HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Tablets or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Slate 7 16G Tablet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Slate 7 16G Tablet

HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
39 out of 49(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Review 1 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed Emotions

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I chose the Slate 7 basically for it's convenient size, styling and also for the beatsaudio feature. While I like the overall look, feel and ergonomics of the unit I was a bit disappointed in the fact that I couldn't play wma music files that I transferred to the unit. After spending many hours on the phone with HP's technical team and trying a myriad of music player apps from the google app store we gave up and I ended up in "the cloud" using google play. I like the ability to store my library choices in the cloud, especially given the Slate 7's somewhat limited amount of memory. I bought the 16GB model and have also added a 32GB micro SD card. However, the sound quality from google play seems to be of very poor quality. Still working on that.
Anyway, for $199, I think you get a good value and about what one should expect at this price point. It's a great choice for music (as long as you're downloading in mp3) and basic internet usage. I also enjoy using it as a reader from my Zinio app.
Also, if you have younger kids, this would seem to be a good, relatively inexpensive way to introduce them to the world of computing. We're going to buy the less expensive 8GB model for our 4 year old daughter. She can already out navigate me on our tablet!
All-in-all not a bad little tablet and reasonably good value. It's not going to blow you away with mind numbing specs, but I don't think that's what HP is going for here. This is a solid entry level product and should be viewed as such. From that perspective it does an admirable job.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Bang for the Bucks

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pacific NW
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Slate 7 16G tablet with a little trepidation for my girlfriend's birthday. Being a die-hard iPad user, I was skeptical that something this inexpensive would really be worth the time and money. When I gifted the tablet to my girlfriend she was very impressed. The red tablet backing is attractive with a smooth but not slippery touch, making it easy to hang on to. It's thicker than my iPad but not by much. The tablet is light and easy for her to manage and after charging it up, the tablet worked flawlessly. The Android OS (Jelly Bean) is really what makes this whole thing work so well and I applaud HP for choosing it for this tablet. Lots of good Apps to choose from, either from the Google Play Store or from Amazon AppStore.
A couple of notes to those thinking of buying one:
- The tablet doesn't come with headphones, so make sure you have some.
- This tablet is WIFI only, so if you want to use this with your cell service, try another tablet.
- Once removed from the box, it takes about 3 hours to charge the battery to full.
- The tablet comes with a fabric envelope/bag you can keep your tablet in but I recommend a stronger/heavier case. Try Timbuk2 (http://www.timbuk2.com/) for some of their "Sleeves".
All in all, I'm impressed with the quality and function of the tablet, especially when you factor in the price. Once a model becomes available with a cellular option, I'm likely to buy another one for myself.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great second tablet

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dayton, Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have an iPad, but I also wanted something on which to read my books. I considered a Kindle, but decided why buy a device that has only one function when I could have a device that would also search the Net and handle Email for about the same price. Now that I have my Slate, I take it everywhere. I have downloaded several Bible translations, so it goes to church every time I go.
My only dissatisfion, if I can call it that, is the slow start-up time. Where the iPad is almost instant on, the Slate can take up to almost a minute before it's ready to use; however, once it is fully booted, I think it may work faster than the iPad. I bought the 16 GiG then added the SD card to make it a 32 GiG device. So, for under $250 including tax, I have a device that would have cost about twice that much.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seminole OK
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with this device. I have a large collection of PDF files that I have trouble reading on other devices. Clear and large enough to see the whole page. Watched Netflix with no issues. Everything is fast and looks great. Battery life is better than I expected. Would definitely recommend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good, but not good enough

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like it for basic use, such as Facebook and watching TV shows. I got this in hopes of using this for business when I'm away from home. Thinking it would work with the apps I use on my phone (since it is also android) it doesn't.
If you want to use it for dinking around it does it's job
If you want to use PayPal, Facebook page manager, or even the wells Fargo app, then don't bother. They are not compatible with this device.. (Along with textfree, pinger, and the few games I do play)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP almost got it right

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Flint Hills Kansas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Battery life is not great - size is ok - camera on back is wonderul, not impressed with front camera
I still prefer my Kindle Fire HD Tablet
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ease of Use

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado Springs CO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love my tablet. It is compact, easy to use and fits my need of not having to carry my laptop with me on travel. My laptop was heavy, needed the power cord and always needed to be pulled out of my bag at the airport. One less thing to mess with when I travel because now I have my lightweight, compact, easy to use Slate7 tablet. Thank you HP! Battery life could be extended which is why it did not get a full five stars.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice tablet for the price...

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Slate 7 is a great tablet at this price point. Very fast, easy to hold and use, lightweight and I like the non-slip backing. The camera is 'okay'...not too fast, so your intended subjects can't be moving around a lot, but good resolution. Plugged in a 32 GB Micro SD and synced my Google and Google+ apps and info quite well. However, I did notice that several of my apps complain that they're 'not compatible with this device'! . Battery life seems to be pretty good, nice screen size and resolution and very sharp. Beats audio quality is great with headphones, but the bult in speakers are pretty bad. I didn't really expect much with drivers that small, though.
Overall, I'm very pleased with the purchase...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good product just not for me

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ridgefield ct
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this tablet was very nice and the price was excellent but i could not go to some gaming sites that i wanted. for this reason i returned it. get the same features as my cell and ipod. wanted something like my laptop only smaller for travel.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP Slate 7 is a great entertaiment tool

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bothell, Washington
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally purchased the HP Slate 7 as an entertainment tool. Watching movies on the go, viewing pictures, reading breaking news, listening to music, and some social media activities are my uses for this product. I have the added benefit of using a few business applications with Android support that were purely by accident. Being a "Windows guy" (even my phone), I wanted to learn the Android OS. I have taken a few pictures and videos but, must have a fuller experience to enclude Skype and other Google applications. Pictures are sharp and the 7 inch screen gives a pleasant viewing. I would definitely recommend the HP Slate 7 to anyone looking for a high functioning tablet, ease of operation, with many applications to share with family and friends. The expanded SD card storage is a must for me and a great way to carry all of the media I need on a extended trip.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does what I expected. A little irritated that Instagram and Facebook pages apps are incompatible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tablet for specific purposes

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
I like the Slate 7 for two reasons: the wi-fi is faster compared to my ipad (most recent version), and the beats audio adds texture to the music in a way far more impressive compared to my iphone5. Yes, the screen isn't as nice, but so far I've found all the apps I need. For the price a nice tablet for games, reading, internet browsing, and listening to music.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little tablet for the price!

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This little tablet is awesome! The start up is super fast; its up in just a few seconds. And I love that you can sign in using your google account and have your calendar and everything that is on your android smartphone and laptop right there in your tablet. I purchased it for taking to school with me and being able to write college papers while away from home and my laptop, now I admit I found out you cant necessarily do this, using google drive you can create documents but not edit them so I just wish you could edit them, but I still love the fact that I can have it with me because it is very light weight and easy to carry around. It is really easy to learn how to use and I love that it was under $200! The tablet is super fast and I find the display to very sharp and clear. I recommend this product! I do wish more apps worked with this tablet though, but still many do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice features, but weak WIFI

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I bought the 8g model and really liked it. I gave it to my sister and bought the 16g . Apparently I didn't give it enough time to realize how weak the wireless antenna is. i had been using it in the same room as my router so I hadn't noticed. My router is not very old netgear and my house is small. There are certain rooms where the connection just disappears. Extremely disappointing. To be fair, I haven't had a lot of chances to use it away from home, but we have no problem with laptops or smartphones anywhere in the house,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, quality feel, and performing great

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am impressed with this product! Feels like a quality product in your hand, and I love the Red back on this unit. Great performance browsing the web and very easy to carry around. For the price it is acceptable in every aspect. I Like!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great pricing, needs more life...

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got this because as tablets go, the price was right. It seems generally OK. If you can plug it in a lot, it can be a good little tablet. But, yikes... I am getting about three hours out of the battery with the wifi turned on, and very few apps loaded yet, as it is fairly new to me, so it isn't even getting much use. I mean REALLY? 3 hours or less on a charge, are you serious? Heck, my old Kindle lasts for 3 or 4 days!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Slate 7 tablet is a good product

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Star
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased an HP Slate 7 Tablet . I haven't had any problems with it downloading apps or anything else. When I turn it on ,it takes a little bit to load...( not long ) :) I was pleased with my purchased and the speedy delivery. I would reccomend this product to all my family and friends.GREAT PRODUCT FOR A GREAT PRICE.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hemet, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
The new Android Jellybean OS is outstanding. The Slate7 is so handy to Use. My only suggestion to anyone contemplating purchasing one is to make sure you use the USB converter plug. it seems to be the only one that the tablet recognizes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

better than reviews

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Spencer, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered the Slate 7 before reading any of the reviews published on the site. After reading them, while waiting for the delivery, I was a bit apprehensive about the product. After setting it up, I was pleasantly surprised by the overall quality. The screen was much better than what I had expected, and the product was also fairly easy for a relative novice to use, after a period of playing around with it. The screen image is vibrant, and the clarity of even small print on some of the informational screens is clear and easy to read. The battery life is good, but not excellent. All in all, it holds its own among a fairly crowded field, and the primary user, my wife, is happy with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fit ---

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Louisville, KY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP Slate 7 is a perfect fit in the palm of my hand. I love it - big enought to read and use, yet small enough to fit my hand and purse. Everyone that has seen it wants one.
Way to go HP on the Slate 7!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.