HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet 1010 Printer

hp HP Deskjet 1010 Printer

HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating:
3.913 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
18 out of 23(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy setup

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arlingtom, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once unpacking the printer, the setup and software install was very easy. I was using the printer in 20 minutes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go HP!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I feel like I got a free printer since it came with cartrages which would have cost nearly what I paid for the package. It prints in black and white and color and when I wear it out I intend to get another one like it. It doesn't go on line nor does it connect through my router. It is wired to my computer but who really cares. This same unit and it's predicessor are for sale used on ebay and amazon for more than I paid new to HP. Go HP!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St Joseph,MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it! I was hunting a plug-and-print print. Didn't want to fiddle around with Wifi. The HP 1010 is what I was hunting for. Plug it in. Run the setup CD and it works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer, no USB connector provided.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The delivery service to the house was fantastic, as I was able to have this printer delivered on Saturday, and by noon I had this printer in the house. The printer set-up was easy to follow with no problems what-so-ever; CD provided. The printing is great, did the test and the calibration - all good. This printer does not make much noise, and prints pretty fast. I realized the printer came with no USB connector. Luckily, my brother still had a connector from another printer (non-HP) and it worked. Glad he had the extra, or else I would be one of those going to BestBuy and purchasing a USB connector. HP products are great, love everything I have purchased from HP in the past, and because of this I will continue to purchase HP products in the future. Thank you for providing us with great customer service.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little printer!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Glendale, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great little basic, no frills printer. It sets up easy and then ... just prints! Just what I needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lake Charles,La
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This inexpensive printer works as good as much pricier ones for our needs. Thanks HP staff for the recommendation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good printer. Non delivered connection.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being old-fashioned, I expected the connection for the priinter to my computer to be delivered with
the printer. NO SUCH! When it arrives I note ominous warnings on the box about not including
the cable! I thought, "How nice. they've thrown in a $5 wireless connection". Again, NO SUCH!
So a $30-some printer needs a $30-some wire and a trip to Best Buy on the other end of town
(luckily a small town) so I can use it.
It is a nice printer, otherwise. Quiet, fast, accurate, light, small. I don't yet know how it handles infrequent use but HP is usually pretty good in that regard.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Deskjet printer 1010 simple and easy

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MD
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a very basic printer to replace an HP I've used for over 10 years. The new 1010 fits the bill perfectly. It's small, sets up in minutes, and does the one thing I need it to do: print one or several pages reliably with no headaches for me. It has no bells or whistles, which suits me to a T. And the price was great! Thanks, HP, for remembering there are customers out there who want basic products with no frills.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Everything you reallly want to know

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
No usb cord, scanner,,printer or fax. But super cheaper then anything in Walmart. And will print anything off the computer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Deskjet 010 Printer

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tampa, fl
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I needed in a printer that is just a printer and nothing else. This is a replacement for my broken printer that works with a 7 year old computer. Does just what I want it to do and I am happy with it .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't count on making 2 purchases...

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i purchased this printer just a few days ago, excited to be able to print off some important documents related to bills. after getting home from my shift at work, i went to set it up and realized that they forgot to put the usb cord in the box. no problem, it's just a phone call away, because this must of course be a mistake. NOPE. not only does the printer not come with the necessary usb cord for setup and use, nowhere on the box did it even give you a list of the parts included (or NOT included.) i'm not a fan of hp computers, but have always stood by their printers at the very least. now i'm not so sure anymore...
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr thomas stanton

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:united states
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
an inexpensive printer which works for all my needs
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

USB?

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When opening the box for this printer I was really excited to start using it and stop mooching off my friend's printers for college papers. However after opening the printer and setting it up I noticed it did not come with the necessary USB cable. I took the printer back to the store and returned it thinking that the particular printer I purchased had a malfunction and didn't have all its necessary pieces. I purchased another and yet again I found no USB cable!!! why would HP not include the USB cable that is required to use the printer? the least the company could do is note on the box that the printer does not come with a USB cable. You wouldn't sell a TV without a power cable would you? this was extremely irritating and though i am sure the printer will function properly I will not be able to know until I take yet another trip to the store to purchase a USB cable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

UGGGG NO USB

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Why would you not include a USB cord to connect the printer to the computer in w/ the printer?? This printer would probably get a 5 star rating from me...IF I COULD USE IT TO SEE HOW IT WORKS!!! Guess I'll just go 45 mins back to the store to get one since I have nothing better to do :(
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and basic

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a basic and simple printer without all sorts of bells and whistles. This HP 1010 fills the bill very nicely. I am impressed with the reliability of HP products. The setup instructions made it easy for me, a non-computer type.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple printer

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:cleveland ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It does not scan, copy, or fax just a great inexpensive printer that does a great printing job
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

REALLY!?

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Westland, MI
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased your printer, brought it home to use immediately. I began installing and setting it up and it did not come with a usb cable, which is needed for set up. This is ridiculous. It didnt even say anything about it in the box or even in the start up manual. Why would you do something like this?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done.

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought a iMac with this free printer, the sales clerk did warn me that the printer needed a cable that I had to buy, so I bought the cable to connect it. This little printer takes up very little space, and isn't as noisy as older printers. The ink is on the pricy side though. As a high school student this printer reaches my needs and gets basic things printed, I do think I will have to upgrade in the future when I start college though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SERIOUSLY!!?

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wow! What a great deal! That is until you get home and discover there is no usb included in the box... It's not like I have anything important to do like print a paper that is due. I guess I will just go back to the store and buy a cord, because time isn't an issue..
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 1010 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Why would you not include a USB chord with the printer to set up on a computer? I have extremely long weeks of work and didn't have time to even go to a store to buy a printer. Since I needed sheets printed for this weekend I had a friend go and buy one. Late at night before having to be to work at 4 am, not getting home till 8, I try to hook up my printer to print things I need for tomorrow. I come to find I can't finish setting up my printer because it doesn't come with a USB chord, something REQUIRED FOR THE SETUP. It's like buying a phone with no charging cable from Sprint or Verizon.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.