HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-in-Ones & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n

Prints, scans, copies, faxes Speeds up to 10 pages/minute black, 7 color 2.36" touchscreen Ethernet, Wi-Fi Automatic duplexing Printing PC-free from the Web with print apps HP ePrint for printing from a mobile device
Overall rating:
3.973 / 5
4
 / 
5
(370 reviews) 370
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 370 reviews
5 Stars
203
4 Stars
65
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
29
1 Star
41
282 out of 370(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

inconvienient 2 sided printing

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Travel FULL time in SW USA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WARNING: if you think you will use the 2 sided printing function for mass printing you should be aware of printing distortion of your pages. 2 things happen that you may not like; 1 - drying: a big pause occurs before the back side is printed. 2 - top and bottom cannot be printed in. Your normally printed page is squished leaving about an inch of blank space at top and bottom. I guess this is so the page turner can grab the paper. No clue about this in the description that I found.
+75points
78of 81voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Printer

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought the printer after reading reviews that were 50/50. I have determined the lower 50 percent have no idea how to hook up a printer. The ease of hooking this up and the performance are amazing. It is time consuming, but I had to assign it to a secure wireless network and add 5 laptops and one desktop. I love this printer. My only caveat that I would mention is printer cartridge alignment. I have found a print head alignment needs to be done more often (once a week), but the benefits of 1200 pages per cartridge versus my old 190, who cares, it does an auto alignment anyways, you don't even have to scan the sheet anymore. I would recommend this completely to anyone. This outperforms my office "Pro" series easily.
+37points
37of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Mac/iPad Compatible Printer

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houstln, TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
With little trouble I was able to quickly set this wireless printer up to work with my MacBook Pro and iPad. The internet printing from anywhere was a great plus. The quality and speed are acceptable and I like the fact I can scan up to 50 pages for PDF conversion. Can print directly from the iPad and I like the self-updating feature that these web-enabled printers now have.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOOOOVE THIS PRINTER

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ATLANTA GEORGIA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AFTER LOTS OF RESEARCH I SELECTED THIS PRINTER. I AM A REALTOR AND I DO LOTS OF PRINTING. THIS PRINTER IS A DREAM. IT SCANS, PRINTS AS WELL AS FAX WITH LIGHTING SPEED. GREAT FOR THE MONEY. I HARDLY HAVE TO GO INTO THE OFFICE, WITH THIS PRINTER I CAN WORK FROM HOME. HAD TO CALL HP SUPPORT FOR HELP WITH SETUP. SUPPORT WAS PATIENTAND KNEW THE PRODUCTS IN AND OUT. THEY WERE ABLE TO GET INTO MY COMPUTER ONLINE AND HELP SET IT UP FOR ME. I AM 100% HAPPY WITH MY SELECTION....
LOVE THE TOUCH FEATURE.....
THANKS HP
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SOLID PERFORMER

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been an HP user since 1994. Some good, some bad--- this one ranks as the best of the bunch. Seriously considered Epson and Canon but in the end, went with this unit, as it offered the features I needed, with a price that fit our budget. Solid performer, good speed, handles the basics well and outside of a few minor glitches (mosly mine) setting wireless up, everything has worked flawlessly. Only time will tell-- HP's have a habit of performing well for 2 to 3 years and then------- hope this one has a differnt DNA... Four star rating is based on long term durability issues.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full-Featured Printer

PostedMarch 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:McKinney, TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer has the most features for the price that I have ever owned. I don't understand all the negative reviews. The set-up was very easy (just follow the instructions provided); the printer's system almost connected to my wireless network by itself -- I'd never done that before; the two-sided duplex printing worked fine; the controls/set-up features are very intuitive -- you don't need a detailed manual; the wireless printing communication between my laptop and the printer is somewhat slower than with a USB connection, but that is to be expected; the web application and e-print features are nice add-ons that I probably won't use too much, but they all worked. I strongly recommend this printer.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer Overall

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought online at HPshopping on Cyber Monday for a great price. Has all the features I was looking for and was a simple setup. The wireless connection was so easy, followed the directions and the wireless worked instantly. This printer is pretty noisy at start-up compared to other HPs I have owned but prints quick and clear. A nice feature is that the top of the paper tray locks up when you are changing paper or switching to envelopes.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love HP, but this one is giving us grief!

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We have had HP printers and computers for over ten years. This is our third printer. I cannot seem to connect it to the internet, must be because we have cable phone lines and there is no instructions for cable, only dial-up and DSL. The photo quality is poor, and now the alignment of the printer heads has failed about 5 times, regardless of the pinhead cleaning and other maintenance we have performed. Our black and white prints are all misaligned and don't even ask about the photos! It is time to call in for help or return the beast.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only negative about this printer so far is the software does not have the HP Solutions Center where you have complete contol of the printer from one program. It was very useful this printer takes a little more time to set up.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Printer - Performs as advertised

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hi i have been using this printer for just about a month now. It does as it is advertised. Prints, scans, copies and does the double sided deal. I also set up my wireless network and included this printer on my cloud and it does a great job there also.
However there are a few things i would suggest to improve the printer. First do something about the "preparing to print" noise. It is not extremely loud but it is just loud enough when its doing its prep time before printing to be annoying as heck.
Also do something about the preparing to print routine, if you let it sit for a day and you go to print it goes through a long prep routine. You can hear it do "this and do that" and makes " this noise and that noise", "this click and that click" for about 30 to 45 sec and then it prints.
Also do something about the finish on the printer, it is a total fingerprint magnet and the fingerprints are very hard to get off once you get your hands on the plastic.
Other than those items i love the printer and it works fantastic for me. Just what i needed.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

full of features,but broke in two weeks

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer is full of great features, and easy to use, but mine broke after less than two weeks of light use, and has to be replaced. Very disappointed.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami Beach,Fl
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just love it. Prints from anywhere in the world to my E printer with the email address. Very quiet. The machine is great looking and the touch screen is so easy to use.Very user friendly machine.State of the art. Can also print from iphone and ipad.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 6500 Plus all in one

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Liberty, iA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great product for the price. My old HP 6500 stopped working and I just bought the same model #, since I still had ink cartridges to use and I did not want to waste them. However this model is now all touch screen, which will take some time to get used to using. It would have been nice if HP would have made the touch screen panel moveable, so it would be easier to view from what ever position you were sitting or standing at.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helpfull Tips IP Address

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After buying this product today I read some reviews on HP board, I know my process should of been the other way around. Anyways after reading a couple of posts pertaining to certain issues on this All In One I was compelled to see if I could maybe help a couple of you. Please let me say now I'm not a HP Tech nor work for them in anyway, just an average Joe who has vast knowledge on networking and trouble shooting.
I would like to first address the customer's who stated that
"when this unit comes out of idle the printer losses it IP address/changes IP".
First of all if this is happening to you, there's a simple work around for that and I will disclose it shortly. By me having my printer less than 6 hrs and haven't noticed anything wrong yet, I will most certainly will let my unit idle and see what happens.
Now for the work around, my suggestion would be to set a static IP on your printer so the IP should never changed unless you rest your setting of some type. By setting a Static IP regardless of it going idle your IP address "should" be the same every time & sync back up with your network. If this is not the case then you may want to of course make sure your using the latest software/driver's etc. And once you have done these things and your still in the same boat you will need to contact HP support, I assure you that they will ask if you are using the latest driver's! And if your not they will have you hang up go download them and if it fails! Call them back. If this is a known issue and there's not a fix I would just replace it, POP,Return to (P)oint (O)f (P)urchase within the retailer return policy. This would be my advice from one Joe to another.
Hopefully this fixes your problem even thou I feel that the unit shouldn't be changing it's IP when coming out idle, but this may be happening due to some type power saving feature etc only HP can answer that officially. Still by setting a static IP should correct that issue, a simple fix either way.
Good Luck,
sUperTech
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great printer, if not in a rush!

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was replacing an HP 6100 that has been amazing! I love the All in One features, and needed a wireless version. The reviews I read had me really question whether this would be a good purchase or not, but the sale price plus the summer discount and free shipping made it a deal I couldn't refuse! I got it today and it was able to print in mere minutes. However, it took me a lot longer to get it loaded on my laptop to print in wireless mode. It wasn't a problem with the printer! You just have to be patient and willing to try all the suggested trouble-shooters. It turned out, my firewall wouldn't allow it to communicate. I had to turn it and the virus protection off, restart, and there it was! Then, just turn it all back on. But that took me about an hour or so to work through and solve. The printer works great, including the duplex mode. However, I do agree with some of the reviews about the slowness. It takes a lot of time to "get ready" to print, noise, stuff loading, etc. Once it starts, it zips right through the printing. So it might be a problem if you are printing in a hurry. The quality is great, though! I love the front touchscreen feature. There are some things you just have to figure out or read through the user manual you will have on your computer versus a paper copy. Of course, I have only had it a day, but I have tried all the features and they work great. I hope it gives me the great service my 6100 has...and it still works great after 7 years! One question I have is the tiny print cartridges. It will be interesting to see how long they last based on my normal usage with the 6100. I do like that you only replace the color that runs out.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome job hp

PostedApril 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im not sure what the negative reviews are about. This Printer is awesome. It is a mini computer in and of itself. Yes it did take me a little longer to set up than my other printers but this guy is amazing. The two sided print feature is GREAT... I have had a several other printers the last being a brother but the officejet 6500a plus all in one is awesome. I've done emailed jobs to it the wireless function works flawlessly even after stand by mode. Copy is great, Scan is great, Fax is digital and awesome on both sides thats incoming and outgoing for those of you that cant follow directions and think this printer is anything but one of the best. Color printing awesome photo printing is great. The only thing even remotely negative I can say about it is some of the set up features were hard to find but with just fifteen - twenty minutes with hp support all is working flawlessly. There is one thing to be aware of though if you are doing a lot of two sided documents and then single make sure you are familiar with the following : Go to start menue select - devices and printers- right click on hp printer and select (printer Preferences) make sure you select none for print on both sides if you are doing single sided documents or envelopes or the printer will turn the paper around. n It literaly only takes twelve seconds. GREAT JOB HP!!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sounded great, but didn't last

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've owned this printer just long enough for my warranty to be expired. All the features sounded great when I bought it, but now I'm having second thoughts. Don't get me wrong, in some ways this printer is great, but in others it falls short. Here are some key points that I feel are worth sharing:
1. e-print feature - I have to say hands down this is the number one reason I bought this printer. When this function works right, it is great. We have our printer upstairs, but do a lot of 'work' from our laptops downstairs. It's nice not to have to take the laptops up with us when we need something printed. Unfortunately, it only seems to print when the computer is not in 'sleep' mode. If it's been used recently and still 'awake' the feature works great. I use an 8500 e-print at work that doesn't require this, so I'm not sure if it's a setting or an actual problem with the printer, but it's a pain nonetheless. FEATURE RATING: FAIL
2. Duplex printing - this is probably the second reason I chose this printer. I was sick and tired of having to use a ton of paper or manually flip the pages if I wanted to print on both sides (which I had to do with the Lexmark printer this replaced). This feature worked great for the better part of a year, but now I can't even use it - it literally jams on every page. FEATURE RATING: FAIL
3. Color printing - for what I print, I had to have a color printer. I have no complaints about the color quality or picture resolution. For printing color images/documents this product really delivers. FEATURE RATING: PASS
4. Ink cartridge longevity - this is another key reason I picked this particular printer. The old Lexmark was so expensive to buy short-lived cartridges that it was almost the same price to give that printer away and buy this one than it would have been to buy replacement cartridges for the old printer - and its extra capacity cartridges didn't even match the basic cartridges for this one. I do recommend passing on the standard cartridges though and buying the extra capacity ones. FEATURE RATING: PASS
5. Scanning and copying - as with color quality, I have no complaints about scanning and copying with this unit. The quality is great, the speed is just fine, and either way it's easy to use. FEATURE RATING: PASS
Overall, would I recommend this printer to someone else? It wouldn't be my first choice. Sure, it does basic printing, scanning and copying in color and b/w just fine, but with the e-print and duplex features falling so far short I just can't see spending the money for these 'extra' features that don't make the grade.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the best all-in-one

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California Bay Area
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The good news is that the print looks good. Now, here's the bad news.
1) One cannot wirelessly scan to a Mac computer
2) The printer is balky. Sometimes it can take 5 or 10 minutes or more to start to print and then the printing itself can take 5 minutes more or less just to do one page.
3) From time to time the printer must be unplugged and re-plugged to make it work at all.
4) For whatever the reason the printer has stopped being able to tell me the status of my ink supply. Since 4 cartridges are in use this makes efficient ink replacement impossible.
For a Mac, I'm not so sure I would purchase an HP printer again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst purchase ever

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
We have had good luck with previous Photosmart models, but this machine is cheaply made. Jams frequently and is not the printer to choose when trying to print photographs. Color smears, lines are present in most copies and support has been little help. We have decided to return this, but of course, we are over the 21 day limit, so they want us to pay for a replacement. Our recommendation, pass on this model.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - E710n
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good printer but with drawbacks

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I agree with another reviewer. 6500A plus drops the wireless IP address after idle periods.
Biggest complaint is regarding ink status and warnings. The printer will warn ( once) that ink is low. Like ALL ink jet printers I have used, this warning is SEVERAL days before the ink is actually out. When I get the warning, I set out my new cartrage and WAIT for the OUT MESSAGE which NEVER comes. Now having had all four ink colors run out, there is no warning message to say out of ink. I have even checked the ink gauge but it never reports "out" -- only says "low". I have not seen an "out" message in the 2 or 3 months and now on my second set of all colors. Message to HP --- It is a real pain that there is no OUT indication until you get a printed page with stripes of a missing color. HP, having owned many HP printers, I am disappointed.
Only other comment is I have never got the printer to do two sided. I have selected but never worked, could be me, but if so, this feature is not very intuitive and I have no time to fish out a feature that is not easy to use.
Hits: nice speed and color.
Misses: ink out warning, looses network wireless IP address
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 to next page>>