HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC

HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.122 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(180 reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 180 reviews
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
11
1 Star
11
145 out of 180(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a Beast!!!!!

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Roseville, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After playing around with this for 2 weeks or so I can say this is the best purchase I have made to date.
I have been after this laptop for quite some time but I wanted a particular spec.
The build quality is amazing and seems very durable but only time will tell if it will last which is my only concern.
To everyone out there who are thinking of getting this I have went for the the full blown spec and I got a really good deal.
I have 2nd gen processor which does not consume a lot of power I get 2/2.5 hrs of battery life, which is great since this laptop is a performance laptop.
No other manufacturer will offer such a high end spec and if they did you will be paying a lot out of pocket.
The display is amazing even though bright view was not offered I can see perfectly and my eye sight is not as it use to be.
USB 3.0 is amazing, unless you are MBP user and prefer thunderbolt, but there are not many products out there which utilizes thunderbolt so it is a waste.
Keyboard flex is there but if you are a one finger typist and press every keystroke with all your might then you will be a disappointed however every average typist who uses all their fingers this will not be noticeable.
To everyone who is considering buying this laptop please note the reason I got this over all other brands is because I wanted PERFORMANCE and did not care about battery life, It totally destroys all other brands in that department, boot time is 18/15 seconds once all the bloatware was removed when doing a restore, there is an option in the restore partition.
If you are a user who wants longevity since you will be traveling and you won't be near a power source and you do not want to customize this laptop you maybe disappointed since mine is a full blown spec, instead look into the XPS series which has 6hrs battery life however you will be paying a lot for it, If you want a mix and want to be tied to the manufacturer software and not open share/ Free ware choose the MBP.
If you want performance choose this and you will not be disappointed, this laptop as standard will give you a silver medal and the bronze to the Vaio S series and 4th to the MBP, Gold will go to the XPS due to battery life.
It is truly an envious laptop and in my books it gets the Gold it does everything it needs and with plenty of juice to spare I would not go with any other brand and would not build my own rig. HP have come a long way and laptops are definitely desktop replacements of the future, well done HP!!! and please do not take the customizable options away since the other manufacturers do not allow detailed upgrades.
Below is my spec :) I love it!!!!!!
Win 7 Ultimate
I7 2820 2nd gen (Sandy Bridge)
6630 1GB Radeon Graphics card which is switchable to save energy :)
16GB 1333 Memory - Love it :)
160GB SSD - Amazing :) never will i go back to regular spindle drives
The rest I do not care about I want PERFORMANCE!!!! and HP delivered.
The best laptop right now on the market if this was a person this would be Usain Bolt/Michael Phelps very fast, Powerful Laptop
Also the laptop arrived 3 days before the actual build date very speedy :) thank you HP, Keep up the good craftmanship
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Laptop

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the build and I can finally play games on high graphics on my laptop - Awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I Love My Choice

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay so I am a student, and for the past few months i was going back and forth and between this laptop and the Macbook Pro. I decided to get The Envy. and i have to say I am so happy. The features are amazing. NO Norton needed. Being an Art Student, I love the Adobe programs pre-installed. Its fast. Plus the Dre Beats audio is incredible.
The Fenses feature Helps me keep Documents organized. The laptop is designed to keep it from being vulnerable to treast and virus's.
I have this Computer for quite sometime now and i havent had a problem. The customizable memory allows me to work on Different Art projects and Designes and not worry that im going to over-load it, and i really dont mind the battery life.
I love everything about this laptop. The money spent was totally worth it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just purchased this baby with 2-day shipping. The shipping was awesome... showed up in less than 2 days and it was unscathed. I took it out of the box and turned it on.
First of all, I have to say that I am extremely impressed that this machine has as much power as it does. I put the i7 740 processor, 8gb of DDR3, and the 160gb SSD in it. My intent was to make an overpowered mobile gaming platform to replace the MacBook Pro I have been using for 5 years. When I turned it on, it ate the Mac. This thing is amazing! Extremely fast and absolutely gorgeous.
Congratulations HP. Your Envy was designed to combat the MacBook Pro, and I have to say it's winning the fight. This product is the only reason I switched back to PC.
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good laptop

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is the best laptop i have owned and would recommend it to anyone. it might not be as solid as a MBP but compared to the 15inch its WAY cheaper and preforms almost as well.
i play leauge of legends(very high gaphics), skyrim(medium graphics), WoW(ultra), starwars the old republic (swtor)(high), on this laptop and it handles everything great.
gets about 3.7 hrs of battery on the integrated intel graphics.
never gets hot on palm rests or bottom
RECOMMENDED
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

cold steel

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a bit bias because I love all HP products, but my ENVY 14 is great! The only complaint I have so far is the steel like encasement of the computer can get VERY cold to the touch in the Winter time. My HP printer and camera linked up well without any problems but the new WIndows 7 is a problem when running older programs. I may have to run both XP and 7 so I can use both my new and old software.
Fast Fast Fast 100% superior to the Pavilion line
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Perfomance Right Sized

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mendota Minnesota
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Received my Envy 14.5 at Christmas and wanted a month to evaluate. Pumped it up with I7 and SSD drive to boot fast with 7200rpm disk drive. Solid perfomace and kicks up fast. Have it paired up at the desk with a HP25 inch monitor and it is crystal clear.. Last laptop was an HP that was 6 years old but still working. Between my kidds HP's for college and what I use at work you cannot beat the reliability..Now the lightweight Envy and its Aluminun design is the right fit for this old timer...Didi look at Lenova but you get more from HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for Linux

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If all you want to do is play a game on this computer like SWTOR, the machine is fine for that. But to have a name like 'Envy' I found the machine to have a very poor trackpad... it feels cheap, doesn't respond well, and sometimes doesn't work right. I don't care for the right side power plug, and how big the power supply is. And specially if you are thinking about running Linux on this machine, forget about it... the video card is junk for it, yet, works fine for windows games. I can honestly say that I was disappointed with the overall purchase even though the specs are great. The whole package is lacking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sticking With HP

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have owned an 17" HP laptop which I use as my desktop replacement for over two years and have not had a problem with it. When I decided to buy a 14" laptop for school and work I went with one of HP's competitors; bad decision. I promptly returned the computer and was charged a restocking fee, and ordered the Envy 14" The computer has exceeded my expectations and I am extremely happy with my purchase. Is the computer perfect, of course not; but in all the major categories I judge a computer (build, ease of use, looks, etc.) it fits the bill. The touchpad still needs work but I can live with it, and I use a mouse most of the time. I'm now thinking of purchasing the 17" Envy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a Competitor for the MacBook Pro

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an architecture student and need a computer with great performance. I previously owned an Alienware computer (high powered gaming computer) that was just too much too carry around (it weighed 16 lbs..) This computer is all the performance and a third of the weight in a much better looking package. Most of my friends have the MacBook Pro, and this is the only PC I've found that really rivals it on performance, aesthetic, and quality. Good job HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best computer for the money!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok first of all people who review this computer are crazy, it's AWESOME. I've worked for a major hardware manufacturer before and I currently work at a larger software manufacturer and this computer matches the performance I see on my current Lenovo W520 (a mobile workstation). Came with a 160GB SSD drive, easy upgrade and pulled the optical drive and put in another 320GB 7200RPM drive. This things smokes the competition!!!
The haters on the Touchpad or mouse pad are crazy, it's the same thing that all HP laptops currently have and I find it wonderfully easy to use
Pro: Build quality is the best I've seen from anyone and on par or above the Macbook, Touchpad, upgradibility, easy access to internal components, easy to maintain, video performance, options, battery life, screen is great, etc.
Cons: Only the slightest little hint of a sharp end on the edge of the laptop where you rest your wrists or forearms. Had to have one con, but it's seriously not a big deal.
DON'T BELEIVE the haters, I've owned a lot of laptops in my life, 4 in the last 2 years and this one is fantastic!! Can't wait to get a new Ultrabook when this Envy doesn't cut it in 3 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

In terms of portability it is well outdated

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In overal this Laptop performs well, but... It is a huge dissapointment for me!
I got it as a gift, so I did not purchase it myself even though I was planning to (I would return it)
It is a very HEAVY and thick... Everything would be ok, but its weight is considerable disadvantage! I need something portable and light. I have used a number of different laptops including HP, but this one is the heaviest giving that it is just 14.5". Thickness is also disadvantage... Looking forward to change it for a different one..In terms of portability it is well outdated... I aspected premium class laptop to be a better than regular models - I was wrong.
However, the style of it (except thikness) is great! This is first HP laptop which I got with clean windows without much of preinstulled HP junk (games, movie rentals, etc.). USB 3.0 is a plus.
Thinking of a ways to get rid of it... It is dissapointment from HP, probably it is a time to switch to other producer (because previous HP laptop I've bought was a dissapointment as well. It was overheating and the fan was way too loud.)
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop, fast processor and fun!

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is awesome! It has built in webcame and skyping is very easy. The photo program also has cool components for editing. The only thing is that the zoom on the keyboard took awhile to get used to. It is a fast computer and the screen is beautiful! I'm very happy with my new laptop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Envy 14 review

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the moderate gamer, but I can still take it to the office and not look like a complete idiot for having a huge abnoxious gaming machine. This thing is very fast
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Initial(1st week) Review of Envy 14"

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northern Virginia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: Excellent design (may be to heavy for some though). Flawless back lit keyboard, brilliant screen, solid feel, look and sound. Right number of ports and connections. Comes with USB 3 or eSATA/USB combo depending on the model. Slot loading DVD-ROM w/DL support. Fast for video and audio editing. Big enough battery to last for 4-5 hours on power-save.
Cons: Be Prepare to do some major video, audio, and BIOS configuration changes, if you are looking for the best video and audio performance. Switchable video card simply didn't work out of the box. Laptop was stuck in Intel Video card only. My model already had the updated BIOS, so after extensive search on HP Support forum, I found the setting change that had to be made in BIOS to enable FIXED (user controlled) switching of the video. Only after that I was able to enable RADEON Video card. Beats Audio and overall Audio settings had to be configured to support more than 2 channels. Therefore, audio card doesn't automatically recognize HDMI connection and doesn't route multichannel sound over it-it has to be done manually. Bluetooth is pretty weak too. Doesn't work too good when your BT keyboard or mouse over 3 feet away from the laptop. The back of the laptop has a plastic cover - not bad, considering that you can replace the battery, but doesn't complete overall aluminum feel and look. Keep in mind that ports configuration may be different from what you ordered - so be prepare - I had my configs quoted with eSATA/USB combo port, but instead I got USB 3, which is actually a better option, but just not what I was originally hoped for.
Overall Performance: after two days of heavy use the laptop was able to handle streaming HD (720p) content without any problems. Very fast opening Photo Shop/Elements/Premier. IE browsing is lighting fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome little laptop

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this laptop for my wife, but due to circumstances, I'm using it first, so I thought I'd review it! So far, I'm totally impressed. Last year I bought the much larger Pavilion dv7 with decent options, but now I believe this "little" laptop outperforms my larger one. I opted for a few upgrades, including the SSD, i7 processor, more RAM, etc. The SSD makes startup WAY faster than my dv7, which is just a HDD. Programs load and run without any noticeable lag. I am also pleased with the cooling system; under normal use, the PC stays cool, even on my lap. This might be attributed to the CoolSense feature. Under more strenuous use, the fans kick in and become noticeably louder, but it stays cool or warm to the touch. Beats Audio is great, I have the same in my dv7 and the quality is still just as good. I noticed that the Envy14 doesn't have the "subwoofer" speaker on the underside like my larger dv7 has. It doesn't seem to make much difference, however. The backlit keyboard is a cool option, though it doesn't look nearly as clean as the HP demo shows. By that, I mean that you can see the light peek through the small open spaces around the edges of the keys. I like the option to turn it on and off with the F5 key. The keyboard itself is comfortable to use and feels and sounds better than the plastic-like clicking of my dv7. Even the mousepad feels better, even though it appears identical to the dv7's. The bundled software is not nearly as bloated as my dv7's. The usual HP software plus a few goodies, like PS & Premiere Essentials. Not too many links to other software, but still some (which I deleted/uninstalled immediately).
Overall, after just one day of use, I'm really happy with this purchase. It's a huge step up over my wife's older HP laptop (of some 4+ years) and I know this one will last her just as long (at least it'd better, the price tag was not cheap!!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All-Around Great

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is absolutely amazing. The graphics work great with every game i've played on it. The processor also is very, very fast. My only (minor) complaint is the screen resolution, it could be a little higher but i don't mind that much. As for the touchpad, i have had no problems whatsoever with it. It seems to always work very well for my use. The battery life lasts quite a long time in my opinion, i believe i've gotten about 5 hours out of it. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a well-balanced laptop with awesome performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i7 worth the money

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The laptop was a little more heavy than I wanted, but the tradeoff is in the durability of the case vs. basic plastic cases on lower end models. The I7 processor and extra RAM really speeds up boot up time, Powering down is no longer an issue with the speed of this computer. Haven't had a chance to use the bluetooth or listen to music yet, but sure it will be outstanding. Only option which I would enjoy would have been an blue ray drive, but will use the cloud instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nice unit but keep looking.......

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice backlit keyboard, good screen, but you may want to avoid the touchpad and get a mouse. The touchpad is larger than most, and cursor action feels sticky and jumpy regardless of the settings. It is frustrating to use. I have directly compared this to a Dell, Toshiba, and Mac and it is definitely an undesireable characteristic of this unit. Also the unit feels heavy, possibly because I ordered the bigger battery. The battery life is average; from full charge to shutdown it was less than 5 hours running email and surfing. The 'Beat' sound system is nothing special- you get an equalizer which is good for headphones, but the units' speakers are typically poor as with most laptops.
The reason I am returning this unit is I cant get my external monitors to work. There is no VGA output and the HDMI to VGA does not work with my 3 year old monitors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 14 customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for me

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Linden, NJ
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Monitor was too small, & internet kept crashing on me. I returned it and got the HP DV 7, 17.3", AMD QUAD Core, I Love this other computer it's more for me. HP service is wonderful, thanks for helping me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 to next page>>