HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n

hp HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n

HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating:
4.483 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(178 reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 178 reviews
5 Stars
133
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
9
1 Star
9
159 out of 178(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast Printing

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I upgraded from a 8500 and this one is much faster and quieter.. Scanning is faster also. Connection to PC was a breeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything was great

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was impressed by how easy the setup was. Ran the CD that came with the printer. It did all the identification for my network. Even picked up the Passwords needed. One of the easiest configs I have ever done. Prints well. Copies nicely. The only issue I am having is with ePrint from an email. I've sent a couple off fine. It's nice to be able to print at home from my office at work. But sometimes the email are returned as undeliverable. Probably operator error. I'll get it figured out. All in all I highly recommend this printer. If I was shopping for a printer this is the one I would get. I was looking for an Airprint compatible printer from our iPhones. This one did it. I did not have to do a thing on the iPhone. Everything was setup. Just selected print and out it came. Great Job HP..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium!!!

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pleasant Hill, Oregon
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer, FAX, scanner, copier is absolutely fantastic! It is unbelievably easy to operate, and I have been able to eliminate several other machines from my computer station because this one does it ALL!!!! I've had many HP copier/printers over the past 15 years, but I finally stepped into the 21st century after my last printer died, and I bought this one.
I facilitate a support group for people with multiple sclerosis, and nornally print around 200 pages of information for the group each time we meet. This machine will fill all my needs in one machine, and I couldn't be happier with it! It is quiet, and so fast The printing is clear, and the machine makes great copies! I am so pleased that I waited 4 months to buy it, and finally found a printer, scanner, copier, FAX that I, as a 65 year old woman, could operate with ease.
THANK YOU, HP!!!!!!!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was easy to set up and works great with mobile printing and prints outstanding prints.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply an animal; Can handle anything

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
First purchased a LaserJet thinking it was more of an 'office' printer. HP gladly took it back and suggested this printer. I'm a real user in need of something that must print nearly non-stop...and not break the bank in doing so. This is what I call a printer that can fly through any job: color, back-to-back, draft, Best, in-between, etc., and I haven't looked back. My praise goes to HP's support. Simply tops. Second praise goes to the engineers who produced an efficient, quiet, inexpensive (to buy and operate) workhorse. Would I recommend? Yep. An 11 on a scale of 10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far, so awesome!!! Been using this product for about two weeks and I love it. I will update @ the 6 month mark.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice printer, easy to set-up

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Printer arrived a few days after I ordered it, and used my HP EPP discount to get it at a sweet price. Easy to open packaging was plainly marked and easy to remove. Setup was easy, and linking it to my computer and home wireless was effortless. I have not scanned anything yet, but will test that out soon. Printer linked to my iPhone after I downloaded the app as well. Overall, great product for average home use or light office work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Getting less user friendly.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EWS (Embedded Web Server) is not fully compatible with Internet Explorer 11, we now have to use Google Chrome for some of the EWS functions such as changing date and time, setting up speed dial list, etc.
If you depend on speed dial fax numbers a lot, the HP OfficeJet 8600 printer series is not for you.
Accessing speed dial numbers is far from user friendly.
With all previous Officejet printers we could press the speed dial then key in the 2 digit speed dial number and we were there.
We now have to page down on the touch screen (3 speed dial entries at a time), for instance, to get to 45th speed dial number we now have to press the arrow down key 15 times to get to it.
Not good at all.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product comes with old IRIS software

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indiana, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchesed printer from Staples 2/27/2014 Liked the idea of scan to WORD/EXCEL Software is READ IRIS 2012 not READ IRIS 2014 and after registering I'm prompted to pay to upgrade.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall all functions work well

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The printer has great print speed, the scan/copy features have good speed, color and resolution. The only down side I have encountered is the skewing of documents when using the automatic document feeder
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Print head & duplex unit problems!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Canton, MI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased the printer from Sam's Club. Immediately when the print head test started it came back with an error and asked to contact customer support. I unlocked the print head mechanism and locked it back and it fixed the problem. Went through the rest of the tests and was fine. As soon as I printed the test paper, the paper jammed in the duplex unit and got chewed. Removed the duplex unit and cleared the paper and made sure to attach it back firmly. It didn't work and it kept jamming. Gave up and returned the unit back. I will not settle for a refurbished unit instead of my brand new printer. That's just unacceptable. HP needs to recall these printers and replace them with better quality ones.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Many special features.

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a definite upgrade in technology from my last HP which still works and is being passed on to my son for an extra printer. A little more technical than I've had time to study but the picture quality is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stay away

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Huntington Beach
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had the HP 8600 with touch screen ... worked beautifully until right after the warranty expired. Then the touch screen went out. It was so faded that nothing could be read leaving utilizing this printer useless. I could only print when I used the wireless feature from my computer but to use actually stand at the printer and use any of the touch screen features I couldn't. I have done all the fixes that tech support offered which didn't work. They did offer me a small discount to buy another printer. HA What a waste. I would not buy a printer with a touch screen. Before you buy go to HP's message boards and look at all the touch screen issues they have. I'm sorry I spent the money on this. HP's response was sorry we can't fix it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Printhead Issues, proceed with caution.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Mexico
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this printer in Feb 2012 for our small office. We currently have printed 11,522 pages total. It has recently started printing poorly on color print jobs, so based on the maintenance recommendations I cleaned the print head down to the deepest level offered. This however did not improve the quality. To my disappointment, I must concede that the print head is damaged and I will need to replace the printer. I was extremely satisfied with the printer up to this point and I have personally been a long time HP user for printers and computers. I must add at this point that I have also noted a decrease in quality on our most recent purchases of 2 HP computers for my home offices. Hopefully this is not a trend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:VA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is perfect for our needs. Features are easy to use and it works great. Also caught a two day sale and got it for $150 off!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charleston, SC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is fast and efficient with more features than expected.
Print quality is great and it is easy to send directly to e-mail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bourssard, LA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had an older inkjet printer from HP, but wanted something wireless.
I decided on the 8600 and ordered through HP direct. It arrived quicker than I expected and was easy to setup. This printer works well, all of the features are easy to find and use. the dual trays allow me to load paper less often. it makes good scans and I can get rid of my old clunky fax machine. This printer takes less desktop space than that thing did, too.
The only thing I would like to see added is a envelope slot. Taking out the paper in one tray to feed an envelop is more trouble than I expected. Having a neat envelope makes a better impression on customers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Winchester, KY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
We had the 8500 and loved it. The 8600 is that good and better. Prints beautifully from mobile devices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lacks Office Functionality

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is not an Office quality or functional printer. It is limited to Letter Size paper for all but simplex manual print and scanning (Single sided manual operation).
- Does not auto detect paper in the auto sheet feeder within the scanning software.
- Does not duplex any paper sizes except 8"x11" - any odd sizes within this format cannot be duplexed.
- Cannot scan mixed mode paper sizes
- Cannot print mixed mode page sizes
- Will not print from second tray without manual selection PRIOR to the print job
- Draft Print (to save costly ink) is lousy quality compared to previous HP Officejet models forcing use of higher ink usage of Normal, or Best for reasonable results.
- Scan software has reduced functionality and has a number of usability issues that cause additional steps (not Office Friendly)
- ADF (automatic document feeder) does not have tray or catch bin for any paper larger than letter size. Pushing larger pages onto the floor.
- Touch screen has reduced functionality from previous version and has mis-calibrated touch areas which push in in to the video help mode wasting time.
Other Thoughts: In discussion with HP regarding the reduced functionality of the 8600 over previous Officejet models (8500, 73xx, etc) their response is that HP only includes the functionality that customers want which is based on complaints.... In all actuality, they built the 8600 to address the duty cycle issues in the 8500 and several others that were costing HP too much on warranty. So what HP did is gut much of the mechanical elements from the 8500 to produc the 8600 series. However, when the gutted the mechanical elements, this eliminated most of what would be considered and Office level device.
So basically, this was an HP cost saving measure that customers must decide if they support.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Premium e-All-in-One - N911n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The product is not working and if someone with a l

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Barnegat, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1)My printer stopped printing. 2) It is extremely slow to print anything.. It took about 2 min to print out a status report. 3) it does not receive faxes. It did when first set up. 4) Been on phone for 25 min with anna in India and no success. Her supervisor got on the line and i could not understand his speech. The screen says that" Paper detected does not match paper size or type selected" I explained this to Anna and she set up to print out a status report.Help, Help or tell me where to return this printer.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 to next page>>