HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Tablets or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Slate 7 8G Tablet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Slate 7 8G Tablet

HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating:
3.899 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 129 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
13
1 Star
11
97 out of 129(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Review 1 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tablet for the price

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:College Station, TX
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tablet is awesome for the price. It's the right size for everyday use and includes a microSD slot for additional memory and front an rear camera. I've already added a sandisk 32G card. My only comment is that it would be nice to have a 16G option, but it is a $170 tablet, so you get what you get. HP delivered a nice product here that is simple to use, very attractive, and cost effective.
-w
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than the Samsung Galaxy

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Batavia, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife has a Samsung with Android OS and as I have used it, some basic features really irritated me....like printing. That Samsung only wanted to print to Samsung printers for email and other basic apps.This HP Slate 7 prints to any printer on my network besides the ePrint app. The slot for a microSD card separate from the USB power connector seems basic, but Samsung uses the same port and this Slate separates them into two ports.
The response on the device is good, and my gorilla fingers on the keypad allowed this 7inch screen adequate room to type
I have used a kindle and nook, but this Slate is an all-in-one for me.
Bottom line, this is my new favorite tablet!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Suburbs, IL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great product. The clarity of the screen is exceptional. It came pre-loaded with a handful of pictures to use for wallpaper, as well as "live" wallpapers. Beats Audio is definitely a plus, the music sounds fantastic, the bass is clear and not distorted even when I turned it all the way up. It is super fast, definitely faster than my cell phone with Android Jellybean. The touch screen is very sensitive, even with the screen protector on it.
I currently have an Android phone that came pre-loaded with all of the Google apps. I also have a PC at home, that I use Chrome to surf the web with. When I logged on to the Slate using my current Google account, it brought my personal dictionary over. I didn't have to re-create all the custom words I have on autocorrect. When I logged into Chrome, it brought my current bookmarks over from my PC. Nice features from Google.
I'm most excited that it has e-print loaded on it, so I can print wirelessly to the HP printer I recently purchased. The back is very soft feeling, but not slippery. The color is true to what was shown online. There is a micro SD slot on the top, and a place for standard headphones. It has a front and rear-facing camera, and zoom! Yay! The camera has an option for panoramic photos or videos.
It came safely packed in a box, with a protective sleeve around it, and a micro USB charger. The USB charger has a plug for the wall, but also works to transfer files to your PC the same way you would with a cell phone.
I have loaded the Kindle for Android app and Words with Friends, both work perfectly. The YouTube app loaded immediately, videos had excellent sound and no lag time.
The first time it's booted up, it will have a listing of all available WiFi connections to choose from. Since I already had a Google account, I didn't need to create one. Knowing that, setup took me 10 minutes. That includes downloading 2 apps and connecting to WiFi. It was ready to go right out of the box, with half of the battery charged already. So far, it meets all of the criteria I had and I'm very excited about this product! In fact, I'm going to purchase another one for my mom.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tablet!

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the fact that HP is now supporting Android. The unit arrived quickly and was charged so that we were using it within two minutes. Setup was a breeze. Love the form factor. LOVE the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really enjoying the HP Slate 7

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Edmond, OK
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First, a full disclosure: Yes, I am an HP employee. But I have no association with the group that produces personal systems or tablets. Now with that out of the way ...
I love this new tablet. The form factor is very convenient, and having the MicroSD slot is perfect. I can carry all of my favorite tunes with me as well as a dozen ripped movies after popping in a 32 GB MicroSD card. The price point is impossible to beat.
I also dig the HP ePrint application. It found both of my local printers and I was printing from the Slate 7 immediately with no issues at all. Wow! There is minimal HP branding on top of the stock Jelly Bean Android distro. You have full access to the Google Play store and all Google services. Nothing appears to be locked down.
The only reason I didn't max out the "Features" rating is that I wish that the 1024x600 screen were a slightly higher resolution like 1280x900. But that would have probably made it impossible to offer at the current price. Honestly, though, the display looks pretty darned good. Unless you're splitting atoms, you probably won't notice a difference.
We have numerous tablets in the house: Nook HD+, Nook Color, Kindle Fire, and a pair of HP Touchpads with WebOS/CyanogenMod9 dual-boot. For a 7" tablet, I have to say that the HP Slate 7 really is the best bang for the buck at this point.
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:boston, ma
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits perfect in my small hands. I can bring it anywhere. Great sound. Nice clear pictures. Now I can show my 91 year mom pictures so much easier then a phone. Great job HP.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am telling all my friends to get this tablet!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have to say that I was not really sure why I would use a tablet. Therefore, I hesitated to buy one up to this point. Well, with the HP Slate how can you go wrong? The price is excellent. The quality is exceeds the price point. I received my tablet in exactly 3 days after I ordered it online. I have not stopped to put it down. I love, love. love it. I believe the set-up took about 10 minutes and I was off and running. The sound is great with or without the earphones. I have started out by downloading a couple apps from Google that I find very useful. The download was quick and easy. I have watched several of my Netflix movies and the color and sound are better than on my PC. I just love it because the possibilities are endless as to what I can do. I have told all my friends that this is a winner tablet that they can gift and buy for themselves.
HP has solved a problem with this tablet by adding the front and back facing camera at this price pont.. The people that I know that already have a tablet; get really upset when I tell them how wonderful my tablet is with the front and back camera. They paid more than $200.00 for their tablets that do not have the extra camera feature. And tthey bought their tablets less than one year ago.
I plan on gifting this tablet to several family members and friends. I know that they will enjoy my gift for all the things they enjoy doing everyday. Thank you HP for this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product lacks GPS

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice product, would have kept it if it had GPS. returned to HP next day...
Response from HPBy HP Customer ServiceHP Customer ServiceMay 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Slate 7 does not include a GPS and is not compatible with some applications that require this feature for location awareness. Some apps will work by manually entering in a zip or using Wi-Fi location sensing or if the developer didn’t mark GPS as a requirement to work. Please note application developers can make updates at any time that would affect compatibility.
-13points
1of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really Like it!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Slate 7 seems to be intended to be an entry level tablet suitable for most games, music and video watching, email and internet browsing and some limited productivity work. The dual core processor is speedy, it even seems to make a difference on how quickly apps load. The tablet has what appears to be an stock version of android 4.1.1. Interestingly this version appears to have some of the UI elements of Android 4.2. including the notification and status area being moved to the top of the UI (phone like) instead of on the lower right hand corner.
Some apps I've loaded include Kingsoft office (free), Firefox and Opera web browsers, MX player pro, ES file explorer, n7 Music player, Grumpy Bears, Beach Buggy Blitz, Supersonic HD, Subway surfers. and Poweramp. I have several other android tablets, including a Toshiba Thrive, and Lenovo's A2109 and A2107. Interestingly Firefox works very poorly on all but this new HP tablet, also, the HP Slate 7 plays music much better than the Lenovo A2109, as the Lenovo stutters and skips during music playback. So far all of the apps I've installed have worked as expected, tilt based games play easily and smoothly and are easy to control (Beach Buggy Blitz and Frisbee Forever are currently my two favorite tilt controlled games, both play very well on the Slate 7)
The Beats Audio is also much more subtle and better sounding that I guessed it would have been. It can really make some music sound quite rich and full, especially Smooth Jazz and R&B. As with most modern tablets, The Slate 7 does not get very loud when using wired earphones.
The Slate 7 does not natively play the .AVI video format, however; a nice surprise is that it has enough processing power to play most video formats with a software Decoder (I use MX Player Pro) it can even play .WMV movies and clips smoothly using software decoding, which is something my other android devices cannot do.
As for wireless, I have had not problems connecting to my WiFi Network or connecting to most Bluetooth devices. I did find that sometimes when waking the tablet up from sleep it would not connect to my network automatically, I solved this by changing the WiFi setting to disconnect when the tablet is sleeping (I know, it's counter intuitive, but it worked) So when I wake the table from sleep, now connects to my network flawlessly.
The screen is bright and the colors are rich (compared with my current tablets) also the screen has very good viewing angles, and responds to touch very well. One thing I have noticed is that the screen's aspect ratio seems ever so slightly stretched. (the long way) so that some object on the screen that should be round are ever so slightly oval shaped, it's not noticable when watching video or playing games, but it is noticable within apps like Poweramp that have round controls for volume and tone controls, It's also noticable on the slide to unlock screen.
The tablet includes micro SD card support. (this is one of the main reason I wanted this tablet)
One other thing I've noticed, it can sometimes be hard to get the tablet to turn on (when it is completely off, not when it's sleeping) when it is plugged in and the battery is fully charged. I have found that unplugging the charger fixes this problem, and also that it does not seem to have this problem when it is plugged in and the battery is not fully charged.
I actually found the quick start guide to be useful, it is not comprehensive (of course) but it does a good job of quickly going over how to use the tablet.
Overall I really like this device, it's simple and almost elegant, but most importantly it seems to work and work well.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality for the money

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I own several Android devices, and purchased the Slate 7 to have a little tablet to throw in my purse for when I needed something bigger than my phone. For the needs I have, the device is good.
It doesn't have GPS, but that was not an issue for me. It might be for others. One of my requirements was an SD card slot, and this device has it, unlike the Nexus 7. The USB cord is a little short, but not a deal breaker. I had read reviews on the internet regarding a 'dull' display, but I can't say that I agree. The display is fine to me. Streamed some Netflix and HBO Go, and looked good.
Device comes with stock Android, except for the HP ePrint app pre-installed, which is fine because my printer is an HP printer anyway.
The feel is solid, and the gray back is comfortable to the touch. Fits well in my hands.Sound on speakers is not very loud, but with ear bugs, the Beats audio is good.
Wifi connected with no issues, and had no trouble pairing a generic Bluetooth keyboard.
All in all, a low-priced well-built tablet that meets my needs. Who can ask for more?
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP Slate 7 ... Great Product ...

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashua, NH
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The HP Slate 7 has great performance for the price. Great build quality and Beats Audio
is a plus in my book. I'm not a big fan of tablets, but I'm enjoying my HP Slate 7 . I'm looking
forward to future Slate products ... say .. 11" version with 32GB, 9 hour battery life and a price
that is easy on the eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fastest android tablet I have used.

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lake City, Fl
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very fast in downloading and installing apps. Great touch response. Another inch in width would have been nice.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tablet for money!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Iowa
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP Slate 7 is an absolutely wonderful product for the price point. I have an original iPad and the Slate blows it away in performance and price. The screen has wonderful viewing angles and is pretty darn sharp. I have read many reviews commenting on the low resolution... It is just fine for a seven inch display like the one on the Slate 7. The performance is very good also with no lag or noticeable hesitation. The dual core processor and 1GB of RAM make quick work of any task that needs to be tackled. This device won't replace my HP Elitebook but will certainly be handy for checking email and surfing the web. The Slate 7 is also built incrediblely well and feels like a far more expensive product than its $169 price suggests. I have used every name brand seven inch tablet on the market. None of those tablets have the build quality and the performance for the money that the Slate 7 has.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed. wifi and battery problems

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:san francisco, ca
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wifi problem - after an hour of inactivity, wifi stops working and resetting wifi doesnt work. Requires a full power down and up to fix. Just to have it stop working again after inactivity.
Battery problem - after fully charged in the morning and disconnected from power, leaving it untouched, when I get home from work, the battery is completely dead. All the same settings on my galaxy s3 and my s3 stays up working just as hard if not harder.
I also have a touchpad, it seems all the touchpad problems followed with the slate 7. Disappointed, was excited too receiving this.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Minimal feature set

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Howell, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product requires alot of customization to make it a useful tool. Fortunately there are alot of free applications that you can download.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slate is Great!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My home is no stranger to technology toys, between my Wife, Daughter and I we have most of the popular ones of the day. Android and I-phones, I-pads, Android tablets (and even one of the original HP Touch Pads which I use daily to check Email and Facebook!).
The new HP Slate 7" is a great product, the inclusion of a micro-SD card is aces!!! While I keep a very extensive music collection "in the cloud" the ability to load selected favorites along with some movies and books to the micro-SD makes this pad very handy indeed (WiFi is almost everywhere but there are times you don't have it and only "local" data fills the bill then!)
My only disappointment is that HP didn't keep the wireless docking/charging feature they had with the TouchPad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Jury is Out

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vermont
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, I like the Slate7, but I'm frustrated that a better user manual is not available. The device is not consistently responsive to touching as I think it should be. Could be a function of Chrome and not the product, as the lack of response only occurs when using Chrome. Some apps like HBOGO work incredibly well. The video quality is excellent. Without a user manual, however, I'm not sure I'm getting the most out of the device.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Leap to the Tablet World

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sicklerville, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the Slate 7 for my senior mom - her first leap into both the wireless and tablet world. The form factor, fully loaded tablet took us minutes to set up for her. It took us longer to add wireless to their house. She is just loving it and I'm loving it's ease of use for her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new HP Slate

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really enjoy the physical components and features of the HP Slate. The dual Beats speakers are an added bonus. I wish the volume could go higher to avoid the need for external speakers. I also enjoy the built in Google software. I like the ability to link all my email accounts and the ability to easily switch between accounts. Android is still lacking some basic functions that I hope are available soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Slate 7 - 2800

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Omaha, NE
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I'm absolutely delighted with the performance, look and feel of the HP Slate 7! It has been 100% reliable and the performance has been outstanding. Month's ago I bought my wife a birthday present - Nexus 7 tablet. I can honestly say the performance and functionality of the Slate 7 exceed her experience with the Nexus 7. I look forward to future Android updates, to even further improve my experience, specifically version 4.1.2 and beyond.
Thank you HP!
Sincerely,
OneFunZ71
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>