HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Printer or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray

hp HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray

HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
29 out of 35(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works as advertised

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Plainview, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
This product works as advertised and is very easy to set up. It fits in under the printer in the slots as designed. Very pleased with this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the right product

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Was the wrong tray. Threw it away and ended up buying a new printer
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great feature

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a bit of trouble finding the additional tray in Canada. So I went to the States and found it know problem. Product number CN548A. Not available in Canada unless you buy the HP Pro 8600 premium. Purchased at Costco, says on the box that you can buy as an option. But it doesn't say you can't buy it in Canada. So I guess you have to get creative and look to the South. Really like the additional tray, know more removing and changing paper stocks. keep your 8.5 by 11 in the lower tray. Put envelopes, specialty paper, invoice paper in the upper tray, just follow the user guide it really easy. Excellent product guys
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solved the problem

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Scottsdale
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I didn't realize that when I bought the Officejet 8600 Printer that it didn't have a built-in tray for photo paper. After swapping the paper I needed each time I wanted to print, the separate second tray made sense. Be sure to read the instructions in the PDF manual, because they will explain that tray #2 is only supposed to hold regular paper. Use tray #1 for photo paper. Use setup options to define tray #2 as the default tray for 8.5 x 11 paper. This has solved all my printing needs.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Mexico
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tray so that I wouldn't have to switch out from letter to legal size paper in the middle of doing something. Most of the time I keep letter size paper in it, just to keep the drawer closed (and keep the dust out of it). Had the opportunity to see the switchover in action when my top tray ran out of paper and it worked beautifully. It was so easy to set up. I would highly recommend the second paper tray, especially if you do a lot of printing. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It! Does exactly what it was meant to do.

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ND
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I think the key to this product is knowing in advance what it is capable of and making a couple of changes to the printer settings, and the printer software settings. Pull it out of the box and set your printer on top of it, simple as that. Not even a wire to hook up. They couldn't have built this simpler to install. It does only handle regular size 8 1/2 x 11 inch paper only. No other size. But use this as your default tray and use the original tray for your other tasks such as envelopes, legal, or 4 x 6 photos. Once I figured that out, I love it. You just need to go into the printer settings on the printer itself and change the default tray to tray #2. Do the same on the HP printer software on your computer or when the printer box opens when you hit print. I keep standard paper of course in this new tray (#2) (and have set it as the default tray), and envelopes or 4 X 6 photo paper in the standard tray (#1).
Some have bashed this product because they thought it was going to be an adjustable size paper tray like the standard one. The HP description clearly states that this is a plain paper tray only, for up to 250 sheets. All other types and sizes can be printed out of the standard adjustable tray. Others have bashed it because they couldn't figure out how to change the default tray setting in two places. I wish the printer could just pick which tray automatically for every type of paper too, but it's just not the way it is. Which every type of media you are printing to the most, pick that tray as your default tray. For everything else you simply need to tell it to print to the other tray after you select print. That takes less than 5 seconds and it still saves you all of the hassle of pulling out your plain paper and switching it every time you want to print on something else. It will raise your printer by 3 1/2 inches but save you time.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tray choice impossible to set and maintain

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Belmont, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The reason to have two trays is to keep different media (e.g., plain paper and envelopes) in two convenient locations. Thsi device fails miserably. It keeps defaulting to one tray or the other regardless of how you hav set them either on the machine console or in the HP program on the computer. Review of the internet shows that this is a common problem. Very frustrating. IS THERE A SOLUTION TO THIS???
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Setup should be easier

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bloomington, Il
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Setting up the default trays is very frustrating. I bought the second tray thinking one would be envelopes and the other paper. Not only do the apps require the trays to be selected but so does the printer. And then out on Google there is a result saying that this printer does not handle envelope printing very well - put 5 envelopes only in the tray. Seems the printer does not retain settings per tray.
It will work but not efficiently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product doesn't meet my expectations.

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kailua Kona, Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this product to feed envelopes thru my printer. It only feeds paper. I switched out and used paper in this tray, however, it doesn't feed paper when printing a scanned copy or printing off the internet. Intermittenly prints and not consistently printing from this 2nd tray. I don't see a fix for this problem. Can you reccommend a fix besides switching trays between both tray feeders?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wireless

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Littleton, Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My wireless connection comes and goes all the time. I have to keep reinstalling. Can't get any help from HP. Stinks. However, when it does work, the copies and prints are good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too many parts.

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After contacting customer service to find out about feeding envelopes on this model, I was told the printer does not have the capacity. I needed to manually take out the paper tray with the paper and load an envelope. Frustrated, I decided to get an additional paper tray to handle envelops and legal size paper. I did not need any of the other parts that come with this product -- just the tray.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I need it.

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wayne, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good feature and convenient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor choice

PostedJune 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:wyoming
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Soft ware does not communicate efficiently to change between trays. Does not recoginize envelopes often. If using as alternate tray for legal tray is exposed to dust ect. as it does not have a cover to protect.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CALL INTO CUSTOMER SERVICE IT WILL HELP

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Palm Springs, CA.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok I ordered the extra drawer and could not get it to pick between envelopes and paper nothing I did in the set up helped at all to make it totally automatic in picking between the two paper/envelope.
So I assume others have had this problem here is the FIX, Call customer service for tech support and they will get it right for you it took awhile due to them having to take command of my computer and printer. Ok they went in and changed something to make it work you need to both change things on the print setup on the pc and the printer itself in its set up on it's screen, What I do not know, Sorry. Anyway it now works very well every time, if I print mail it takes a envelope if I print a letter it takes a piece of paper so now I gave this high marks due to it being a easy fix JUST ASK FOR HELP it is so cool not to have to get up change the paper to envelopes and damage the paper having to throw it away getting back up to put the paper back in after the envelopes and so on and so on. one bad thing it really comes with no instructions at all nothing. I am very happy now I would buy ten of these if I had ten printers little joke.
This is sleepersteve
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

need to cover opening when used with legal paper.

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:WYOMING
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
needs legal paper cover
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb addon

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will easily accommodate large faxes or printouts without having to refill paper. Works well with this printer including the duplexer. Exceeded expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Winchester, VA
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used many previous HP printers and all in ones. This second tray closes so the paper is protected thereby keeping the printer freer from dust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes this Printer Perfect

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adding this second tray has increased the usefulness of my printer immensely. Now I can keep stock paper in one tray and specialty paper (envelopes, small stock, etc.) in the other -- all without constantly pulling out trays and switching paper.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not automatic

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Midwest
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The printer does not automatically select the proper tray. It has to be selected with each print job.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 e-All-in-One Printer 250-sheet Paper Tray
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not easy to set up

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wellington, CO
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The second tray works great! The trouble I had was having to set up each program I have to use the second tray as my default tray. Once I set the printer up I felt like that should have been the last time to set up this feature, but every program I have used I have to set this feature up. Now that my set up is completed everything works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.