HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-in-Ones & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a

Prints, scans, copies, Web Built-in wireless 802.1 1b/g/n 4.3" color touch display Printing from mobile devices via HP ePrint
Overall rating:
3.491 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(277 reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 277 reviews
5 Stars
108
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
21
1 Star
63
134 out of 237(57%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Review 21 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

C309A

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had HP printers for over 20 years. None of them lasted forever but worked well until death. This one is junk. First one died in about one month. HP replaced with a recon. Spends more time adjusting itself than it does printing. Noisy. Consumes ink like it is some kind of addict. A lot of jams and I use HP paper. Fax feed never worked well. And it died just out of warranty. That said, when it worked it worked well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Where HP products belong, in the trash

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am extremely disappointed with the printer. I received the printer as a Christmas gift exactly a year and 20 days ago. The printer was purchased approximately a month before that, give or take a few days. I began using the printer within the first week that I had received it. I used it on a semi-regular basis. I printed no more than 75 various prints. The cartridges are supposed to be able to print far more prints than 75, 500 I believe.
After about 10 months, about 60 prints, all of my ink levels were very low. After running my black ink until my prints were barely legible, I decided to replace the cartridge. I replaced only the main black cartridge because I did not print in color often.
I replaced the cartridge exactly as I had initially installed the first ones I had used. I printed about 2 - 5 prints when the error message "incompatible printerhead" appeared. I believed 'printerhead' was the ink cartridge, so I purchased another ink cartridge paying special attention to whether or not I had purchased the correct cartridge, I had. I installed the second cartridge and then the error message "incompatible printerhead" appeared again.
My warranty was supposedly up 120 days prior to the day I had called, the printer was purchased in November 2010, then it was registered and used for the first time in December 2010, which would of made it completely impossible for the 1 year warranty to be expired by 120 days, as it is currently January 2012. Regardless, it was expired. After many attempts to repair the printer as directed, I was offered a refurbished version for very slightly less then what I could buy a new one for, I declined.
The "printerhead", as you may not know, refers to the basic black strip in the shape of a square that encases the printer cartridges, on it are the symbols that show you which ink cartridge to install in which spot. I would have no clue how to remove such a thing unless directed to do so, even then it was difficult to understand how to remove it and reinstall it.
I am very disappointed with the quality of the printer, as it is quite ridiculous that a printer would miraculously fail after just 1 year and 75 prints. The people who gifted the printer to me were also very disappointed because the printer was expensive when they had purchased it. I would think that people pay extra for higher-quality products, however it seems that we payed extra for the hassle and trouble.
The positive end to my unfortunate experience with hp is that it was quite enjoyable to drop my printer off my second story balcony onto concrete, and to watch it shatter. Thank you hp, for showing me exactly where your products go, In the trash.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PLEASED WITH PHOTOSMART

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP Photosmart Premium with wireless is very fast. I find the quality of the print to be clear. I just purchased this printer and started to use it, but I find it to be quiet. I only wish that it had a paper stop. The printed copy is pushed out and there is nothing to stop it from falling on the floor or whatever the printer is resting on. In my set-up it is at the end of the desk and could easily land on the floor. I do like the cute little bell like sounds for start up and shut off, and I like that the power button is always lit up, even during the power down period.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacing old printer

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had an HP C5180 Photosmart printer which I really loved. I had it for about 5 years. Finally, the scanner wouldn't save pictures nor print them. I really didn't want to lose that printer because I loved it. But I broke down and bought this HP C310a Photosmart printer and boy, am I ever happy I did! This printer is fantastic. It does it all as my C5180 did but so much faster and so much more technically advanced. I'm having trouble getting the wireless part of it working(I'm sure that's my fault) but didn't really need it. I just plugged in the old usb hookup and runs like the other one did...off the computer. I am very happy with this printer and would definately recommend it to anyone who needs a lot done. Printing, scanning, photos. Easy SD card reading and printing. It does it all. Great product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Printer Value

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin, Tx
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This C310a replaced a 3210 Photosmart that I had for years, and I mean years. It still prints black and white, scans, copies, and transfers photos from readers or camera, but I needed the color for photos that were beautiful on the 3210. I spoke with HP and eventually bought this C310a. The colors are brilliant and I couldn't be happier. It adds the Web to my options also.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plugged Print Jets

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a problem with my ink jets getting plugged and not printing individual colors even though the printer had a brand new cartridge installed. I tried to run the clean cycle multiple times to no avail. I assumed that all was lost and the printer would no doubt have to be replaced. I read the troubleshooting and repair section of the self-help and it said to remove the print head for cleaning by removing all cartridges, lifting the lever, and lifting out the print head assembly. Then it recommends wiping it off with bottled water on a lint-free rag. I tried that and... it didn't work. So I figured what do I have to lose and just ran warm water over the entire printhead and the screens where the cartridges sit. The water turned into a rainbow of colors as it rinsed the old ink out of the printhead. I did this for about 10 minutes until the water ran clear off the printhead. I then dried the printhead assembly off, reinstalled it, installed all the cartridges, did a clean cycle, crossed my fingers and printed a print quality report. It was perfect. Then, I printed a photo to see how it came out. Excellent. It's like the printer is brand new! This is not something that some techie is going to have you do, but IT WORKS. Make sure you use warm (almost hot) water and wipe dry with a soft cloth (or better yet, blow dry with light compressed air) before you reinstall the print head. (It is, an electronic component so it needs to be completely dry.) It worked for me...hopefully it'll work for you too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well worth the money

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lincoln, NE
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
so far i can't complain much about this printer. It was easy to setup and use right out of the box. Since i don't have a traditional office setup and we use Ipads and laptops i can set this printer up anywhere in the house and don't have to worry about getting any data cables to it. printing quality appears to be excellent. I can't speak to the longevity of the printer but if it continues to work this well i will be well worth the money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the order to the delivery I say Job Well Done H-P. The installation for my wireless printer was easy to follow the directions.So far Really like the features of the touch screen on the printer.Love the printer so far no complaints.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please believe the bad reviews, I wish I had! I have always owned HP printers, so even though I read bad reviews about this one, I went ahead and purchased one in Aug. 2011 anyway. Big mistake! One month later it started to print blank pages, and after doing the alignments etc, it printed everything streaky. They replaced the printhead and I thought, great! the problem is fixed. Well guess what, it is October 23,2011 and it is now doing the same thing. I bought a printer to be able to use it, not to always be having it fixed. Looks like I will be on the phone tomorrow trying to get this fixed.... or maybe out buying another brand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid performer for the purpose

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Birmingham, AL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Printer seems to be peforming very well for a small tabletop printer. Nice quality print pages and pdfs. A little bit of an ink hog, but I think most printers are. Overall, good bang for the buck.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP C310a Photosmart Printer

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this printer @ my local Costco for under $130. After reviewing the installation procedures I had it ALL setup in 20 minutes. WiFi, and network printing features included.
My girlfriend & I can wirelessly print from our 2 MacBook Pro's, our 27" iMac, 2 iPod Touch's, 2 iPhone 4's and our Playstation 3 all via our home network using a Netgear N750 router.
Setup was a breeze connecting all of these devices, but one does need to read & UNDERSTAND the installation procedure.
Not sure why there are so many negative reviews on this printer, but we think it's a great addition to our network.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Where's the Lion Update?

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:HIghland Park, TX
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the HP PhotoSmart C310 specifically to work with NeatWorks for Mac. But I've updated my Macs to Lion and the disk that came with the printer does not support Mac OS X v10.7. Nor can I download the HP Scan and Utilities software that is Lion compatible from the HP software/driver download site. HP - hustle it up with the Lion update!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worked great for three months

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Eastern PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great features -- but prints from the photo tray started printing off-center after 75 or so total photo prints over three months -- leaving a 1/16 inch white border down the right side [the fixed side of the tray] -- regardless of where I print from [PC, iPad, iTouch or from the printer itself].
It's almost like the tray needs to have adjustment bars on both sides -- not just the one it has on the left side. I can get the printer to print properly by putting a shim cut from mount board along the right side of the tray, but gee, I shouldn't need to kludge a three month old printer.
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Defective

PostedJune 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Knoxville, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased 5/30/2011
Installed and printed test page - seemed to work fine.
Went on vacation, returned and tried to print photos on 6/20/2011. The printer would not print. HP support first thought it was a defective print head then decided it was a defective printer.
Pros:
Individual ink cartridges for color and black ink (2 black ink cartridges)
Automatic double sided printing
Quality on test photo was good, but not as good as my older photosmart.
Cons:
Touch screen is not aligned. I have to be careful about where I press. Mine is a little high so I have to click above the button for it to click.
Ink cartridges have a new hard plastic twist cap - its like twisting a really tight lid off of a soft drink bottle - only it's about 5x harder. My mother was not able to open them, but she has arthritis. I liked the older cartridges better - they had a thin plastic tape you peeled off.
Noise - this model is noisier than my old photosmart.
Warning - HP will only replace with a refurbished unit, not a new one. This is the 4th printer I've purchased from HP over the years, the second one had a defective print head immediately after purchase and HP replaced it with no problems. So I have a 50% failure rate with HP now.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Huge disappointment

PostedJune 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mo
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am a photographer and have used HP printers along with photoshop to get very high quality prints. When my C8180 broke and was no longer available,I replaced it with this one. Photo prints are terrible with or without photoshop. Giant step backward. Poor value. I would gladly pay more to have another C8180.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Minimal OS Support

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
While it has been known for a while that most HP Devices have similar driver sets from one Windows OS to another, the fact that HP doesn't spend the money to QA, and support (even un-officially support) even the latest server based Windows version is disappointing. Something as stupidly simple as a command line flag for bypassing the OS check on installation and popping a screen to the use indicating complete non-support for the installation about to take place would be a welcome lifeline to those of us who have Server based installs.
The pictures are really nice. The scanning is adequate (oddly, no where near the quality of my 300dpi HP G85xi) but could definitely use improvement. Overall, the unit is OK.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hp got this one right

PostedOctober 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas,NV
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Great photo's,easy setup and very fast
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A HASSLE!!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this printer in June 2011, to replace my old HP printer which I loved, but needed one that was wireless capable. But it has been a CONSTANT HASSLE!! I constantly have to re-install the drivers for it, at least once a week sometimes more! I print a lot of coupons and don't have a desktop. So its set up through WiFi on my laptop. but the wireless signal is constantly lost and printer ends up being "offline". No matter what I do to bring it back online it wont. And I end up having to remove it and re-install it to get it work again!! I loose a lot of things I am trying to print because of this! The other think I hate is that it is an INK HOG!! I don't get much usage out of ink cartridges and have to buy ink at least twice a month for the 20 to 25 coupons I print each week. Keep in mind that the size of a coupon is not very big!!! I am currently searching for a new printer to buy and It WONT BE AN HP!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

my opinion on th hp photosmart printer

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:IL
This customer did not provide a text review.
(click to see the video)
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP Photosmart Premium e-All-in-One Printer - C310a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely All In One

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Set up was seamless for me and this printer EFFICIENTLY does EVERYTHING I need. Faxing is almost a lost art so I do not have the need for that. I simply scan documents into emails or Word documents according to the end user's requirements. I love sitting in my lounge handling my small at home business invoices. When I need to scan several documents (or photos) I just sit at my desk working in batches. My iPhone, my MacBook Pro, and my iPad2 said, "there you are and promptly I printed from all these devices."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.