HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n

hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n

HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating:
4.04 / 5
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
21 out of 25(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good HP machine.

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this as a replacement for my ancient Laserjet 1200 which gave out a year or two after I thought it was going to last forever.
This one appears to be just as good; time will tell. It certainly prints much, much better.
I like the one page at a time feed.
My only complaints are
1) after you punch print on the screen you also have to punch the print button on the printer (this may be a setting; if so, I couldn't find a way to change it.)
2) It's very easy to push one of two other buttons that are right next to the print button.
3) When buying I had the impression that HP is trying to keep it a secret that this is a black and white machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good But Sensitive

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good printer for the price. Easy to set up. Tends to jam more than I'm used to but not to the point that I'm ready to trash it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston Area, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros include smaller footprint, really fast printing, clear documents (we do black/white only), successful installation by a novice like me, easily operated separate tray for printing envelopes special papers, etc., and easy network connections. The only cons are the small capacity paper tray and what I have come to recognize as HPs "good but somewhat confusing" installation instructions. Overall, we are very pleased with this machine wishing only that it had a larger paper tray.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Installed easily on PC and Mac

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Victoria, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The printer installed easily using the HP website for driver downloads. It prints good quality pages and is especially nice to use for printing from the iPad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointing

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pasadena CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Our company has always bought HP products due to their reliability. However the most recent purchase, a 401N purchased 14 months ago for use as a check printer has already stopped working. HP should continue to sell the old reliable models, rather than put out new ones that do not last. The price of the 401N is good, but not if you have to buy a new one every year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prints crisp copies fast

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tinley Park, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This LaserJet is even better than the last one we had. It is slightly smaller, quieter, produces great copies and was very reasonable especially with the coupon. It was also extremely easy to set up. I would recommend this to everyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Another poor HP Printer

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I chose this printer because of the high reviews. However, after installing it as instructed, I can get 2-3 jobs done before the printer freezes and won't print my documents. I then have to restart my computer as it won't cancel the current jobs. This is the third HP printer we've had in our office that does this. I'm not sure why it's so had to build a printer that stays connected to the computer as it should.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its an HP Laserjet, nothing further needs to be said. Hp Laserjet is the only printer I buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sad

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sevrna Park, Md
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I recently purchased and iMac and to print my business docs I purchased this printer. After 2 calls to HP and numerous hours trying to figure out what is wrong I'm at a dead end. This printer is advertised as printing 35 wpm. The one I have I'm lucky if it prints 5 pages per minute. I have tried all types of configurations and Adobe Acrobat, even converting the PDF files to word, then it prints maybe 10 sheets per minute. I was assured by the marketing department that this printer would work with my model iMac, they obviously don't know the limits of their products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was very happy with both the functionality and features this printer has. The only thing that I was somewhat disappointed in is more related to our environment. I was told this was the replacement model for the 2035n which we used for payroll printing on preprinted paperstock. The paper feed and the side the printing goes onto is different for the manual feed tray. Great printer but had that issue in our environment. I would recommend it, speed is good, not overly loud, and functions well
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So fast

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New YOrk
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality printing at the speed of light!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

beautiful output

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a Mac using, type junkie, communications designer, I'm glad I chose this model and not a home-office model. Blacks are rich, type is crisp, and it's speedy. Although I print sparingly it's great to see this kind of professional result when needed. Like it better than my old 2420; printing quality seems more like my old 5MP which was a great machine. Only reason I didn't give it four stars is that I've had it less than a month, but so far, so fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LCD screen improved

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dubuque Iowa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since we use the Ethernet connection I like the fact that the LCD screen shows the address in ready mode. This a great aid when doing setup. I setup and maintain the printers with the browser interface.
We use several of these for printing A5 card stock on the factory floor. They do the job OK, but we do find the paper pickup assembly wears out twice a year. I think we ask a lot from such a small printer.
Also loading the driver is easier that it used to be.
I would recommend this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good printer for the money

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Peoria, IL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good option if you don't want to spend a lot of money. Construction is not as heavy duty as I am used to, plastic feels cheap; however, this printer was considerably cheaper!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good print but loud

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It's a loud printer, sounds 3x as loud as my old Brother. But the print quality is much, much better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE PRINTER

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:FLORIDA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOW COST, QUICK RESPONSE, FAST PRINTING
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE this product...VERY VERY VERY user friendly!

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MS
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with the set-up/install of the printer along with the features. We upgraded from the Brother HL5370DW to this one and have not looked back since!
Thank you, HP!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I especially like the front feed option!

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Carlisle, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this printer. It replaces my HP Laser Jet MP printer which I had used for more than a dozen years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very fast secure printer

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:N. Olmsted, OH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought for my medical office to be a secured 2 bed printer on a network. Easy to install and network by ethernet cables. It is very fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 Printer M401n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wait on this one if you have a MAC

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had this printer for two weeks. The original install under Lion OS was a little rough, but worked. Then I upgraded to Mountain Lion. Unplug the printer to re-arrange some cables and all of the settings lost. OK, just re-install - right? WRONG. First the install disk starts with OS not supported. Nothing on web support in the way of software for an OS that has sold 3 million copies in a few weeks!. Then, the printer starts generating IP addresses that are not with in the router's range, will not connect even after manually setting TCP/IP parameters. HP Web support had no help for this problem and HP does not provide support for this printer over the weekend. I should not have to reconfigure my entire network to suit one printer. Problem solved - took it back to where it was purchased and got my money back. Perhaps I will try again after HP can provide adequate support for Mountain Lion. Untill then, back to my trusty HP 4000 dinosaur. I am really dissapointed with HP on this issue. You either really love HP (HP 10C, 11C, 41 CX, 48GX, LJ4000) or hate HP (this printer).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.