HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Photosmart or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer

HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy/Web
Overall rating:
3.633 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 109 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
20
80 out of 109(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wi Fi

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lancaster, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works GREAT and was very easy to install.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to set up

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Millbrook, Al
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer was easy to set up and use. Love the fact that I can print photos from my memory card!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had to get one!

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mequon, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our old HP Inkjet worked fine, but we couldn't print to it with an iPhone or iPad. I also was intrigued by the automatic double sided printing and the easy to follow touch screen. I love the wireless connection to my network (no cables) and a power cord without a huge power supply hanging off the back of the printer. The e-print from anywhere in the world is really cool, but I now have to go someplace far away and remember that I have to print something at home when I'm not there. Everything was pretty idiot proof. We did have an early paper jam (user error I think), which was OK because it helped me discover the removable piece inside the printer (it is designed to be removed by the user) that when I popped it out gave me direct access to the paper jam. So all in all I am glad I made this purchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor @ best

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Canandaigua, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Will not work with an I-pad without spending another $70 or so money !!!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Noisy

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Justin, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am comparing this to my old 1350 psc which I am replacing with this one.
The 5520 is much nosier than my old one.
The tray extension is lousy.
The printer does not come with a usb cord for connecting to a computer.
The connection for wireless is easy for Phone and laptop and works great.
The 5520 does print a lot better than the 1350 and a little faster.
The menu is easy to operate and has many good functions.
The 5520 prints pictures awesome even old black and white ones.
I scanned in some old pics and printed them and they looked just like the original pictures.
Scanning works perfect.
Overall a purchase I am glad I made and my next printer will also be a HP.
If not for the paper tray extension and no usb cord I would have given it 5 stars
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Timpson, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to set up and does a good job of printing. I was very disappointed that the software provided does not include the capability to scan text to text.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A decent printer for how I use it

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Central Washington State
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my first all-in-one printer. I have it hooked up to my iMac. The touch screen is pretty easy to use and the printer is relatively fast; but, it is noisier than my previous HP printer. I have only experienced one paper jam; but, the printer itself shows me how to remove the jam. Simple. According to the history page that I printed out, I've printed about 190 pages. Probably more by now. The blue ink cartridge has been replaced twice. All of the others were replaced once.
The copy button works with my computer; but, the scan button doesn't; so, I have to use an application on my computer called Image Capture in order to scan documents, photos, etc. into my computer. Other than that workaround, this is a really good printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent printer for what I need.

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had no problem setting up the printer for wireless use. I've been using this model for 6 weeks and am happy with it. It is noisy. The paper tray isn't the easiest to handle but I have not had a problem with paper jamming. It prints good picture. HP has deleted the "photo ink" cartridge--which makes me happy...one less cartridge to buy. It prints great copy. The best thing I like is that I could print 2-sided copies with NO problem! I couldn't say that with the previous, more expensive, printer I had... I never could figure out how to print 2-sided with that printer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality output and fast operation

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product produces a quality output and generates prints very fast. The scanner feature works great as well. The wireless feature is amazing - so wonderful to print from all phones, tablets and computer. The mini screen was helpful in setting up the printer the first time - showing step by step how to load ink etc. The printer is the right size to fit on a desktop and not take up too large a footprint.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

no OCR

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Prairieville, LA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I print almost nothing but documents. This purchase was focused on getting a double sided printer. I was extremely surprised and disappointed to discover the scanner did not come with OCR nor was an OCR program available from HP for this printer. I thought all scanners came with OCR. Oh well, live and learn. In any case, this means I will have to purchase a program from another source. Other than that the printer works fine. I had some initial problems with the program disk being recognized and getting the wifi to work but these were resolved in reasonable time. On-line help was helpful but in the end a simple remove and re-install solved everything.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Terrible Photo Quality

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have always owned HP Printers for my photos. My hobby is photography and to get great quality pictures to print is a plus. I just bought this printer not even a year ago and it has been the worst printer I have ever owned for printing photos. It's great that it has wifi, anyone in the house can print, had no problems hooking everyone up. Day to day printing cool, even though the ink runs out really, really fast - another issue I never had in the past no matter how much color printing I did. I have to get something better than this. May shop some other brands, I'm that unhappy with this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Next to impossible to connect to the computer

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
So far I have neither been able to connect the printer to the router via Wi-Fi. Nor have I been able to connect the printer with a cable to the computer. It asks for the routers pass-word. I no longer have that. When connecting it with a cable it asks me for my E-Mail address. When I do so it tells me that that address already exists, select another address. Naturally it exists . It,s my address. I don.t have any other address. My old HP Printer was easy to connect. It didn,t have all these dumb questions
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BROKEN

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:bellville, tx
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BROKEN - scanner bulb does not light up to scan. Printer turns on, prints "Scanner Alignment Page" . That's it-No other functions. This is a replacement for my FIRST 5520 - it was BROKEN
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

College Printer

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm a college student and I have used this printer for a few semesters now. It is very nice with the wireless and internet features; I can print from anywhere on my campus, and my parents can email papers that I need straight to my printer. The personal locking doesn't work well though; I had a few people print prank papers without my permission even with the settings on for only me.
The printer is not too large so it's easy to fit in the dorm room. The two-sided and copy really helps with different assignments.
The ink levels though go by way too fast. I have everything set to be a light print but I still have to replace the cartridges every semester or more often.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not up to HP Snuff

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fresno, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Since I bought a brand new Mac, and I've been quite satisfied with HP printers in the past, I thought I'd buy a new printer. The 5520 was on sale so I choose that. The set-up takes five or more minutes. You have to use a special set up cartridge, which is useless once the printer is set up, so you also need to purchase a complete cartridge set. This is an unnecessary ripoff. The printer and the computer seem to have trouble talking to each other, often requiring several attempts to network. On my first print job that required three sheets of paper, the printer jammed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nothing but problems

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Birmingham, Alabama
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
The printer is connected to my computer by USB. I can print from my desk top computer or my laptop computer in another room. Sitting at the desk top with the printer 12 inches away, I can not scam to the computer. I ran the set up disc into the desk top computer and not my new laptop computer. The printer tells me, the computer is not connected, yet the icon is on the computer. Also, if you have 50 sheets of paper in the machine, and try to print 5 pages, it tells you you are out of paper after three pages. The printer is a cheap piece of junk, and I will never purchase another Hewlett Packard product. Before this Hewlett Packard computer I now have, I had a Compaq that I liked. I had a Photosmart 2170 that worked great with the Compaq, but would not scan to the new computer because the Windows system was changed from XP to Windows 7. If Hewlett Packard has to change the Windows application, to sell new printers, that does not make sense to me, and they have lost a customer. Photosmart 5520 is a piece of junk in my book. I am really upset with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy wifi

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bay Area, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Product, Super Fast Shipping! Looks cool and wifi is easy to set up. Only gripe is the noise... kinda loud. Overall a 4.5 out of 5!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Happy with this "Lemon"

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The printer worked fine out of the box, made several test prints.
Two days later the printer would not work, huge skips in print quality, color only printed in blue - many skips. Will send it back has good features like "Air Print" for iPhone.
Printer needs a USB port to connect to CF camera cards via an adapter.
A CD "pocket" in the printer would be handy to store the installation CD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This printer is everything I need.

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arlington, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The photos are perfect, the screen makes me feel at ease as I make my choices, and the color and size of this printer makes me feel like I'm in with the modern day Hi-Tech user. I am so glad I purchased this printer...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart 5520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product. Love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.