HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Tablets or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Slate 7 8G Tablet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Slate 7 8G Tablet

HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating:
3.899 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 129 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
13
1 Star
11
97 out of 129(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Review 1 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tablet for the price

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:College Station, TX
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tablet is awesome for the price. It's the right size for everyday use and includes a microSD slot for additional memory and front an rear camera. I've already added a sandisk 32G card. My only comment is that it would be nice to have a 16G option, but it is a $170 tablet, so you get what you get. HP delivered a nice product here that is simple to use, very attractive, and cost effective.
-w
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Suburbs, IL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great product. The clarity of the screen is exceptional. It came pre-loaded with a handful of pictures to use for wallpaper, as well as "live" wallpapers. Beats Audio is definitely a plus, the music sounds fantastic, the bass is clear and not distorted even when I turned it all the way up. It is super fast, definitely faster than my cell phone with Android Jellybean. The touch screen is very sensitive, even with the screen protector on it.
I currently have an Android phone that came pre-loaded with all of the Google apps. I also have a PC at home, that I use Chrome to surf the web with. When I logged on to the Slate using my current Google account, it brought my personal dictionary over. I didn't have to re-create all the custom words I have on autocorrect. When I logged into Chrome, it brought my current bookmarks over from my PC. Nice features from Google.
I'm most excited that it has e-print loaded on it, so I can print wirelessly to the HP printer I recently purchased. The back is very soft feeling, but not slippery. The color is true to what was shown online. There is a micro SD slot on the top, and a place for standard headphones. It has a front and rear-facing camera, and zoom! Yay! The camera has an option for panoramic photos or videos.
It came safely packed in a box, with a protective sleeve around it, and a micro USB charger. The USB charger has a plug for the wall, but also works to transfer files to your PC the same way you would with a cell phone.
I have loaded the Kindle for Android app and Words with Friends, both work perfectly. The YouTube app loaded immediately, videos had excellent sound and no lag time.
The first time it's booted up, it will have a listing of all available WiFi connections to choose from. Since I already had a Google account, I didn't need to create one. Knowing that, setup took me 10 minutes. That includes downloading 2 apps and connecting to WiFi. It was ready to go right out of the box, with half of the battery charged already. So far, it meets all of the criteria I had and I'm very excited about this product! In fact, I'm going to purchase another one for my mom.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really Like it!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Slate 7 seems to be intended to be an entry level tablet suitable for most games, music and video watching, email and internet browsing and some limited productivity work. The dual core processor is speedy, it even seems to make a difference on how quickly apps load. The tablet has what appears to be an stock version of android 4.1.1. Interestingly this version appears to have some of the UI elements of Android 4.2. including the notification and status area being moved to the top of the UI (phone like) instead of on the lower right hand corner.
Some apps I've loaded include Kingsoft office (free), Firefox and Opera web browsers, MX player pro, ES file explorer, n7 Music player, Grumpy Bears, Beach Buggy Blitz, Supersonic HD, Subway surfers. and Poweramp. I have several other android tablets, including a Toshiba Thrive, and Lenovo's A2109 and A2107. Interestingly Firefox works very poorly on all but this new HP tablet, also, the HP Slate 7 plays music much better than the Lenovo A2109, as the Lenovo stutters and skips during music playback. So far all of the apps I've installed have worked as expected, tilt based games play easily and smoothly and are easy to control (Beach Buggy Blitz and Frisbee Forever are currently my two favorite tilt controlled games, both play very well on the Slate 7)
The Beats Audio is also much more subtle and better sounding that I guessed it would have been. It can really make some music sound quite rich and full, especially Smooth Jazz and R&B. As with most modern tablets, The Slate 7 does not get very loud when using wired earphones.
The Slate 7 does not natively play the .AVI video format, however; a nice surprise is that it has enough processing power to play most video formats with a software Decoder (I use MX Player Pro) it can even play .WMV movies and clips smoothly using software decoding, which is something my other android devices cannot do.
As for wireless, I have had not problems connecting to my WiFi Network or connecting to most Bluetooth devices. I did find that sometimes when waking the tablet up from sleep it would not connect to my network automatically, I solved this by changing the WiFi setting to disconnect when the tablet is sleeping (I know, it's counter intuitive, but it worked) So when I wake the table from sleep, now connects to my network flawlessly.
The screen is bright and the colors are rich (compared with my current tablets) also the screen has very good viewing angles, and responds to touch very well. One thing I have noticed is that the screen's aspect ratio seems ever so slightly stretched. (the long way) so that some object on the screen that should be round are ever so slightly oval shaped, it's not noticable when watching video or playing games, but it is noticable within apps like Poweramp that have round controls for volume and tone controls, It's also noticable on the slide to unlock screen.
The tablet includes micro SD card support. (this is one of the main reason I wanted this tablet)
One other thing I've noticed, it can sometimes be hard to get the tablet to turn on (when it is completely off, not when it's sleeping) when it is plugged in and the battery is fully charged. I have found that unplugging the charger fixes this problem, and also that it does not seem to have this problem when it is plugged in and the battery is not fully charged.
I actually found the quick start guide to be useful, it is not comprehensive (of course) but it does a good job of quickly going over how to use the tablet.
Overall I really like this device, it's simple and almost elegant, but most importantly it seems to work and work well.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very happy

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wake Forest, NC
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Overall we are very happy with our HP Slate 7 tablets. I got mine to read books on when my Nook died, and the Nook App works great, and my son loves to play games on it. I got one for my husband and he does email on his, reads books, plays games and surfs the internet. It transitions well from horizontal to vertical, and screen display and touch work very well. There is a wide variety of apps, and all that we have tried work well on the Slate. Good value!
I have two suggestions for the next version, a longer power cord (way too short), and longer battery life with WiFi on. When WiFi is turned on, the battery does not last a full day.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tablet for the price.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very well made tablet. I find the screen resolution fine for what I do, mostly email and web, I don't play games. All the apps I have downloaded so far work great. It does not have GPS but I only use it at home and do not need that. I have had no problems with WIFI range. Many of the bad reviews are unfair, they expect something as good as an apple ipad and higher end Andriods which are two and three times the price.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Device

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got my Slate 7 yesterday and it was a breeze to setup. I was surprised that all of the apps from my Touchpad (running Android) automatically transferred to the Slate 7. At first, the screen didn't rotate and I didn't know how to do it until I dragged the top edge of the screen down and the icon appeared that I can toggle it. I wish that HP has some accessories for it.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The Slate 7 falls short of expectations

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beachwood, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I already had an HP gift card to use up. So I thought this tablet would be a nice addition to my home. Since I use an Android phone, I was familiar with the operating system. But to my surprise, there are too many apps. That just are not supported with the Slate 7. Any banking app I tried to install was not available for this tablet. Other issues are the battery life is the worst. I'm also having a problem getting it to charge properly. It seems the mini USB power cable is very loose and if not held in just the right position, the tablet will not fully charge. I am going to return this tablet and hopefully HP will replace it with one that has a better working charging connection.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality for the money

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I own several Android devices, and purchased the Slate 7 to have a little tablet to throw in my purse for when I needed something bigger than my phone. For the needs I have, the device is good.
It doesn't have GPS, but that was not an issue for me. It might be for others. One of my requirements was an SD card slot, and this device has it, unlike the Nexus 7. The USB cord is a little short, but not a deal breaker. I had read reviews on the internet regarding a 'dull' display, but I can't say that I agree. The display is fine to me. Streamed some Netflix and HBO Go, and looked good.
Device comes with stock Android, except for the HP ePrint app pre-installed, which is fine because my printer is an HP printer anyway.
The feel is solid, and the gray back is comfortable to the touch. Fits well in my hands.Sound on speakers is not very loud, but with ear bugs, the Beats audio is good.
Wifi connected with no issues, and had no trouble pairing a generic Bluetooth keyboard.
All in all, a low-priced well-built tablet that meets my needs. Who can ask for more?
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't know all operations

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Schenectady,N.Y.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Needs more written instruction for technically challenged like me. Don't assume we all grew up with computers but with limited technology. Also I can't find more written info. to operate the tablet on your website with nothing included with product to help with use and operation.
Response from HPBy HP Customer ServiceHP Customer ServiceJune 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the purchase of the HP Slate 7 tablet. For additional assistance we have a user guide and quick start guide that can help with additional information.

Please visit:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/manualCategory?cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=5376605&task=&
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as good as some, better than others

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is an average device and about what you would expect for under $200. It's annoying that it can't do two applications at once. So you can't play music on one site and then surf another.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am telling all my friends to get this tablet!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have to say that I was not really sure why I would use a tablet. Therefore, I hesitated to buy one up to this point. Well, with the HP Slate how can you go wrong? The price is excellent. The quality is exceeds the price point. I received my tablet in exactly 3 days after I ordered it online. I have not stopped to put it down. I love, love. love it. I believe the set-up took about 10 minutes and I was off and running. The sound is great with or without the earphones. I have started out by downloading a couple apps from Google that I find very useful. The download was quick and easy. I have watched several of my Netflix movies and the color and sound are better than on my PC. I just love it because the possibilities are endless as to what I can do. I have told all my friends that this is a winner tablet that they can gift and buy for themselves.
HP has solved a problem with this tablet by adding the front and back facing camera at this price pont.. The people that I know that already have a tablet; get really upset when I tell them how wonderful my tablet is with the front and back camera. They paid more than $200.00 for their tablets that do not have the extra camera feature. And tthey bought their tablets less than one year ago.
I plan on gifting this tablet to several family members and friends. I know that they will enjoy my gift for all the things they enjoy doing everyday. Thank you HP for this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than the Samsung Galaxy

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Batavia, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife has a Samsung with Android OS and as I have used it, some basic features really irritated me....like printing. That Samsung only wanted to print to Samsung printers for email and other basic apps.This HP Slate 7 prints to any printer on my network besides the ePrint app. The slot for a microSD card separate from the USB power connector seems basic, but Samsung uses the same port and this Slate separates them into two ports.
The response on the device is good, and my gorilla fingers on the keypad allowed this 7inch screen adequate room to type
I have used a kindle and nook, but this Slate is an all-in-one for me.
Bottom line, this is my new favorite tablet!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super product!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having an Apple mini to compare this product to was helpful. The Slate is super. It has everything I wanted. It is slightly heavier than the Apple mini. The only two recommendations I have is to make the width of the device about a fourth of an inch larger and the screen size about a half of an inch larger...move the border closer to the outside edge of the device (Apple mini has you beat there). I was also wanting a red Slate and was told it would not be available until July. Other than that, this is a great product at a fantastic price. I am a very satisfied customer. This was a great purchase! Can't wait to see what HP comes out with next!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!!! Great tablet at the perfect price

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HP did a great job with this tablet! At that price, I bought 2 and gave one to my wife. She loves it and already knows how to use it because she has had an Android phone for awhile now.
The screen is awesome. eBooks are very readable. Streamed movies in HD off Netflix. The battery life seems fine for what I use it for. There are a couple of things I've noticed that might help other reviewers. The screen wasn't set to auto-rotate by default. To set that option, go to Settings .--> Accessibility and select the box next to "Auto-rotate screen". Placing that option under the heading of Accessiblitiy seemed counterintuitive to me.
Another is with the microSD card. I bought a 64G card and the device couldn't read it. Maybe something to do with the difference between exFAT and FAT32 filesystems. I found a way around that but it isn't something the average person would choose to do. Stick with a 32G microSD card and you'll be fine.
Finally, no GPS capability. Still, the location services seems to work reasonably well using Wifi info. I didn't really want this as a GPS but that would be a nice feature for the next version of HPs tablet.
Bluetooth pairing with iPhone 5. Seems to have some compatibility issues there. It'll pair but then always indicates "Not connected".
Lastly, I hope the tablet's OS is upgradeable to newer Android releases...I don't know the answer to that one.
Overall a great tablet and a very affordable price. You get more than you pay for with this tablet. Well done, HP!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Port Sulphur, LA
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would definitely recommend this tablet. It's easy to use and runs quickly. I'm extremely satisfied with my purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chaska, MN
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At the new price point the HP Slate 7 is well worth the price. Looking forward to future HP tablets, and hoping for the latest version of Android on the HP Slate 7. Nice product HP, wish you never gave up WebOS.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little unit

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
I have had the HP Slate 7 for about a week now and i can say it is a nice little unit. It synced flawlessly with my Google account. I have had fun playing with it. I find new features all the time, but then this is my first tablet computer. So, my learning curve is a rather steep one. The HP Slate does all I would have expected from a unit costing more. I have read that the screen resolution leaves much to be desired. It is good enough for my standards considering price factors in. The camera is nothing to write home about. This is why I can't give the HP Slate a five star rating. If you are looking for a tablet pc and only have 150 bucks or so...buy it...you won't be disappointed in your purchase. Additionally I would like to say I have have made a lot of tech purchases over the past 10 years or so and I have purchased equipment from several manufacturers. Well I have had the most satisfying experience with HP products than with many of the other brands I have purchased. The Slate should provide all my current needs in a tablet and I feel it will do so for the long haul. Thanks to HP giving us an affordable well made product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pembroke Pines, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a lot of research and prone to buying HP products, I bought a Slate. It's been great. I can work on my computer & sync it with the Slate or vice versa. It's small enough to carry around and is a replacement for my laptop when I travel. This will be so much easier to travel with. The last that I knew, TSA doesn't require taking tablets out of your bag.
I'd highly recommend the Slate; I have an Android phone and the data sync's seamlessly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Horsham PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
needs more instruction for novices,ie. downloading books, picture gallery, compactible apps
very happy with my slate. Even the Nook person at Barnes & noble liked it as he showed me how to buy books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Slate 7 8G Tablet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great design and features

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:tucson, az
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Disappointed in two areas.
1. Unable to use my Bluetooth speakers. Won't recognize them. Major reason for purchase. Does work with Bluetooth keyboard.
2. Very short WIFI range compared go my other tablets
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>