HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Photosmart or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer

HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.157 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(255 reviews) 255
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 255 reviews
5 Stars
147
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
11
1 Star
23
211 out of 255(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SIMPLE & STYLISH

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Towson, MD
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When it comes to printers, I have destroyed my fair share, from over use... and it didn't bother me, as there was always a better one that I could get. Well... those days I think have come to an end. This newly purchased HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer is one awesome printer! It has a stylish design and my gosh... was it ever simple to set up for use out of the box! The videos for installation and processes are so easy to understand and the wireless feature is great! Photos are beautiful and I didn't think I would like the 4 individual ink cartridges to deal with... but the advantages , as seen with photos from this ink system, are amazing! So far this printer has done everything I have asked of it accurately, reliably and professionally. This is one printer, I plan to hold onto for many years! It works seamlessly with my HP Pavillion dv6-6c 10us Entertainment laptop (notebook). Would highly recommend this printer to friends and family!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Printer Ever!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned many, many hp printers for home and for my office. I have never had the trouble I have with this one. I bought it for home because the salesman suggested it. It eats my paper constantly, and I have to open the back every time to get out the crumpled up paper. Out of 50 print jobs, I may have gotten 5 good pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not good for printing pictures!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had bought this printer to replace the earlier model, because I had a lot of ink left, and I needed to print a lot of pictures for Christmas album gifts.
The printer worked well for awhile, but I am no longer able to print photos from the photo tray. This is very disturbing to me, as I was hoping this model would last a long time; for printing pictures, the printer lasted only a few months. I can still print 8.5x11 and it works very well. Wish I could find a printer that would really hold up for printing photographs!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast, Great color & right price. What more can you ask for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal for Price

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lanc, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer has met or exceeded my expectations. Prints duplex, single side, PICTURES look great without special PHOTO Ink. I don't understand all the whiners regarding INK.....do you think the manufacturers make their money on a $119 printer?? It's the INK. Geeesh. So buy OEM ink - or use the HP Rewards offer, save up to 10% and FREE next day delivery on ink. As for the PICTURE tray complaints I've seen...mine works just as advertised, I suspect any complaints there are USER related. GREAT DEAL FOR THE PRICE.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless Photo Printing-Tray does not work

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Printer will not pull photo paper from the right tray. If you contact HP they tell you to keep pushing the photo tray in and hope it connects. Took me 30 minutes to print two photos and only one worked. This printer is OK for regular printing but otherwise totally useless fro photos.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could have been a great printer :(

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this printer because of it's features:
1. Wireless (not really - requires no more than 3-5 ft. from modem. Might as well use the ether cable!)
2. Duplex printing (works well if you can get it to print.)
3. Sleep mode - (this is the worst) goes to "sleep" after 15 min. Computer can no longer "find" the printer and tells me the printer is off line. Unable to print. Then the printer has to be rebooted, the MacBook Pro has to be re-booted and then it might print, if it can find the wireless network.
4. Does print very well for photos - if all the devices can find each other.
5. Prints wirelessly from my iPhone & my iPad, if the printer isn't asleep. (It's always asleep, so the printer has to be rebooted.)
Can not recommend. Really not wireless, and the sleep issue is unresolvable, per the manufacturer. A week after I bought the printer, I called tech support, and they said just keep it turned off until you need it. What a ridiculous software design! Seriously - at least give us a larger window to keep the printer "awake"!!! 30 min or 60 min while we're working on a project. VERY POOR DESIGN. Fatal flaws, and I love HP printers, but this one is a huge disappointment.
The printer isn't near any cordless phones or microwaves or anything metal. My printer is only 15 ft. or so from the modem, so it only has "2" out of 5 bars on the wireless connect test. Very sad.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this printer

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cumming, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I am very much a senior citizen. When the printer arrived, I could hardly wait to unpack and set it up. I thought I would have to call one of the boys to help me, however, I was able to accomplish the
Job myself in short time. Setup worked like a charm. I was amazed. We do have wifi here in the house. IPad prints just fine as well as laptop. Makes sharp copies also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst business expense EVER

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mn
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Out of the box this guy hogged ink. Maybe 10 (simple text non photo like a receipt) pages and then the ink cartridges needed to be replaced. I don't print a lot so I figured maybe it is what it is? Until the black stopped printing altogether. Cleaned print head, adjusted alignment, tech support, blah blah blah. Warranty is one year. I had for a year and 1 month. It would cost more to get repaired than to buy a new one and get another year warranty, although I could have bought 1 1/2 with the money I spent on ink alone the year I had it. I was not offered an extended warranty when I purchased but could spend $20 more on a new one and get 2 yrs covered. (So mine would been fixed for free had this been an option) that's only more frustrating? Kinkos is cheaper at $1 a page for my printing needs. Maybe I just got a dud? Or do people have to pick up 2nd jobs to pay for their printing? Teardrops on my printer. : (
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with my printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Printer For the Money

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Adams, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second hp Photosmart printer, and I felt fortunate to have found one that uses the same ink cartridges as my old one. I had two issues with it, the first being that the description on the web site said it was compatible with Mac OS X, but did not specify that it needs 10.6 or higher, so I had to upgrade my operating system to use the new printer. >:-( The second was that when I attempted to connect my Windows laptop, I was not able to do so. I don't know why, but Tech Support came through admirably. The memory card reader is covered by a small hatch that no description of the product makes mention of. It's tricky to see, but it's easy to find once you know it's there.
Now that the printer is connected (wirelessly) to both computers, it works like a charm and I'd recommend it to anyone. It scans beautifully and prints wonderfully. I especially like that it does double sided prints. Every other printer I've had, including this one's predecessor, you had to buy an extra attachment to get 2-sided prints. You can also get it to print in booklet form.
Most of the other features, I have no use for, but that's just me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works OK

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wireless print is excellant for lap tops and traveling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this printer. I had slight trouble unpacking it and did not understand how to put the trays together, but I finally figured it out. I have not run into any problems using it as of yet. So far, it's working great!! I would definitely recommend it to others
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prints beautiful pictures
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I used an USB port to hook up. I was a little startled to see the first photo...it wasn't very good. But, once I replaced the yellow starter ink, the photos were GREAT! Photos are the main reason for buying this printer but regular printing works great too. I really like the fact that I no longer need to purchase 2 different blacks (photo black and regular black). This printer only uses one black - great improvment over my last HP printer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Great Basic

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Key Center, Wa.
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this product several months ago. and just recently got it set-up. It was an easy installation, I like the WiFi feature and it prints nice sharp letter's and very nice photo's.It has been many years since I have had access to a home printer. All that stuff left with my x! But, I am learning to use all of the extra features this HP provides and am finding fun in all the advances made! Nice unit H.P.!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch Printer!!!

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Billings, Montana
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As always, hp knocks it out of the park with the Photosmart 6520. The text is razor sharp and the photos are Beautiful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printer does what I need

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ypsilanti, Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I was looking for a printer that would Print, Scan and Copy. Other than that, I did not need. The Photosmart 6520 fit the criteria. I am happy so far with the printer although after just 3 weeks, I needed more black ink! I checked out stores, other web sites, and PC magazines for ratings and feedback on printers, My previous printer was an HP and I had it for 14 years, I am looking for that kind of performance with the new one. I run a Client Consulting business from home so I need reliability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Easy

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Memphis,TN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the printer is easy to set up. I 'm currently using the wireless feature. Use little ink (and I print a lot of coupons). Nice printer nice price nice value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good printer BUT

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brandon, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
All functions of this wireless printer work great except when I try to print a 4X6 photo. The printer will not take the paper from the 4x6 paper tray. It prints but on 81/2 by 11 paper. It centers the printer results in the center of the output. I try to trick the unit by using the envelop portion of the main paper tray, but that is a pain. Need a fix
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 to next page>>