HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Tablets or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Slate 7 8G Tablet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Slate 7 8G Tablet

HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating:
3.905 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 127 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
13
1 Star
11
95 out of 127(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Review 1 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

unreliable product not for professionals

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Slate 7 failed during the first 21 days! It reset itself and erased all the materials that I had downloaded to it. It came without the necessary applications for office productivity that one could reasonably expect it to have: It does not have a file manager, a note taking application; it cannot install MS Office Readers, let alone the programs themselves, like Word, Excel, and Note One. It is basically a passive devise for reading downloaded books, not an interactive one for professionals.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Haven't been able to get to them ...

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Allentown, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would like to get through the set-up process. I regret that wi-fi must be used to set up the Slate. I have wi-fi in my apartment but when it comes to the Slate the band is not strong enough to allow me to get into the set up. Everything else in my apartment using wi-fi works great! but not the Slate! I am very frustrated at this point.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Had to return this product

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Micro usb input only worked for charging. Touch screen unresponsive very slow sporadic. Slow operating system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not so good

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Newbury Park ,CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It has no documentation at all, it assumes you know all about how the system works and there is no where to find any information . it is very slow, drops what ever you are trying to do with the slightest movement, any attempt to download an ap causes a freeze. it seems like an old style MS Webtv that I had 20 years ago. I cannot even download email from google, or access google chrome or any web content. It is a paper weight that costs too much. As bad buying decision
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good purchase

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This was not a good purchase. Product is very pretty and looked promising. However, after only a couple of days, I am sending it back! Battery dies quick- w/o use! Cannot connect to 802.1x internet, which means I cannot connect to the internet at my job, the main reason I bought the Slate7. Overall, do better research that I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY DISAPPOINTED :(

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this tablet to use for BOTH work and play, just a few days ago. My job requires that I enter reports (type several paragraphs of text) and taking/uploading photos via a web browser with internet connection, and I wanted to use the tablet to do this while on the go. I also wanted to use it for music, photos, and email. When I purchased this, I explained it to the store rep (Staples), and he recommended the HP Slate. I purchased it and initially I was fairly happy with using email, accessing social networking apps, and a few games. I originally thought it was fairly quick to open/access apps and functions; and was a really cool device.
However, once I began trying to take/upload photos...frustration began. The camera on this tablet is HORRIBLE...blurry, dark, cloudy. After a few tries with different lighting and using different camera options, I knew this camera would not work for me. I also downloaded a few camera apps and tried those...they helped a very slight amount but still nowhere near good enough for my needs.
Next, I tried to enter text into the google broswer in order to prepare a work report. As I typed, the text that appeared on the screen was EXTREMELY delayed. I would type 2-3 sentences but then when I look at the screen, no letters are appearing as I am typing! So I wait 2-3 minutes, then the start to slowly sentences appear (with some letters missing)! Have to keep stopping, pausing to wait for the text to appear on the screen, hoping it all appears on the screen (sometimes it did and sometimes it did not)! Same thing happens when trying to delete text...press the backspace/delete button and nothing happens, so I hit the button a few more times. Finally, 1-2 minutes later all of the "deletes" have now processed so now it deleted several more letters (or words) than I intended. SO then have to go to that spot and type in the letters/words which were inadvertently deleted. Here we go again with the delay, while typing in the text to fix the deleted text issue! Went through this frustration over and over! Then tried the text-to-speech option to get the report entered....horrible! Tried it several times, while properly pronunciating the words and punctuation, but it got at least half of the words completely wrong every time. Finally gave up, sat the Slate aside and got onto my laptop to complete my report :( I bought the tablet as an alternate/easier method to complete these reports and to do them "on the go," but has not been the case at all. Also bought a bluetooth wireless keyboard. The typing text delay problem was prevalent while using both the touch screen to type AND the wireless keyboard.
Also, even though the rep stated that I could use this "on-the-go" he did not mention that it is Wi-Fi only; cannot be utilized on a 3G/4G network. This device does not meet my needs in MANY ways.
If you want a tablet just for accessing email, playing games, using social media, browsing internet in a Wi-FI area only; then it is a decent and inexpensive option to do so. If you want a tablet to perform advanced features, need to type or enter large amounts of text, or want to take ANY photos at all...then this is definitely not the tablet for you. I know that this is NOT the tablet for me, and I have had it for less than a week. I am returning the tablet and keyboard to Staples today. I will be buying a tablet that I think will work better for my needs (ipad mini).
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Slate 7

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I actually hate the device. If this device was to help me learn the Android system it failed utterly. My conclusion is that I hate Android OS more than ever. The user manual which should have been on the device was not there. It took me more that a week to search and download it to another device. Following the instructions, from the manual, for loading files to the device does not work. I would like to wipe the Slate 7 clean, put the product back in the box and return it to HP. I am looking for a reasonable priced WINDOWS tablet.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor screen

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Returned product to HP; the screen quality on this device is pretty bad. Apps like flipbook aren't able to scale correctly and run off the screen...good luck reading an article when the right column is cut in half. Games ran ok, graphics perf isn't half bad...too bad the screen quality is poor. Price point at $10 less than competing products with better screen resolution and quality just isn't going to cut it for this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No GPS?

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No GPS. how can you do mapping?
Where is the red one?
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor basic OEM Android product

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Altamonte Springs, FL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Slate 7 is a clear example of an OEM product marketing attempt gone bad. The device does not deliver the memory, battery life, sound or accelerometer features as advertised. HP should wait until it can design and manufacture a product on its own that is at least as good as an Amazon or Samsung tablet before trying this again.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed. wifi and battery problems

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:san francisco, ca
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wifi problem - after an hour of inactivity, wifi stops working and resetting wifi doesnt work. Requires a full power down and up to fix. Just to have it stop working again after inactivity.
Battery problem - after fully charged in the morning and disconnected from power, leaving it untouched, when I get home from work, the battery is completely dead. All the same settings on my galaxy s3 and my s3 stays up working just as hard if not harder.
I also have a touchpad, it seems all the touchpad problems followed with the slate 7. Disappointed, was excited too receiving this.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A real miss!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indiana
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
First off, it seems to be a decent tablet at a decent price. Now, if you want to run ANY of the most popular android apps on this tablet then dont buy it, period! I would venture a guess that 90% of the most popular apps require you to have gps, the Slate 7 does not have gps which is a real disappointment . Had I did my research first before purchasing this I would have chosen to look elsewhere.
Other than missing the GPS, it's a fine tablet for the money. I would have gladly paid a little more for this feature to be included. I also bought the case which is excellent, if you buy the Slate get the case too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was so excited to get my first ever tablet. I already have a Kindle Fire HD, but it has limitations on the browser (it doesn't support certain software).
When I got the Slate 7, I set it up and thought I'd try a few things that I use all the time, like Netflix (it works great) and Amazon video. It turns out the Slate doesn't support Microsoft Silverlight or Adobe Flash. Nor does it seem to support HD video. I also discovered how grainy the picture is.
I love HP products and have been a loyal purchaser of desktops and laptops for years. As a matter of fact, when I purchased the Slate, I purchased a new desktop at the same time. I didn't research the Slate because HP has never disappointed me, but I see there's always a first time.
I can't be more disappointed and I'm planning to quickly return it for a full refund.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Weak Speaker; display not great

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this for my mother's birthday gift. I thought I did enough research; unfortunately it wasn't enough. Very disappointed in the speakers - i can't hear anything on the loudest volume. My sister has the kindle hd and her speakers boom out. Whether you have headphones on or not the volume is so low. I thought the beat feature would be great but it's not. Comparison is very poor for the Slate 7 vs Kindle hd. As well, the screen is not very clear - the kindle screen just pops out. They are both the same price. I'm thinking of returning it and getting my mom something else. I'm ashamed I got her something that is not comparable to the kindle like my sister who is silently laughing at me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Even w/low price not competitive

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:sacramento, ca
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
HP recently dropped pricing on this tablet & I still don't think it is enough. The screen is sub standard when compared to other tablets like it in the market. Responsiveness is slow. My kids were not fans of it either. Thankfully didn't pay too much for it so hard to be surprised by its overall performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I expected so much more

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
While the form factor for a 7 inch tablet was good, I found the screen and the software of this tablet to be terribly lacking, and was very surprised given it was from HP, albeit a first attempt at an android tablet. The best way I can describe the screen is that I felt I was looking through a bad screen protector which dulled the colors and made the screen seem fuzzy. I found the stock browser to be so jumpy, i.e. it didn't want to stay on the screen I wanted to view, it was always going forward or backward, that I finally said this thing has just got to go back. I have had and have used so many tablets from Motorola, Samsung, Blackberry and Apple, that this one just couldn't cut the mustard. Maybe as a teenagers tablet, or a Mom's tablet for a few emails and addresses and such, or my wife's favorite Pinterest, but this isn't an executive's tablet, and surprisingly it wasn't an issue that it only had a small amount of memory. So, buy carefully, you may like it, its just that for what I want it for, I want a sharper screen and better software execution.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't know all operations

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Schenectady,N.Y.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Needs more written instruction for technically challenged like me. Don't assume we all grew up with computers but with limited technology. Also I can't find more written info. to operate the tablet on your website with nothing included with product to help with use and operation.
Response from HPBy HP Customer ServiceHP Customer ServiceJune 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the purchase of the HP Slate 7 tablet. For additional assistance we have a user guide and quick start guide that can help with additional information.

Please visit:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/manualCategory?cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=5376605&task=&
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as good as some, better than others

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is an average device and about what you would expect for under $200. It's annoying that it can't do two applications at once. So you can't play music on one site and then surf another.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The Slate 7 falls short of expectations

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beachwood, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I already had an HP gift card to use up. So I thought this tablet would be a nice addition to my home. Since I use an Android phone, I was familiar with the operating system. But to my surprise, there are too many apps. That just are not supported with the Slate 7. Any banking app I tried to install was not available for this tablet. Other issues are the battery life is the worst. I'm also having a problem getting it to charge properly. It seems the mini USB power cable is very loose and if not held in just the right position, the tablet will not fully charge. I am going to return this tablet and hopefully HP will replace it with one that has a better working charging connection.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not ready for prime time

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ridgecrest, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I just bought this Slate 7 and I am severely dissapointed! The user manual is pathetic. Leaves out issues such as turning the thing off without going to reboot in safe mode. No instructions on navagation. Navagation is definitely NOT intuitive. No GPS so none of my banking apps will even download. I have not been able to get to my e-mail. The "browser" app is NOT a browser but just a google search screen. To actually go to a website you have to use Chrome...also not in the user manual.
If you are going to read books you purchase from Google only or movies from Google then this is mediocre product...for anythine else forget it....I guess you only get what you pay for and $169 must be too CHEAP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>