HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-in-Ones & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a

Wirelessly prints, scans, copies, faxes Up to 50% lower cost per page than lasers ### HP ePrint for printing from a mobile device 2.4" touch screen with PC-free printing from the Web via print apps 35-page automatic document feeder, duplex printing Ethernet connectivity
Overall rating:
3.566 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 129 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
16
1 Star
23
80 out of 129(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Review 21 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:PUERTO RICO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I WAS IN PURCHASE OF LASER PRINTER AND WHEN I SAW THIS PRODUCT CALL MY ATTENTION FOR THEIR COST AND PROFITS ON ALL THE e-PRINT AND IT'S EASY TO PROGRAM DON'T NEED TO BE A GENIUS TO PROGRAM.
IS A PRODUCT THAT IS WHAT I RECOMMEND TO ANYONE AS IT IS A VERY FAST PRINTER AND THE QUALITY OF PRINTING ARE VERY GOOD. I RECOMMENDED TO THREE PERSON OF WHICH HAVE PURCHASED AND NOT HAVE ANY NEGATIVE FEEDBACK.
IT'S A GOOD EQUIPMENT AND I DON'T HAVE ANY PROBLEM, PERIOD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The worst printer I have ever owned

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer is, without a doubt, the worst perfoming printer I have ever owned. Most of my previous printers have been HP and I expected the same degree of reliability and consistent functionality from the 8500A. No such luck! The 8500A frequently loses contact with my wireless network, (then only device on the network to have such a problem). The paper feed is inconsistent and frequently fails to load paper. Most maddening though are the frequent printer "freezes" that result in the printer being completely unusable. In these cases the printer shows up as "idle" and not available in print dialog boxes in Windows 7 or Snow Leopard OS's. The freezes force me to unplug the printer and wait about 25 minutes!!!! for it to restart. What a piece of junk!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really good printer

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Marietta Ga
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this printer. It is a little noisy but not to the point of being a drawback. It is very fast particularly for a printer in this price range. The quality is good, the photos are acceptable and the automatic duplexing is great.
The only drawback is that when I set it up, it would not feed paper. I had to go on the internet and download new firmware so that it would feed paper. It would have been nice if that problem didn't exist.
Overall. I would buy this printer again, even with the firmware problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the money

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mt Vernon, Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this printer for a couple of reasons. First I am a HP kind of guy, never had a issue with any HP product like I had with other manufacturers.
Then I recieved a good deal on the sale prices. Couple of issues with this model. First, you see this on allot of the reviews, its noisy. The other issue is it has a problem staying connected on the interest so you can use the eprint option. I called HP and they walked me through some setting which worked for a short time. So this issue will be continued till resolved. Another thing I will point out, and this is operator error. I have a second tray which hold my business checks. Beware if you dont lock out the other tray with a 2 tray system, when the first tray runs out of paper, it will start using the next tray. Found that out the hard way.. This printer was not recommended by the store manager, but I purchased it anyhow and not complaining too much yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ePrint and Apps Features Do Not Work

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was able to setup the wireless functionality for this printer with relative ease, however, the ePrint and Application functions have not worked since I purchased the product. I can’t recommend to anyone that they should pay extra for a product like this that has obvious service flaws.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best technology out in market

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good all in one features easy set up , price is on higher side .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like HP printers and have never had any issues with any of the 5 that I purchased. I almost started to develop buyers remorse after reading some user reviews on this and other sites. Alleged IT professionals couldn't get the software to work, people reported problems with wirless networks, machine noise, slow response, cosmetics, etc. My experience has been completely postive so far.
The printer was easy to set up for both my desktop PC and MacBook. Insert CD, follow directions - its that easy. No problem adding the printer to a wireless network, just used the touchscreen wirleless wizard. This printer replaced an HP Officejet 6480 and the 8500A (A910) is a little quieter. Just wiped the printer off with a spritz of Endust for electronics and it is beautiful.
Printed pages are very nice, to include the flyer that I made using Market Splash software that came with the printer.
I am very pleased with my purchase so far and do not hesistate to recommend this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

When it works, it's great

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Pro 8500A is a good printer with great features...when it works. The problem is, it is a bit quirky. i have both Macs and PC's attached to the printer via wifi. The PC works fine most of the time, but the Macs often freeze up. They see the printer, and can even tell its status, but nothing gets printed. The solution, as mentioned by another reviewer, is to reboot the printer. Unfortunately, that takes more than a couple of minutes. The second issue has to do with the paper feed. Again, it works most of the time, but is prone to jams and simply not being able to feed a sheet even when the tray is practically full. Bottom line, its a pretty good printer for the money, but its really designed for light duty projects and non-critical jobs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Woodbridge, VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I brought this printer to replace a dell printer that i have had for about 6 years. And I am loving the different features with it. Although I have not tried the epring or letter printing.. I am looking forward to. the set up was easy and it stays connected to my wireless network.
Great Product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

After extensive research...

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I chose the 8500A e-printer A910a because of the abundance of features, what I ultimately paid and the fact that it just looks like it's waiting to get to work for you. After the amazingly simple set-up I had this thing printing from my Windows 7 laptop in just minutes. The print options that were either already on Windows 7 or came with the printer cd have been tweaked to perfection with a focus on total customization of whatever print job you're performing. My favorite feature so far is the auto duplex(print on both sides)...coupled with printing multiple pages on each side, I can get four pages on one sheet, saving paper and ink and it prints so clearly that even the smaller print comes out crystal clear.
I went through every review I could find and honestly, the few bad reviews it got were not the fault of the printer. If you have digital linesin your office you don't want to use a fax anyway...you scan a perfect document into your computer and use your Windows fax for best results(nothing new). And as far as the touch screen goes, being an owner of previous touch screen printers, this model is a vast improvement.
Last thing, this is the fastest printer I've ever owned. Set it on fast draft and the pages are almost flying out and with great clarity as well. I should mention, I rarely print anything in color and have not had the opportunity to print photos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Value

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
I bought this printer after doing thorough research, and was able to set it up without almost any trouble. Holy mackerel! It makes my old Dell All-In-One feel like it was from the Flintstones! Unbelievably fast, crisp and clear. And, the wireless connection allowed me to put it on a table behind my desk, to which I'd never be able to string a cable. Scanning is super sharp as well. And, with ePrint, i can even print from my iPad. Best part of all is the cost: with the $50 off coupon I found online and my HP Trade In credit of $75, I paid a grand total of $50 for this printer. Ridiculous! Thanks HP!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst purchase ever

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Set up was easy about 20 minutes. Looks are vary impresive. Vary simple to set up various functons. I like the control panel, you can tilt at a preferd angle for your best easibility of sight and use.
Unfortunantly the printer printed 4 sheets of paper and jamed. Cleaned out the Jamed paper. Alighned printer heads.
Followed tech support on line.. Then I called tech support. Tried every thing for one hour with tech support.
Head alighnment always cancelled. When I shut down the printer and restart the printer it wants to alighn the heads, then cancels.
Tech support gave me a case number and told me to call HP for replacment of a new printer, not a reconditioned one.
HP is out of stock and cannot tell me when they will have a new on available.
Hope you have better luck with the printer than I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dISAPOINTED

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mississippi
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i PURCHASED THIS PRINTER AND THOUGHT IT HAD TWO SIDED PRINTING LIKE IT SAID ON THE BOX AND IT ALSO STATED THAT IT CAN DO TWO SIDED PRINTING ON THE ENTERNET, BUT IT DOES NOT. FOR IT TO PRINT ON TWO SIDES, YOU HAVE TO PUT THE PAPER ON THE GLASS HIT THE TWO TWO SIDE SETTING, PRINT ONE SIDE THEN FLIP THE PAPER OVER AND PRINT THE OTHER SIDE. THIS IS AN INCONVIENCE TO ME. i HAVE NEVER PURCHASED A PRINTER THAT DIDN'T PRINT TWO SIDED AUTOMATICALLY. EVERY PRINTER I BOUGHT BEFORE WERE ALL hp. AND EVERY ONE OF THEM PRINTED ON BOTH SIDES AUTOMATICALLY. THE MANUFACTURE REALLY MESSED UP WHEN THEY MADE THIS PRITER. NOT ONLY THAT, THE OWNERS MANUAL DOESN'T TELL YOU OR GIVE YOU INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO PRINT OR HOW TO TROUBLE SHOOT IF YOU HAVE PROBLEMS PRINTING. ALL IT TELLS YOU IS HOW TO SET UP FAX . IF YOU ARE PLANING ON TWO SIDED COPING, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND BUYING THIS PRINTER.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm usually very critical ...

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
but I have no major complaints with this product. I bought it for home use on a wireless network, and it was a breeze to unpackage and set up on the network and install the software on multiple computers; it does take a little time - say 20 mins per computer - to install the software, but I just did it while I was doing other things on the computer.
So, what's great? Capabilities are a huge upgrade over my last HP all-in-one. It's fast, the feeder tray is very convenient, the ability to automatically scan and print double-sided is a time saver and paper saver.
Downside? A little noisy, but not too distracting. (This is the source of my "4" rating instead of "5" for performance.) I am concerned about the frequency of ink cartridge/print head replacement, primarily because I've read reviews that commented on their short life. However, I've had it for a month with "normal" use, and the ink levels seem to be holding up well - still at 90%. I have no clue about what will signal the need for print head replacment.
I would recommend looking over a couple of weeks for the best price. I got a great deal - $149 plus $50 rebate at Staples - but I have seen it offered at $300 and and on sale in the $200-$250 range more typically. I probably wouldn't have purchased it for $250, but, having seen it's performance, I wouldn't have any regrets if I had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need better user guide

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lebanon, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Touch screen is supposed to make set up and use intuitive, but functions such as scan to computer require additional set up steps not explained in the documentation. An error message prompts the user to return to the set up, but there is no documentation to reveal the next steps. Consequently, many frustrating hours are spent attempting to stumble on a set up sequence that will put all of the machine's features into play. This is probably fun for technogeeks, but for the rest of us, not so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trying to find more reasons to use it

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ft. Washington, MD
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perhaps it is because I am upgrading from a 3 year old Lexmark, but I am enthralled. Setup was a bit lengthy, no, I take that back, it was realllly lengthy, but I am overjoyed with the end result. The draft mode is just as good as the "letter quality" on my old printer. The wireless functions work perfectly. I went through a full ream of paper with pages that had extensive text and still have plenty of ink left. Not one jam. The functions are simple and easy to use, Since HP won't publish this review if mention specific pricing, let me say that it was a great deal. My 1st HP deskjet (I was one of the original HP dealers in my area), which produced a color page in about 1 minute (considered blazing speed at that time), cost $895 (a 30% discount off of retail). Considering the few horror stories, I read, I might be lucky, but I'll take it. Meanwhile, if you have not guessed it by now, I am one HAPPY camper..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Probably excellent for PC, bad for MAC

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Belgium
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used this printer over wifi, then using RJ45 physical ethernet connection, then with a a USB cable. It is physically an excellent device, but its mac softare has barely been tested. Once it prints it prints fast, but between my mac submiting something for printing, and the first page, it can take a long time. Especially bad is the scanning software. It copies perfectly, scans to USB stick perfectly. Actually it probably does everything very well, but becomes a paperweight when conneced to a MAC. If this device were as compatible with PC/XP/Vista/Win 7 as it is with MAC... HP would not yet have released it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lincoln NE
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This 8500A replaces my 4 year old HP that made at least 60,000 copies and faxes. I love this new printer. Quiet, quick, easy to use. Fantastic print. We have it hooked up to a net book, two desktops and a portable all of the wireless functions work great. I learned my lesson from before and set this up step by step as instructed in the manual, takes about 20 to 30 minutes to set up and makes a lot of robotic sounds as it does so. HELPFUL HINT- When setting it up for wireless and the input asks you for the W E P registration on your wireless system. W E P is the code that you initially made up to allow wireless access to your internet system. This is not something printed on your wireless router. this was your initial code that you provided to secure your wireless. HP should explain this in the manual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Latest HP printer

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NEW YORK
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful device- setup as wireless was fast on 2 laptops- wireless reponse as fast as USB or ethernet- quiet-print quality at lowest setting excellent- copy with auto feeder a little slow - copy from flatbed is good- more features than I will ever use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor Instructions; Color Not as Good as Old HP

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hendersonville, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very disappointing: Wireless set up instructions, particularly for the Mac. The instructions are fragmented and had me jumping between the setup poster, the Getting Started Guide “Set up wireless communications” chapter, the Getting Started Guide “Solve set up problems“ chapter, the printer’s control panel, the computer operating system documentation, and the wireless router documentation. The Getting Started Guide also recommended referring to the User Guide. But the User Guide was would not be available until I registered the printer.
The wireless set up instructions are not only fragmented, they are not in a concise step-by-step order, and have omissions and errors (“Connect the printer to your computer” should have read “Connect the printer to your router,” I discovered later by trial and error.)
A warning reads “While you are installing the software, you will be prompted to enter the network name, (also called an SSID”) and a security passkey,” while offering no absolute way of finding out this information. I do not remember entering any such passwords when installing the operating system and wireless router. What I ended up doing now was to reconfigure the wireless router (Airport) and entering a “Wireless Password.” (The HP instructions had me searching specifically for Security Passkey, WPA Key, or WPA Passphrase).
Anyway, after days of tinkering, I now am able to print wirelessly from my Macbook Pro.
Also disappointing: The color. On GP Image Plus printer paper the 8500 does not print with nearly the amount saturation, contrast and hue accuracy of my 9-year-old HP OfficeJet G85xi all-in-one (ink hog). The 8500 is supposed to use less ink, but is HP not admitting that it is at the cost of quality? It would seem that the newer printers would print at least as well as the old ones.
In defense of the 8500 I have to say 1) black text is very dark and sharp, 2) color seems to compare favorably to the Brother MFCJ6710dw and the Epson Artisan 835, and 3) although once again lacking color accuracy, the 8500 prints color photographs beautifully on RoyalBrites high-gloss photopaper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.