HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet 1010 Printer

hp HP Deskjet 1010 Printer

HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating:
4.025 / 5
4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
33 out of 40(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

USB Cord

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Why would they sell a product without the one cord that you need to use the printer? It doesn't make sense to me. They need to think things through more throughly! I haven't even used the product yet but it really angers me that the one thing you need to print doesn't come with the box.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT BASIC LITTLE PRINTER

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This a very small and basic printer, perfect for simple everyday use. This is the second one I have bought..the first was also a good buy, only replaced because ... watering a plant that overflowed, damaged it. This is very easy to use, does a good print job and is small and light enough to take on vacation, if you so choose.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good basic no-frills printer

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Riverside, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased the HP Deskjet 1010 at the HP online store for $29.99. Free shipping included. It does not come with a USB cable, but I knew that from the info on the store website. The software disk would not load the software onto my HP computer so I downloaded it from HP.com. The printer is small, light weight, and prints in color and black. So far it is worth the price. I do not use a printer often and this fits my requirements.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

problems

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chapel Hill, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
First of all, the printer keeps shutting off - every time I leave it for a while. then, it came with both black and color HP ink cartridges, and while the color worked for a while, not it does not - so I have all black printed pages. The printer did not come with the same catalog of instructions as my last HP printer did, and I cannot figure out how to change these problems. Any help would be appreciated.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very happy

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Westchester County, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with the Deskjet 1010 printer that I recently ordered from you. It was very inexpensive, to begin with, and, so far, has been operating just fine. I had very little difficulty installing it and it has been copying clearly in black and white and color right from the start. It is a quiet machine and does the job, as required. Thank you for making it available to me. Thank you, also, for the prompt and easy delivery. As I said, so far I am very happy with my new printer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not print fuul page or add'l pages,keeps prin

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Staples,Mn
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Same as Review Summary
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EVERY THING YOU NEED AT A GREAT PRICE

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:HOLLYWOOD FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY SUMMARY ABOUT SAYS IT ALL A GREAT PRODUCT AT A GREAT PRICE.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good printer for a great price.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I now have two HP 1010 printers (at two locations) and am really pleased with the performance, especially considering the very low price. It is simple to set up and use, and comes with ink cartridges ready to go. What more could one ask?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great printer!

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Montgomer, AL
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this printer for my home computer. It works great. But I would rather have a printer with e-print and a screen. But overall its fine! I recommend this to anyone with a need for any home/office printer. I've also used it for photo paper(4x6).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hp 1010 deskjet

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:erie, pa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great little machine for the price, but the web site needs to let you know the printer cable is not included with the purchase. This was the first time I ever bought a printer on line and was glad I had my old cable from my old printer. Other then that this is a great working little printer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LIKE HP DESKJET 1010

PostedMay 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SOUTH ELGIN IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I AM ABLE TO TAKE MY PRINTER WITH ME TO THEIR HOMES TO DO PEOPLES TAXES I CAN PRINT OUT THEIR COPY FOR SIGNATURE AND THEIR RETURN COPY TO KEEP I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THIS PRINTER IT IS LIGHT WEIGHT AND WORKS GREAT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Printer very slow

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Silverdale, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I needed a desk top printer to print envelopes and labels and very little else. It was so slow that I'd still be waiting for things to print today. You get what you pay for, and that printer proved it to me beyond a shadow of a doubt. Great price but just didn't work for me.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tool

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:hale, michigan
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this printer is not only priced right but the ease of use is great from loading with paper to replacing the ink cartrages. its just that easy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good buy for the price

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If you want a small lite-weight printer at a low cost, the 1010 is for you.
Don't drop this printer, it may crash into a 1000 pieces.
If you need heavy printing spend the money and get a heavy-weight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Printing Companion

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Burke, VA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This small, and compact, 10 lb printer, is the ideal printer for a student. (I being one myself) It is easily transported from place to place, it prints VERY quickly, and it's a professional looking accessory to my desk! I use it all of the time, and I would definitely recommend it to a fellow student. (It works with Windows 8, so no worries there) The setup is simple and very easy. The steps are made extra clear on the instructions slip of paper that comes in the box. (Don't be fooled when it tells you that you need to insert the disc, I didn't have to. It is working fine for me) People of greater profession, would likely want something a little more, .. well more. It is not equipped with a scanner, though I do not need one. Its colors are wonderful, but are far from a professionals standards. This goes without saying, if you are in art profession, get a laser color 4Kx4K px/in printer. This HP 1010 is not for printing state of the art work. It is lightning fast with regular document printing, and is somewhat okay for printing pictures. As I previously stated, I would recommend this product to any student, who wants fast homework assignments with great quality, and a super light printer to get em' to you. I am very happy with my purchase. If you buy this printer you will not be let down!!
Issues:
*Printer does not automatically turn on when you say 'print' on your computer. You must hit the power button on the printer first. So keep it in reach of your hand.
*Box does not come with a USB->Printer cable, so keep the one from your old printer, or ask where to buy a new one at your local store!
*Printer does not tell your computer how much ink it has left, so I'd keep a spare black ink cartridge around if I were you. Don't want to run out of ink when you're printing that final essay!!
Thank You HP for the phenomenal printer!! Sincerely, -SwagFaunda!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LITTLE PRINTER.....

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SHERWOOD, ARKANSAS
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
SO FAR THIS IS A GREAT LITTLE PRINTER FOR HOME USE. THE ONLY THING I DON'T LIKE IS THAT THERE IS NO "WINDOW" ON MY SCREEN TO SHOW INK LEVELS!
I WAS LUCKY THAT I HAD A COMPUTER CONNECTION CABLE FROM THE PRINTER THAT "DIED" OTHER-WISE THERE WAS NOT ONE COMING UP ON MY SEARCH TO ORDER ONE........THIS PRINTER DOES NOT HAVE A COMPUTER CABLE CONNECTION INCLUDED!!!!!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small, attractive, simple, reliable

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used only HP Products in computers and printers for years. I wanted a small printer that offers only the services I now require ... to print effectively in black & color. The HP Deskjet 1010 Printer does this very well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy setup

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arlingtom, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once unpacking the printer, the setup and software install was very easy. I was using the printer in 20 minutes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go HP!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I feel like I got a free printer since it came with cartrages which would have cost nearly what I paid for the package. It prints in black and white and color and when I wear it out I intend to get another one like it. It doesn't go on line nor does it connect through my router. It is wired to my computer but who really cares. This same unit and it's predicessor are for sale used on ebay and amazon for more than I paid new to HP. Go HP!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St Joseph,MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it! I was hunting a plug-and-print print. Didn't want to fiddle around with Wifi. The HP 1010 is what I was hunting for. Plug it in. Run the setup CD and it works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.