HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Designjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll

HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating:
4.278 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Review 1 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bla!!!!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Burlington, WI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
We've had this printer less than 6 months, and it's already given us more trouble than the old 750C Plus gave us in over 10 years of service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good printer

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Centre,AL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this printer was a very good purchase for our shop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Centre Al
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We ordered this printer for use in our fab shop and it has worked great.It is simple to both use and set up and prints clear D drawings.For the money I dont think we could have done better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little printer

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MT
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a small architectural firm in Montana. I only occasionaly make progress prints and prints for meetings with clients. I send my large print orders to the local "Blueprinting" shop when a project goes out to bid.
I bought this plotter to replace a 15 year old Calcomp plotter which was simple but, suited my needs. I found the HP 111 printer to be easy to set up. I had it set up and running prints in around one hour. I used the old parallel port cable from my previous printer and that seems to be working fine. The instructions suggested using an USB cable, that was not included, would be better.
The HP 111 quickly makes nice, crisp prints. I also like that you can put multiple sheets of drawings into the queue and it quickly prints them without "supervision" ...a large improvement over my old printer! I have not used the color or the sheet feed features yet. Be aware that the printer comes with a small size cartridges and you will probably need to order full sized cartridges shortly after starting to use the printer or at least have a back up as it appears this is a special order cartridge.
Overall, a nice printer for my needs at a reasonable price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer for Small Business

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are a small construction company which needs to print drawings for estimating & projects. This printer is perfect for our needs! I also love the fact that I can select to print in black ink only which saves me plenty on my consumables costs. I have only had this printer for a few weeks now, but so far I am extremely satisfied! It arrived here in 2 days even though my shipping said 6-10 business days so that was a great start. However, the documentation & software did not come with the printer so I had to call customer service to get the correct drivers installed, but they were very knowledgable & had me on my way in no time. The only other concern I had was that the quote I was given by the HP person online was more than the cost of just ordering it myself...weird as they were both from hp.com...so just look out...you could save yourself a couple hundred if you compare before you purchase!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good ... for the money

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not an amazing printer but for the cost it's tough to beat. Wish it had built in wireless but using an Apple Airport seems to do the trick. Every once in a while it will miss a line or two but for most general work it's fine. It is noisy so if you can keep it in a separate room you might like it better. I have to make sure and only turn it on when in use but it's small size makes it easy to keep in in my home studio.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great small office printer

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mancos Colorado
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are a small geological consulting office with a need to regularly print maps and figures at 24x36 inches. The HP Designjet 111 has a small footprint that fits in a crowded office. The plots are of good quality for our needs. The printer is very fast, and the convenience of printing - editing - and reprinting sure beats running to town to have maps printed commercially. This is a great printer for those with regular but small volume printing needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent printer for the price.

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have wanted a very large printer to print 22" X 34" size drawings for building large projects in my home woodshop. However, in the past they were very expensive and more suitable for business offices . The HP Designjet 111 solved this issue. The printer is very compact and affordable for home office use. But more important the print quality it produces is excellent! Thank you HP for a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My first color printer

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denville, NJ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like the HP111. I use it mostly for engineering drawings. It is quite good and dependable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer, great price

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:new jersey
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have an HP110 I purchased about 5 years ago, but without the roll feed. I always use the tray. Now that I am printing more I wish I had the roll feed. It was more ecomonical to just buy a new printer then add a roll feed to the old one. So why not just buy a new printer and use the old one for back up. That's exactly what I did. Both printers run fantastic. The hp is compact for a 24 wide printer. It is quiet and fast. I print 24x36 black and white lines drawings in 90 seconds. Very easy to use. I don't print much color on the wide formats. I also never print anything smaller then 24x36. For smaller prints I use a hp 13x19 printer. If you are printing line drawings at 24x36 this is a great printer. Just have room in front for the paper to fall into. The 111 does not come with a paper tray or catch bin.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Price for a Plotter

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Our company bought this printer for printing large field maps for our crews and for reports. It was easy to set up, and when I ever I hit the print button it just prints what I want, without errors or red beeping noises coming from the printer. It doesn't have many features which makes it nice and simple to use.
I did wish it came with a Tray to catch the paper after it was done printing.
It's also not wireless which is a little annoying and it does take awhile to process large files.
Besides those minor complaints its a great price for a printer that just works.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price for a nice printer

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We are a small woodworking shop that provides drawings for general contractors and architects. Had a 110+ which worked for us for about 6 years. I print for probably 1 - 1.5 hours per day. With bid drawings coming over email, we need to be able to print 24" wide drawings. We print mainly adobe docs and autocad drawings. Great printer for the price - a real workhorse that I think will last for years because it is so similar to the 100+. I love the color printing. Makes drawings so much easier to read - especially floor plans. I love the roll feature. We ordered online with a discount and received the printer the next day - WOW! Great service.The only thing I don't understand is why it locks up so often. You have to print each doc separately and very slowly. I am looking forward to a long relationship with this printer. I really like it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the price, you can't beat it

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:S. Conecticut
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Setup was reasonably fast, although I had a unit shipped initially with the wrong power cords. HP Support to the rescue- they shipped the proper cord overnight- no charge.
I run this printer through my print server to which it is directly attached via USB cord. And it is USB2 compatible, and with this arrangement and my AirPort wireless, I can run prints off my laptop. Speed of printing is the biggest surprise. A D sheet takes 75 seconds to print in black and white at normal settings. Print quality is excellent. A D size color sheet takes 3 minutes to print in high quality mode on plain paper. Color rendition is quite good for renderings, but I wish for color match software. Color match is just OK- some tans render with a greenish tinge.
My printer is the model with roll feed. Loading the printer is possible if you reach over the back. Feeding the printer initially can be a bit tricky. The printer automatically takes up the feed, and will reject it if it is out of alignment. The printer does cut sheets automatically.
The time I execute the print command to this printer, to when the printer activates and starts work, is quick- actually quicker than when I want to print to my HP OfficeJet 6000. Go figure.
Overall, this printer is a fine performer and a great value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Plotter!

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Windsor, CT
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just started my own design and drafting business. Prior to finding the DesignJet 111, I didn't have a wide format plotter and intended to have my project documents printed at a local printer. Once I found this online, I had to purchase it. For the price, I think this plotter is a great buy.
It prints in color and black and white which is a huge advantage to my business. With this plotter at my disposal, my business is complete in-house with no need to use outside sources for plotting.
The roll feature is excellent. It's hidden behind the plotter so you don't even see it.
In the two months that I've had this plotter, I've already saved the money I spent on it with the reduction of travel time, increased production and turn around times, and the simple the convenience of having it right behind me while I work.
Highly recommended.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hp DesignJet 111 with roll

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent printer. Prints 24x36 plots in about 2-3 minutes. The only minor issue is that it's quite noisy (constant fan noise) which is more noticeable when the office din is gone.. Manual suggests leaving printer on 24/7 to prolong life of cartridges & print heads...but really, really awesome printer. Also suggest that you search for best price online.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No Paper Tray

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this printer to substitute an old Designjet 330 I had.
I have not used it yet but my surprise was that IT DOES NOT COME WITH A PAPER TRAY, so HP told me that I have to hand feed the paper if it's not a roll.
Now, they show a picture of the printer with a tray but it's not included in the price. I called tech support and nobody can tell me for certain whether or not the tray is included or if they offer it as an accessory.
If not, it is a VERY POOR DESIGN and if they have it they should be clear about it. They don't mention it at all.
When you read the SPECS on this site, under SUPPORTED PAPER SIZE they list LETTER, LEGAL, ENVELOPES, ETC. but with no tray to hold the paper how do they want us to print a 10-page document in letter size??? By feeding the machine one by one???
Crazy!!! So far, I'm not a happy camper with this purchase.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Low Production Plotter

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a good printer at a great price. We are a small civil engineering design firm, and needed a good color plotter for construction plans and some presentations. We worked for years on an old HP 750c and were not actively looking for a new printer, but we came across this new Designjet 111 at a very attractive price and just could not pass it up.
As a replacement for a Designjet 750 this new machine shines. While it is only a 24" wide format it is still much faster than the older machine. However, when compared to its current bigger brothers the 111 is quite a bit slower. We run a 24" x 36" (Arch D) sized sheets with mostly line drawings in black and print times are under 3 min. per sheet.
Over all I am very pleased with this machine. My only complaint so far is that, like most printers, it does not come with a usb cable. Otherwise, we are very satisfied with our purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Designjet 111 24-in Printer with Roll
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice Printer

PostedJune 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Felton CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I have owned an HP330 Color large format printer for many years but recently was having issues with it. I looked to see what other printers HP had and was pleased to see the DesignJet 111. The price was 1/3 of what I paid for the other printer 10-15 years ago and speeds and quality were trippled!
I ordered the printer and received it about 1 week later. Unboxing was easy and setup was not hard at all.
Everything worked right out of the box! The rear paper feed works great, and slipping a single sheet in the front is also great. Again, I am comparing this to my OLD printer.
This thing is lightening fast and the quality for my CAD drawings are perfect. The only thing that I didn't see when ordering was that it does not come with a paper cartridge. This is probably not a huge deal, but for some reason I thought it came with it. (I think most of the other DesignJet's do)
One thing I plan on doing is hooking it up to a wireless print server so that I can get it off my desk and in a remote location. The thing is BIG!
Overall I am very happy with the speed, quality, lack of problems, and total funcionality.
Ben
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.