HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Tablets or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Slate 7 16G Tablet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Slate 7 16G Tablet

HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
39 out of 49(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Review 1 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the tablet. It is speedy, easy to use, great photos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is a poor device

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orlando, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ordered an SD card with the device in hopes tht I could save my photo's to it.
The device can't read the card and can't load files to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome tablet

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mapleton Depot, PA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my HP slate 7 tablet! Not to mention, the shipping was virtually overnight almost!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

it's ok, but looking for a tablet with Blue Tooth

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Tablet is missing Blue Tooth as a feature. I hope HP markets a tablet (someday) with and Android OS and Blue Tooth . I really like HP products. I have HP branded laptops, desktops, and printers. And very satisfied with sll those devices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good, but not good enough

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like it for basic use, such as Facebook and watching TV shows. I got this in hopes of using this for business when I'm away from home. Thinking it would work with the apps I use on my phone (since it is also android) it doesn't.
If you want to use it for dinking around it does it's job
If you want to use PayPal, Facebook page manager, or even the wells Fargo app, then don't bother. They are not compatible with this device.. (Along with textfree, pinger, and the few games I do play)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
This review is fromHP Slate 7 16G Tablet.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too small, not an ipad

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oswego, IL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I found the Ipad much easier to use and the slate is much too small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
This review is fromHP Slate 7 16G Tablet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast & Easy

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use and download songs and other info, uses google my favorite browser. Much faster than the tablet from two years ago. Has beats audio.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Conditional Love

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had to return my Slate for two reasons: I followed instructions but could not get the Slate operational--needed telephone help. Finally, got it up but found it so sensitive to touch that I lost patience with it and decided I didn't want to spend so much time making it work for me. I've seen many people everywhere--on trains, in restaurants, walking--using these tablets and thought it would be easier than it was for me. Maybe I'll give it another try--will think about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does what I expected. A little irritated that Instagram and Facebook pages apps are incompatible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works flawlesly

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
This machine works great, so far everything has worked without any hicups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP almost got it right

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Flint Hills Kansas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Battery life is not great - size is ok - camera on back is wonderul, not impressed with front camera
I still prefer my Kindle Fire HD Tablet
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Size

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not only does HP Slate have great features but it is the perfect size. I travel not only for work but for pleasure. I frequently am carrying cameras and videos along with my computer and was getting a bit tired of the size and weight of everything combined. The Slate does everything my laptop or other tablet does but takes up less than half the space. Its also larger than an iphone so very little to no risk of fat fingering the message or notes. For the artist and writer in me that has to work as well... this is a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is awesome

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cedar Bluff, Va
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really enjoy the Slate 7. I love this. Just the right size, not bulky. HP products are awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Tablet

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Marshfield, Missouri
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I’ve only had my Slate 7 for a few days now, but I already like it. It is a little heavier than I expected, but that gives it a solid substantial feel; it isn’t so heavy as to be a problem. I also bought the HP cover for the Slate and highly recommend it. One thing I don’t like: Lack of Instructions. This is my first Android based device and ever since I got rid of my Commodore 64 back in the `80’s, I’ve lived in a Microsoft world. (DOS, OS2 & Windows) I am slowly getting the hang of Android, but some written instructions would certainly be nice; it IS different. The only instruction supplied with the Slate was a brief Quick Start Guide. I haven’t put a lot of Apps on the device yet, just email, Kindle for Android, Facebook and browsing. Email setup was fast and easy, both for my gMail account and my POP3 account. I don’t care for the way Facebook operates on the Slate, but then that is probably the fault of the App and/or Android, not HP’s doing. I have noticed that once in a while the Slate will not respond when I tap the screen to change screens. When this happens, I have to tap it again, sometimes multiple times before it will respond. I am not sure what my battery life is, but it will operate for a full day with the type of use I am giving it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
This review is fromHP Slate 7 16G Tablet.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good product but needs task bar guide

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hermann, MO
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would have rated the Slate 7 great if I could have had easy access to a users guide that provides help with task bar icon codes. I have had it for a few weeks and still have not found all the answers. I have a box with 'check mark' inside shown in the task bar and have no idea what it means. Also, I have had boxes with 'red !' inside and have to guess which app needs attention. You should be able to tap on these in the task bar to, at least, get the app name so you can fix the issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Product Doesn't Work

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Received product with a charge, It worked for a couple hours. Charged it overnight next day would not turn on. Sent back for repair after receiving a new power supply and charged with that. Still would not turn on. They sent it back to me with a charge turned on once then has not turned on since. Called Support on two different days and they did not get back to me within two hours each night. Product should be recalled.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tablet for specific purposes

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
I like the Slate 7 for two reasons: the wi-fi is faster compared to my ipad (most recent version), and the beats audio adds texture to the music in a way far more impressive compared to my iphone5. Yes, the screen isn't as nice, but so far I've found all the apps I need. For the price a nice tablet for games, reading, internet browsing, and listening to music.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little tablet for the price!

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This little tablet is awesome! The start up is super fast; its up in just a few seconds. And I love that you can sign in using your google account and have your calendar and everything that is on your android smartphone and laptop right there in your tablet. I purchased it for taking to school with me and being able to write college papers while away from home and my laptop, now I admit I found out you cant necessarily do this, using google drive you can create documents but not edit them so I just wish you could edit them, but I still love the fact that I can have it with me because it is very light weight and easy to carry around. It is really easy to learn how to use and I love that it was under $200! The tablet is super fast and I find the display to very sharp and clear. I recommend this product! I do wish more apps worked with this tablet though, but still many do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice features, but weak WIFI

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I bought the 8g model and really liked it. I gave it to my sister and bought the 16g . Apparently I didn't give it enough time to realize how weak the wireless antenna is. i had been using it in the same room as my router so I hadn't noticed. My router is not very old netgear and my house is small. There are certain rooms where the connection just disappears. Extremely disappointing. To be fair, I haven't had a lot of chances to use it away from home, but we have no problem with laptops or smartphones anywhere in the house,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Slate 7 16G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Poor Product

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchased a HP Slate 7 16 GB Tablet last week and I am VERY Disappointed in this product with the current Android Jelly Bean OS 4.1. When I went to the Google Play store to find and download apps I was even more disappointed. There are very few, if any, of the app's I have on my IPhone are available on Android, worse yet was the fact when I did find a good App which I tried to download I received a message "This Application is not compatible with your device". About the only thing I can use this for is playing a few games, but otherwise useless or give it to one of the kids to play with.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.