HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-in-Ones & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a

Prints, scans, copies, faxes, Web 50-page automatic feeder faxes, scans, copies multiple pages Easy two-sided printing 2.4" color display Printing from mobile devices via HP ePrint
Overall rating:
3.382 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(131 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
17
1 Star
28
77 out of 131(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Review 1 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

C410

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Set up was very easy for desk top and lap top.
Very noisy and shaky. Excel spreadsheet had uneven lines on the bottom of the boxes. Wouldn't be good for an office, if you want perfection.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Printer! A Must Have!

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer C410a last week to replace an older printer that was having major problems.
I had read all the great reviews on Amazon, and decided this was the printer that was going to meet my needs. I was wrong - it has exceeded my needs! The wireless installation was a breeze! The print quality is far superior to older, less expensive models - it does not leave any lines on the paper, no smudging, and photos print clearly with vibrant colors!
I haven't gotten a chance to delve into all of its features yet, but so far, the technology is amazing! If your main need is to do a lot of photo printing, this is the printer that will exceed your expectations!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy set up but Automatic Document Feed Not

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just received this yesterday and set it up. The Automatic document feeder doesn't work and every time I try to fax or copy from the ADF, I get an error "Document Feeder Jam". In researching I find that this is a common problem w/this model. I wouldn't recommend purchasing it until HP fixed problem.
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Improvement

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have always used HP All in One Document Feeder printers. This is the first printer that we have purchased that feeds all documents without pulling multi pages. It is loud and shaky, but the print quality, ease of installation for desk top / lap top and user friendly makes this a minor point.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I was looking for and more!

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Memphis, TN
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I decided I wanted a good: (1) WIRELESS, (2) All-in-one, (3) photo printer that also had a (4) flatbed, (5) ADF, and (6) auto 2-sided printing, I found that my choices were limited. However, I did run across info on this not-yet-released printer back in June. I waited patiently for its Sept release because it had all of the above plus an LCD screen (not touch screen, though), web printing without PC, takes memory cards, has two trays--one for paper and one for photo paper (so you don't have to change out as much), takes multiple PCs, and wireless smartphone printing. There's so much more I'm not going to get into here. I felt it was the perfect combination of important office printer features with a great photo printer! I don't fee that mine is too noisy or shakes too much like other reviewers. Now due to its size, mine is in a large laundry room on the counter til I figure out where else I can place it downstairs in my house (office is upstairs but I'm pregnant so trying not to go up there). When you get the office features of a scanner and ADF, these printers do need some space! Anyway, other reviewers who think this printer is noisy and/or shakes too much, maybe they have it sitting on an inexpensive desk or something with not much substance under it? I could be wrong since none of them mentioned where their printers are sitting. Anyway, I've never been one to have the latest and greatest but I got a good deal on it when it was released and I feel this should meet my needs for a good while to come!
+41points
42of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new LIFETIME printer

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tigard
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After sending the HP D110a model back, I exchanged it for this new model. And this printer certainly exceeds my expectations. It doesn't lose connection when using wireless feature, it prints SUPER fast, and the presence itself is cool. When I tried to print a sample picture, I clicked "print" and the moment I turned away and messaged a friend and turned back it was done with OUTSTANDING quality.
For some you may think this is too pricey, but its a printer well worth buying that may last you a lifetime, especially when it has all the features you could every want in a printer.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Software; Need to Buy Adobe Acrobat

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
For $300, this is a pretty bad printer and there are many inconveniences compared to Canon products. For $150, I would be satisfied since it frees up money to buy the software you need to make good use of the printer.
Scanner:
1. the software does not allow you to reorder the scanned images prior to saving as PDF. The competing Canon software does. One HP rep told me I had to spend $300 more for Adobe Acrobat writer. Good job! It’s a tough decision; buy a Canon for $300 with functional software or an HP for $300 and another $300 for Adobat Acrobat writer. If you are content on a solution, you can download “freeware” PDF utility software, but they’re not straight-forward to use and they all utilize watermarks in some manner to emboss your images unless you buy the software. It’s an inconvenience, but you can survive.
2. the software does not allow you to feed unrelated documents through the feeder tray all at once - to save time - and save them as separate groups of PDF files. For example, you have 10 medical bills for April and 10 medical bills for May to put through the feeder. The software only allows you to save each page as 20 individual PDF files or a single 20 page PDF file. It does not allow you to save the April bills as a single 10 page PDF file and the May bills as another 10 page PDF file. The competing Canon software does. This is a great under-utilization of the feeder tray. Customer support is useless in providing a solution for this and they are not even able to escalate it to the correct group that could look in to it. Again, this is an inconvenience but you can survive by feeding the 10 page April bills, save them as a PDF and then feed the 10 page May bill, and then save them as another PDF. That's an extra trip to the printer and an extra effort to rerun the software steps.
3. the software is poor at auto-cropping folded documents that have been mailed; it recognizes the first section prior to the fold and throws out the rest of the document. Again it’s an inconvenience, but you can survive by turning the option off. I haven't had this problem with my Canon software.
4. the scanner is slow and poor at creating duplex images; sometimes it smothers the images and you get a “paper jam” error even when it’s not jammed.
5. the software does not allow you to reorder shortcuts for the most common functions via the computer onscreen software. For example, you can create one command/shortcut to do a duplex scan and another to do a simplex scan, each saving the scanned image to different directories. Unfortunately, the last shortcut you created is the first on the list. A caveat is you can reorder it on the LCD screen, but not on the computer onscreen software. Often, you don't stand next to the printer and operate it with the hard buttons and LCD screen. Instead, you use the computer onscreen software. Again it’s an inconvenience.
Printer:
1. not much help of a review here since it subjective, but the print quality is nothing stunning. But it’s acceptable.
2. though this is not related to performance, the printer sounds very loud and clunky.
3. no comment on ink usage yet.
Networking: it constantly looses connection during sleep mode. I upgraded my wireless router firmware and it seemed to resolve the problem for a week now. I got this tip from the online support forum. It’s an inconvenience if you are not able to upgrade your router firmware or if the router is too old. But you can survive by turning off/on the printer and rerun the diagnostic tool to re-establish connection.
Paper Tray: often folded documents come out jammed. There is not enough headroom between the feeder input tray and the outlet tray, so you often have to remove finished documents from the outlet tray to prevent jams. Again, it’s another inconvenience.
Fax: I have not tried it yet.
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good printing job

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:alabama
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The printer does all I need it to do. However, the ink does not go very far
and its very expensive...also, if 1 color runs out...you have to replace it to
get the printer to print at all...2 black inks...1 which I am having problems
finding...It cost about $60 to replace all five ink cartridges.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Printing but Major Connectivity Problems

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased the C410A for the ePrint and Wireless connectiion capabilities. Unfortunately, it failed to connect to my router either wirelessly or wired. It is the first wireless device (out of 6+ devices) that could not connect to my router. I checked the internet and found many cases of HP wireless printers with the same problem but none of the suggested solutions worked for me. Tech support was useless so I returned the printer to the store.
Print quality (when connected by USB) was very good though.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not Feed

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Most of the time this printer does not auto feed HP paper
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good printer, but apps are junk on this model

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just picked up this printer two days ago. It prints very good photos and text documents and printing on the go works as designed, though there's no way I've found to get duplex printing to work with this. It even prints directly from my iPhone 3GS running iOS 4.2.1 and can scan to it as well. The printer did disconnect from the ePrint service once while I was setting up the PC software, but I'm hoping that's a fluke since the rest of the the time it stayed connected (wired).
The biggest downside I've found is that the ePrint "apps" feature is completely useless on this model. None of the apps demoed on HP's site work with this printer since it doesn't have a touch screen. In total there are 12 apps currently available for this printer, which range from printing out news and weather to printing out "coloring books". None of these are particularly useful. Forget about using this printer as a replacement for your PC. None of the functional apps like Google Maps, Snapfish or Fandango are available. You do get Coupons, but there's no way to select which ones to print so it prints all of them (without duplex). Even apps like printing out holiday cards aren't available. If you want real apps, you'll need to pick up a touch screen model.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the printer

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were looking for a All-in-One printer. As all of our other hardware is HP we wanted an HP product. The sales rep talked me into an Epson printer. I wasnt happy with it at all. We took the Epson back and bought the HP Photo Smart Premium e-printer. Couldnt be happier. This HP e-printer was cheaper, better built than the Epson, it has Apps built in, and most importantly, it prints beautifully. It was easy to set up and looks very nice beside all of my other HP 'stuff'.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer beware

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have the c410 (not the a) and I have printed 42 pages, replaced ink cartridges twice and now I constantly get an out of paper message. The printer looked good from the features but it turned out to be the biggest piece of garbage I have ever wasted my money on.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had no problems with this printer. In fact, it is wonderful, not at all like some of the negative reviews that I have read. It is faster communicating wirelessly than some of the previous HP wireless printers and it is sooo quiet and does not shake my desk at all. The smooth, quiet operation really impressed me. It has done everything I have asked it to do. It's easy to set up and operate and tells me everything I need to know about my ink levels. In the past, I've had problems cancelling print jobs quickly and this one does it in a snap. The photos that I have printed are of good quality. Still, not like a professional printing service, but very nice for an at-home print job. I have some photos framed that I printed off this printer and folks who do not know that I printed them could not tell the difference until I told them.This printer is worth every penny that it costs. It looks great, too. This is a purchase you won't regret.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Bang for the Buck!

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St. Joseph, MO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wanting an all in one printer of good quality that doesn't cost an arm and a leg doesn't leave many to choose from. After searching the internet and retail stores this printer is really the only one that I was interested in. The brand, the features, the final cost, and its good looks was the combination that made this HP the next printer to sit on my desk. This printer comes with a tote bag. Not really sure why. Like the fact that it came with the little extra, but a printer cover would of made more since than a tote bag. Printer pretty much set itself up with only minimal input from me. Print quality is good with normal noise level that I'd expect for a home printer. ePrint feature is awesome. I personally won't have a lot of use for it, but it'll be nice to have when I do use it. Scanner/copier works great and is easy to use with the software or buttons on printer.
Pros-Has every feature that I need. Nothing more, nothing less! Standard 2 sided printing. Low cost and great performance.
Cons-Every once in a while seems to print at a slow pace. It wil print a line and stall for a second, print a line and stall for a second. Even on black and white text. Maybe its something I'm doing wrong, not sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST PRINTER EVER!!!!!

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer from Best Buy because it was similar to the other printer that was no longer avaliable. I have found this printer AMAZING! I have printed more than 500 pictures and just now am resupplying the ink. This printer is great for any college (they will never have to buy ink constantly), buisness personal, scrapbooker, or anyone in general. I will not trade this printer for any other printer. It is fast, clear, and just functional all around.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PRINTERS

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I AM TIRED OF THESE COMPANY'S THAT KEEP CHANGING THE WAY PRINTERS ARE MADE , I HAVE A HP 7280 THAT STOPPED WORKING THE MONTH AFTER THE 2 YEAR WARRENTY ENDED. I TOOK IT BACK TO B.B TO GET IT FIXED THANKFULLY I HAD A BACK UP THE HP7180 THE PRINTERS TODAY HAVE ONLY 3 COLOR AND 1 BLACK . BOTH MINE HAVE 5 COLOR AND 1 BLACK WHY DO THEY CHANGE THE COLOR CARTAGES IN THE NEW PRINTERS . OH I KNOW SO YOU WILL HAVE TO SPEND MORE MONEY ON INK I KNOW THAT 'S HOW THEY MAKE MORE MONEY .
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Resolution

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orono
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Thoose are having troubles finding saved documents files that you printed off and are not found in my documents file. They are located in a very hard place to find in your computer. Example: I printed a documet from Microsoft Office Word. Open up Word document window. Just click on Word document icon next to save icon. A new window will open up in this window you will find list of documents their choose the one you are looking for. Why they do not get put in my documents file is beyond me. If you click on file icon only takes you to my documents file. So I imagine this will work in other software applications as well.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HP C410 Feature-rich, but ink performance nil

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vienna, VA
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After a series of printer purchases over the last 10+ years, I decided to go back to HP. My first printer was an HP 610 Officejet, and if it hadn't been for lack of speed, I'd still be using it. It actually works to this day. Because of that, coupled with some bad purchases (Brother, for one), I went back to an AiO. The features are tremendous - fax, print, scan, copy and web! However, the number of prints one receives out of a cartridge is abysmal. I'm averaging about 150 pages before I have to purchase a cartridge, which is well below what is advertised, and if I'm printing a hefty proposal for a (government) customer, I better have several cartridges on hand for back up. At $12 a pop for the cartridges, I may as well take it to FedEx/Kinko's and have them print it. The cleaning of the cartridges sucks up the ink, too, so unless one is printing continuously, one may as well write off about 10 - 20% of the ink to cleaning.
One other pesky item that is annoying, which is not exclusive to HP, is the fact that the connections for external media does not allow for any content that is not an image. For example, if I want to print a pdf from a USB drive that I've connected directly to the printer, I can't.
It's time for HP to cough up the ink....don't be so parsimonious!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer - C410a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Scotch Plains,NJ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
installed on a mac today
e-mails send
fax seems to be set up
got printed mail from 2 different windows comps.
going to install on my windows vista tomorrow
i'll write another review after the windows install
unit is working wireless,using router and
airport express(bonjour)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>