HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Photosmart or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a

HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy/Web - C311a
Overall rating:
4.161 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(242 reviews) 242
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 242 reviews
5 Stars
144
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
15
1 Star
20
195 out of 242(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Review 1 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everything I wanted in this all in one

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I received the new 7510 this week after shopping around to replace my 3-year old HP All in one. The 7510 has all the features that I wanted - auto document feed, eFax, network connectivity, and included software. All of those features are excellent, especially the eFax, which includes 20 faxes per month each sending and receiving. Perfect for someone who needs to fax occasionally. The unit also looks great.
Upon receiving the unit, I immediately noticed the lack of owners manual and installation CD. I'm not sure if those were omitted from my packaging by accident or if it's a cost-savings measure. Not a big deal, either way. Otherwise the presentation was very impressive, with the printer arriving in a mesh bag and the power cord in a fabric pouch, both which are reusable. Unpacking was a breeze and setup was much easier than the last HP all-in-one I got 3 years ago. I had to download the drivers and software from the web, which is not a big deal because at least I'm sure to be using the most recent version. Installation on my two PCs -- a hard-wired desktop and wifi laptop -- was easy. HP even gives you the option to not have certain services run in the background for those interested in keeping their PC's performance top notch. Very impressive. One thing I thought was odd, was when attaching my desktop via USB cable, I got a warning stating that significant amounts of functionality would be lost if not connecting via network. Interestingly, I did not notice any difference in connecting the desktop via USB and laptop via wifi.
As far as performance goes, I would say that this product meets expectations but is in no way breaking new ground. It is very loud while printing, and shakes my desk. The text and graphics print quality using normal mode is just okay. In fact, I'd venture to say my old c4385 model had better quality printing. That being said, the 7510 does all it is designed to do. There are a ton of add-on apps and useful software for use with the printer. This is a good model for a user who wants all the latest features, and who is relatively technical. I could see where a novice would get overwhelmed with all the options the 7510 has. So overall, the 7510 has great features, but just average performance.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointed

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:arizona
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I guess I should have read the product information more carefully before purchasing. I thought I was getting an "all-in-one" machine when I bought the photosmart, including fax, but the fax is through efax, which you much pay activation and monthly fees to have. Too bad I took it out of the box after the return period, otherwise, this machine would have gone back. If you want fax capabilities without paying internet fax monthly fees, do not buy this machine.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very Good Printer

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this device; however it is a little disingenuous of HP to claim this as an “All-In-One” device. You are forced to use E-Fax, I don't mind the E-Fax as an Option, but the device should have a connection for a hard line fax; the consumer should decide not HP. If not for that I would have rated it much higher. Unless this feature is changed my next "All-In-One" device will not be an HP.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing feature set that really works

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Suffern, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used to have a Photosmart D7360 photo printer. It printed beautiful photos, and excellent text, with a very flexible driver. But that's all it did... print. When it developed a problem (after almost 6 years) I replaced it with a Photosmart 7510 all in one. The set up was straightforward, and it is connected to my WEP encrypted wireless network - no USB cable! My wife's iPad can airprint to it. I set up my family's emails to be able to send email to it to print (at HP's eprint web site), don't know exactly what that will be useful for but I'm sure we'll find out. I've already used the COPY and SCAN features, and turned on Double Sided printing which works very well (it waits for ink to dry on the first side, so it's a tad slower, but it cuts paper use in half). It's just too cool that the scans automatically transfer to my PC (or the PC the user selects) and the monitor program opens a Windows Explorer window showing My Documents with the new file highlighted. The color scans are quite good. There is a "photo" and a "document" mode. So far I've used document mode, but there was some color graphics on the paper and it came out nicely. And - unlike some of the earlier reviews - I just entered my existing eFax phone number and PIN and that completed the eFax setup. As part of the setup on PC there is a monitor calibration routine and that calibration is supposed to be then used by the printer, to match what you see. As far as I can tell so far it works well. But...
OK, after all the good stuff let me mention a couple of things I will miss, coming from a D7360: The D7360 read bar code on the back of Advanced Photo Paper so it AUTOMATICALLY knew when you had loaded Advanced Photo Paper instead of plain paper. The samples of Advanced Photo Paper that came with this printer don't have bar code on the back, the the printer does NOT automatically detect paper. You must open the printer's Preferences and set the paper type. It is all to easy to print on Advanced Photo Paper using the plain paper setting ... which does not come out optimally. Of course, if you DO set the paper type then it works quite well, the photos are good. And the only other thing I will miss is since the driver thinks it is using a color profile to match your monitor, there is no opportunity to tweak the brightness and color in the printer driver's user interface ... that used to be available on the D7360's driver, and I regularly used to set the printer two notches lighter than default. On the 7510 I don't have any option to do that. Not surprisingly, printed pictures get dark in dark areas faster than a backlit LCD screen. My personal preference would be to print somewhat lighter, but there is no way (that I can see) to express that to the driver. Fortunately, the photos on Advanced Photo Paper (with the printer preferences set for that paper type) really are quite good, a very pleasant surprise (the D7360 had 6 inks, didn't know if the 5 ink system could match it, so far I think it does). I'm sure I'll be able to live with its "I know the profile, no tweaks" philosophy.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Little Rock, AR
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It had reached a point with our other wireless printer that the only place we could get ink cartridges were from the manufacturer, and if you happen to run out of ink, and can’t get it locally, it can be very frustrating. My wife and I bought the HP7510 this weekend at the local “big box” retailer on the recommendation from the HP representative that happened to be in the store. They spent a lot of time with us explaining the all features of the printer, and answering all of our questions. We were sold.
Setup was easy, with the exception that neither the instruction manual, nor the instructions on the CD as you are installing, explains to connect the printer to the wireless router from the printer before you start the setup process. It was very easy from the touch screen on the printer, but nowhere does it tell you to do that before you start. Once that is done, it’s a snap. Have not had time to explore the apps much, but it seems to have plenty of them that will be useful and fun.
The prints look really good. The photos we printed look great – very vibrant colors. Making copies is easy, and sending scans to each computer worked flawlessly. The only function that is not available with the software is optical character recognition (OCR). I use OCR from time to time, and it is a nice feature to have. (I did fail to ask the HP rep if that was a feature.) Maybe it will be included in a software update in the future. The ePrint feature is also nice to print from your smartphone if you need to. And the printer is much quieter than our previous printer.
The printer does all it is made to do. We are very pleased with the purchase. We could have bought other printers cheaper, but with the quality and reputation of HP, we know we have made a good choice.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good printer, bad documentation

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charleston, S. Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Terrible documentation and touch screen is not as intuitive as they make it sound. Not a fan of solving problems via a website. Even the "copy" screen just gives a choice of color or B&W. Where is the reduce/enlarge or the quality choices? So you guess - do you go into edit or options?
Nothing in the manual to show you all the choices. So you guess and usually get there. And this is just with a USB connection - imagine the fun when I try to hook up to a network. Suggestion to HP: Leave out all the foreign language sections and pack in a little more substance overall.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Annoying!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Collegeville, PA
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer drives me nuts. I've always had HP printers and have always been happy...this time I needed a wireless since we got a laptop (and wanted an all-in-one because we wanted fax capability, which turned out useless because we didn't know eFax charges an arm and a leg, not worth it!). #1 the "scan to computer" turns itself off all the time, so I end up having to go back and forth from printer to laptop to coordinate that. #2 pictures always print a little crooked (on 4x6 paper) even though I line up the paper properly. #3 (and this is my biggest peeve), it prints stuff out more than once, sometimes multiple times, even though I only clicked on Print once, sometimes much later...so it keeps wasting paper! I often print graphic items like labels and business cards and greeting cards, so all I can say is I'm glad I didn't throw out my old Photosmart printer, because I don't trust this one at all when my printing has to be specific. Wish I could return it!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your money

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please avoid this printer and save yourself some grief. I am a loyal HP customer and have owned HP printers exclusively for many years. This one was purchased to replace an OfficeJet k80Xi that finally died after 12 years. The main feature I was looking for was wireless printing and faxing but the salesman pointed out many other "gotta love" features such as the eFax capability and wireless connectivity to internet applications such as Snapfish and others.
The good: footprint, wireless, bluetooth, memory card capable, built in LED monitor.
The bad: efax is horrible. You get 20 free faxes/month but it will do no more unless you sign up for their monthly service at $23/month. There are no other options. No direct phone jack to fax to. Must use internet fax and can only use eFax.
Scanning: horrible performance and you can only configure from the computer, not from the printer. It defaults to B&W and there is no way to change it on the printer. You must use the s/w on the computer. If your wireless connection goes down, you are sunk.
Wireless connection to computer frequently drops, I think they call it a feature if you don't use the printer for a while.
Loud and noisy printing. Once going, it IS fast.
Takes several minutes to start your initial printing.
Cartridges do not have indicators that show which tank needs replacing.
You have to remove the paper tray to load single sheets...no workaround.
I expected better quality and features. I would love to dump this printer and get one with a hardwired fax and one that is quieter. I fully regret this particular printer. I will look at other HPs though.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good printer for an all-in-one

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington State
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had many printers over the years. For the price, this filled our needs the best. My wife has a business and needs to make multiple copies sometimes, so the motor feed document feeder is hands down a nice feature, which you usually find in the $300+ printers. She also wanted to be able to print PHOTO's as well. This does that quite nicely. Again, for the $150 we spent, we got GREAT value for our money. Something "other" hardware giants should NEVER lose track of IMHO.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointing

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The printing features are wonderful, many options, easy to hook up wirelessly. The prints turn out great.
However, the ink will put you in the poor house. I just replaced the color cartridges for the 3rd time since January, and really haven't printed all that much. I may have printed 1 or 2 pictures and a few pages of coupons, but that's about it. Replaced the black cartridge a week or so ago. Tonight, after installing the 3rd set of color cartridges, the black ink cartridge needs to be replaced. Before the color cartridge install, it was 3/4 full, after install, it now needs to be replaced. Uggh, I'll try to get my older 3210 printers fixed, it's cheaper on the wallet.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Printer

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Toledo, Oh
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Internet WiFi Setup was easier than a wired network connection printer.
The output is awesome, scans, prints, copies are crisp and sharp. Colors are the beest I've seen from any printer.
eFAX setup from the control panel was fast and easy. Note: Don't try to set it up from the website. They want you to buy a package instead of getting 20 free pages per month.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Can't fax without an eFax subscription

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was disappointed and returned the unit because I was not informed that it doesn't have a telephone jack to send and receive faxes normally. I'm sure it is great if you have some volume of fax traffic and are willing to pay $15 or more per month for that service. My volume is low so it doesn't make sense for me.
I think the HP sales people should make sure buyers of this product are aware of that limitation.
I didn't even power up the unit so I can't speak to its functionality.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Web Apps and eFax doesn't work at all

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It's a nicely designed printer and it's sick fast. Beautiful pictures, but it will not connect to the HP server so I cannot use eFax or any other HP web apps. I've spent a lot ot time on the phone with HP and they couldn't fix it. Then I went to the user forums and saw it's a really common issue. A lot of people are dealing with it. Of course, HP acts like they've never heard of it.
This issue is not onfined to this model, so I don't know if I'd recommend any of the HP printers right now.
HP's let this issue go on far too long..
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Surprise

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent printer--very good value for the price. I have owned several HP printers and this one is by far the easiest and quickest printer for me to set up. Works great with and was a breeze to set up on my iMac/Lion, iPhone, iPad. I downloaded all the necessary drivers directly from Lion on the iMac in under three minutes ( I didn't have to use the included HP software setup disk). Once setup, I even had family in Europe email a picture from their iPhone to my printer here in this U.S. ( only took about 35 seconds to receive the email and print the picture) Wow! The touch pad feels and looks like the Apple 3GS iPhone and was fairly responsive. I really like the functionality of the attached touch pad ( able to flick through the apps like an iPhone) . Print/Picture quality is also excellent and quick. The whole unit is fairly quite and with a small footprint including the page loader on the top--and the all black housing with touch-screen looks very modern too. (I did set up the efax but haven't tested that yet)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome printer

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:florida
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this printer, its very fast, has a nice sleek look to it....high recommend hp
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT that good

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SC
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We got this printer to replace our C7180 . First BIG down fall this new printer has E Fax. I would have never got this printer it I knew that I had to pay a mounthy fee just to be able to fax. The outside of the box does NOT tell you that there is a mounthy fee on top of paying for a printer you MUST pay a fee to fax. Big disapointment.. If HP put E Fax in all there Photo printers I would have to buy a diferent brand of printer. I always liked HP printers but making you pay a mounthy payment just to be able to fax is crazy and I would have NO part in it.
On top of it all this new printer 7510 put lines all more any any Photo's that we would print out. it took a little over a week with customer service help to get that fixed. sorry HP but you would really have to WOW me to get me to every buy a printer from you again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would say NO

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have found this to be a disappointment. If you plan to use eFax look elsewhere. I found it impossible to set up. I did check to make sure my Wi Fi and internet connection worked. But, just could not get eFax to set up. That may not be a bad thing because eFax does not come cheap. Otherwise, the printer does perform when printing from my apple devices. The set-up this process was not that intuitive though.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good WLAN printer & scanner with some limitations

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Trebur, Germany
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+:
+Easy setup.
+Good WLAN setup and stabile connection.
+Nice and high quality pictures if you print in highest quality mode.
+Scans fast.
+Auto doc feeding works well and is unique for this price class of devices.
+Big touchscreen is a nice feature (but sometimes a ´bit slow).
+Prints wireless from my Lenovo Ideapad A1 (Android).
+Prints from my SDHC card of my DSLR camera, -preview and easy to select printing targets. Print photos without using a PC, that´s cool.
-:
-Uses too much ink. Even if the cartridges have a barely acceptable price, the cleaning etc. exhausts the colors to fast. They are simply to small in capacity. The xl-ones are too expensive and not really a money saver. So order some ink cartidge spares in advance.
-Thick photo paper (>260/280 gr.) not detected and accepted for photo printing. Because it cannot be put in another feed tray you can forget about to use it....
-Much louder in printing than my old Canon IP5000.
-Standard/default quality mode settings of photos delivers poor quality, needs to be put in highest mode setting. Then it´s ok, but slow (as usual).
-Scan of very thick books not possible.
Remarks: Some people should not rate the printer because of their unability to put them into their home network. The printer is not the culprit, if the router/firewall blocks the device, provides no IP address or is misconfigured.
HP should mark the efax item to be a matter of additional costs, if exceeding 20 incoming faxes and 20 outgoing faxes a month. I never used it, but people should be aware of it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Returned

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This machine requires an email account with an exrra monthly charge in order to FAX. I read the on line catalogue description carefully before ordering, but did not find this information. So, I returned the copier, as I need a land line FAX capacity.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart 7510 e-All-in-One Printer - C311a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prints great photos

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have received numerous compliments on the quality of the photos. Several have asked if the photos were bought from professionals. The colors really pop off the print. Extremely vivid. My only complaint would be checking the ink levels for black is difficult. It is shown as black on black and is hard to tell where the background is black and where the ink level is located.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 to next page>>