HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Photosmart or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer

HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.186 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(248 reviews) 248
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 248 reviews
5 Stars
144
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
10
1 Star
21
208 out of 248(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SIMPLE & STYLISH

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Towson, MD
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When it comes to printers, I have destroyed my fair share, from over use... and it didn't bother me, as there was always a better one that I could get. Well... those days I think have come to an end. This newly purchased HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer is one awesome printer! It has a stylish design and my gosh... was it ever simple to set up for use out of the box! The videos for installation and processes are so easy to understand and the wireless feature is great! Photos are beautiful and I didn't think I would like the 4 individual ink cartridges to deal with... but the advantages , as seen with photos from this ink system, are amazing! So far this printer has done everything I have asked of it accurately, reliably and professionally. This is one printer, I plan to hold onto for many years! It works seamlessly with my HP Pavillion dv6-6c 10us Entertainment laptop (notebook). Would highly recommend this printer to friends and family!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst business expense EVER

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mn
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Out of the box this guy hogged ink. Maybe 10 (simple text non photo like a receipt) pages and then the ink cartridges needed to be replaced. I don't print a lot so I figured maybe it is what it is? Until the black stopped printing altogether. Cleaned print head, adjusted alignment, tech support, blah blah blah. Warranty is one year. I had for a year and 1 month. It would cost more to get repaired than to buy a new one and get another year warranty, although I could have bought 1 1/2 with the money I spent on ink alone the year I had it. I was not offered an extended warranty when I purchased but could spend $20 more on a new one and get 2 yrs covered. (So mine would been fixed for free had this been an option) that's only more frustrating? Kinkos is cheaper at $1 a page for my printing needs. Maybe I just got a dud? Or do people have to pick up 2nd jobs to pay for their printing? Teardrops on my printer. : (
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with my printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Printer For the Money

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Adams, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second hp Photosmart printer, and I felt fortunate to have found one that uses the same ink cartridges as my old one. I had two issues with it, the first being that the description on the web site said it was compatible with Mac OS X, but did not specify that it needs 10.6 or higher, so I had to upgrade my operating system to use the new printer. >:-( The second was that when I attempted to connect my Windows laptop, I was not able to do so. I don't know why, but Tech Support came through admirably. The memory card reader is covered by a small hatch that no description of the product makes mention of. It's tricky to see, but it's easy to find once you know it's there.
Now that the printer is connected (wirelessly) to both computers, it works like a charm and I'd recommend it to anyone. It scans beautifully and prints wonderfully. I especially like that it does double sided prints. Every other printer I've had, including this one's predecessor, you had to buy an extra attachment to get 2-sided prints. You can also get it to print in booklet form.
Most of the other features, I have no use for, but that's just me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works OK

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wireless print is excellant for lap tops and traveling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this printer. I had slight trouble unpacking it and did not understand how to put the trays together, but I finally figured it out. I have not run into any problems using it as of yet. So far, it's working great!! I would definitely recommend it to others
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prints beautiful pictures
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I used an USB port to hook up. I was a little startled to see the first photo...it wasn't very good. But, once I replaced the yellow starter ink, the photos were GREAT! Photos are the main reason for buying this printer but regular printing works great too. I really like the fact that I no longer need to purchase 2 different blacks (photo black and regular black). This printer only uses one black - great improvment over my last HP printer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Great Basic

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Key Center, Wa.
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this product several months ago. and just recently got it set-up. It was an easy installation, I like the WiFi feature and it prints nice sharp letter's and very nice photo's.It has been many years since I have had access to a home printer. All that stuff left with my x! But, I am learning to use all of the extra features this HP provides and am finding fun in all the advances made! Nice unit H.P.!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch Printer!!!

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Billings, Montana
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As always, hp knocks it out of the park with the Photosmart 6520. The text is razor sharp and the photos are Beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printer does what I need

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ypsilanti, Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I was looking for a printer that would Print, Scan and Copy. Other than that, I did not need. The Photosmart 6520 fit the criteria. I am happy so far with the printer although after just 3 weeks, I needed more black ink! I checked out stores, other web sites, and PC magazines for ratings and feedback on printers, My previous printer was an HP and I had it for 14 years, I am looking for that kind of performance with the new one. I run a Client Consulting business from home so I need reliability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Easy

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Memphis,TN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the printer is easy to set up. I 'm currently using the wireless feature. Use little ink (and I print a lot of coupons). Nice printer nice price nice value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good printer BUT

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brandon, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
All functions of this wireless printer work great except when I try to print a 4X6 photo. The printer will not take the paper from the 4x6 paper tray. It prints but on 81/2 by 11 paper. It centers the printer results in the center of the output. I try to trick the unit by using the envelop portion of the main paper tray, but that is a pain. Need a fix
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sorry I bought it

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lewiston , new york
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
If you like to print greeting cards as I do then don't buy this HP 6520...what a headache, there is no tray to insert the card stock only a tray for the 4x6 photo and the 8.5 X 11 paper , could not get it to print evenly and each time it wanted me to print the arrows and x's which totally ruined my cardstock. I finally gave up and am forced to buy them( the greeting cards) at the store from now on. My old printer was an HP 1300 all in one series and I loved it! it was very easy to print cards, photos etc. ... wish they still sold it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice printer

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a compact printer for a small space and this was the right fit. As I do not have Wi-Fi, I used the USB cable from the HP printer I was replacing. Set-up was relatively smooth. Test photo looks good. Paper tray is a little odd as it seems it can't be removed but everything works as I need it to with my Win 7 desktop. Ink is expensive but that's true with all printers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No features

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Eldersburg, Md
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I returned this printer. You must read it's description carefully! This printer does not have an auto document feeder feature and what's worse you have to go through an internet service in order to receive and send faxes. Bought the 7520 instead. Love it!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This printer has features I need

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just purchased my second HP Photosmart 6520 in hopes that my first one was just a lemon. My first one lasted 15 months. When it failed to print in black after changing the cartridge, I went out and purchased another cartridge thinking that maybe the cartridge was faulty. I ran all the troubleshooting exercises, but still nothing. I then was the proud owner of two new large black cartridges and a set of new color cartridges. I thought about it for several weeks and made the decision to try another 6520 rather than waste all that toner; however, I can promise you that if this one doesn't last longer than 15 months, I will never purchase another HP product as long as I live.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why Did I Wait So Long ???

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Essex, Maryland
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a HP printer from the 90's. ( HP 693 C ) It still works. I got a new computer so I up-dated the printer. This is really a nice, do it all unit. I like the 4 inks, will print a full page in a few seconds. ONLY WHY
did I wait so long to replace what I had. It's a good price to, better prints, very good picture prints, and copys from the scanner. It's a very nice unit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far this printer has exceeded my expectations. It starts printing quickly and is very fast. It prints on both sides of the paper which I wasn't expecting. Overall a very good printer.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful printer

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gainesville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am thrilled with my new printer. It is at least 3 to 4 times faster printing text pages than the last printer I had. The photos also print fast and come out beautifully. I like the fact that it will check for and download updates automatically. I love the scanner.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 to next page>>