HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook

HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating:
4.02 / 5
4
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
5
38 out of 50(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HP misses the mark: thicker and poor battery life

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The biggest advantage of a chromebook is the lightweight possibilities. The user must sacrifice some functionality and performance and the machine needs to make up for that with convenience.
4.5 hour battery life fails to do that (30% less than 6.5 hours on the current Samsung Chromebook)
.83 inches is 20% thicker than the .69-inch Samsung Chromebook.
Yes, the larger screen will consume more battery, however the larger form-factor (14') allows for a larger battery, but HP fails to take advantage.
HP debuted at a higher price point for a larger screen, but no other improvements.
HP has the advantage of acting second, but still fails to improve on Samsung's implementation.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Good Chromebook with a few drawbacks

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northern Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered this chromebook for the larger screen the, HDMI, and I was concerned about battery life. the build quality for 330 dollar device is pretty good, the keyboard is excellent even if it does borrow from the PC world a bit. The processor is good enough to power chrome, I ran Netflix, Cordy, Basiton, Play Movies just fine on the device, it is supposed to weigh a little less than a pound more than my S7 ultrabook, but honestly holding both at the same time I can't tell, its still light.
Its the first day but I'm on track to get better battery life than advertised, I have been unplugged for 2hrs and 40 mins, at i'm running at 70% capacity, fingers crossed.
This not my first Chromebook, so I'm ok with what Chrome OS does and how it works
pros
-Chrome OS
-full keyboard
-Screen size
-HDMI
-Altec Lansing Speakers
Cons
Battery life for a Chromebook should be at least 5.5 hours (but I knew it going in)
touchpad, isn't standard chromebook, and is not as responsive to gestures as I would like
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this prodect is perfect

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kilauea-kona,HI
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is my Favorite overall laptop i have use many laptops that run linux OS X and windows but i have never used chrome OS (witch is a modified venison of linex) the interface is smooth i also like the fact that its the first chromebook that has a "proper" laptop size most other chromebooks have 11.5 inch screens now the reason i like this computer more than say a mac book pro is because it runs chrome OS witch i like because i just sign in with my google account and all my thins are there
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The All-in-One Chromebook (Best of Both Worlds)

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In order to get things, you must give up others. Others may compare this to the Samsung Chromebook which has a Samsung low-powered processor which allows for over 6 hours of battery life vs. this machine that, like the Acer Chromebook, has an Intel Celeron processor, not ironically both of them are rated just over 4 hours of battery life.
I believe this machine is having your cake and eating it too, although it may not have the exact icing you want on it. You get the solid state drive you'd be missing in the Acer C7, you get the Intel Celeron w/HD Graphics chip you'd be missing in the Samsung Chromebook, and you get the screen size you'd be missing in both those machines. If you can't live with 4.25 hours of battery life vs. 6 hours (only 1.75 more hours), then you should prepare to bring a charger (surprisingly included with every Chromebook), or prepare to accept a more lightweight processor and a smaller machine (Samsung Chromebook).
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:west palm beach FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is unbeleivable for the price I can not get over how well it performs, it beats my other laptop which I paid 1200 for by leaps and bounds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great computer

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome large screen, very solid, and all the benefits of Chromebooks.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for the Right type of computer user

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This computer is sleek, fast, attractive, lightweight with a nice screen and keyboard. Unfortunately, it has its limitations. It is designed to run apps on the internet such as all of Google's office, Google Drive , YouTube, internet based email and other online apps and web sites. It is not made to run Internet Explorer, Microsoft Office, Excel or other Microsoft apps. We bought it for my 10 year old son who is particularly interested in playing games such as MineCraft. To play these games one needs an application on one's computer called Java. Google Chromebooks, we learned the hard way, do not allow one to download apps such as Java, so my son's hopes of playing such games on this computer were destroyed. As this computer could not fulfill his desires, we returned it the day after receiving it. It is a wonderful computer if you know its attributes and limitations. HP had a great and easy return policy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Battery life half of advertised

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After a full charge, the battery lasts no more than 2.5 hours. Some nights it won't charge plugged in and off (light is on). As a result I cannot turn on unless it is plugged in and then it gives me wild guesses as to when the battery will be charged. At the hardware level it should turn off when yu tell it to turn off and not turn back on automatically when you plug the power cord it. It should not be "on" when you hit the power button (you should see it boot up when you hit the power button. Clearly the hardware/bios was not finished before the device was shipped. The online support and documentation for the device at HP's site is non-existent and point you to Windows drivers, etc. It's as if someone said, "let's make a chromebook (t HP) and sold the device and everything else was an afterthought. It's a poor excuse for a chromebook.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chromebook exceeds expectations

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Chromebook fits your needs if most of your computer time is on the web and, like me, prefer a laptop to a tablet. It starts amazingly fast and is very fast on the web. One can read all of the posted reviews for details of the Chrome browser, cloud storage, etc. I think that the Chrome experience will continue to develop to answer most internet needs. One drawback is that Skype is not available for Chrome although Microsoft is reported to be developing video conferencing for outlook.com. I am pleased with the feel of the laptop as it is the same as HP Sleekbooks. As far as I am concerned, it is as good as a Mac Air at one third the price. The only negative is the touchpad which I find difficult to use, so I use a wireless mouse instead.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I complete awe...

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Williamsburg, KY
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so happy with my choice in the HP Chromebook over the others that are out right now. This 14" version gives you the comfort of a laptop but the efficiency of the Chromebook. I am a small business owner who runs a Virtual Assistant business from home and I have all my information stored with Google already, it was an easy choice. I do still have my desktop that I have in the other room that I will have to use occasionally for printing until I get a Google Cloud Printer and then I will literally have no use for the PC. Although the unit is a little heavier that I had originally anticipated, it still has a nice overall feel. I put the battery in and was literally online and surfing the internet in under 20 seconds. I was in complete shock! The unit is a great value for the price and the added value of Google Apps built right in without any setup makes this a perfect solution for anyone who likes, loves, or uses Google. Also should note that the battery life on the unit is very acceptable runs at about 6-6.5 hours; which is perfect for me as I am never away from the outlet for that long. All in all I would highly recommend this unit to someone who wants/needs the Chromebook but also wants a laptop look and feel.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product has one unacceptable problem

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salem, WI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a super computer if you want to check e-mail and do standard things. It does not support any application requireing JAVA. If you need JAVA then this is not for you.
Linux appears to have a very serious problem in general lacking JAVA and no updates nor JAVA installs are in the future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had the pavillion chromebook for about 3 weeks now, and it's safe to say that it's definitely a keeper.
I have done plenty of research on chromebooks in the past, but it wasn't until the Pavillion came out that I finally made the decision to get one. I had done all my research, so I knew of the benefits and potential drawbacks of what a chromebook is, so I knew what I was getting myself into.
I feel like this chromebook meets 98% of my what I needed out of a laptop.
* It's fast
* Good screen
* good/great performance
* feels good
I actually did my own comparison between this and the Samsung 3 chromebook, which is very popular. I can say for sure that I am very happy with my purchase of this over the Samsung. The screen AND performance on the pavillion easy strumps the Samsung. The Samsung definitely felt a step behind the pavillion, in performance, so I'm glad HP went with the Intel chips.
Additionally, it feels like a solid laptop - not something made of cheap plastic, or what a lot of other journalists call "a secondary, or backup laptop". It just feels solid.
Also worth noting are the speakers. They are up firing, so you won't get a muffled sound with speakers that are down firing into your lap or a table. Overall, I think the sound is very good.
The only thing I think HP missed the mark on with this is the battery life. I think the spirit of a chromebook is supposed to be "light" and theoretically, shouldn't be a power hog. All it is, is a web browser basically, so I figured it should consume less battery than a rival OS. When it came down to it, although I liked the battery of the Samsung 3, its performance was too much of a show stopper. I also briefly considered the Acer, but I wanted a solid state drive, not a spinning one. Generally speaking, 4 hours is consistent with my experience at about ~45% brightness. I chose 45% because I wanted to conserve battery life, and because I think it's bright enough (with the key being enough) with the screen size, and generally, I think its a good/great screen.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We'd been holding off on purchasing a Chromebook because of the small screen sizes. When we saw this product we bought it immediately. We are very happy with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chandler, Arizona
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast computer I would recommend to anyone just wish it was a little business focused.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:OKC, OK
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
. I received my HP Chromebook today. I have been disgusted with Windows 7 operating system now for sometime. When my desktop was new it took about a minute to boot up, after constant Windows updates it now takes 8 to 10 minutes to boot up (plus the web locks up if it decides to update while I am in the middle of something even after turning off updates). I read reviews of Google Chrome OS and decided to try a Chromebook computer. I looked at Samsung and Acer laptops and with old eyes I wanted a larger screen so I chose the HP with a 14 inch screen. Set up could not have been simpler. I went thru the installation and set up in about a minute. I was using Google Chrome on my desktop so all the bookmarks and all else was transferred to the HP Chromebook without a hitch. It boots up in seconds and I am online in a matter of seconds. It also has Google Docs and Google Sheets (word processing and spreadsheet basic) that is very user much like Windows Office. If the performance continues,(I expect it will) I could not be more pleased. Windows needs to figure out a better OS or Google OS will take over completely as far as computer systems go. I am 100% pleased with this system as I did not want a tablet. If in the near future some one comes out with a desktop Chromebook I will buy one. For web surfing and emails, basic word processing and spreadsheet this can not be beat. I would recommend a Chromebook to anyone who wants the above mentioned usage in a computer system
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Can be great when problems are resolved

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Delray Beach, FL.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
After spending close to a total of eight (8) hours whith technical support, I was not able to print on an HP Pavillon 6500A Plus printer. Chromebook worthless without the ability to print.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome laptop

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Billings, Mt
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very sceptical when i purchased this laptop, and wasn't sure how i would like the chrome OS. I have been using it for over a month now and I am amazed at how much i like it. I to almost all my word processing and web browsing, it accomplishes these task with speed and ease. If you are looking for a fast, light, thin, and inexpensive laptop I would highly recommend this one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Omaha, NE
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Good amount of hard drive space in addition to option for Cloud storage. The only issue for me is transitioning from my MAC touch pad to a pad with buttons. It is much lighter than my MAC, which is a big plus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You need to research before you buy.

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I guess the first thing I feel obligated to point out about this product is that it is not what it is advertised. Anything running Chrome OS is not a fully functional laptop. IT WILL NOT do the tasks that you expect a laptop computer to do. You cannot install drivers for various devices. For example I have a Brother printer that the chromebook does not recognize. I can’t sync my itunes music. Photo editing is a farfetched dream on this device or anything requiring heavy computing.
HP makes quality products, however this machine was a mistake. I feel like I paid 299 for a web browser. People claim this machine can serve a great word processing machine, however I say this might be true if your word processing is at the level of plain text..
In the end if you do buy this computer I would suggest trying to format and install Linux or something else. I am thoroughly disappointed.
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst computer ever

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Liberty, MO
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We recently purchased the HP Chromebook for my daughter's high school graduation. It powered on for about 10 minutes, then it died, and we haven't been able to get it started since. Tech sent us another cord, but the computer still won't power on. The product is unstable and unusable. It sounds great, but it really isn't.
Response from HPBy HPCustomer serviceMay 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your product. The issue you experienced was caused by an operating system update and has since been resolved . We apologize for your unfortunate experience and any inconvenience this may have caused you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.