HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC

HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
3.88 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 133 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
12
1 Star
10
104 out of 133(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2nd one was a winner

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Haslett, Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I need to preface this review with a warning: not sure if our experience was typical with this computer. After months of research and comparision, we decided that this was the special slam dunk "graduation and going to college gift" for our son. We wanted a PC instead of a Mac due to him going into engineering and not wanting to mess with a lot of software/steps for him to run some PC specific engineering software. We custom spec'd this premium level HP laptop. The build time and shipment was going to take longer than expected, but we thought this was the right computer.
When it finally arrived, our son was already off to college on our old netbook...not a good start. Then I spent from 4 p.m. unil 11 pm on a work night trying to get it going, trouble shooting, and finally enlisting HP support. The unit was unrepairably defective out of the box. Ugh!
Customer support and tech support were outstanding, but it didn't change the situation and circumstances. Needless to say, we decided to try a replacement with the same specs. The replacement came a week ago, and is amazing. It truly is what we expected originally. This computer is amazing, and very high performing. Unfortunately it has taken just shy of two months to have a working premium level laptop and I am not sure how that impacts our thoughts about future HP purchases. The great initial support with the defective unit goes a tremendous way with us, and frankly was the ONLY reason we decided to give a replacement a try. HP owes their personal a big round of applause on this one, because if it had went any other way we'd never come back to HP. That is a lot of future purchases as we are two professionals with 4 kids, and technology is central in our lives.
Anyway, we hope the replacement continues to work as advertised and expected. If our original worked properly out of the box like this replacement, we'd be recommending this to anyone and everyone - its that good. However, the initial quality control and computer was so frustrating, upsetting, and inconveniencing that it is hard to give a totally good recommendation. If yours works, we think you will LOVE it. I was honestly wishing it was my computer when I was getting the replacement up and going - spectacular machine!
With a properly functioning model, I would take it hands down. It is slim, attractive, has amazing specs, and provides some very unique features such as the volume/beats control. It is just an incredible laptop in both design and capability. I'd like to think we got a rare bad egg with the original. If that is the case, I cannot strongly recommend this computer enough. If it is not and is rather a sign of quality control on a premium level brand, then HP needs to really revisit its manufacturing centers in China and get this straightened out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Student Laptop

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this when the hinge on my old laptop ripped out of its frame.
I am a student and must have a laptop to take with me to class every day. I see Mac books everywhere on campus; good machines but frankly I find the price to be insulting. This is an obvious copycat, but at a fraction of the price!
I need a laptop that is lightweight enough to truck all over campus; as well as solid enough to survive being shoved in and out of a backpack full of books every day. This laptop has proven to be just that. The weight (almost 6 pounds, I believe) is just right for me... it could be lighter, but I am comfortable with it as it is. The overall build of the machine feels very "solid." This is a relatively subjective description; however, I feel very little to no flex when I pick it up, and the keyboard is very solid. It is rather difficult to describe, but it just feel sturdy. I feel that it will stand up to the abuse of a student's life very well. The hinges are nice and big, to, so hopefully it will not go the same way as my previous laptop.
Performance was another issue for me. I am not a gamer; however, I am a big Skyrim fan. The Radeon 7750 is quite nice, and Skyrim is very playable on high settings. Sorry, no frame rate information. This video card is not top of the line; but it is certainly high-end and quite respectable; I am very happy with it.
I upgraded the screen as well; I have never seen such a gorgeous display! Colors and contrast are incredible, as are viewing angles. I am a passionate amateur photographer; and this amazing screen was very important to me. The screen, i7 processor and loads of fast RAM make this an excellent photography laptop.
I did not upgrade the RAM form HP; I plan on waiting and doing it myself later- cheaper that way. Back panel is easily accessible for that sort of thing; thank you HP!
Three gripes: the multi touch is a little odd at first, and it is buggy when I try to play Minecraft and try to scroll. I cannot always bring a mouse with me when I travel around. In addition, the graphics switch is a little odd, you have to manually set in the Catalyst Controller, which programs get "Performance" (the 7750) and which get "auto" (the HD4000). Seems to me that it could be better at figuring out what is needed, without my input. In addition, the audio drivers are weird. On every windows machine I have had, speakers and headphones were separate: I could configure the speakers to mute all the time, and only use the headphones. This is great because I do not want my laptop making noise in the library, and I only listen to music through my headphones or desktop speakers. On this laptop the headphones and speakers are treated the same by the IDT drivers (note, these are not the standard windows audio drivers), so there is no way to permanently mute the speakers. This has resulted in some awkward moments in the library. I hope that I can fix this with the default Windows driver when I upgrade to Windows 8 later this month/year. Otherwise, I just have to remember to turn the volume down when I power off.
Overall, I am very, very happy with this laptop. It is everything I wanted, and the gripes are minor. Fast, portable, sturdy, and an incredible screen. Well suited to photography and some gaming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Screen, Great Multi-tasking

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a new student and am often working on around 25 windows at a time. The Envy 15 runs all of those with no lag. My computer came with a Core i7 2.3 Gigs, 8 Gigs of RAM, 750 Gig Hard Drive, Windows 7 Pro, Adobe Photo, Adobe Premier, 1080p Screen, and Microsoft Office Home and Student.
My major is Web Development and I am looking forward to seeing how this machine handles the Web Development stage. Also the Beats Audio is excellent, gives me very good volume throughout my house. Overall the product is very good, good graphics performance, and great sound.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super sleek and affordable

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salt Lake Cty
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a really sleek, affordable, loaded laptop computer. The i-7 processor is amazingly fast. The Beats Audio is amazing, and the chassis is beautiful. LOVE, Love this computer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I'm semi-in-love :)

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE the way this computer looks, its so pretty, It works really good I have no complaints about that but the Beats Audio is not what I expected, to me it just gets louder than the average laptop. But besides that its nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it. Absolutely no complaints. I just wish it came with a windows 8 key considering I paid almost 1700 dollars for it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Slim and Packs a punch but a bit overpriced.

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you are off to college and don't play games, this can be an option for you, but I wouldn't reccommend it. I personally use this both for gaming and other school purposes. I have such games installed like Battlefield 3, DOTA 2, Team Fortress 2 etc. Those games can be played on this computer no doubt, but such games like Battlefield 3 would be recommended playing while charging as this laptop does get much better fps. 50%- 90%. The battery life is only going to get you about 4 hours of internet browsing as I have personally tested for quite some time. My settings were at 20-30% brightness and on power saver and MAX CPU usage was at 75-80% and I barely cracked 4 hours. As for the Display and personal liking, I give this laptop a solid 9/10 because this laptop packs a good punch from this below average thickness of a "gaming" laptop. If you are wondering what the temperature wise is, the max on a hot summer day I saw was 82-85 Celsius and that was playing during a heatwave and on regular days when it gets below 78 Fahrenheit, I get good temperatures like 68 Celsius with a personal fan and not a laptop cooler. I am talking about the fans to blow cool air into my room. The only problem I have with my laptop is that my right latch on my computer is slightly loose when I received it and when I apply slight pressure it makes a squeak sound. The warranty should cover that. The sound quality is pretty nice and the volume rocker is pretty sweet. When playing music and turning the 'Beats' on and off by "Fn B" I can hear a difference between default and 'Beats'. As for overcharging your battery, I am not sure of that because I asked customer support and I couldn't get a solid answer. The wifi signal is decent, but slightly worst than my old laptop purchased 7 years ago. I forgot to mention that this can handle Bf3 at 30-50fps at 900p at medium settings with battery charging. The screen is really reflective, but the brightness can cover for it. Trackpad is nice and I like the multi-touch gestures.The subwoofer I can't really hear, but thats because the speakers rock over it. All in all very solid laptop, I hope this helped you into buying this. I have used it for 2 weeks now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and easy to use

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer was purchased for home use: Internet, streaming video, Google maps, and also a compute-intensive Excel program. All of these are very fast. I got the upgrade to 8GB Memory. I noticed that with several open windows, I used only 15% of CPU, but up to 40% of Memory. The Touchpad is very nice: Smooth operation for the two-fingered operations, though the tap (for left click) is sometimes a little hesitant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is generally very good

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bandon, OR
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do not like the "Advanced ImagePad" as it will often auto left-click when the cursor hovers
over a selectable item. I have had items incorrectly moved to other items when I was just
moving the cursor. Otherwise, I have not had any other issues with this computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Norfolk, VA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am super pleased with this laptop, as it is perfect in my eyes. The only issue I have with the computer is sometimes it freezes, and you can't even restart it. You have to close it and let it go to sleep for it to snap out of it. It's happened to me twice. I love this computer though, so I guess that's a minor problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far...awesome!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dayton, OH
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did a ton of research before I chose a laptop (going back to school after many years away) and, so far, I'm extremely pleased with my purchase. I love this laptop. It's fast, stable, and beautiful to look at. I wanted a computer that could do it all - intensive processing, great audio/visual, office/business software, etc. and this Envy fits the bill. It's light-weight enough for me to tote it in a backpack with my school books and I don't feel overloaded and I get tons of compliments when I use it in class. So far so good - one of the best purchases I've made!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good laptop but with some improvement

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Monroe, LA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had the laptop for a few days now and I am really happy with it.
First off the issues.
1. Right side of the display pannel was popping out. I was able to snap it in place though and it is not an issue anymore. This should have been caught in QC.
2. The i key catches slightly causing a little click. Its a little annoying, but doesn't effect function.
3. No abilty to manually enable disable discrete graphics either in bios of Windows. There is an application to specify which applications use which gpu but I would prefer more direct control on which processor to use.
4. Once of my games crashes when using ATI graphcis, but as the game is a beta, I can't really say thats an issue yet.
5. Glossy screen. Well it is glossy and rather reflective but honestly most of the time I am able to ignore it.
Positives, while the images on HP made the laptop look a little boring it is a nice looking laptop. I think the Dell looks a little better, but HP is significantly cheaper for same hardware specs.
Trackpad seems to work fine to me. I did upgrade the bios before using the computer so that may have helped. The click pad part for right click is taking some adjustment. I am used to two finger scrolling app which allows two fingers for right click without having to press down the pad. Just touch activates.
Replacing the memory and hard drive with a SSD was easy and straight forward. Hard drive was accessable by just slidding back a single pannel without tools then removing a hard dr uve caddy with a phillips screwdriver.
Memory required removing 3 more screws to remove a second pannel, but not that hard. Much simpler than the old pre unibody macbook I had. I havent bought apple since then.
Performance is very good. Low end Ivy bridge Core i7 CPU performs slightly better than my desktops Core i7 920 CPU. Of course the SSD and 16 gb of memory helps.
Wish list.
BluRay option. I really don't understand why this wasnt an option for upgrade. Better yet remove the optical drive completely and make it slimer and lighter.
matte screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Fantastic!

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Murfreesboro, TN
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've never reviewed a product before online, but as I was sitting here using the new hp envy 15t-3200, I thought I'd jump on here and let you know that you won't go wrong with this purchase. I did a ton of research and really stressed over the decision, but am super-happy with it. A couple of thoughts - be prepared for shipping times to be LONG! Get the Full HD display. It takes some getting used to, but it's awesome! The latest generation of these computers have no color calibration issues. Boot time with the hybrid 7200 drive is ridiculously fast. It's just completely great. Thanks HP!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not even great.....

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my second Hp Envy and I have to say that Hp lost their touch on how to make laptops now a days... My first Hp had all sorts of problems, the battery life was weak, the audio keep on lagging from time to time, it wasn't as fast as I thought it would have been, the bottom part of the screen was popping out, and some others. When I exchanged that laptop for the same one it there were still problems. The audio was horrid, I every 10-15 minutes or so there was a stutter when I played music or a video, the trackpad was very stiff, when it starts up it was extremely louder than my previous one, and a little faster than my old one but not much. All I have to say is that I am never buying from them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great performance, after the 2 laptop....

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing computer. Great features, fast, beautiful looking, and an awesome display. AFTER they sent me one with a crashed hard drive, sent me a new one, that had to be repaired TWICE. I love the computer thats why I continued to work with hp until it was perfect. They did all they could do as far as getting my repairs done as quickly as possible. I was extremely dissapointed that they had sent me two completely new laptops both with issues; however now that the one I have now is fixed I couldnt ask for more. Great for college and I would recommend, just hope you get a good one at the start. If not, Hp is very good at working with you until you are happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Satisfactory Product

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fremont, California
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product just arrived today and I am completely satisfied. After many months of research, I finally decided to purchase this machine. Turned out the reviews were true. This is one solid piece of work. However, there are some cons. The screen is definitely a dust attracter and also a little bit too glossy, but hey, I guess that's what you get for buying the HD Radiance display. Also, the letter key 'R' is a huge problem. It's very insensitive and won't react unless I press the key right in the center. Other than that, the laptop is awesome. There is not a red-orange display problem anymore. The beats audio is magnificent, and the design is soo sleek. The CD drive works just fine. Overall this is one solid work. Keep up the good work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Slow processor

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Little Rock, AR
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not happy with this laptop. I have other HP computers and this one should out run all of them. Processor is as slow as my XP machine. The touch pad is not sensitive at all. Sometime it does not detect my touch or more the pointer. Thinking about sending it back. Boots up very slow and seems to be stuck at times when loaded internet pages. I have very fast internet router,,,not needed for this slow laptop.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

wonderful display if not for glare :(

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really like the display, however, there is a horrible glare so I can't see clearly due to seeing my own reflection. (Note: I even have the glare when I'm in a room with no lights on).
I'm also having troubles with microsoft updates and need to reinstall windows but don't have a windows disk :(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

its just amazing but...

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:wheeling, IL
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
we all know now the pros: very fast wake up, quick processor, nice graphics, fast response in tasks, clear and wonderful sound, the design rocks! the beats volume gives a little old fashioned tic.
the cons, well, a guy talk about the arrows up and down, its true, too smalls. In the top of the computer, the trace of your fingerprints are so hard to take out, even with a cloth you will have to push a little bit to remove them, its a nice skelleton but its look dirty not so nice. AND THE MOST IMPORTANT THING... the battery life i just made the calibration because the power was 4.30 hours full battery charge, and i only got to 5 hours, from the 10.25 hours that it supposed to be, maybe i will call again and let them explain me why i shouldnt return this computer, because i bought it for the battery life... and NORTON antivirus is too heavy for a laptop, and its too complicated
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 15t-3200 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

With upgrades the envy is an apple contender.

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I previously owned an Apple Macbook and a gaming rig both of which i bought in around 2008 and have since upgraded several times. They both broke recently and I was looking for a single machine that could do both. Be portable and yet play the latest games. The ENVY 15 is a beast it far exceeded my expectations. I can run Skyrim on high in full 1080p and get 30-40 frames per second without any sort of overclocking. Not bad for a laptop. Yes yes it looks just like a Macbook Pro minus the red strip/beats knob from the hinge down. Apple fanboys can cry copycat (I used to be one) but I really think its HP listening to the masses and just giving the people what they want; a PC version of the Macbook Pro. I have to say that they did a great job, I ordered mine in July 2012 and happy to say there are no red/orange issues in the IPS display the build quality is great and the PC can play all major games in the market right now with at least 30fps. Running Fallout NV with 60fps on ultra in full 1080p was pretty great :) I'm impressed. Of course this would only apply to getting at the very least an Ivybridge and 1080 IPS display like I did. It's a great PC if you need one click buy, but get the upgrades!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>