HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Officejet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g

hp HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g

HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Print/Fax/Scan/Copy - H711a/H711g
Overall rating:
3.596 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 156 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
17
1 Star
29
103 out of 156(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't print in black and white

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If one of the color cartridges is out of ink this printer won't print even in black only. Called tech support and they said "This is a feature". I never print in color as I only print spread sheets, invoices and such. The ink is very expensive and doesn't last long even when you don't use it.
In summary this is a horrible printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

broke after two years

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would not recommend this printer. It broke after only two years of mild usage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst printer I have ever bought from HP

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It is consistently screwing up. Sending paper jam messages when there are none. Out of ink cartridge messages. Over the years I have had nothing but HP printers but this one is a pain in the butt. Will not print when only one cartridge is empty and they are very expensive.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hp 6700 Office Jet

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had this product for about two years now... every time you start....it goes to maintenance. I do not print that much and this product can waste ink. Very disappointed with this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Product

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have never been so frustrated using a printer before. The first problem I had was when I setting up the printer on my laptop. I still can't print from my laptop, I have to go to the desktop to print it out. I completed the walk through instructions and online videos and wasn't able to get it to work. The second thing tis the printer uses SO MUCH ink!!! I can't believe how much ink I bought for this printer. The ink is very expensive too. I haven't even printed that many things on it. This was the biggest waste of money. If I could get money back on this thing I would do it in a minute. Every time I use it, there is always something wrong with it that prevents me from using it. I have always bought HP printers. I am having to resort to my old one because the new one is horrible. I'm a very tech savy person. I am also a teacher who doesn't make that much money. I bought this printer so I can work on school things. I feel like all I have done is pour money into something that keeps giving me problems.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It won't print in black without yellow ink :-O !?!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami Beach, FL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We bought this simple printer thinking about the features. Easy breeze, but now I cannot understand why it won't print in black if the yellow ink is low ... ?:-o
Can someone explain this to me? My husband wants to dump it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cartridge problems

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miamisburg, Oh
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this unit after I went shopping with my father in law and he got one. I was initially very happy with how easy it was to set up and decided to get one for myself. the ink cartridges run out very quickly and even bought the XL cartridges, but since I dont do a lot of printing they also dried up quickly. Lately I replaced the cartridge and after putting in a factory new cartridge it still wont print.. Ink levels just show a question mark.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I'm dumping this!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I am so dissatisfied that I plan to replace this with another brand, even though I have an 8600 model at home with which I am very satisfied. This model makes unnecessary jerks & loud noises. When I make a copy or print it goes through multiple starts & stops as if it were resetting. It jerks & makes loud noises and as a result it takes too long to produce a result. I can't return it because the Office Max store was closing & all sales were final. Today I wanted to print one page of my tax return; however, I must have selected something wrong from the menu on my computer screen (although it seemed I selected the correct menu) and the entire document was printing. I tried to cancel the printing on the device itself but instead it printed several pages with black lines and then continued until it printed the entire document. I've never been so disappointed in an HP product. I will not replace it with another HP.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Prone to print head failure

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed with this purchase!!!!! Bought 3 of these, two for work, one for home. All three worked until a few months after their warranties expired when all three had non recoverable ink system failures. Error = "Print head failure or print head missing".
Printers worked OK until the warranties expired. From reading other reviews this appears to be a very common failure and seem to occur after or shortly before 1 1/2 years of service. The two work printers did process 8k to 10k pages. Probably close to or over what they were designed for but the home printer was on it's second set of XL cartridges and had produced less than 3k pages. I'm sorry but its just darn strange that all three died six months or less after their warranties expired. I've had inkjet systems in the past that lasted for years but HP doesn't make money from selling printers that last a long time they make their money from selling printers and cartridges. There a lot of printers on the market in this price range that are far more dependable and perform just as well. HP did give me $10 off the on-line price for a reconditioned printer upgrade. Mighty big of you HP!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poorly made

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product was inferior from the getgo. Very poorly constructed and made of cheap, flimsy material. The lid broke after a little use, it is hard to work with if paper gets jammed, and constantly refusing to perform functions. I'll never buy another HP product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DAWG

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If paper jams are your thing, this printer was made for you. Have already had one replaced by HP and the replacement is as big a dog as the first one. Stay away from this lemon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money!

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Greenwood, MS
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I would never have purchased this printer if I'd realized you had to replace every cartridge if one ran out. And it runs out of ink fast! I purchased all new cartridges but now all I get is an error message that a cartridge is out of ink. I've not been able to even use them! I notice that a lot of people have had this same problem with this printer. A total waste of money. I thought hp products were of better quality than this.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Regretting the purchase

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased the OfficeJet 6600 about a year ago for home use, it was only used for a few pages once or twice a week and it already died. The print quality was OK but it seemed to go through ink cartridges pretty fast. One big drawback is that when you run out of a colored ink it will not even print in black & white.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Where's the ink?

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hutto, TX
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I rarely print, but when I do, I'd like it to have ink. The cartridges that came with the printer were used up one at a time--understandable. The printer will NOT print anything if one is out. So while waiting for ink to arrive on 4 separate occasions, no printer. OK, now I have non-factory, full ink cartridges. If I've printed more than 30 pages since, I'd be shocked. I also print everything using the 'Draft' setting, to conserve the ink...so I thought. I've printed 2 small color items in Draft mode. Now my printer is out of ink. Why? Customer Service man tells me that the printer has to keep the printer head wet at all times, so that uses most of my ink, & my color ink is being used up because when I print using black ink, color ink is used also. I was initially told that Officejet printers (non-photo printers) use black ink for black printing. I just spent over $60 to print out maybe 30 pages at the lowest quality. Ridiculous. Furthermore, because there is no cable & it uses wi-fi, I have to reboot my computer for some reason every single time I want to print. Even if I've rebooted within 10 minutes, I have to do it again. Also, every time it notifies me onscreen that there are software updates to be installed, the link it gives me does absolutely nothing except freeze on the monitor. There is no USB port or slot for a sandisk-type card. This is by far the biggest disappointment in a brand new printer that I have ever had. I swore after my last HP printer that it would be my last, & why I gave in & bought another is something I'll question myself over for a long time. I would NEVER recommend this printer, which is sad because it prints quickly & is so easy to operate when it's functioning.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer Beware - Bad ink system!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer was wonderful until the print head malfunctioned within 6 months of purchase (I had recently installed 4 new expensive ink cartridges.). The printer was under warranty, so a replacement was shipped to me at no charge. The replacement printer included a new set of starter ink cartridges. Once one of these was empty, the printer needed all new cartridges (not just one, but all 3 colors and black.) I tried putting the cartridges (they were installed but never used) that I used in the previous printer, but none of them would work. I am going to give this printer one more try with brand new ink. If it works, then great because it had nice features and worked well up until the print head problem. If the new ink doesn't get the printer working again, then I will be making calls to HP to get a refund or discount on a different model.
I would not buy this same model knowing that once one ink cartridge is out of ink that it completely stops printing!! You can't even print a black and white copy if you still have black ink, but are out of one color. This is a very poor design! Also, the ink is very expensive at $50+ for a new set.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy!!!! You'll spend a fortune on INK

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't even think about buying this product:
*Light printing volume still gobbles ink
*4 cartridges each cost >$15
*Color ink used for b&W printing?!!!!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Light use. printhead dead one month after warranty

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sierra Vista, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In the 1 year and 1 month since I purchased this printer, the printhead has died. I have used exactly 1 932 print cartridge (not even 500 pages of paper used), not the 932XL. Woke up this morning to the printer saying to replace the ink cartridge. Promptly went to Staples, purchased a brand new HP 932 cartridge, plugged it in, and viola... the printer now complains the printhead is damaged or missing. Only option is to purchase a new printhead, which costs the same as the printer.
IMO, this product is designed to fail shortly after warranty expiration. Expect to replace it each year.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Color cartridges required to print Black

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
With the HP 6600 if one color cartridge runs out you have to replace it before you can print Black and White. This is a real problem if you primarily want to work in black and white.
All other printers I have had have allowed me to print only in Black and White,
This is a major drawback of this printer and thus I can not recommend this printer.
This is the only printer I have ever had or seen that does not allow you to print black and white only.
Also as each of the three required color cartridges are $10 and the black cartridge is $20, that is $50 for all required cartridges while the usual costs of replacement cartridges for other printers are $40.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

INK INK INK

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort polk, LA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned many HP printers and ones that took more than one ink cartrage. the older printers worked when the ink was low but this one if one is low the whole thing stops! if all i need is black and white but one of the small color ink cartrages is low it becomes a great paper weight. I WOULD NOT BUT THIS IF I WAS YOU IT IS THE WORST PRINTER I THINK I HAVE EVER BOUGHT AND PRICE DOSE MATTER NO WONDER ITS SO CHEAP! I WOULD NEVER BUY A HP PRODUCT AGAIN!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy!

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Upstate, NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I work from a home office, I don't use the printer every day, or even every week. I have had it for less than 1 year and have replaced the ink 5Xs @ $60+ each time. I have constant issues with connectivity/offline, and can say it makes a better paper weight, than a printer!! (Although when it does work, it's decent quality.) I wish I had spent the money on ink to get new printer!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 to next page>>