HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC

HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
3.88 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 133 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
12
1 Star
10
104 out of 133(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Student Laptop

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this when the hinge on my old laptop ripped out of its frame.
I am a student and must have a laptop to take with me to class every day. I see Mac books everywhere on campus; good machines but frankly I find the price to be insulting. This is an obvious copycat, but at a fraction of the price!
I need a laptop that is lightweight enough to truck all over campus; as well as solid enough to survive being shoved in and out of a backpack full of books every day. This laptop has proven to be just that. The weight (almost 6 pounds, I believe) is just right for me... it could be lighter, but I am comfortable with it as it is. The overall build of the machine feels very "solid." This is a relatively subjective description; however, I feel very little to no flex when I pick it up, and the keyboard is very solid. It is rather difficult to describe, but it just feel sturdy. I feel that it will stand up to the abuse of a student's life very well. The hinges are nice and big, to, so hopefully it will not go the same way as my previous laptop.
Performance was another issue for me. I am not a gamer; however, I am a big Skyrim fan. The Radeon 7750 is quite nice, and Skyrim is very playable on high settings. Sorry, no frame rate information. This video card is not top of the line; but it is certainly high-end and quite respectable; I am very happy with it.
I upgraded the screen as well; I have never seen such a gorgeous display! Colors and contrast are incredible, as are viewing angles. I am a passionate amateur photographer; and this amazing screen was very important to me. The screen, i7 processor and loads of fast RAM make this an excellent photography laptop.
I did not upgrade the RAM form HP; I plan on waiting and doing it myself later- cheaper that way. Back panel is easily accessible for that sort of thing; thank you HP!
Three gripes: the multi touch is a little odd at first, and it is buggy when I try to play Minecraft and try to scroll. I cannot always bring a mouse with me when I travel around. In addition, the graphics switch is a little odd, you have to manually set in the Catalyst Controller, which programs get "Performance" (the 7750) and which get "auto" (the HD4000). Seems to me that it could be better at figuring out what is needed, without my input. In addition, the audio drivers are weird. On every windows machine I have had, speakers and headphones were separate: I could configure the speakers to mute all the time, and only use the headphones. This is great because I do not want my laptop making noise in the library, and I only listen to music through my headphones or desktop speakers. On this laptop the headphones and speakers are treated the same by the IDT drivers (note, these are not the standard windows audio drivers), so there is no way to permanently mute the speakers. This has resulted in some awkward moments in the library. I hope that I can fix this with the default Windows driver when I upgrade to Windows 8 later this month/year. Otherwise, I just have to remember to turn the volume down when I power off.
Overall, I am very, very happy with this laptop. It is everything I wanted, and the gripes are minor. Fast, portable, sturdy, and an incredible screen. Well suited to photography and some gaming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Screen, Great Multi-tasking

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a new student and am often working on around 25 windows at a time. The Envy 15 runs all of those with no lag. My computer came with a Core i7 2.3 Gigs, 8 Gigs of RAM, 750 Gig Hard Drive, Windows 7 Pro, Adobe Photo, Adobe Premier, 1080p Screen, and Microsoft Office Home and Student.
My major is Web Development and I am looking forward to seeing how this machine handles the Web Development stage. Also the Beats Audio is excellent, gives me very good volume throughout my house. Overall the product is very good, good graphics performance, and great sound.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super sleek and affordable

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salt Lake Cty
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a really sleek, affordable, loaded laptop computer. The i-7 processor is amazingly fast. The Beats Audio is amazing, and the chassis is beautiful. LOVE, Love this computer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it. Absolutely no complaints. I just wish it came with a windows 8 key considering I paid almost 1700 dollars for it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and easy to use

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer was purchased for home use: Internet, streaming video, Google maps, and also a compute-intensive Excel program. All of these are very fast. I got the upgrade to 8GB Memory. I noticed that with several open windows, I used only 15% of CPU, but up to 40% of Memory. The Touchpad is very nice: Smooth operation for the two-fingered operations, though the tap (for left click) is sometimes a little hesitant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Norfolk, VA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am super pleased with this laptop, as it is perfect in my eyes. The only issue I have with the computer is sometimes it freezes, and you can't even restart it. You have to close it and let it go to sleep for it to snap out of it. It's happened to me twice. I love this computer though, so I guess that's a minor problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far...awesome!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dayton, OH
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did a ton of research before I chose a laptop (going back to school after many years away) and, so far, I'm extremely pleased with my purchase. I love this laptop. It's fast, stable, and beautiful to look at. I wanted a computer that could do it all - intensive processing, great audio/visual, office/business software, etc. and this Envy fits the bill. It's light-weight enough for me to tote it in a backpack with my school books and I don't feel overloaded and I get tons of compliments when I use it in class. So far so good - one of the best purchases I've made!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Fantastic!

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Murfreesboro, TN
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've never reviewed a product before online, but as I was sitting here using the new hp envy 15t-3200, I thought I'd jump on here and let you know that you won't go wrong with this purchase. I did a ton of research and really stressed over the decision, but am super-happy with it. A couple of thoughts - be prepared for shipping times to be LONG! Get the Full HD display. It takes some getting used to, but it's awesome! The latest generation of these computers have no color calibration issues. Boot time with the hybrid 7200 drive is ridiculously fast. It's just completely great. Thanks HP!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

With upgrades the envy is an apple contender.

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I previously owned an Apple Macbook and a gaming rig both of which i bought in around 2008 and have since upgraded several times. They both broke recently and I was looking for a single machine that could do both. Be portable and yet play the latest games. The ENVY 15 is a beast it far exceeded my expectations. I can run Skyrim on high in full 1080p and get 30-40 frames per second without any sort of overclocking. Not bad for a laptop. Yes yes it looks just like a Macbook Pro minus the red strip/beats knob from the hinge down. Apple fanboys can cry copycat (I used to be one) but I really think its HP listening to the masses and just giving the people what they want; a PC version of the Macbook Pro. I have to say that they did a great job, I ordered mine in July 2012 and happy to say there are no red/orange issues in the IPS display the build quality is great and the PC can play all major games in the market right now with at least 30fps. Running Fallout NV with 60fps on ultra in full 1080p was pretty great :) I'm impressed. Of course this would only apply to getting at the very least an Ivybridge and 1080 IPS display like I did. It's a great PC if you need one click buy, but get the upgrades!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of All - Envy made it beyond my expectation.

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a systems Analyst and do lot of database programing and online study. i wanted to purchase a laptop which stays with me for 7 to 8 years. I was looking for i7 processor with atleast 8 gb of memory and minimum 500 gb of space. I tried 5 laptops, 2 were gaming once and 3 were non gaming. all of them failed. first laptop - gave me blue screen, second one - touch pad single finger scrool does not work and touch pad sensitivity cannot be set, third one - does not have WIDI functionality as advertised, fourth one - freezing and slow, fifth one - Blue screen for non compatible drivers. All the above problems surfaced with in 3 weeks of purchase and i have to return all of these laoptops. I explored another laptop which starts above $2000 and Envy is better and best deal when compared to price, stability and quality.
I literally gave up my laptop purchase and when i shared the above information with my elder Brother he asked me to try HP laptop and the reason he gave is a old, stable, research & development progress and quality company. I was not sure if HP will stand to my expectation of stable, fast and quality build laptop which i can have for years. Based on his suggestion i purchased HP Envy 15t-3200 customised for i7 - 3820 QM, 16 g of memory and 750 Hybrid Hard Drive. I subjected this laptop for all the software downloads, updates and played videos and movies, multiple times shutdown, it runs so fast and no hickups or issues. The touch pad is excellent for single scrolling as well as multi gesture. This laptop has many features which other laptop does not have. In description, i did not see all of them listed but after purchase i discovered them and is very happy, like WIDI, lighting up of backlight keyboard with your presence., etc. I never had any problem till date. its been around 2 weeks by now and i am so satisfied with this laptop that i took out my time in my busy scedule to write this review.
Keep up the good and quality work HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid laptop from HP

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros:
Rock solid aluminum construction
Excellent audio, best I've heard on a laptop. Crisp even on the highest settings, though it could use a little more bass.
Beautiful 1080p screen
Keyboard is a pleasure to type on, minimal flex
Great graphics performance (60FPS on Starcraft 2 with all settings on high @ 1080P, similar performance on Diablo 3. Chews through Crysis 2 on High as well).
Comes with all the bells and whistles you'd expect from a premium laptop (Back-lit keyboard, slot loading DVD drive, etc)
HP is constantly releasing coupons, I got my system (Core i7, 6gb ram, Intel WiDI) for under $1200 taxed and shipped. Great deal.
Cons:
The track pad buttons are pretty stiff
Could be lighter, but it's not backbreaking. I'll be carrying it to class every day
My first system had some problems (Display wouldn't calibrate colors properly, CD drive wouldn't eject), wish QC would've caught this but oh well, I was taken care of . HP paid to ship the laptop back to them, 2-day shipped me a new one, and took $50 off my original purchase price.
All in all, it's a fantastic machine. HP has turned me into a loyal customer from this day forward. In fact, I just bought my girlfriend an HP Pavilion DV6 which she loves as well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love everything about this laptop!!!!!

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop looks amazing, feels amazing and performs amazing I couldn't be happier with my purchase. The sound quality is the best I have ever heard from a laptop. The full 1080p screen looks great, The keyboard and trackpad are great I do wish the trackpad was made of glass but thats just my preference . I really have no complaints and cant wait to put my freinds macbook to shame with my new Envy!!!! thanks hp you guys are the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase , Very Happy

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fairbanks, AK
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PROS
*4.5 hours of actual usage battery life, 2.5 hours while playing Diablo III
(its NOT the advertised 10.5 hours but i really want to see the test they run to set that number)
*Quiet and cool
*Fairly light (coming from Lenovo 15inch)
*Audio is also a nice step up from standard laptop, gets loud if wanted
*Solid construction, screen colors seem to not have the weird orange/red issue
CON
*Dvd drive will not eject. Multiple discs; some burned, some program discs. Each time I had to get creative with a paperclip to even make it pop out slightly, may need to contact customer service because I'm pretty sure the drive is supposed to eject. Thankfully its not that major for me, but it should work so that's why i dinged the performance.
BOTTOM LINE
Looks great, performs great, sounds great, and with a coupon or two priced great. It does resemble a Mac(quality, look and construction) but that's not really a bad thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome prodect!

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the first generation of the 15 envy and it was time for an upgrade. I am a developer and this machine is preforming wonderful for all my development applications and tasks. Recommend highly to anyone needing a good notebook that can perform.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Corvallis, OR
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unibody like design. Excellent performance. Silent than my previous laptop.
Love this product. Great full HD display and brightness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent computer

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hilton Head, SC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did alot of research and decided to buy. I was a little weary about this purchase because of the many reviews that complained about this product but then realized people always complain. My wife has a HP pavilion and is very satisfied. This is my 10th personal computer over many years. I took a chance. Price was right with the coupon code. I received it on time with no damages. The computer is very fast ,30 second cold boot with hybrid drive. Hi def screen is the way to go! If I was to complain, I wish it had blue ray and 3d capability. The sound system is good but hyped up too much to be great. I definitely recommend. The new apple computers are nice too. BUT they are very expensive and don't have, I feel, the BANG FOR THE BUCKS spent! THIS computer DOES.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is a great student laptop

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SF, Alabama
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It has a medium quality graphics card, lots of RAM, and in my rig I have an excellent 3610qm Intel Ivy Bridge processor. I would defiantly recomend this PC it is one step short of a MacBook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall awesome product

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop has many great features, i would recommend it to anyone. Only downside is that the black cover collects alot of finger prints.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop!!

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After so much of research for buying a laptop I finally decided to buy HP ENVY 15 and I am fully satisfied with my decision.
Pros:
Performance: Excellent (I got i7 processor with 8 GB memory)
Display: Great (I got 1920x1080)
Audio: The best I have ever seen (Beats audio with 6 speakers)
Backlit keyboard (with one LED per key)
Mouse pad: Very good
Build Quality: Great (unibody is great), keeps laptop cool
Cons:
Battery - I am not satisfied with battery life. It is no way close to what is promised. But not too bad though.
No option to get both hard drive AND SSD. If you install SSD yourself you void warranty
Shipping - It shipped as promised (after 10 days). But I would have loved if it shipped faster. Even though I requested Expedited delivery it got delayed in by two days. But, when I called HP the refunded me the shipping fee.
Overall I recommend this laptop. Its a good alternative to Mac Book Pro if you are on budget. Wish you all the best!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The new laptop work great, but I had one issued with the DVD/CD disk drive ejector. When I slide in a CD into the CD/DVD drive, and I press the f10 button. The CD didn't want to come out, from the disk drive, but I found a way to fix it by putting my thumb around the outside disk drive. It works a little better, and sometime it does the same issued. This computer is just like the mac PC, and I would recommend this to a friend. What I like about this computer is the lighting keyboard's key, which is awesome, and I can see it better when I used it in the dark room. What I like about HP services is that the employees, are willing to help me, and they will try to solve my situation about your products. The HP is a trusting, and successful company. " I can't really say much about this computer performance, but the features on this laptop great for media, with the six beat speakers built this."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>