HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook

HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating:
4.02 / 5
4
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
5
38 out of 50(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hope you never need to print

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for web use only. Please be sure that you never need to print. Cant be hooked to anything by USB. HP/Chrome has tried to set up a way with cloud print but it requires another PC to be running on your network. This flaw should have been disclosed before purchase. Boo on you HP.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your money

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I thought this would be a really cool device. Unfortunately, within two days and directly after applying CRITICAL UPDATES, the Chromebook shutdown and was DEAD. Not to power up again. Brand new, technical support wanted to repair. I don't think so. 30 minutes on the phone trying to get to customer service. Finally got someone in the US that could help me. I returned it for a full refund.
Response from HPBy HPCustomer serviceMay 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your product. The issue you experienced was caused by an operating system update and has since been resolved . We apologize for your unfortunate experience and any inconvenience this may have caused you.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst computer ever

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Liberty, MO
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We recently purchased the HP Chromebook for my daughter's high school graduation. It powered on for about 10 minutes, then it died, and we haven't been able to get it started since. Tech sent us another cord, but the computer still won't power on. The product is unstable and unusable. It sounds great, but it really isn't.
Response from HPBy HPCustomer serviceMay 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your product. The issue you experienced was caused by an operating system update and has since been resolved . We apologize for your unfortunate experience and any inconvenience this may have caused you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You need to research before you buy.

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I guess the first thing I feel obligated to point out about this product is that it is not what it is advertised. Anything running Chrome OS is not a fully functional laptop. IT WILL NOT do the tasks that you expect a laptop computer to do. You cannot install drivers for various devices. For example I have a Brother printer that the chromebook does not recognize. I can’t sync my itunes music. Photo editing is a farfetched dream on this device or anything requiring heavy computing.
HP makes quality products, however this machine was a mistake. I feel like I paid 299 for a web browser. People claim this machine can serve a great word processing machine, however I say this might be true if your word processing is at the level of plain text..
In the end if you do buy this computer I would suggest trying to format and install Linux or something else. I am thoroughly disappointed.
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Battery life half of advertised

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After a full charge, the battery lasts no more than 2.5 hours. Some nights it won't charge plugged in and off (light is on). As a result I cannot turn on unless it is plugged in and then it gives me wild guesses as to when the battery will be charged. At the hardware level it should turn off when yu tell it to turn off and not turn back on automatically when you plug the power cord it. It should not be "on" when you hit the power button (you should see it boot up when you hit the power button. Clearly the hardware/bios was not finished before the device was shipped. The online support and documentation for the device at HP's site is non-existent and point you to Windows drivers, etc. It's as if someone said, "let's make a chromebook (t HP) and sold the device and everything else was an afterthought. It's a poor excuse for a chromebook.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I expectted

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:McDonough, GA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you come from the Google website to hp it takes you to the older model of Chromebook, So make sure you search Chromebook so you can make sure you are getting the one you wanted.
1st thing i noticed when pulling out laptop were my finger smudges on cb. not a deal breaker but..
OK dislikes 1st....keys very hard to read. The black glossy background reflects on the keys that have small letters that are lightly painted....... keys on cellphones and minis easier to read.
mouse pad very stiff . recommend adding a mouse
i do like the Chromebook ease of use, even if it is not displayed the same as on other devices.
I can honestly say if I had not opened the box i would have sent it back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nothing refined about it

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mt Morris,IL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Its a Netbook with a Google built OS. Your marrying into a Google ecosystem and for some that is not a problem. For many who have become accustom to Windows or certain programs like iTunes or Microsoft Office. I think the frustration of Chrome OS will set in very soon. The reason why nothing is really refined on a Chromebook is simple. Lack of good driver support. The touchpad is bad on most Chromebooks because it lacks a good driver. You cannot just plug a printer into a USB port and have it work, nor can you connect directly to a WiFi printer. You have to use a ePrint type printer which is overly complicated to setup and print. If your OK with the limitations of a Chromebook then I think price wise this might be for you. Its basically a browser within a low powered PC that runs apps. downloaded through the Google store. Its not going to replace what a PC laptop or Apple Mac computer can do or run in terms of popular apps. Its very much like running a Linux OS leaned out by Google to run hardware and a Google browser. If you prefer Firefox or Internet Explorer your out of luck.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Save your money

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was pressured into getting a computer for school. I wish I would've waited. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice computer, it's just not what I was looking for. For starters, the battery life is TERRIBLE. I'm constantly having to charge it. I'm lucky if it lasts more than three hours. Another thing, the computer won't let you download anything. It wouldn't even let me download software that it said I needed to upload music, which is infuriating. The files are very disorganized, I had to create my own folders for things, since everything just kind of gets thrown into "Downloads".
However, the computer does start up fast, and the internet loads very quickly. Google Docs are easy enough to use (it's laid out similarly to Microsoft Word) and I like that it auto saves every so often.
Bottom line, it's not a terrible computer. In fact, if all you want to do is use the internet and type papers, this is probably the best computer for the price. If you're looking to do literally anything more than that, save your money.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Can be great when problems are resolved

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Delray Beach, FL.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
After spending close to a total of eight (8) hours whith technical support, I was not able to print on an HP Pavillon 6500A Plus printer. Chromebook worthless without the ability to print.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HP misses the mark: thicker and poor battery life

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The biggest advantage of a chromebook is the lightweight possibilities. The user must sacrifice some functionality and performance and the machine needs to make up for that with convenience.
4.5 hour battery life fails to do that (30% less than 6.5 hours on the current Samsung Chromebook)
.83 inches is 20% thicker than the .69-inch Samsung Chromebook.
Yes, the larger screen will consume more battery, however the larger form-factor (14') allows for a larger battery, but HP fails to take advantage.
HP debuted at a higher price point for a larger screen, but no other improvements.
HP has the advantage of acting second, but still fails to improve on Samsung's implementation.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad for a non-Mac

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The screen is nice, boot time is awesomely short, sound is pretty good. I wish I had gotten 4gb instead of just 2gb, and I wish the keyboard was backlit like my Mac. I don't like the trackpad surface (it's not smooth) and it doesn't respond as well as my MacBook Pro and my Dell Latitude. It also works in reverse (move fingers down, page goes up and vice versa) but that may be a Chrome thing.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Ready for Prime Time

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The physical aspects of this proguct are great. The software available is not great. There are many Android apps that do not work on Chrome and there are many web page plugins that are not available for Chrome. So, the applicaiton is limited at this time. Great future potential. The lack of robust Citrix receiver is a business limitation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The touchpad is terrible.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St Pete Beach, FL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Chromebook is good but needs some work on the keyboard and the horrible touch-pad. It is very difficult to control the cursor, and the touch-pad is the problem. Secondly, and much more minor, the keyboard could be laid out better, especially the four cursor control keys smushed together, in light of the terrible touch pad there should be full keys for up and down. Secondly, the delete and backspace should not be so close, most keyboards make it easier to hit the backspace with out having to "delete" something potentially. Basically, I don't like the keyboard layout, but not near as much as I dislike the horribly engineered touch-pad.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for the Right type of computer user

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This computer is sleek, fast, attractive, lightweight with a nice screen and keyboard. Unfortunately, it has its limitations. It is designed to run apps on the internet such as all of Google's office, Google Drive , YouTube, internet based email and other online apps and web sites. It is not made to run Internet Explorer, Microsoft Office, Excel or other Microsoft apps. We bought it for my 10 year old son who is particularly interested in playing games such as MineCraft. To play these games one needs an application on one's computer called Java. Google Chromebooks, we learned the hard way, do not allow one to download apps such as Java, so my son's hopes of playing such games on this computer were destroyed. As this computer could not fulfill his desires, we returned it the day after receiving it. It is a wonderful computer if you know its attributes and limitations. HP had a great and easy return policy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My back up computer

PostedJune 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Orange, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have an HP Desktop which was ordered for me a few years ago by Geeks on Site when my old computer "died". I am pleased with that as well as the monitor and printer I purchased from HP for use with it. Saw these laptops advertised on TV and decided to get one as a back-up to my desk top; also so I do not have to by tied down by being in the room where my desktop one is. For the most part I am pleased with the performance, have been able to pretty much do all I've wanted to/needed to. Have run into a fewer minor glitches here and there, i.e., having a bit of trouble logging back on after automatic upgrades. Also, I cannot figure how to upload photos from my digital camera. However, as I said, I've been able to do most of what I want so I am pleased, especially with the price. Did get a mouse to use along with it as I find it easier to navigate that way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall, it's great

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love it! The only thing I wasn't happy about is that the HP chromebook isn't compatible with non Google software, so I'm unable to use Skype. I can use Google Hangout, and honestly, I don't really mind it that much as I am usually really satisfied with Google's programs. I just don't think it's very user friendly to not allow Skype. Your customers have bought your product and obviously are satisfied with at least some of your services, it would just be nice to allow us the choice of which program we prefer.
However, besides that, I love this computer! It is very easy to use, runs really well, and it also doesn't need any anti-virus software since it's built into the computer.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had the pavillion chromebook for about 3 weeks now, and it's safe to say that it's definitely a keeper.
I have done plenty of research on chromebooks in the past, but it wasn't until the Pavillion came out that I finally made the decision to get one. I had done all my research, so I knew of the benefits and potential drawbacks of what a chromebook is, so I knew what I was getting myself into.
I feel like this chromebook meets 98% of my what I needed out of a laptop.
* It's fast
* Good screen
* good/great performance
* feels good
I actually did my own comparison between this and the Samsung 3 chromebook, which is very popular. I can say for sure that I am very happy with my purchase of this over the Samsung. The screen AND performance on the pavillion easy strumps the Samsung. The Samsung definitely felt a step behind the pavillion, in performance, so I'm glad HP went with the Intel chips.
Additionally, it feels like a solid laptop - not something made of cheap plastic, or what a lot of other journalists call "a secondary, or backup laptop". It just feels solid.
Also worth noting are the speakers. They are up firing, so you won't get a muffled sound with speakers that are down firing into your lap or a table. Overall, I think the sound is very good.
The only thing I think HP missed the mark on with this is the battery life. I think the spirit of a chromebook is supposed to be "light" and theoretically, shouldn't be a power hog. All it is, is a web browser basically, so I figured it should consume less battery than a rival OS. When it came down to it, although I liked the battery of the Samsung 3, its performance was too much of a show stopper. I also briefly considered the Acer, but I wanted a solid state drive, not a spinning one. Generally speaking, 4 hours is consistent with my experience at about ~45% brightness. I chose 45% because I wanted to conserve battery life, and because I think it's bright enough (with the key being enough) with the screen size, and generally, I think its a good/great screen.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product has one unacceptable problem

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salem, WI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a super computer if you want to check e-mail and do standard things. It does not support any application requireing JAVA. If you need JAVA then this is not for you.
Linux appears to have a very serious problem in general lacking JAVA and no updates nor JAVA installs are in the future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The All-in-One Chromebook (Best of Both Worlds)

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In order to get things, you must give up others. Others may compare this to the Samsung Chromebook which has a Samsung low-powered processor which allows for over 6 hours of battery life vs. this machine that, like the Acer Chromebook, has an Intel Celeron processor, not ironically both of them are rated just over 4 hours of battery life.
I believe this machine is having your cake and eating it too, although it may not have the exact icing you want on it. You get the solid state drive you'd be missing in the Acer C7, you get the Intel Celeron w/HD Graphics chip you'd be missing in the Samsung Chromebook, and you get the screen size you'd be missing in both those machines. If you can't live with 4.25 hours of battery life vs. 6 hours (only 1.75 more hours), then you should prepare to bring a charger (surprisingly included with every Chromebook), or prepare to accept a more lightweight processor and a smaller machine (Samsung Chromebook).
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion 14-c050nr Chromebook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Good Chromebook with a few drawbacks

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northern Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered this chromebook for the larger screen the, HDMI, and I was concerned about battery life. the build quality for 330 dollar device is pretty good, the keyboard is excellent even if it does borrow from the PC world a bit. The processor is good enough to power chrome, I ran Netflix, Cordy, Basiton, Play Movies just fine on the device, it is supposed to weigh a little less than a pound more than my S7 ultrabook, but honestly holding both at the same time I can't tell, its still light.
Its the first day but I'm on track to get better battery life than advertised, I have been unplugged for 2hrs and 40 mins, at i'm running at 70% capacity, fingers crossed.
This not my first Chromebook, so I'm ok with what Chrome OS does and how it works
pros
-Chrome OS
-full keyboard
-Screen size
-HDMI
-Altec Lansing Speakers
Cons
Battery life for a Chromebook should be at least 5.5 hours (but I knew it going in)
touchpad, isn't standard chromebook, and is not as responsive to gestures as I would like
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.