HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-in-Ones & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g

Wirelessly prints, scans, copies, faxes Up to 50% lower cost per page than lasers ### HP ePrint for printing from a mobile device 4.3" touch screen with PC-free printing from the Web via print apps 50-page auto-document feeder, duplex scanning and printing Ethernet connectivity Legal-size scanning surface
Overall rating:
3.306 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
16
1 Star
19
47 out of 85(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Satisfied

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Truro, NS
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried several printers out, (albeit all HPs) before I decided to go with this one. Overall, I am very pleased with this printer. I use it in an office environment, however I am the only user.
I was a little sceptical to buy this printer, after reading through pages of mixed reviews. I have to say I don't understand all the negative reviews. I don't use the fax at all, and the scanner is only used from time to time, but it hasn't failed me yet, and contrary to what some have said, I find it extremely fast to scan, and there are no pc connection issues.
Photo printing is really quite good, especially if you use HP's Photo Paper. My Photosmart 7510 at home prints slightly better quality pictures, but hey it's a photo printer, that's to be expected.
The quality of printing colour documents sure shines on this printer. Much Much Much clearer, and better colour printing than the Photosmart printer at home. I haven't seen another printer laser, or inkjet that can print plain paper colour documents with this much clarity.
I have used the HP apps albeit only rarely. It would be nice if you could program an app ie news/weather to automatically print in the morning before you get to work. (Maybe you can???).
ePrint works well, and can print all form of documents, and pictures, from what I can tell. I use ePrint often, and have yet to have any trouble at all with it.
I must also say I have left my favourite feature to the end: Air Print.... Works flawlessly with my iPhone (and a few others in my office), I use this feature all the time for pictures, and documents.
Overall, I cant think of much this printer is missing. The only thing that comes to mind is a dedicated photo tray, but that is not overly important. This is a great printer, and I feel it's been a very good investment for my office.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally! Economical & Reliable AIO!

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally! A printer that doesn't eat ink cartridges or jam!
I purchased the 8500A Plus for it's ability to scan/print letter and legal-sized documents. I have been very satisfied with all functions, including photo printing. Unlike many other printers I have had, this one has performed perfectly for over 6 months, and the ink lasts me much longer than any other I have owned. If you have time to "play", it also has extra apps/features to allow you to access and print forms, coupons, etc.
With realistic expectations for a home machine, I think that you will be very pleased. It isn't the super fast commercial printer, but doesn't have the price tag, either. This is pretty fast for a home unit...
I trust that it won't be necessary for some time, but if I needed another unit, I would certainly purchase this one again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why the complaints?

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this printer (8500A plus) for a couple of months and love it, no jams or problems. Very good print quality and pretty fast. If you have something falling off just maybe you're too rough on the printer, remember it's still electronics and should be treated as such.
If you want to give your's away let me know as I am getting one for the house too, to replace a Lexmark that is junk!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always Great

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lawrencevill, Ga.
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is the best and HP has never let me down. Easy setup and easy to use. I will never buy any other name brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent, high quality printer

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased the HP Office Jet Pro 8500A Plus to replace my older HP C6150 All-in-One printer that had been a work horse for our family for several years. I wanted the 8500 to perform the same all-in-one tasks as the C6150 and add a wireless connnection with my new Apple Ipad. It has done everything I wanted it to do, plus scan/print on both sides of papers, increase the scanning quality to 4800, print higher quality photos, handle double sided Fax papers, use both letter and legal sized paper, and add much better HP supporting software for the printer to my computer. The installation was easy, surprisingly fast, and worked immediately. The only thing I had to do to tweek the set up was to run the print alignment twice and run the clean heads printer program three times to get the heads primed completely and printing photos at the quality I liked. Since then it has printed directly from my Ipad without going through our wireless network and is printing everything that is sent over the wireless network from several different computers. Another bonus is that the ink cartridges are less expensive. I couldn't ask for a better replacement for our older HP printer and would recommend it to anyone needing to update their home or small business printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice printer

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
had a problem after 6 months, where there was a carriage jam that i could not resolve. HP is replacing the printer
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product for satisfaction.

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hi this printer is my second product for
printing purpose and i think i am not wrong
while selecting this product because i get what
i really want from a printer. It has absolutely
outstanding results that i like mostly and get
satisfied totally from this officejet pro 8500A
plus printer. Thanks to HP for this product
selling me in my budget price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Printer EVER

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Petaluma, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have TWO of these printers. Unfortunately, I bought one for my house, then my office buys the exact model. BOTH have never worked properly. The components are garbage, the top trey keeps falling off, the ink doesnt last long and BOTH printers are constantly cleaning their print heads, aligning cartridges. Please buy this printer if you like to wait 10 minutes for your printer to boot up and clean itself. Don’t count on the wireless feature to ever work either, it frequently loses connection and has to be reset.
The printer has a lot of nice features, but the features rarely work. I have been wanting to leave this review for a long time, but this morning is the day because I couldn't print something at home, so I came to the office, and now the office printer is broken. Do you think HP can help?! Yea right, I have tried calling them multiple times, after going through a 20 minue phone tree and staying on hold half the day, you get someone in India who tells you to replace the cord or restart the printer, none of which would ever happen. Avoid this model like the plague.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

nightmare printer

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have just returned the HP8500A Inkjet plus for the 3rd time. The wireless connection was weak and I had lots of other problems getting this going with my Macbook. One of the replacements sent to me lasted about a week, then started to make a noise like metal scraping against metal. In another one, the magenta ink cartridge exploded and leaked all over my desk and carpet. I spent about 15 hours on the phone with HP tech support this month, and they were not able to resolve any of the problems. They did let me return them and after going through 3 of these, I asked for an HP credit so I could try a different printer. I'm hoping the laserjet series is better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Purchase Ever

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Goose Creek,SC
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im very happy with this printer. Everything is great quality, the only compaint is printing both sides doesn't work right for me. For instance a greeting card or printing when I want print on both sides., The print comes out fine on the one side and prints upside down on the other side. A person would have to read first side than turn it upside down to read otherside. I did use the settings recommended, so I have to do a manually to print to get both sides right. Am I missing something? That's my only compaint. The rest of the features work just fine. Anyone have a solution? I had the printer over two months. Thank You, Patrich:o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:UK
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I thought this is a great printier I have only just got it a couple of hours ago and just set it up, so I will be posting a follow up review after I get using it in everyday life.
The print quality is very good, but as I have said I have to intergrate it into normal everyday life so I can have a good understanding of the features.
Thanks for reading!
I would recommend! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Features good- feeder tray bad

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My first "all in one" was bought in 2002. It worked superiorly for 7 years. I became an HP loyalist by love affair with that machine. I loved the available features and still do. It was completely reliable! This is my 4th machine since due to top feeder, duplex and paper tray issues. This one ARRIVED with feeder page counting issues. About to see how customer service handles it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliablity

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Anthem, AZ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Very reliable all-in-one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

annoyed at best

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The features are great.
However, the printer tells me I'm out of paper literally every 3-5 pages. I've tried varying the paper amount from 20 sheets to 100 along with using different kinds of printer paper.
If you only print one page at a time, this would be great for you. If you are a graduate student, teacher, and have a need to print often, need to print documents containing more than one page, or just don't have the patience to continually hit the "OK" button when you are told to refill the paper every minute or so...this is NOT the product for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All the Bells and Whistles

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:El Dorado Hills, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I replaced a less than 2 year old HP All in One 8500 with the feature rich HP 8500A Plus All in One because of the Eprint function that was available on the 8500A plus.
I use the printer on a home network with 5 computers in all. The only time there is a problem is when the printer is out of paper. Then somebody has to actually walk into the room where the printer is located and refresh the paper tray.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

User Manual

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Corpus Christi, TX
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
I am disapppointed that a user manual does not come with the product. Downloading and printing one takes forever and so many pages makes for a large manual.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I thought

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have only had the 8500A plus for six weeks and have spent more than $100 dollars in ink because one printhead is defective (was replaced), so each time a new cartridge is replaced, the printheads are aligned and cleaned, which uses up ALL your ink. I really am disappointed with this model. I have owned two other all-in-ones and didn't change them until they died.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Product

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nazareth, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been sold on HP products for years. My last printer lasted over 10 years. Although it still works, it was time for something new. I saw the 8500A and knew this was the one when I saw the sale price.
Fast free shipping, it was deleivered in only 2 days.
I read the set up guide and assembly was a snap. I set up a wireless network about 10 months ago and wasn't sure how this would integrate. I followed the detailed intructions and in no time at all (and not a single error) everything was connected. Even our iPhones! Lots of features on the 8500 to explore yet. The print quality is very professional looking.
I did need to call HP support to return an un-needed cable I ordered and that was super hassle free as well. The representitive was very knowledgeable and friendly.
I will be ordering a new desk top in a few months as well. I highly recommend HP products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sleek and Sexy

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tons of features, I got it for a great price here too! I look forward to many years of service for this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus e-All-in-One Printer - A910g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A tiny bit disappointed... but I can live with it.

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have as yet to check out all the features - still working on it. Lots to learn.
I am replacing my HP 7310 - a great machine. Salesman said the 8500A replaces 7310.
But 8500A does not copy legal size pages. It does print out legal size from computer document or fax. I was aware of this when I bought the 8500A. The 7310 did copy legal size with no problem.
The 8500A description says it prints both sides of paper. Turns out it will print out on both sides from a document off your computer.... but it will not copy both sides if you have a page to copy with both sides printed. Coping both sides can be done manually but not with using the Duplexer. Too bad, I was looking forward to copying both sides automatically.
With 7310 I used the program from my credit union to automatically scan and deposit my bank checks. The Credit Union used the TWAIN interface built into the 7310. Quite niffty. But I find out that the 8500A does not have a TWAIN interface so I have to manually scan the checks. I won't die doing it manually – it’s not that many extra steps - but I am disappointed that HP has chosen to delete a good feature.
Well, at this point I will say, I wish my 7310 did not break. But this 8500A is OK.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.