HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC

HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.16 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
84 out of 106(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Middletown, NJ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Laptop. Virtually ties my I7-920 desktop for performance except for video, but the laptop does not have a 2 slot video card. Very stable. If I didn't know better, I would think it is running a special version of Windows 7. Programs that I had trouble installing on my old Core2 Duo Win7 laptop installed extremely fast the first time. Installing an all in one printer was so fast that I thought it failed; it did not fail. Using the same version of software, the scanner of the all in one never worked right with the old laptop; works fine with the Envy14.
Other features I like are the very bright, reasonably non reflective display. I don't have the brightness anywhere near all the way up. Good battery life. Used it for several hours away from a power source, and still had about 1/2 battery capacitor left.
I would have wished that the case had slots, or a protrusion, to make it easier to open up. No, not a latch. The power cord is very heavy and stiff. People do use laptops in a comfortable chair while it is plugged in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK Laptop

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Eastern United States
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I miss the fingerprint reader that the two (2) previous owned HP laptops had. For the price paid a fingerprint reader would have been a welcome addition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice Laptop

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The laptop is designed well. I like it so far.
Some of the cons however:
1. They have really messed up the Function Keys (F1 to F10). These keys are no longer the default. I have to press the fn key before selecting the Function Keys. Being a software developer, it irks me that I have to do fn every time
2. The touchpad is not so good compared to the earlier models. If you just use the Touchpad and buttons, sometimes you will find the cursor running around and closing some of the windows. I finally had to use an external mouse.
3. Couple of days back I got a scare, when my sound stopped working. Fortunately I was ablie to get online Hp support, and after lots of suggestions, they asked me to update the Bios, which finally fixed the issue. Scary :)
Other than that I am happy with the laptop.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the best purchase ever

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought the HP envy 14 in January 2011. My hard disk stopped working after 12 months of use, and after taking it to a service centre in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, the technicians informed me that no data could be retrieved from my hard disk because the disk had 'stopped spinning'. My hard disk was replaced without any problems, but only because I had purchased an extended warranty with my laptop.
I expected that HP would provide a better product for the price and that such hardware issues would not crop up after only 12 months of use.
Would not purchase a HP product again.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good looking laptop

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop would have been great if HP can bring below changes to this model given the price this model costs.
1. Higher resolution radiance screen (1600*900). Current resolution is 1366*768.
2. HP logo should be back lit in Red which will make this laptop more attractive.
3. Better touch pad like Mac
4. support SSD with 256 GB
Performance is good. But for that matter mid range laptops also give higher performance for general use and to distinguish and make this model as real premium notebook, HP should bring above changes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Laptop Ever Purchased!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new HP Envy 14 Beats Edition is Awesome!. This is by far the best performing, best featured, best quality laptop I have ever purchased. It is better than I expected, no problems in shipping or setup. The Beats sound is great, and the performance is unmatched for speed when running my applications. I am so happy with this laptop, I am going to buy my wife one too...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Laptop!

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Long Beach, California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tech guy here and I love this laptop, fast & reliable for everyday usage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Expensive, and just look good

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
For the price, it's not worthy of it...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleek and Pretty Functional Laptops

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Previous reviews have mentioned this, but here's my take:
Pros
- In general, the laptop is easy to use
- Design is very sleek
- Keys are very smooth
Cons
- Touchpad is hard to navigate at first
- Battery life is short (although can be extended with a battery slice)
- Laptop is a bit heavy for a 14-inch screen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zinch

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the laptop. This is the laptop that I want! This laptop will make my college life amazing. It will help me very much. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP ENVY - Beats

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works well except pick and right click buttons do not work all the time. One is higher than the other and appear to have been installed incorrectly. I will probably need to return for service. HP needs to vamp up Inspection and Quality Control.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Laptop for everyday use

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely think this laptop fits all the needs for the average consumer. I use this laptop for digital scrapbooking and the i5 processor works great for photo editing and using two to three different programs with no delays! I also love the beats audio, in fact I never realized how much better it is than the average sound system. The battery life is great too, I would say average is about 4-5 hours. The only downfall I have with this is the layout of the mousepad. When you get to a spot on a website and you want to double-click, sometimes the mouse moves when you click because it is an entire active mousepad.
Overall, great laptop for surfing the web (oh yes... Internet Explorer 9 is so easy and functional to use).
Have fun with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good product

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:brooklyn, ny
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This pc is good but I ordered 2 because one came with a defected mouse, when I recieved the second one same mouse problem soo I believe tht the warehouse is building these notebooks carelessly therefore I Dnt actually recommend this notebook pc, I ordered the new HP envy 15 let's see how this one goes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Silicon Valley, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this laptop as a replacement for my five-year-old Windows XP machine and I have been very pleased. The Envy boots up extremely quickly, performs every task I ask of it just as quickly and sounds great on top of that. Some reviewers have said the fan noise seems loud to them, but I find it unobtrusive. In addition, with the Cool Sense I don't get that feeling of heat in my lap when I sit with the machine for an extended period of time. That is a valuable new feature.
I shopped around prior to making my purchase and found this PC to be the best combination of price, performance and style. You could spend more on a Mac Book Pro but you'd end up with lesser performance and quite a lot less in your wallet. With the speed and stability of Windows 7 there's really no advantage to overpaying for an Apple product, especially with the massive price premium Apple requires. if you buy the HP Envy you won't be disappointed and you won't get fleeced, either.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best laptop Ever

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So great my envy beat! Perfect working !!!
I strongly recommend Envy !!!
Better then macbook or Xps Dell!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good to have

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this computer is like mac .I like it .In the future i want to upgrade to core i7 with quad core because i hope to keep this modele HP ENVY for long time
Thank you HP for this computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP ENVY 14

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The ENVY is solid and well built. The screen must be viewed from straight on or quality deteriorates rapidly. The battery is rated at almost 4 hours but the most I have been able to get is 2 hours and 55 minutes and this is after calibrating. The touch pad sometimes doesn't seem to want to work, especially when scrolling.
It is quiet, fast and stays cool even when multi-tasking. Overall I like it but I am getting an 8 cell battery which costs $129.00 with the hope of a longer battery life. It would be nice to take a cross country flight without having to recharged it. As for the screen, I am constantly adjusting it to get the best resolution. For the money paid, I would expect these items to be better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Laptop I've Ever Use

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My HP Envy Beats Edition I7 is my second HP laptop (a 2006 model which is still running great) and was so impressed with performance and speed...I've transfered all my important files from the old laptop (over 100GB) and no downgrade from the speed yet, Boot up and shut down goes in a blink of an eye, very efficient and reliable unit....Very Happy - I already recommended this to all my friends...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everyone is ENVIOUS!

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP ENVY is an amazing machine! I was gonna go Mac but was convinced by my younger brother to buy PC and don't regret it for a second. I love my comp!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 14 beats Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid purchase

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Clemson, SC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a laptop that would be portable enough to carry around campus, have a solid enough build quality to last me until I graduate, and have the performance to float all my audio-processing needs.
My only complaint is the screen. I wish there had been an option to upgrade to a 900p or 1080p screen. WXGA seems slightly small for a 14.5' screen. Also, glossy screens are gross. It just seems out of place, everything about this laptop is high-end with the exception of the screen.
Overall, I am extremely pleased with this purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.