HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Photosmart or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer

HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.133 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(263 reviews) 263
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 263 reviews
5 Stars
150
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
13
1 Star
24
215 out of 263(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SIMPLE & STYLISH

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Towson, MD
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When it comes to printers, I have destroyed my fair share, from over use... and it didn't bother me, as there was always a better one that I could get. Well... those days I think have come to an end. This newly purchased HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer is one awesome printer! It has a stylish design and my gosh... was it ever simple to set up for use out of the box! The videos for installation and processes are so easy to understand and the wireless feature is great! Photos are beautiful and I didn't think I would like the 4 individual ink cartridges to deal with... but the advantages , as seen with photos from this ink system, are amazing! So far this printer has done everything I have asked of it accurately, reliably and professionally. This is one printer, I plan to hold onto for many years! It works seamlessly with my HP Pavillion dv6-6c 10us Entertainment laptop (notebook). Would highly recommend this printer to friends and family!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only one problem

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tallmadge, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Every thing worked as expected except one problem. The 8 1/2" X 11" paper feed kept moving the paper stack back and would misfeed. I had to make a stop to keep the paper in place to get it to work correctly. There is a design flaw in my opinion. A Mechanical Engineer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Was Pretty Good

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have owned this printer for about a year now and one of the features I really liked about it was it was intuitive about which paper tray to print from. As of today that is no longer true. Now I must set it specifically for the photo tray if that is what I want. I have read that this is not unusual with this printer. I am also having issues with the extreme usage of ink even when the printer is not being used for a week or so. It seems to just dry up. I had been using this printer primarily for photos but it really did not do much better job of them than the HP 3510 which was considerably less expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRINTER

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lakeland FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 4th operating HP printer. Great printer great price, exceeds all expectations. if you have a Surface, Windows 8/8.1 operating system this little dynamic machine is what you need. Not all printers are compatible. Thanks HP for your great products! I would give it a high recommendation with a reasonable price tag.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP6520e

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington C.H., Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with the promptness of the delivery of my HP6520e All in One printer.
The setup directions were very easy to understand and I connected it without a problem.
I am pleased with the features offered and the price was very reasonable. I am 76 years young and I would not hesitate to recommend this printer for home use.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleased so far

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas City, MO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm very pleased with this printer so far. It's fast, scans well and wakes up quickly. I had another Photosmart that didn't last a year but I'm hoping this holds up better. I'm unable to get a wireless connection for some reason even though that worked fine with the former model. Since I'll be moving soon I'll worry about that in my new location.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin Tx
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is just great, ink is not to costly. Love it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing performance

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Delivered quickly in perfect shape. Installation simple and quick. Performance? Not so hot.
Necessary to print 'Best' to insure all text complete and legible. Set up cartridges still in use -- hoping for better results when they are replaced. Color performance so-so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't print black ink

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had the printer for just over a year and the black ink won't print all of a sudden. It's 2 months out of warranty and all the research I've done online leads me to believe this is a pretty common issue for this printer (over 100,000 youtube visitors to one video alone talking about this problem with HP). I've done everything stated on the help desk. cleaned heads, cleaned screens, currently purchased 3 new black cartridges and wasted all of them now, etc.
Please check the reviews out on this product before purchasing. Many of the reviews talk about the problem occurring within 1-2 years with minimal to normal use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Printer Ever!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned many, many hp printers for home and for my office. I have never had the trouble I have with this one. I bought it for home because the salesman suggested it. It eats my paper constantly, and I have to open the back every time to get out the crumpled up paper. Out of 50 print jobs, I may have gotten 5 good pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not good for printing pictures!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had bought this printer to replace the earlier model, because I had a lot of ink left, and I needed to print a lot of pictures for Christmas album gifts.
The printer worked well for awhile, but I am no longer able to print photos from the photo tray. This is very disturbing to me, as I was hoping this model would last a long time; for printing pictures, the printer lasted only a few months. I can still print 8.5x11 and it works very well. Wish I could find a printer that would really hold up for printing photographs!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast, Great color & right price. What more can you ask for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal for Price

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lanc, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer has met or exceeded my expectations. Prints duplex, single side, PICTURES look great without special PHOTO Ink. I don't understand all the whiners regarding INK.....do you think the manufacturers make their money on a $119 printer?? It's the INK. Geeesh. So buy OEM ink - or use the HP Rewards offer, save up to 10% and FREE next day delivery on ink. As for the PICTURE tray complaints I've seen...mine works just as advertised, I suspect any complaints there are USER related. GREAT DEAL FOR THE PRICE.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless Photo Printing-Tray does not work

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Printer will not pull photo paper from the right tray. If you contact HP they tell you to keep pushing the photo tray in and hope it connects. Took me 30 minutes to print two photos and only one worked. This printer is OK for regular printing but otherwise totally useless fro photos.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could have been a great printer :(

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this printer because of it's features:
1. Wireless (not really - requires no more than 3-5 ft. from modem. Might as well use the ether cable!)
2. Duplex printing (works well if you can get it to print.)
3. Sleep mode - (this is the worst) goes to "sleep" after 15 min. Computer can no longer "find" the printer and tells me the printer is off line. Unable to print. Then the printer has to be rebooted, the MacBook Pro has to be re-booted and then it might print, if it can find the wireless network.
4. Does print very well for photos - if all the devices can find each other.
5. Prints wirelessly from my iPhone & my iPad, if the printer isn't asleep. (It's always asleep, so the printer has to be rebooted.)
Can not recommend. Really not wireless, and the sleep issue is unresolvable, per the manufacturer. A week after I bought the printer, I called tech support, and they said just keep it turned off until you need it. What a ridiculous software design! Seriously - at least give us a larger window to keep the printer "awake"!!! 30 min or 60 min while we're working on a project. VERY POOR DESIGN. Fatal flaws, and I love HP printers, but this one is a huge disappointment.
The printer isn't near any cordless phones or microwaves or anything metal. My printer is only 15 ft. or so from the modem, so it only has "2" out of 5 bars on the wireless connect test. Very sad.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this printer

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cumming, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I am very much a senior citizen. When the printer arrived, I could hardly wait to unpack and set it up. I thought I would have to call one of the boys to help me, however, I was able to accomplish the
Job myself in short time. Setup worked like a charm. I was amazed. We do have wifi here in the house. IPad prints just fine as well as laptop. Makes sharp copies also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst business expense EVER

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mn
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Out of the box this guy hogged ink. Maybe 10 (simple text non photo like a receipt) pages and then the ink cartridges needed to be replaced. I don't print a lot so I figured maybe it is what it is? Until the black stopped printing altogether. Cleaned print head, adjusted alignment, tech support, blah blah blah. Warranty is one year. I had for a year and 1 month. It would cost more to get repaired than to buy a new one and get another year warranty, although I could have bought 1 1/2 with the money I spent on ink alone the year I had it. I was not offered an extended warranty when I purchased but could spend $20 more on a new one and get 2 yrs covered. (So mine would been fixed for free had this been an option) that's only more frustrating? Kinkos is cheaper at $1 a page for my printing needs. Maybe I just got a dud? Or do people have to pick up 2nd jobs to pay for their printing? Teardrops on my printer. : (
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with my printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Printer For the Money

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Adams, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second hp Photosmart printer, and I felt fortunate to have found one that uses the same ink cartridges as my old one. I had two issues with it, the first being that the description on the web site said it was compatible with Mac OS X, but did not specify that it needs 10.6 or higher, so I had to upgrade my operating system to use the new printer. >:-( The second was that when I attempted to connect my Windows laptop, I was not able to do so. I don't know why, but Tech Support came through admirably. The memory card reader is covered by a small hatch that no description of the product makes mention of. It's tricky to see, but it's easy to find once you know it's there.
Now that the printer is connected (wirelessly) to both computers, it works like a charm and I'd recommend it to anyone. It scans beautifully and prints wonderfully. I especially like that it does double sided prints. Every other printer I've had, including this one's predecessor, you had to buy an extra attachment to get 2-sided prints. You can also get it to print in booklet form.
Most of the other features, I have no use for, but that's just me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works OK

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wireless print is excellant for lap tops and traveling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 to next page>>