HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC

HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.16 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
84 out of 106(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Review 61 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP ENVY - Beats

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works well except pick and right click buttons do not work all the time. One is higher than the other and appear to have been installed incorrectly. I will probably need to return for service. HP needs to vamp up Inspection and Quality Control.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Laptop for everyday use

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely think this laptop fits all the needs for the average consumer. I use this laptop for digital scrapbooking and the i5 processor works great for photo editing and using two to three different programs with no delays! I also love the beats audio, in fact I never realized how much better it is than the average sound system. The battery life is great too, I would say average is about 4-5 hours. The only downfall I have with this is the layout of the mousepad. When you get to a spot on a website and you want to double-click, sometimes the mouse moves when you click because it is an entire active mousepad.
Overall, great laptop for surfing the web (oh yes... Internet Explorer 9 is so easy and functional to use).
Have fun with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good to have

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this computer is like mac .I like it .In the future i want to upgrade to core i7 with quad core because i hope to keep this modele HP ENVY for long time
Thank you HP for this computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP ENVY 14

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The ENVY is solid and well built. The screen must be viewed from straight on or quality deteriorates rapidly. The battery is rated at almost 4 hours but the most I have been able to get is 2 hours and 55 minutes and this is after calibrating. The touch pad sometimes doesn't seem to want to work, especially when scrolling.
It is quiet, fast and stays cool even when multi-tasking. Overall I like it but I am getting an 8 cell battery which costs $129.00 with the hope of a longer battery life. It would be nice to take a cross country flight without having to recharged it. As for the screen, I am constantly adjusting it to get the best resolution. For the money paid, I would expect these items to be better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My laptop is my best friend.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First things first: not meaning to get into the Mac vs. PC debate, but I would recommend this for anyone who's looking at a Mac but can't afford it. It's pretty like a Mac, and it's fast like a Mac.
I bought mine on Newegg, where it was cheaper than on the HP site. Of course, that meant I had to get a quick-ship model, but since that's pretty nice I didn't mind.
The reason I have not given this five stars is because this computer has no microphone jack. It has a headphone jack and a headset jack. To record audio, you must use the built-in microphone, a smartphone headset or a PC headset with a smartphone adapter, or a USB microphone. My father was willing to buy me a nice USB condenser mic, so it ended up not being a problem, but it was an inconvenience as I spent hours on the phone with HP trying to figure out why my microphone jack would not accept my microphone.
Other than that, I absolutely adore this computer. The sound quality is excellent (not from the built-in speakers, which are standard silly laptop speakers, but from an external speaker or a pair of nice headphones) and I really love that the computer has a built-in equalizer. I also love that I can plug in two pairs of headphones without a splitter, as then I can help my family's band record their music without having to switch the headphones back and forth every ten seconds.
I use this laptop also for video editing. I first used the included copy of Premiere Elements 8, but on Black Friday we bought me Premiere Elements 10. I haven't gotten a chance to play with it yet, but I assume it will only improve on what I already had!
I also game on this laptop. I play Portal, Portal 2, Terraria, and Minecraft, and I have not had a problem with any of them when using the ATI graphics card. The Intel graphics card can only run Terraria, as Steam does not recognize it and it does not render fast enough for 3D gaming.
The final problem I have had occurs when I connect my laptop to a high-quality sound system, such as the one in my school's auditorium. I am the sound engineer for all of our plays, and I had intended to run a show off of my laptop. However, there was a very annoying buzzing coming from my sound card, which the sound expert who helps us sometimes told me was due to the power cord's box thingy or due to the Beats Audio's preamp. He wasn't sure which, as he didn't have time to play with it. I have also noticed this buzzing when listening through my nice Sennheiser headphones at home, but it goes away after about 3 minutes. 3 minutes of buzzing is too much during a show, however, so I am unable to use my laptop to run shows. Unfortunately, this means burning new CDs every time I edit something.
Wait: that wasn't actually the final problem. The final problem is that sometimes when I leave my computer running for several days in a row, my control and escape keys stop working. It's mildly annoying.
Overall, though, this is a great computer and I love it. I'm sorry if this review sounds negative; I just want to warn potential buyers of what they can expect to encounter and provide some idea of how to fix it. I could write for hours about the features that I love, so I figure it's best to let the computer speak for itself about that.
Thank you for being so awesome, computer!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great notebook

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Bruno, Ca
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The laptop is good looking, it is also very customizable. The fact that it has 14.5 " display sets is apart. The sound is better than in any notebook but still lacks bass (hardly possible given the form factor.) The only downsides: The touch pad buttons are actual touch pad and require a hard press. HDD and battery LEDs are on a side which you can not see while working. The rest is great. especially red lighted keyboard and the display.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent product

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I upgrade it to i7 2820, 80 G SSD and 8G RAM.
After a 25% coupon, I paid about $1400
The laptop is super fast.
The only issue is the battery life, I guess it is about 2 hrs.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall very satisfied.

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Upper Michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As with any computer you order from a manufacture they are overloaded with software that is unneeded and needs to be cleared off before hand. I did end of getting "The Blue Screen Of Death" on my second day of use which I was not happy about at all and was in contact with HP immediately as this was unacceptable. With HP's great customer service this issue was resolved that day. Thank you HP for providing some of the best customer service out there. Performance is great, style is simple but good, with any laptop heat is always an issue but overall runs much cooler than my much larger previous Pavilion DV8000t.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A beautiful machine that could be great

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:WA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I picked the Envy 14 over the Alienware 14 because of the 1 lb. weight difference and especially the SSD/mechanical hard drive combination options. The ram options were better also. The only issues that I have found is that the video card is rated relatively weak for the upcoming Rage game even with the 1 gig of video ram. The machine plays Quake 4 beautifully though so hopefully it will do ok. The other problem is with the touch pad. The left and right touchpad buttons are actually part of the touchpad itself and when you put your finger onto the button it has a tendency of moving the cursor off of the button you were planning on clicking. I really did like the warranty options and the cost of the warranty to what it promises is much better than you can get with Dell. Overall, I am very happy with the machine and it really does seem to be a high quality build. The lighter weight is important for me since I travel a lot. My last machine was a Dell XPS M1210 and I was concerned about the larger size but I don't think it is going to be a problem. I waited for HP to come out with the Sandy Bridge version and I'm glad I did. They took quite a while but they got it right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice computer, lacks a few things

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its a nice laptop overall, but lacks an e-sata port (despite being stated in the products info page) and a VGA port (or at least a free adapter).
An environment light sensor would also be useful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Windows Based Laptop Around

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is no doubt the best window based laptop (at least from what i've seen). Its solidly built, has great speakers (for a laptop), and is a performance machine (even at the lowest price). Also it just feels "right" when your on it. My only problem to date is that the touchpad is a little buggy when you rest your thumb on the left click button (it is kinda like the Macbook Pro's touchpad in that the entire thing works as a clicker, except two red lines section off space for a right and left click). In addition this computer has been running amazingly cool so far with the i5. I say this is your best bet for a windows PC (i admire Apples build quality, but can't stand the OS or the price for what you get). Also for the reviewer that said it too bulky, its less than 0.2 inches thicker than the Macbook Pro and its bound to be wider due to the screen size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good laptop, but not for a girl

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:new york
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop has a very good specs and high quality build. One major downside is a mouse bottoms. It feels like someone stick a chevy engine into ferrari. It's very hard to click and has a feeling it was borrowed from some cheap model. If this issue doesn't bother you, go for it. Otherwise, you should be looking at another products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Laptop, Poor Execution

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From a performance and style perspective the laptop is flawless. Mine is set up with i7 and 8g of ram, so as far as performance it is one of the fastest laptops I have ever used. The styling of the laptop is great with a black finish and the red backlit keyboard is both effective and visually appealing. However, when the laptop was shipped to me it already had a battery issue out of the box. Even when the laptop is unplugged the indicator shows that it is, and when on battery that laptop only has about an hour of run time. I researched this problem online and it appears that it is a rather common issue so it is dissapointing that HP didn't remedy the issue before shipping the laptops.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful computer

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have owned my HP Envy 14 Beats edition for 2 months now, and the first thing i have to say is that I love it! The design is beautiful, the red backlit keyboard is amazing, the speed of this computer is good, i blame Windows 7 for the slower days, the screen is beautiful with amazing graphics.
The things I do not like is: the battery life is TERRIBLE. 1 hour battery life on a laptop is unacceptable. Also, HP puts way too much unnecessary junk programs on the computer. I spent several days getting rid of unnecessary programs. For example, there were 5 different video viewing programs, why we need five?
Other than that, the computer is beautiful, although the lid of the computer is very flimsy, i can push lightly on it and it will indent. That is something HP should work on.
I would recommend this computer but the battery life really disappointed me and I am currently lookng for ways to improve that. I got a great deal through the HP acadamy and the computer was shipped rather quickly. I am glad i chose this computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Laptop!!

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best laptop I have ever owned hands down. I got the i7, 8g ram envy 14 beats edition. It is REALLY fast. The graphic card is great and I can run most games on high easily. The only problem is sometimes, the graphic card doesn't switch to the dedicated and remains on the integrated, that's only happened a couple times tho, it's no biggie for me since i'm just a casual gamer. The sound is magnificent, really smooth and nice. Keyboard is great, i could type on this all day. People are complaining about the trackpad, it's not that bad at all, if anything dont use it. The battery is good, some people were saying how its awful and only gives them an hour and half or so, uh no not the case at all. I get around 3 hours on this thing, and i have a i7 processor with 8g ram with plenty of apps running. The only thing i wish HP had done with this laptop is make the switchable graphics more smooth, like just have a button for it, would make things a lot easier.
PROS:
Super Fast
Great graphics card
Not too heavy
Great design
Average battery
Red Lit Keyboard (amazing)
Remains cool (thanks to HP Coolsense, this laptop doesn't get hot at all)
CONS:
Trackpad
Screen too glossy
Left and right mouse buttons are hard to click, you eventually get used to it
GREAT LAPTOP, BUY IT.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good performance but unsatisfactory

PostedMay 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got this Notebook free from subscribing to a broadband service
I loved this notebook as it is packed full of many good features, like its good graphics, fast Processor, good keyboard and touch pad. It also had a very wide range of useful software built in
BUT, there are some problems with the PC.
Firstly, The PC battery life is bad. It is stated to have an eight cell battery which is touted to last 6 hours, but the battery barely gave me1 hours and 45 minutes to use to computer at best, not even half of what it was supposed to do.
Secondly, an intermittent audio connection. The music is good. But it always seems to come from the wrong source (i.e music always seems to come from its built in speakers instead of connected headphones). I have to set the settings right and restart the PC to get the music to come out from my headphones. Even so, there is still a chance for the music to come out from the speakers instead of headphones again. I am not sure if this problem happens to my PC only.
In conclusion, this PC is great, but there are some major issues with it. I feel HP can easily settle the Music problem with software update, but for the battery life (WHICH IS THE BIG PROBLEM), i am not sure what is HP willing to do to settle this problem.
I gave 4 stars for features.
But gave only 2 stars for performance as the battery life is not good and music streaming problem(I am not sure if the music stream error is limited to mine only). If the PC did not have these problems, I would have given it 4 stars too. :(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sleek laptop, not without downsides

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I went with the i7 processor and 8GB RAM.
Pros: Very nice looking, the backlit keyboard is sweet. I've only had it for a week so far, so haven't really put it to the test performance wise yet. When doing a restart it takes a while to boot up but it wakes up from sleep very quickly which is really nice.
Cons:
-Although the sound that comes from the speakers is good quality, it doesn't get very loud at all; for example one of the first things I did was watch a tutorial video on what's new with windows 7, and even with the volume maxed out it was hard to hear.
-I knew I was asking for it when I opted for the i7 processor (Q740), but the battery life is not good in my opinion. The battery lasts for only about 2 hours while performing simple computing tasks.
-By far the biggest con I've found with this things so far is the touchpad. I read other people's reviews saying that the touchpad wasn't great on this thing but mostly dismissed what I read thinking that they were maybe just being a little too picky... now that I know what they were talking about I completely agree that the touchpad is a piece of junk on this thing. The two finger scrolling doesn't even pickup my finger swipes half of the time, and there has already been a case where it completely stopped working for me unexplainably and I had to restart it and then it started working again. For what otherwise feels like a really high quality piece of machinery, it is frustrating that the touchpad gives you so much trouble... it kind of "cheapens" the whole thing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, sleek, and performs well

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dalls, Tx
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coming from an Asus i7 gaming laptop... i don't really see a huge performance difference in everyday computing. It is smooth and seamless when i multitask. I purchased this one for work purposes because of size and functionality, as well as battery life to accommodate heavy travel... imagine lugging around an 9lb laptop all day... not fun. It took a good week for me to build this laptop, and I opted for the i5, 6g ram, 640g 7200 rpm hdd.
Pros:
Nice brilliant screen. Not exactly the best quality such as the radiance display, but lets be realistic.. you can't have long battery life and be under 6lbs resulting in over a 5 hour usage. My settings are currently on HIGH in brightness and performance.
The keyboard is just amazing, especially the tastefully done red back light. It feels nice to the touch... and not loose and cheap like my other laptops I've had. When I'm doing a presentation, people are paying more attention to my laptop than the presentation itself... I find that kinda awesome!!
Sound on this is not exceptional, but so much better than my Asus gaming laptop. You'd figure a gaming laptop would have better sound quality. Using headphones and plugging into my home stereo... outstanding!!
Cons:
The touchpad is surprisingly annoying because of the size. It is larger than all my past laptops. When I'm typing, I find myself brushing on the touchpad, which occasionally zooms in or out!! Scrolling with two fingers is something new to me, and it takes a lot of getting use to. I would have preferred the scrolling bar mechanism.
With such a powerful laptop, you'd think a usb3 would be standard or an option
No option for BluRay, but I could live with that.
In any event.. I wouldn't say it's the perfect laptop... but it sure is a high performer and top 3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP ENVY 14 Beats is Great!

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The HP ENVY 14 Beats is Great!
I have an HP DV7 17" Entertainment laptop that is great but was too big and heavy for my backpack to go to the office, to school and for travel. The HP ENVY 14 is the perfect size, not too big and yet screen size is large enough and has a full size keyboard. I travel and need a laptop to process photographs. The Adobe Photoshop Elements preloaded is perfect. The ENVY 14 fits very nicely in my backpack for a 15" and is not too heavy to carry. The metal frame and case gives it a nice sturdy feel. The backlit keyboard is great. My typing accuracy is very high. I did not think I would like red letters on black keys, but looks very nice.
I looked at many alternative laptops, the HP DV5 15", a Dell 15”, and the Mac PowerBook 15". The ENVY 14 was the best overall package for the money.
The only complaint I have is with the integrated Touch Pad. The left and right mouse keys are part of the touch pad and not obvious where they are? The scrolling function is performed using a two finger gestures and is not smooth and often I find I scroll too far or just move the mouse. An external mouse is a must for any intensive work.
Not a complaint, but to use an external display you need an adapter which I bought from HP. Also not a complaint but a consideration is the switchable graphics. For Hi Resolution Graphics the ATI 1GB Video adapter is fast and looks great, works great with Hulu HD video. But for portable battery use, you can switch to the intel integrated graphics to save power. Switching is not obvious, but works.
Lastly the Beats all Black package with the Beats head set is awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beats

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The keyboard has elegant typography (same typeface used for the 'ENVY' logo) and the red back-lit option was an excellent feature. Some dislikes I have with the keyboard are that some keys aren't as bright as others and the overall feel of the keys. The shortcut keys on top are actually useful for once (volume & screen/keyboard brightness control, mute, eject, wifi, internet, print screen, and display control).
The touch-pad is somewhat bulky and took me a while to get used to. But with updated features like 2 and 3 finger gestures/scrolling make it pretty neat. I still prefer to use a mouse.
Built-in bluetooth is a huge plus, the cd drive is similar to the Macs and I am very impressed especially since it has dual layer support. The whole band with all the ports is just gorgeous.
The user interface is customized and made the experience of this laptop unforgettable. The didn't just give up on the packaging that's for sure. The windows start menu, actual windows, icons, wallpapers, etc. are all customized for beats by dre with that black and red finish. They no longer come with the headphones which was a disappointment but at least they dropped the price. I had the studio versions anyway and let me tell you it's the perfect combo.
Overall it has a sleek black & red finish that makes this laptop flash and stand out to even macbooks. Battery life is good but not amazing. The material used on the bottom and the keyboard area remind me of the batman costume lol. The screen is gorgeous and it's the only time I don't mind logos/brands on it but I just wish the back beats logo lit up (at least the hp logo like I've seen on OLDER hp laptop models). Still the best laptop I've ever had. I can't bust it out without everyone wanted to examine it and touch it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.