HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Photosmart or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer

HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.093 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(311 reviews) 311
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 311 reviews
5 Stars
171
4 Stars
72
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
18
1 Star
28
256 out of 311(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

frustrated with the scan feature.

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had a HP photosmart 7250 that I really liked until it died. I replaced it with the 7520 model thinking it would work the same as the 7250 . Man am I frustrated with its "scanning" feature. I use it to scan pictures to digitize them. With the 7250 I could scan 4 pictures at a time and it would separate them into 4 pictures, When I tried to scan the 4 pictures at once with the 7520, I found to my disgust that it scanned them all as one picture. Putting one picture at a time on the screen was horribly slow, especially since I have lots of pictures to digitize. I suggest that you program your next all-in-one to do what the 7250 would do. It does print beautifully, however, it just makes a lousy scanner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Winona, MN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very impressed with the functions, and Quality of the printing. This was bought as a replacement for another HP printer , that you no longer "support".
The software CD that was received with the printer, was defective and I have received a replacement one from HP. I worked as a Quality Engineer, for over 40 years and know good Quality when I see it. I hope that it continues to function correctly for a long time, with no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My First HP Printer

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Honolulu, HI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally decided to get a new printer. So happy with the purchase. Set up was extremely easy. Loaded with features, yet easy to use. Can't believe how inexpensive a printer like this is. A few years ago would've been too expensive for a printer with this many features. Had it for a few weeks now and no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All the way around great

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Knoxville TN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this produce an and e-mail it works great and the scan to e-mail feature works great and makes it so much easier to scan docs and send them in your e-mail and send them to who you need to send them too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding! Worth Every Penny!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only owned it for a week so my opinion about it might change in the future but for now I love it. It was soooo easy to set-up it blew my mind how fast and non-complicated it was. I had it connected to all of our smartphones, tablets, wifi, and computers in under 30min. It is kinda loud but in this case I don't mind the noise. I've placed it in our spare room so I can hear it printing from my room. People have complaint that it prints photos with a border, I use photoshop so I have the option to print borderless. The photo quality it prints is outstanding! my pictures really come to life. It prints documents/pictures pretty fast, I haven't had any problems printing via email, computer, smartphone or the ipad. The ink isn't as expensive as my other printer's ink so I honestly don't mind how much ink it eats up. The quality is worth the price of the ink. Scanning is so easy and fast, the quality beats every scanner I've used before. I like that I can scan from the printer without having to open any program on my computer. Once its on sale again I will definitely be getting one for my mother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Like going backward in time

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't recommend this printer. I feel like a fool for buying it. Bottom line is it runs out of ink even if you don't print anything. I will never buy another HP product again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not happy

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Topeka, Kansas
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I am not happy with this printer. My old photo smart printer was a lot better then this new one that I have now. My own printer was 10 years old, the prints were still good and it did not eat ink like this new one does. I have only printed a handful of sheets this month an my two black inks are half gone. The three color inks have lasted a little longer but still my old printer did better. I ask the sales person before I bought the printer if the ink was expensive. He told me no, that the ink was not as expensive as my old printer ink. He did not tell me that the new printer eats the ink especially the black inks. Now this month not only do I need to buy the color inks I need to buy the black inks again. Also on my old printer if I was not printing pictures I could take out the photo ink an set it aside. On this new printer I can not do that so I am using it along with the regular black ink for printing documents. I have not printed any pictures on this new printer. I am afraid how much ink the printer will eat. Sad to say I wish I had not bought this printer. I can not buy ink every time I turn around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great value&easy to use

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Blue Hill,Me
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Printer works great except i can't print photo's without borders.Under [preferences]it does not list borderless as a selection,at least i can't find it.I guess i need some help with that. as my previous HP printer C310a did .I would like a call from tech support.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This is a disappointment

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MT
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like the convenience of the Photosmart All-In-One..enough that this is my third one!
However, I don't see the quality as I did in the others. The 7520 is a good size but it's awkward to use albeit it may take some getting used to. It was set up by a professional with a new computer and has been in use one day. I have not used the scanner nor have I run photos through.
The problems I find are: 1) VERY noisy--sounds like it's grinding to make gears move (noisy to the installer as well), 2) controls are hard to find, 3) the ink cartridges are not nearly as easy to remove or insert and 4) the paper is awkward to load, only a few at a time fit, if I use larger sheets, feeding them will be a pain! If there's ever a problem, I won't be able to grab paper fast enough.
My next one? Maybe not from HP! I went with this based on past experience but this has been a disappointment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

only one complaint

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the eprint feature is not working correctly..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Had a Photosmart before, wife wanted another.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Longview, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product works well. Easy to set up and use. Reproduction is very good on photos. My only irritation is that the ink is not available through HP Connection, Instant Ink program, which would save on ink. Looks like this system is going to use more ink than my last Photosmart, that why the four stars rather than five. If the ink was available through Instant Ink program, I would have given the product a five.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love wireless printing

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Upstate New York
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Set up was easy, even wireless printing photos came out great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Machine-Easy Setup and Use

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Aurora, CO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rec'd the printer; took it out of the box.. boy did it look complex! But no - it was very easy to setup; the instructions were simple to follow and spot on - no guesswork required. If I needed further explanation of a process, e.g., installing the printer cartridges, the videos were terrific. The wireless feature was the easiest part. The printing is fast, quiet and sharp- documents look great, and the photos came out very sharp. I have yet to use the other features, but believe they'll be just as good. A great machine. You can't go wrong!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very excited I have purchased this product. I'm amazed at the ease of printing from the printer and AirPrint has made my business effortless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A near perfect all in one printer

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St. Charles County, Missouri
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like to print my own photos. I also like the concept of an all in one printer. The HP 7520e represents my conclusion to a search to find a great all in one printer that will be hassle free on a day to day bases, be simple to use, easily connect to my home wireless system and still deliver above average photo printing.
In the past I judged an "all in one" printer the same way I judged photo specific printers. First and foremost would be photo print quality. I've owned two "all in one" printers based on this selection process and both delivered wonderful photos. On the other hand neither were "family friendly". Their extra ink cartridges added extra cost to their already higher purchase price and their ease of use and network connectivity left a lot to be desired. Paper jams and "check the print heads" and recalibration became the norm.
This time around I decided to use a different "all in one" printer selection process. Find a printer that is simple to use, does not give me headaches and prints better than average rather than the best possible photos. The HP Photosmart 7520e became my number one choice. The setup couldn't have been easier. The standard print quality is excellent. I've not had a single issue with paper jams or anything else. The printer is on our home wireless system and works equally well with my Dell XPS, my wife's iPad mini with retinal display and the Apple iMac I use for music production. No issues. No problems. No headaches. Perfect.
The photo print quality could be a little better but, from past experience I've learned you can't have it all. As a best "all in one" printer I believe the HP Photosmart 7520e to be highly representative of that classification.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This printer is exactly what you are looking for!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hardly ever write reviews even though I find them to be very useful when I am shopping for an item that has so many products offered. After being scared away by some other HP product reviews I found that the reviews for this product were mostly positive.
Believe me that I do not have any buyer's remorse. This product was very easy to setup...even printing instructions to continue setup for me past the initial instructions to plug it in. You can even setup the printer using it's own display (software install only to gain more features). This printer prints quickly and quietly. I have had no disconnections or wireless issues. Especially happy with the AirPrint feature working as advertised.
Overall a great printer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Most unreliable HP product I've ever had

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Upstate NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am an experienced IT Professional
I've had this printer about a year.
I've had too have the print head replaced twice.
(wasting lots of time on the phone with HP support)
Printer also constantly loses Wi-Fi connection, go to print, get an error, printer unavailable.
5 minutes later, the page may/may not print.
Worse HP product I've ever had.
.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cost to own is too high

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer has everything going for it on paper. Except the ink. That isn't going for this printer on paper, because it runs out too fast, and is stupid expensive for tiny little dollops of replacement ink. I know that printer ink in general is more expensive by volume than gas, blood, precious metals or weapons grade plutonium, but c'mon HP, at least let me print 10 or so pages before the black runs out..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay Away From This One!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:WV
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Purchased one in Feb, 2014. Print head was bad so took back and got a replacement. Could not get printer to respond. Was on phone with HP tech support for a total of about 2 hours on 2 phone calls. If you want a printer that is hard to set up, has possible bad print head, make 2 trips to retailere to get replacement, endless frustration - this is the printer for you. I strongly suspect that HP knew they had a batch of defective print hears on this model. My last HP printer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wouldn't recommend

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this printer in Feb/14. The print apps weighed in on my decision to purchase this model. It was disappointing to find that they don't work and that HP has known this for months. To continue to advertise this feature and sell this product is misleading. I expected better of HP! If you read the customer forums, a fix has been promised for several months but this feature still doesn't work. This may have been my last HP purchase and HP has been all I have purchased for my printing and computing needs for almost 20 years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 to next page>>