HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Officejet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n

hp HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n

HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Print/Fax/Scan/Copy/Web - H711n
Overall rating:
4.096 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(280 reviews) 280
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 280 reviews
5 Stars
166
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
11
1 Star
33
226 out of 280(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quit working 25 days out of 1 yr warranty

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I really liked the printer, but then received an error message that the printhead is damaged. The printer is only 25 days out of the one year warranty...ridiculous. I have read many bad reviews for this printer on other web sites, most complaining of the same problem. I contacted HP tech support, they said it cannot be repaired, and want to sell me a new printer. I have owned six other HP printers and never had a problem. It is very disappointing that this printer seems to be of poor quality. HP needs to correct the problem. I am considering buying another brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stops working after warranty

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was a great printer, copier, fax, scan until warranty ran out. Than error messages- can't fax and paper jam, but I could print from my computer. I tried to reinstall software and update, nothing worked. I changed my computer from Windows XP to Window 7 reinstalled software in new computer. Nothing worked.
Bought new printer different brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lemon

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer has been a total time suck. It didn't work at installation due to a glitch with the print cartridges. Then, after another glitch with the print cartridges later - I had to return the unit and get a refurbished unit. The replacement though was no better. Even after buying new HP print cartridges - it still insists that it needs new cartridges.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too much not needed stuff

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
worst part of this printer is paper tray. why switch to this the 6500 had great paper access and envelopes were simple. now have to remove paper center envelopes and reverse process when done. print is great except very loud. way too much stuff for the average guy ie the email and electronic hook up to phone etc ink way too expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Early failure-look up the HP help forum

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Slidell, la
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Early failure at less than 2 years. Stranded with lots of expensive ink. I looked on the HP forum and no joy, but lots of complaints of early fails just out of warranty. The features are good when it worked. My wife is a teacher and used it to support her school needs frequently.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Short life

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pearland, TX
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
My Officejet 6700 Premium was easy to set up. It worked great, but only for about 15 months. Then it stopped working and said the ink system failed. I did the suggested trouble shooting. No joy. I have about $150 in cartridges. So bummed that it is already dead and so lightly used. Seems like a lemon to me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Failure!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I would not wish this product on my worst enemy! I could stand the noise and slowness that were written up when I purchased the printer. However, the scanner function is totally unreliable. I scan 2 pages, but then it loses connection on the third (wireless routing). Or it says there is no connection and then successfully scans the page a minute later. I've relinked it multiple times by carrying the printer to place it next to the desktop and linking it via Ethernet cable. Doesn't make any difference - still fails intermittently and inconsistently. Now, I've downloaded the "Doctor" which you CANNOT delete - there is no "Close" on the window! All it does is what the installation software CD does - no help at all. Formerly, I had lots of respect for HP and its products, but now I understand why their business is struggIing. Unfortunate!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Prepare to Buy ALL of the Ink

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If you are like me, and you just want to buy a cheap printer to use occasionally for black and white only, DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER. At every given opportunity, it wastes ink of all colors to clean its printerhead, and it uses color ink to print black and white. This is a "feature" that you can't turn off and the printer will refuse to work if any cartridge is low on ink. I have only used this printer for black and white, but I now have to buy color ink cartridges to keep doing so because it uses these in the background no matter what you do. And there are no ways to fool this printer into thinking it has color ink so it can keep using just black ink. I will be throwing this printer away and buying one that actually does what it advertises.
If you like spending all your money on ink in colors that you don't use, then this is the printer for you.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP Is Squeezing Me for Ink

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Plano, TX
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The 6700 work extremely well. It prints as quickly as you would want. The scanner works well too.
However, I really really really get frustrated by the way this thin uses ink. It will self-check itself so often that it will run out of a color without me printing anything. It always seems to run out of color ink. When it does, it won’t let me print in “black in only” mode.
As I am writing this review, I just missed my chance to ship a package at the post office. The printer ran out of Magenta and told me I needed to replace the ink to continue printing. I went to Wal-Mart and purchased one. Then, I installed it and tried to print. It went thru its self-check and decided I was out of yellow. So, I still cannot print. There is no way I actually used any of those colors in the last two month. Even if I did, why didn’t it tell me that the first time so I could have purchased some when I was out? This is at least the 3rd time this has happened to me in the year and a half that I have owned this thing.
I have spent way more that in ink and gas money to buy the ink than I spent on the printer.
Two thumbs Down :(
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been fairly happy with this printer up until this point. It uses ink quickly and has recently started getting paper jams, but have been able to get them out. However, one week after the warranty ran out, the automatic document feeder on the top has stopped working - says there is an original loaded. After an hour on the phone with the rep, my options are to get a new one or trade it in! Can't see getting another HP if this is the lifespan on it. EXTREMELY UNHAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL connectivity

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had an HP Printer for YEARS that worked like a charm. I gave that one to my daughter to buy a new printer with faster fax speed. This thing has been a nightmare since I got it, getting kicked off the wireless network at least once a week. I hooked up my old printer and it works just fine. Do NOT buy this printer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy HP printers

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
My printer ran through the start up ink cartridges quickly, no big deal, so I purchased replacement cartridges. I print 90% black and white and in just a short time the printer tells me I can not print anything since the replacement M (magenta) is depleted, no problem I will print in black and white only for now, well despite the owners manual telling us otherwise, the HP 6700 will not print black and white if a color cartridge is depleted, if you don't believe me do Google search. So I go away on business few a week, after I return home and try to print a contract, oh wait I forgot the M cartridge was out of ink. The error message pops up but this time it is telling me that both the M and Y (yellow) cartridges are depleted. How is it that Y cartridge became depleted over the course of a week that I was away on business if the printed would not print anything because the M cartridge was already depleted? Where did the yellow ink magically deplete too?
UNLESS YOU WANT TO SPEND $100's PER YEAR ON INK, DO NOT BUY THIS OR ANY OTHER HP INK SCAMMING PRINTERS
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

broke after 156 pages

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Idaho
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
I never go to the trouble of writing product reviews, but this printer was such a disappointment that I had to say something. 156 pages into it (you can see how many total pages you have printed online) the thing broke down. Warranty expired.
So I spent $130 on the printer and another $60 or so on new cartridges. Thats $190 total and I was able to print a total of 156 pages. Thats $1.22 per page.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst printer of all time

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this printer for very light business use. Features like WIFI, built in scanner, etc. lured me in. This printer is the most frustrating machine ever. When printing, you are required to have 4 full cartridges. If they are even low, it won't print. On most printers, it tells you they are low but still prints a faded copy. This one won't even attempt a print if it is not 100% perfection on all colors and black. I buy the XL cartridges which are supposed to give me 1000 print outs each. I have had this printer for a year and have had to replace the cartridges about 4 times each, so in theory I should have used over 4000 pieces of paper. Interesting because my single pack of paper of 750 pages is still 3/4 full, so I have printed less than 300 sheets in 4000 sheets worth of ink. It gives you nearly no warning that you are even low- maybe one or two pages worth of notice so you pretty much always need to have a backup if you do not want to be completely paralyzed mid print. It completely refuses to print at all and basically holds you hostage until you have sunk another $100 on ink. I have spent the better part of $600 to print about 300 pages over the past year. It is cheaper to print at Kinkos. If I could return this horrible printer, I would happily do so. DON'T BUY IT!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't print with low ink

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Somerset
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have never used the color ink in this printer. it is less than a year old. Now when I go to print I cannot because my magenta ink is depleted. (when I took it out it was so full it dripped on my floor.)
So I have to buy ink I don't use to be able to even print in grey scale. I think instead I will buy a new printer that only prints Black since the price of the ink will cost about the same.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst printer ever

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ca
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased this printer a year ago but did not use it as much until recently. The features are enticing that it's multi-functional but if the main function of this device is a PRINTER, it is not doing a very good job of it. The printer sucks in multiple pieces of paper causing it to print one document over a span of a few pages and causes jams - I am not even filling the tray with half its capacity. When I print on envelops, the envelops gets jammed and scrunches up where the ink cartridges are located. Also when printing on envelops, several would get sucked in at once as well and I'm only putting a few envelops on the tray. The most envelops I can get out of one printing is 3 as it seems to be the "magic" number to not jam the printer which is really annoying when I am trying to print 100 envelops ie for wedding invitations. The ink does not last very long either and I have the XL ones. The upsides are the scanning feature that allows to send to the computer & printing remotely by sending it via email. I have not used the fax or the web capability. Overall, I wish I used it more at time of purchasing so I can return it. The number of ink purchases so far, I could have purchased a better printer which would be my resolution. I guess for the unbeatable price, you get what you pay for.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product is good, but service poor

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Printer is good; print quality is good as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Printing is awful

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this printer for one year and the printing streaks every color. I have cleaned the printheads over and over and aligned it. I am just out of warranty and dont want to pay a ton to have it fixed. I do not recommend this printer at all!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ink replacement warning issues

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, OH
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good quality printing. Good scanning capability. Noisy, long self-maintenance cycles. My biggest issue with this printer is that after only making half a dozen copies, it said I needed to replace one of the color ink cartridges. HP had a reputation for its printers alerting to replace ink before it was needed, which hikes up costs, but this is absurd. I didn't change the cartridge, and it continues to indicate constantly to change it. For a home business user, this is a problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Printer - H711n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Only lasts a year.

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Alexandria, VA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought my first 6700 in early 2012. We do light office work: mostly sending and receiving faxes, some copying, occasional scanning. I didn't find it all that hard to set up. But I went away for vacation a few months after I got it, and while I was away, it failed. My employee was able to get Staples to give us a new one, which is now completely dead. Also the ink is outrageously expensive, and I RARELY use color, but you can't copy without all the color cartridges in and they "run out" amazingly fast. I use all hp computers both at home and my business, and love them. But I am about to the point of never buying another hp printer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 to next page>>