazing. The backlit keyboard is very useful at night. I have only played a couple games on it, nothing too graphic intensive yet, but the NVIDIA GPU has performed quite well. I have no complaints. If you give it the proper ventilation, it keeps relatively cool. I didn't notice any huge spike in temperature after about an hour of playing a game. The audio is loud and clear. I thought the Beats audio was going to be a gimmick sort of thing, but I have been extremely impressed with it. From shutdown to start-up, it takes seconds. It is quick, even without the acceleration. The biometrics is a very nice touch. It's way better than logging in with a password and it works very well.
The screen is plastic, as other reviewers have said. I wouldn't put a ton of pressure on it, but it hasn't bothered me yet. The viewing angles are not the best, but I don't have a problem with it. The screen is able to be adjusted easily and smoothly. The keyboard has very minimal flex, in my opinion. I haven't had any problems with the keyboard not catching my keystrokes. I find it comfortable to type with. They also made it so you have to hold down "fn" to access the F1, F2, etc. keys which seemed weird to me. They default to the special options, like F5 on a normal press will turn on and off the backlighting for the keyboard. To actually hit F5, you have to hold down "fn" and then hit F5. I have gotten used to it, though. It makes the volume and the screen brightness a lot more accessible. Windows 8 has been interesting to get used to, but I'm slowly coming around to it.
Overall, I think it's a great laptop. If I run into any problems, I will update my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but has drawbacks

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Starkville, MS
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this computer for college and so far it has been excellent. It can multitask very well and runs quite efficiently. The fact that it was customizable is a great option if youre looking to save money or beef up the computer. Another neat feature it has is the biometric finger scanner that you use to sign in, a great way to show off your computer and sign in fast.
Now of course it has its drawbacks. It is a bit heavy but it is a bigger laptop so that's expected. There is NO disc drive which can be a problem if you have to install software off a disc but you can always buy an external disc drive for some extra money. Also it has the tendency to release alot of air and is can be noisy when I operate games such as shogun 2 or red orchestra2, but that's expected since I run them on very high graphics.
All in all I would recommend this computer as you can build it to your needs and it is very efficient but I would make sure to buy a disc drive if you plan on using discs and be ready to take breaks from it every so often or tune down the graphics when playing higher quality games or else it can get hot.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returned within 12 hours

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NY
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Trackpad issues out of the box.
Driver issues galore.
Don't buy thinking you can just downgrade back to 7. Welcome to UEFI.
Even with years of experience configuring enterprise servers, this product simply isn't worth the time and hassle to make usable, for something brand new out of the box !
Maybe I just got a lemon, but there are years of documented trackpad issues unresolved. Can't blame HP for Win8, but you can blame them for a poorly functioning product out of the factory and incapable support teams at the consumer level.
Pros: It looks really sleek, if you just want it for the Facebook app.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good preformance, keyboard a bit bendy

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rocklin, CA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen and keyboard are moderately bendable, however the performance is excellent and pretty much makes up for those issues. Audio is great, bass gets quite deep and sound is crystal clear for a laptop. HD screen is a nice upgrade as well, on top of the NVIDIA graphics card and backlit keyboard.
I use Photoshop and PS Lightroom avidly, and they run very smoothly with the i7 and 12gb RAM.
While gaming, the laptop can get fairly warm, but not as hot as older HPs can get.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad performance

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I upgraded this one with Nvidia GPU, 16GB, Wifi with bluetooth.Very nice design, awesome speakers.
Touch pad is terrible. Hard to right/left click.
Seemed to work very well in the first 2 days. The next day , the laptops is so slow when playing music with window media player, freezing a little bit after window updating. Stuck about 20 seconds several times with no reason after that.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will not recommed

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I returned mine few weeks ago, the back panel of the display quality is made of Plastic not Metal. Keyboard made so that it is pressed inward and creates discomfort during work with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid laptop for the price

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this laptop July 17th, and I have not ran into any problems so far. It runs extremely fast, booting within 10 seconds normally. The finger scanner is a nice feature that I've used often. I haven't notice any flex on my keyboard (probably since I don't type with a hammer). I got the 1080p screen and it looks very good after adjusting the colors ( I don't know to much about the viewing angles as I always look at my screen directly). The battery life can get up to 5-6 hours on power saver, 3 hours on high settings.
Specs:
• 4th generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4900MQ Processor
• Intel HD Graphics 4600 (Can run most games on medium, older ones on high)
• 15.6-inch diagonal Full HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1920x1080)
• 8GB DDR3 System Memory (1 Dimm)
• 1TB 5400RPM Hybrid Hard Drive
• NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam w/ integrated digital mic
• 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.