HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g

HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Print/Copy/Scan/Web - J611g
Overall rating:
4.344 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(186 reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 186 reviews
5 Stars
121
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
7
1 Star
12
161 out of 186(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer for price - just got a second one!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Central Oregon
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased our first HP DJ 3050A printer about 6 months ago after my wife bought an iPhone4, iPad2, and MacMini and converted from Windows PC to Apple. At that time I discovered that Apple, true to form, would not seamlessly print to just any wireless printer but needed either a printer with AirPrint capability or quirky printing interface applications. This 3050A was the least expensive printer with seamless AirPrint capability using a single color cartridge (#61 - tricolor) for general color printing & quality, not multiple color cartridges as most other printers which print near photographic quality require.
We are very happy with how easily this 3050A was to set-up and how flawlessly it works within our home network (which has a mixture of Windows 7, Linux, and Apple wireless devices) - just use the set-up disc provided and follow the on-screen directions. We have used the 3050A heavily during the last 6 months without one problem - it has became our primary printer. We also use the scanning and copy functions - while both are basic they work well and are more than adequate for 95% of our needs.
In fact we have been so impressed with this inexpensive little printer that we just purchased a second 3050A to use in another location within our home and as a spare. Setting up two identical printers on the same wireless network was easy and they work flawlessly.
Both printers were ordered from HP.com - good pricing, easy website ordering, fast shipping, and excellent communication throughout.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Do not pass up this jewel of a printer!

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Taft, Ca
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you like easy, you will find it with this printer. I read some good feedback & some negative feedback and I was so glad that I went with the good feedback and my heart.
Then I thought I'd have to get a friend to help me set it up. But I was so wrong about that. It is super easy to set up that even a computer geek like me had no trouble doing it. It seems the older I get, the better I get! I'm 74 now, so I can only imagine what I'll be like at 84. WOW, watch out world as here I come!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great printer

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Grosse Pointe Park, MI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer because I had an Epson all in one printer that worked for awhile then it stopped printing so I read up on all the printers and I liked the reviews on this printer plus it didn't cost an arm and a leg like others. If you need a USB cable it does come with one so you don't need to buy a separate one. Plus if you have Windows 7 it connects automatically so you won't need a USB cable plus it also comes with ink!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Light Duty HP Deskjet Printer Ever Made

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been a Cannon Inkjet printer user for the last 10 years. For my light duty needs they performed fine until the last two purchases. The last two printers failed a couple of months after the warranty expired. That was the last straw with Cannon.
I have not looked into the line of HP DeskJet printers for more than a decade. I was very pleasantly surprised by the selection and prices. After reading as many reviews from every online source I could fine, it appeared that the recently discontinued HP DeskJet 3050 had good reviews and the new HP DeskJet 3050A model was starting to get good reviews also. After using my new printer for a while, I love it.
I was a little worried about setting up the wireless access part but the process could not have been any easier. In fact, the directions to set everything up was so short and simple, I thought HP forgot to include the full directions. But I followed the steps and Bingo; the printer was online and was working.
The printer has a small footprint, is quiet and it prints fast and with very good quality. The scanner works well but is a little slow scanning at higher DPI.
I do have one instillation note I wish to pass on...
My system is a HP notebook, Windows 7 64-bit, AMD processor, ATI discreet graphics, 4 GB RAM and it is wirelessly connected to my DSL modem. Even though the printer will start to work after you follow the steps to set it up, I had to restart my notebook after all of the drivers and software was installed to get full functionality. The restart step was not covered in the directions and not suggested during the installation of the software. However, since completing the installation, the printer has always connected to the network and has never dropped the connection.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Low Cost, High Performance

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was skeptical about whether a low cost printer like this would be acceptable. It is fine. I just finished connecting this one to our church wireless network. No problems. Print quality good. Photo quality okay. Wireless connectivity awesome! The ePrint feature works great. I printed a decent picture from my phone. I recommend this printer if you just want a simple, low cost printer with good quality.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pensacola, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The new printer works great and I enjoy using it as it prints in both black and color and I have already printed a multitude ofm pages. I have been uswing HP products for years and they are the very best.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Little Printer

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My word, for the price this is the best little printer. I have had several HP printers in the past, and since my last one was quite old I decided to get a new one. I chose this one primarily because of good reviews by other customers, the price, and the free delivery. THE PRICE IS RIGHT. What a great little printer, it was super easy to install, and prints well, and the print quality is superb. HP stands at the head of the class for quality.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent entry in its class

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Silicon Valley
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a low cost and easily portable printer - this is it I need a non-network printer to hard-wire to my laptop for occasional print jobs. This is perfect - it even came with a tote bag, which I use to store and tote the printer as I need. Yes, you can network this printer if you want - or use Bluetooth. The straight paper path was a pleasant surprise - I prefer it to the convoluted paper path in most of HP printers. The 3050A is. also a copier/scanner , which was a bonus for me. It's also very green, made of 25% post-consumer recycled plastics. It ain't pretty - if you want the shiny black sleek-looking electronics, get something else. If you want a good value, medium-featured, small footprint, easily portable printer, this is an excellent candidate.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted an economical Printer for home/ homework use. I have owned 4 other printers and so far this is my favorite.
I purchased this to replace a Lexmark all in one printer that I purchased last year. I was so frustrated with both the performance of that printer and the cost of the ink... if onecartridge was out of ink.... no printing at ALL. I was replacing an ink cartridge after each homework assignment.
So far I have had great performance and the ink is half the cost of my Lexmark... anyone need a boat ancor?
Also... the wireless WORKS, you just need to turn the power button on and whatever you sent to the printer will print out... I like the power saving performance.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ePrint Very Disappointing.

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I use an Acer AC700 Google Chromebook, and as such, the HP ePrint functionality appealed a great deal to me. I have used the Google Cloud Print service ever since I started using a Chromebook, which thankfully works perfect. I recently bought the Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One...and connected the new printer to the ePrint network, and soon found out that the printer was built very well; however, the HP ePrint network connection was continually down - and caused numerous print jobs to crash. I've gotten so frustrated with the ePrint system that I completely turned off the ePrint functionality on the printer - and am now only using it as a wireless printer through the Google Cloud Print system. The hardware for the Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One is actually fine, but the ePrint system is much too buggy and slow for me to use. This is a major disappointment for me, as I would have spent my money on a different printer if I had know this in advance.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple Setup...REALLY!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hartselle, AL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is this the world's best printer? No...but considering the price, it's scares the heck out of excellent! The wireless setup was VERY easy. This is a printer I purchased for a family suddenly in possession of 6 kids (8 to 17) to raise. I set up the printer on their new wireless DSL network and configured two PC's to use it as their DEFAULT. Two grand-parents and 6 kids, each with a private PC profile can produce a lot of need for printing and scanning. Considering the cost, this fits a real need. With 6 sudden additions to a family, budget is IMPORTANT! . Lots of homework going on...lots of printing and scanning!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer and great price!

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn Park, MN
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this printer! It's been a month and it is printing way better than the printer I had before. The best feature for me is the wireless printing since I can print from anywhere in the house and any laptop, computer, or phone in the network. I would highly recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Will not work with iPad's Airprint

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I wanted a wireless printer so that I could print from either of our desktop computers and our laptop. I also wanted to print from our iPad using it's built-in utility AirPrint which this printer was advertised it would do. After an afternoon with HP tech support, IP tech support and Apple tech support I was told I should take the printer back which I did. I replaced it with an Epson NX 430 which worked perfectly in a matter of minutes.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a good product

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:d.c.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i found only 2 issues during the first week of use:
1. paper loaded in the input paper tray does not line-up with the feed rollers and the 'machine' rolls the paper back and forth to get it aligned.
2. when scanning a multiple page document, the scanner creates a new document for each page added, e.g. if you are scanning a 45 pg document, you will have 45 saved scans. depending on the dpi you selected, this really uses up your memory and you must remember to delete the preceding 44 saved files as the process for each scan gets slower and slower.
beats the heck out of inexpensive kodak printers and expensive ($200-$300)canon all-in-one's
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and affordable

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cedarbrook, NJ
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This HP all-in-one printer was easy to install and have had no problems with wireless hook-up. Ink is cheaper to replace than most printers which was my main reason for purchasing it. Would definitely do it again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gold Beach, Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best printer that I have ever owned and I have owned 5 in all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good Ubuntu Linux printer

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Alabama
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This all-in-one machine was purchased for three reasons:
1- to replace a scanner that died over six months ago.
2- because HP products are known to support Linux-based operating systems.
3- quite pleased with the HP LaserJet P1102w performance on my system.
My operating system: Ubuntu 11.04 (FREE open source)
Printer Packaging: Upon opening the box it was noted that the printer was packed well. The most distinguishing packaging feature was a handbag with handles which allowed easy removal of the printer from the box.
Printer Setup: A Quick-Start sheet allowed the printer to be set in place for operation within approximately 10 minutes. The easy to follow instructions are simple enough for a novice computer user to prepare the printer for daily use.
Software Installation: Since the operating system on my home-built service computer is the Linux-based OS known as Ubuntu, I downloaded the latest version of the HPLIP software provided by HP, and ran the command "sh hplip-3.11.10.run" from a terminal window. I followed the on-screen instructions to complete software driver installation. When prompted to plug in the USB cable to connect the all-in-one to the computer, the system finished installation and showed the printer was connected and ready for business.
The software CD that came with this machine was not utilized for my specific installation needs, therefore, I can provide no evaluation of its installation performance.
Testing: The printer test page printed normally and I was impressed by the quality of the test page. The copy feature worked equally well, as did the scanner functionality while scanning an old black and white photograph. The Wireless and ePrint features were not tested since I have no need for these functions with my current desktop configuration.
Pros: The purchase price of this machine was affordable for an all-in-one that would meet my personal needs immediately. It was purchased primarily for the scanning feature, however, the color printing and copying features, and the ePrint and Wireless capabilities were added bonuses.
Cons: When the machine prepares to scan a document or photo, a reverberation caused by the scanner movement causes the casing and scanner table to vibrate loudly, but as soon as the scanner begins its scan, it operates as quietly as any other scanner I've used before. I've attributed the noise to the movement of the scanner head across the rack of plastic teeth underneath the scanning table. Though it's a little distracting and occurs briefly before and after scanning and copying , it's within tolerable limits.
One additional thing I noted is that the Auto Power ON/Off feature accessible through the printer's control panel, while turned on, was causing a problem with my Ubuntu OS being able to continuously recognize that the all-in-one was still connected to the computer on the USB bus. I configured my computer's printer control software to refresh the printer connections of this all-in-one, and my HP LaserJet P1102w, every 30 seconds, but the all-in-one would lose its connection with my computer when it automatically powered off. I accessed the printer's Auto Power feature through its control panel, changed the feature from "ON" to "OFF", and this corrected the problem I was having.
Overall Opinion: Though the scanner/copy feature is a little noisy, it shouldn't be the sole reason for not purchasing this all-in-one. This is a good, basic machine for Ubuntu Linux users provided they download and install the latest version of the HPLIP software, and this machine should work equally well for users of Windows-based machines also provided they follow the installation procedures step-by-step to include software installation.
I give this all-in-one a five star rating on features and performance because overall it has what I need, and it performs as expected under normal circumstances during a normal days use.
I give this all-in-one a four-star overall rating due to the noisy scanner/copier function, and the Auto Power feature On/Off problem I encountered during my testing and use of this machine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best vaule for the money

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin, Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have purchased two (2) HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One. I was so pleased with the one I purchased for my home office, I purchased one for my wife's business.
The wireless and networking functions work great. Black Ink use seems a little high, but again I print a lot of contracts and other legal documents. The scanner works - really works - and this is the first one out of 2 other all-in-one printers that delivers in scanner performance.
This is a really good printer for home office use.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great desktop color printer/scanner.

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bowie, MD
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has everything one could want in a personal home color printer. The features are many and work wonderfully. The unit was easy to set up, and prints anything quickly and quietly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 3050A e-All-in-One Printer - J611g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I hate this printer. I bought to use in my apartment when I went to college and it worked okay the first couple time I printed something. But it took hours to set it up on my laptop and after the first two time I printed something it repeatedly told me it could not connect wirelessly. The scan to computer option never worked either. When it would finally print something it would only print parts of pages. I had to print one essay eight times to get all four full pages. It wouldn't let me print individual pages. We recently got new routers installed in every apartment making it a new network. I know the network is available because my laptop is connected to it, but the printer can't connect to it. I hate this printer. It is too unreliable and absolutely not worth buying.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 to next page>>