HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-in-Ones & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a

Prints, scans, copies, faxes Speeds up to 32 pages/minute black, 31 color 2.36" touchscreen Ethernet networking Printing PC-free from the Web with print apps HP ePrint for printing from a mobile device
Overall rating:
3.96 / 5
4
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 124 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
9
1 Star
14
91 out of 124(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Printer Ever!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St. Petersburg, FL
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typically, I don't bother to write a review for a product but I had to go on line and write one for this printer. It is the best HP printer we have ever owned--bar none. Scanning is easy. It prints lickity split fast. Color is amazing. I just love our new printer. I would highly recommend this product to anyone on the search for a new, wireless printer. Very happy customer! I have no affiliation with this company whatsoever.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So far I have only used the printer part of the unit. I have had several paper jams that are difficult to remove. Even when the paper doesn't jam, the top of the page has a kink to it and often a smug of ink. I have not figured out the problem. This was a replacement printer for an old HP photosmart that I could no longer use because it was not compatible with my new HP computer. Wish I could go back to the old printer! Perhaps if you are computer savy you will have better luck than I.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Impressive!

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought my printer at Costco, got it home & unpacked, saw the really dinky ink cartridges & felt bad about my purchase. They were only 1/3 of the size of my previous HP printer's cartridges, & assumed they would only print about 35 pages. Then I checked here & saw that they go 300 pages for the standard & 1200 for the XL, so now I'm happy. How they can get so many pages outta such small cartridges is beyond me. I ran into the same installation problems that a few mentioned. After the software install I went to align the print heads & the printer made grinding sounds for about 5 minutes. Had two sheets jammed inside. Pulled them out & tried again. This time nothing would print. I tried different documents, checked the settings, checked all the cables(I used USB, not wireless). Still nothing would print. I shut down the printer & restarted, then immediately aligned the cartridges & bingo - prints great! I printed a photo onto inkjet paper & it only took about 10 seconds to shoot out a very impressive print. My only reservation about this printer is that the print heads are in the printer, not on the cartridges like previous HP printers. That means if the heads clog, time to buy a new printer. The old ones would last forever because every time you got new cartridges, you got new print heads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Pleased with This One

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We seem to have a hit and miss relationship with HP printers. Loved the 6300 but wasn't wireless, so went to the 6400 which never worked right and so were hesitant to try again, but glad we did. Set up for this 6500 was a breeze and that's important to a not so computer literate person. Wireless works well, scanning is great, copying is good. Don't need the fax so don't know how that works. The only problem we have had is that it won't print Adobe Reader files off the internet. We have to download the files and save them, then we are able to print them. All in all, this is a very good printer for home use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Have always loved HP Printers

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Des Moines, IA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this a-i-o after having to replace the print head on a Kodak four times in the first year. The HP wireless 6500 usually works well but it shakes and is noisy. My main problem is that it quits printing from my computer so I have to turn off the printer and then turn it back on -- which sometimes fixes the problem. Other times, it determines that it should print off-line and I have to find that problem to take off the request. I would love the printer if it didn't stop when I'm in a hurry to print and get on out the door (I am a Realtor). Many times I just keep trying different methods and it ends up printing and I don't know the exact thing I did to get it to print. I have always used HP printers except the one Kodak and have always been very happy with the purchase but this unit keeps having problems so there must be a bug in the system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst HP printer ever owned

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:America's heartland
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been a loyal HP customer for over 15 years. While this printer has great features and the print quality is good, this is the most frustrating printer I have ever owned. The wait time for its calibration is mind boggling. I had a thirty page report to print, it took 14 minutes because of the 3 stoppages so it can recalibrate. If that was the first time or a rare occurrence I would not complain. But it happens ALL THE TIME! Do yourself a favor and move on the next model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easiest set up & go

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rockingham, NC
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this printer after talking to a representative who helped me get the features I needed. Installed the program and I have been using it for 3 weeks and everything is working smoothly. Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New jersey
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This all in one printer is intuitive &very impressive. I have tried the main functions and surprisingly for my low tech skills, worked well the 1 St time.
I highly recommend this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Annoying Printer

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After installing the printer it suddenly stopped working despite several installations. Troubleshoot feature could not fix the problem. This is not an easy wireless printer if you plan to share the printer with other computers. Don't waste your money on this one.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer, Lousy Software

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
First installed on an HP Laptop running Win 7. Tried to follow the start up guide, got as far as loading paper whereupon it tried to feed the whole stack (20) and jammed. All the lights lit, stated to clear paper jam, turn off and turn back on. Did that, same lights lit, same message. Unable to find any users guide on the install disk and gave up for the day. Turned it off and unplugged. Next day, gave it one more try and it worked, but couldn't see my wireless router (about 15 feet away). Install disk directed me to the HP web site for a download which didn't work. Moved it to about 2 feet from the router, and everything installed perfectly.(???). I Still give the printer 5 stars, as the problem was with the software and not the device Now that it works, it's a great printer and worth the hassle. Also, when I installed it on my PC running XP using a USB cable the install disk worked and the printer works through the router.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Officejet 6500A all in one

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Way too much humming and buzzing, clacking and shaking terribly by the printer before it decides to print. I don't like all the drama, quite unlike my previous, quiet, unassuming Lexmark printer that was a workhorse and just printed without making a scene. Not impressed at all. And why bother to offer a USB cable if you're not going to ship it with the printer? The printer was totally useless sitting on my desk until the cable arrived a week later.
Set up was horrible as well. What ever became of the days when you plugged one end of the cable into the computer and printer, and the other end into the outlet and let it rip? I have never been so confused by the instuctions that went with the machine. Couldn't find the answer online either. Took me 45 minutes just to find the phone support number. Overall set up time totalled two days as a result. Not a happy customer and not about to recommend this product to my friends.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY THIS ONE!

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Springfield, MO
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is my 2nd HP printer. Loved the first one and used it for 5 years before upgrading. This new one I have had for about a month and a half and have spent over $100 in ink and I don't make that many copies. Printing is very slow compared to my older printer. All in all. I will be junking this one and buying from Epson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Printer Ever

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:atlanta, ga
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have never had so many problems installing a printer before. The software crashed on both XP and 7. USB connection was a nightmare and caused all of my printers to be deleted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

710a model is great!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bay Area, CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found this model of printer easy to set up and all the features work beautifully. Delivery from the HP online store was easy and information provided very supportive of purchase and decision. I had been using a Canon which was less straightforward. The only problem I had initially was understanding how to use the commands on the printer. They are hidden unless you know where to press the button.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A little disappointed

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ATL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I either was unlucky to buy a "monday-unit" or then the wireless modem in these units does not like Mac's or Apple's wireless (Airport) network routers.
The scanner feature works 10% of the time and the printing feature is a hit or miss.
It says it is connected to my wireless network, but it cannot find my Mac.
I have little better luck when trying to print with my HP netbook, but again the scanner feature is more a miss than a hit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good features and prices are satisfactory
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

could not be happier!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome product, awesome performance, super awesome and super easy set-up. LOVE IT!!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent combination of price and features

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second multi-function printer and I can’t be more pleased. The setup was very simple (I’ve got mine hard wired to my network) and the quality prints are great. I’ve got a PC, Mac, iphone and iPad that all print to this and it works great. My only concerns are that the first page out takes a bit of time as the printer prepares to print and the ink is a bit pricey. A great overall multi-function printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

3rd printer

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:sun city az
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I`m not an expert on printers, but this one seems to work good. there was a hassle on set up that I had to overcome before it would work. But once running it prints good and clear.
Buckshot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6500A e-All-in-One Printer - E710a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is very good for our needs

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We are satisfied with the customer service especially the initial person that we talked to who answered all of our questions. This was the main reason for us purchasing the model and type of printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>