HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Photosmart or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer

HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy/Web
Overall rating:
3.633 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 109 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
20
80 out of 109(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor @ best

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Canandaigua, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Will not work with an I-pad without spending another $70 or so money !!!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Next to impossible to connect to the computer

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
So far I have neither been able to connect the printer to the router via Wi-Fi. Nor have I been able to connect the printer with a cable to the computer. It asks for the routers pass-word. I no longer have that. When connecting it with a cable it asks me for my E-Mail address. When I do so it tells me that that address already exists, select another address. Naturally it exists . It,s my address. I don.t have any other address. My old HP Printer was easy to connect. It didn,t have all these dumb questions
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BROKEN

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:bellville, tx
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BROKEN - scanner bulb does not light up to scan. Printer turns on, prints "Scanner Alignment Page" . That's it-No other functions. This is a replacement for my FIRST 5520 - it was BROKEN
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not up to HP Snuff

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fresno, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Since I bought a brand new Mac, and I've been quite satisfied with HP printers in the past, I thought I'd buy a new printer. The 5520 was on sale so I choose that. The set-up takes five or more minutes. You have to use a special set up cartridge, which is useless once the printer is set up, so you also need to purchase a complete cartridge set. This is an unnecessary ripoff. The printer and the computer seem to have trouble talking to each other, often requiring several attempts to network. On my first print job that required three sheets of paper, the printer jammed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nothing but problems

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Birmingham, Alabama
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
The printer is connected to my computer by USB. I can print from my desk top computer or my laptop computer in another room. Sitting at the desk top with the printer 12 inches away, I can not scam to the computer. I ran the set up disc into the desk top computer and not my new laptop computer. The printer tells me, the computer is not connected, yet the icon is on the computer. Also, if you have 50 sheets of paper in the machine, and try to print 5 pages, it tells you you are out of paper after three pages. The printer is a cheap piece of junk, and I will never purchase another Hewlett Packard product. Before this Hewlett Packard computer I now have, I had a Compaq that I liked. I had a Photosmart 2170 that worked great with the Compaq, but would not scan to the new computer because the Windows system was changed from XP to Windows 7. If Hewlett Packard has to change the Windows application, to sell new printers, that does not make sense to me, and they have lost a customer. Photosmart 5520 is a piece of junk in my book. I am really upset with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Happy with this "Lemon"

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The printer worked fine out of the box, made several test prints.
Two days later the printer would not work, huge skips in print quality, color only printed in blue - many skips. Will send it back has good features like "Air Print" for iPhone.
Printer needs a USB port to connect to CF camera cards via an adapter.
A CD "pocket" in the printer would be handy to store the installation CD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor performance

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Was very excited about wireless printing, set it up worked great. Used 4-5 times more over the next two months, then one time page comes out faded with no black print. Printed test page, black and yellow did not print on page. Took back to Staples, they set it up, printed the exact same poor quality pages. The salesperson sprayed out the unit with compressed air, pulled out the ink cartridges and put them back in, and did a test page. The black and yellow printed somewhat, but there were also blank lines through the test page. The Staples person says, "That's Much Better", maybe in her eyes, but not what I was used to with other HP printers. They also wouldn't take the unit back, owned for 2 months, 1 month over their return policy, even though it wasn't working, or give me advice where I could go to get it fixed. Very disappointed with the product and how Staples handled my problem.
Then I go to the FAQ's about this printer and print out information about making sure vents are clear on the cartridges, they looked clear, blew air on blue one, no problem; blew are on black one, leaked all over my shirt and shorts, wrecked a $50 golf shirt; DO NOT try this at home. Another recommendation on and HP question site was to soak the cartridge ports in water. If I had known any of these things, I would never had bought this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Could not be more disappointed

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If I hadn't been so busy after we bought this printer, it would have been returned almost immediately. I have not been able to print even one quality picture. The ink barely lasts - to the point I'm wondering if I'm even getting full ink cartridges to begin with (I buy genuine HP products). I have had the printer less than a year, have not printed large amounts of documents and have spent over $150 on ink! The color ink lasts even a shorter amount of time than the black ink and I haven't had a chance to count how many pages it prints, but I hardly ever even use the color because of the expense to replace ink and it seems like I have to replace it at least every other month or more frequently. When I do print a color page, it is absolutely horrible quality!!! It has lines through it like it's running out of ink even when I just replaced the cartridges. I have had such a bad experience with this printer that I will probably not even consider buying an HP printer next time. If I had the money to replace it now, I would do so immediately.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

All in one printers

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Beware that HP All-in-one Printers do not allow you to print in black & white or to send a fax when any of the colored inks are either NEAR expiration, expired, or empty. Even though you may not need the colored ink for the function you would like to do, the printer will not work in any capacity until the colored ink is replaced. This is a serious design flaw by HP and should have some way for the user to override the error code and continue to use the printer. The only offered solution is to buy more ink or buy a separate fax machine, because all of their all-in-one printers function this way. I am very disappointed and frustrated by this issue. I should not have to replace expired ink in order to send a fax. I would not have purchased an HP All-in-one product had I known this in advance. I regret this purchase and no not plan on shopping HP products anytime soon.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

5520

PostedJune 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We have been unable to make this printer work with MacBook Air, we have had and IT person come 3 times and this printer will not work. It will work with an HP computer. We are totally upset.
K
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will stop priting black, do not purchase

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased a PS 5510 less than two years ago. A couple of months ago, it stopped printing black. Neither replacing the cartridge, nor following all the support instructions fixed anything.
As the unit was out of warranty, I was offered a rebate on this model in exchange for the old printer.
I asked them to wait for three days while I looked for alternatives. Two days later, the printer started to work normally again. This problem is very, very common. In HP's own forum there is a thread of 204 messages about this problem, with no solution from HP apart from replacing the failed units when they are still in warranty.
I will not purchase this model, even if it seems perfect feature wise and has a good price, as it shares the same printing mechanism with the 5510. HP should better start taking care of its customers, or they will stop trusting HP reputation as a dependable brand.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ugh

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this printer for 4 months and I love the features it has and the wifi...I DO NOT like the fact that it jams ALL the time..just printed 3 pages..Had to clear jam 9 times...This isn't a one time occurrence.It happens ALL the time..I would not recommend this printer unless you enjoy endless trips to unjam it..Pointless to have wifi when you have to be next to it to unjam constantly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have two of these printers. The first one worked great which is why I decided to purchase a second one. Unfortunately the second one is awful. The paper continuously jams or registers that the tray is empty when it is not. Even when it was just printing, On one print job, every time I tried to print the entire job, I go jibberish. I ended up printing page by page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

paper jams

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't think I've printed a single thing in the last 4 months of having this printer without having to check it for a "paper jam" or "paper tray empty" when neither of these things were true! What's the point of having a wireless printer if I have to go sit in front of it and coax it into pulling in a piece of paper!?!?! And the wireless is just awful! Half the time it takes 10 minutes to print something!!!! Drives me crazy--I'll never buy this printer again. The one I got for free from the Apple store was better.
Response from HPBy Customer serviceFebruary 25, 2013
For troubleshooting options or to contact an HP representative that might be able to help you resolve your issues, please visit the following page:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/contacthp?cc=us&dlc=en&lang=en&lc=en&product=5157536&task=

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality...paper jams

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The product has a poor quality. The paper got jammed since the first day and the cartridge tray was stuck when the cover was opened. There a lot of similar reviews for this printer. I guess it's a current problem...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP PhotoSmart 5520

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Coronado, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice sleek appearance and when it prints it is nice. However, it jams a lot, more so than my last. Key is to keep "lots" of paper in the tray, but still, never had that issue with my other one. At $79, you get what you pay for. Sad and Unfortunate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Haverhill, MA
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been reading some of the other reviews for this printer but nobody seems to be having the same problem I am, for every one paper that prints, 4-6 papers jam up on a small area inside the printer. I bought this printer because the features looked to be just what I needed and I was excited about the wireless aspect. I even bought extra ink when I bought it. The pictures prints with a line running through it appproximately every inch so I can't use it for my photos and, as I stated previously, I can hardly get it to print. It is so frustrating and aggravating because HP has made some of my favorite electronics in the past, but this is terrible.
Hopefully you can see from my pictures all the trouble that I am having. I have attempted to print a story of my daughters for a writing contest and have so far wasted 7 pieces of paper.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Have not had product long enough

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rockville Centre, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
I have only received the product recently and I am still learning its features. I feel that I hven't test it or used it enough to give a meaningful evaluation at this time.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor features

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mukwonago, WI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I cannot print pictures with this printer. The guides for HP 4X6" photo paers move to the center of the printer rather than the right side and nothing prints. I would use a lot more of your ink if I could only print pictures from my computer==not a flash drive!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Few features for the price.

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Missouri
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Difficult to hook up. Few features. Performs okay, but not worth the price.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.