HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.059 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This computer is EXCELLENT

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Meriden,Ct.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To begin with my other HP had nothing but issues. Sent it back to support in 2011 while under warranty, it then broke again after warranty in 2012. They fixed it once out of warranty for me then it broke again so they gave me a discount and I paid $175 they replaced the mother board. They replaced the motherboard 3 more times in a matter of 3 months. After the last time I had had it with HP and told them I wanted my $175 back. Meanwhile in 2012 I purchased a Toshiba due to these issues. Chris from HP support called me the next day and told me he wanted to give me this computer to replace my dv7-4285. This is this nicest fastest computer I have ever used in the last 20 years. My faith in HP has been restored. The features are great, I'm still not a big fan of windows 8 however I am getting use to it. As to the review about the keyboard caving in, I was concerned at first but its minor and really not an issue for myself or my wife. The screen is clear and crisp, very bright but also easy to adjust the brightness. I downloaded 1600 pictures in one folder and 250 pictures in another folder from my external hard drive to this computer, it took a matter of about 10 seconds for them to download. The processor is fast and I love this computer and HP as well! Great computer and I am very happy with HP customer support for helping me out. And yes I would still be happy if I had paid for this computer as its excellent across the board!!! Its been about 4 days and my wife and I are constantly on the compter either playing games or reading articles and doing normal computer stuff .We have our own screens so switching back and forth between the two accounts we have no issue with speed or reliability. leaving my account up with websites running and then my wife switching over to play FB games the speed is still there and we have yet to have an issue!!! I would highly recommend this computer and also highly talking to HP support if you have an issue because in the end they want happy customers and we want awesome products!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good, I don't know.

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cnicinnati
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first review and this is the first review for this model. Sorry, this will be all over the place as I think of each thing: OK, I've read that these new HP laptops are metal. Hardly, I guess the body is, not the plastic bottom and surely not the lid. Actually, the lid isn't "Rubbery" like I read which would be maybe ok, but it's a cheap plastic. You can push down on it a bit much and if you hit it hard could easily damage the screen. The screen, although 1080p, doesn't seem that bright (I'm debating weather it's in my head or not, it might be me) and my last years Envy's screen could be viewed from all angles without ANY change, this one doesn't do that so much, but it clearly better than non flat 1080p screens. I do like the black plastic that the screen sits in as it's neat and easy to clean and harder to get stuff stuck in if you know what I mean.They keyboard seems very cheap and even caves in when typing on the left side, something I've read a lot about. For some reason, I got over it, and find it easy to type fast and gentle on it, so I actually am fine with that, although it was a fine line from me disowning this computer. The specs in the description aren't accurate, as there is a 25GB SSD in here for caching. This might become an outdated gripe, but the connector for a secondary drive is a new kind that's flat and connects (pardon my ignorance) just like how you connect the keyboard and the stuff you see when taking computer apart. I can't by one because no one sells them and they're on backorder from HP even if I wanted to pay 30 dollars for a HDD kit, so I can't install my SSD with another drive dualing. Speaking of the HDD kit, the "caddy" for the HDD is a cheap rubber outside casing that has some, bendable, cheap metal in it. Don't plan on removing drives more than a few times without ripping it. I suppose the rubber is good for electric discharge reasons. This thing seems way cheaper than last years line up. The service cover pops out and it seems like you'll break it after a few times, but it'll be fine. The speakers are NOT beats audio like everyone thinks for some reason, but they sound the same as last years, even though there's more speakers now. Still easily nicer than the average laptop. Beats audio is more for headphones FYI. I know I'm all over the place here, so hang in there... Performance wise, things look a bit up. I haven't ran any benchmark programs, but this thing seems really fast. And that's without the SSD I have. I know how 4th Gen Intel's aren't supposed to be faster and this one isn't even supposedly as fast as my 3rd gen i7, but it really seems faster. Performance wise I have no issues. I wish the graphics card had DDR5 but I'm such a noob, it's more of a mental thing and it looks the same as my GiForce 650m with 2GB DDR5, They say, the higher the number the better with these GPU's but I don't see how a 740 and beat a 650 with 2GB DDR5, All in all, this computer was a replacement of a replacement of a replacement of a replacement of a replacement. Apparently HP has serious quality control issues as computer after computer was damaged and messed up. It's a good thing HP is great about replacements. And if you spend the $ for a total care package, you are WELL taken care of. Would I buy this if it wasn't a replacement? Honestly, I don't know. I wish it was black, but that's not something that is supposed to matter, I guess. Over a G, and I'd expect a better build, but I think for anyone who wants this computer, buys it, and is gentle and doesn't abuse it, it will preform great. Plus it has a very clean feel to it, everything is smooth and neat and hard to get dirty. The Touch pad is decent, I hardly use it, so I can't really comment on it other than at least there aren't buttons that mess up and sink in like past laptops from HP, it's solid and all together and when I do use it, I never have issues.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 1st HP Laptop

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using PC's & Laptop's another brand for over 15+ years this is my 1st HP laptop. I think it's a winner. Sturdy, sleek design, have to get used to windows 8 so I am still new at that. So far the performance has been very good. Sound excellent. There is so much in this laptop. Not to bad setting it up to my liking..Love the finger senor & of course always love ones that have a lighted keyboard which it does. This Laptop It's quiet, and runs fast. I know I still have more to learn everything this has in it & how they all work, but practice will improve. I would say to others if your looking for a high end laptop at a reasonable price to purchase it. I think that you will see how really nice this one is. And you won't be disappointed. Go for it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very much enjoying this computer. I have only had it for a week, but I like it so far. Other reviews talked about the softness of the keyboard, especially on the left side. It is soft, but like they said, it is not a problem.
I was disappointed that I had to install Microsoft Silverlight to watch my school presentations/videos.
This is a very fast laptop, easy to use, nice looking, with an abundance of great features.
I am a happy customer!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very responsive and surprising user interaction.

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The features and the user friendly operation is a amazing, The interaction of the software almost seems a little personnel at times, I'm trying to get used to it !. There is a learning curve on the windows 8, as anything new is intimidating which is why I purchased the education CD/DVD. I will learn this system eventually!
Windows 8 with Explorer 10 shutters and buffs in Streaming Videos from Comcast and as of yet to find the fix, sad news is HP said I would have to pay $59-60. 00 for tech repair and diagnosis for their support, if they fix my New Computer problem which doesn't seem right !. I purchased the 3 year full coverage package. I plan to blog and relate my findings on Facebook and to all my admiring teacher colleagues as to my experience .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Second attempt

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I Wrote a (LONG) review that was thorough but was not printed. In it I mentioned the use of a SINGLE clicker to run BOTH sides of the touch pad, meaning extra pressure is required to click either the left side or the right since either one moves the ENTIRE clicker. I have yet to see this review, which included many other good features this laptop has, including the fingerprint reader. It is surprising for me to see the review pulled from publication. It makes me wonder what the review had that was so negative that the time and effort I put into it was completely overlooked. PErhaps if readers ASK to see my first review of this laptop, through freedom of information (...lol) they may show it to you. But the fact it was pulled itself is a disturbing result.,
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Network Connection Problems

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washougal, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A very nice laptop but I've had problems with the network connection. The Centrino Wireless-N 2230 will occasionally drop the link to my home wi-fi. I have two other laptops connecting to the same router (one of which is a HP) and have no problem with those links. For some odd reason, this HP Envy 17 will drop the link and won't immediately reset. The trouble shooting guide is no help (turn off the router, wait 10 seconds, and switch back on) and reloading the drivers as recommended by HP didn't help. If I wait a few hours, the laptop will eventually reestablish the connection.
I've stuck with this laptop because, otherwise, it has all the features I need and I like the large screen. Once I crack the code on this mysterious intermittent link I'll move from sort-of satisfied customer to happy customer.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Why is battery life lower than the jt100 system?

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Don't understand this as jt100 uses the 45w 4700 chip vs the 35w 4702 chip used here. Is it just the discrete graphics? These laptops are screaming out for an SSD option. Keyboard flex needs to be dealt with.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Hardware / HORRIBLE Software

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New England
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The machine is great . . . fast-fast-fast, sleak, comfortable to use, well-designed . . . great hardware. (Too much bloatware; but, such are the times.) However, it is paired with Windows 8 which is not user friendly on a laptop. On a laptop it is a clunky GUI that provides no benefits versus Win 7 on a laptop.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

a choice of installed program would work better

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Camptn, NH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This computer would have gotten a higher rating from me but the installed program 8 is so overdone that I spent way to much time trying to navigate to what I need to do. Instead of a one click to get what you need it takes two and three clicks for the same things I was able to get to in one click on my old program windows xp. Sorry to say I am not enjoying this new program and the learning curve to use it at least for me is off the charts.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent PC but still needs some improvements.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oh I love this laptop; beautiful display, nice build quality and very good battery life. I only wish there were better graphics options like Nvidia GTX cards and that the backlight on the keyboard be implemented like the one in Toshiba laptops where the light goes off after 10-20 seconds of inactivity and come back on onced touched again. I hope that can be done somehow.
This laptop runs cool almost everytime except, of course, when running those high quality games or doing other heavy tasks. the finger print sensor is magical, no problem with it at all. Speakers? Good quality, loud and clear.
This is the best all round pc I could get at it's price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

product inferior

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Palm Springs FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have never had a worst notebook by HP. I have had HP everytime I needed a new PC. Ever since windows 8 came out and in this current notebook (ENVY.) I have had nothing but headaches. HP support has shown no interest in helping the numerous problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

COMPUTER VERY NICE, NEEDS A BETTER OPERATING SYSTE

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Duluth, MN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I previously bought the ENVY Touch smart and wasn't even a little impressed by it. Don't know if I got a bad seed or if it was just that faulty. Returned it for this model and am quite happy with this computer. It operates great, is very fast and seems to run smoothly. I would recommend this computer to other users.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love absolutely this computer.

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chaleston, WV
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love this computer. I like the size of the screen - I can SEE it. I tried an 11'6" laptop because it was lighter but eventually found the screen to be uncomfortably small. So, I'm back to a larger screen even though it's heavier and I'm loving it. Some of the reviews for this laptop said that the keyboard was a little "soft" on the left side but I have found that not to be true. Another thing that was mentioned was the Wi-Fi connection. It seems that some people have had trouble connecting to the internet. I have experienced that. Occasionally, I have trouble but I'm not sure it's the computer or my internet service. I was having trouble with my service before I bought my Envy. I'm having my internet company come out and change the "box" and hope that will solve the problem. But, overall, I love this laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Unit

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arkansas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have no issues with this unit. I only wish it had been offered with Windows 7 as an option. While Windows 8 will, I'm sure , be useful to me, at this time I can only call it a detriment. Two independent Internet Explorers confuses everything. Does not interface with such products as Norton 360. Streaming radio while working not possible. Plus the learning curve for me is difficult, although I have been a Windows user for 20 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

has everthing you need

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Don't like how the keyboard on left side flexes. It makes you think it is broken or going to break soon. Needs to be mounted better. Battery life does not seem to be as advertised. This is my first laptop, maybe just me. Computer is fast, looks nice, and can do anything I throw at it. Would of given it 5 stars if it weren't for the keyboard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 17-j029nr Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good laptop, few issues

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received this laptop in the mail today and thus far I like it very much (and if there is a way to edit my review to expand upon it further since it is just the first day, I will do so.)
The pros: beautiful screen, fast performance, Windows 8, relatively quiet fan, absolutely wonderful audio from Beats (sounds almost surround soundish), a nice design, a big ol' screen, lighter than I expected, webcam better than expected (although still kinda grainy but it is a laptop not a 2000 dollar camera), I did some minimal gaming but it was still fast and it loaded up itunes extremely fast which I know is rare for Windows computers in general
The cons: I had a little bit of trouble downloading some pictures off my iPhone, although it seems to have solved itself now though that was a bit concerning. On the left side of the keyboard, the key pad flexes when you press down on the keys and may give off a flimsy impression, and the computer does not always register that someone has clicked down on the very large touchpad so it is sometimes hard to right or left click. For me, this is not a big issue as I already have a wireless mouse on the way and I would recommend it for anyone planning to buy this laptop (I find a mouse easier to use than a touchpad in general.)
If you know the above will bother you, then I would not pursue this laptop, but otherwise it works great and looks great so I would definitely recommend it to anyone, especially gamers or people looking to watch some movies on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.