HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-in-Ones & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a

Wirelessly prints, scans, copies, faxes Up to 50% lower cost per page than lasers ### HP ePrint for printing from a mobile device 2.4" touch screen with PC-free printing from the Web via print apps 35-page automatic document feeder, duplex printing Ethernet connectivity
Overall rating:
3.566 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 129 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
16
1 Star
23
80 out of 129(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Borderless printing and scanning not as advertised

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The specs claim the unit prints borderless prints, however after two hours online with three tech support reps, and trying the unit in Windows Xp, Vista Windows 7 and OS X 10.6.7 and Ms Word, Publisher 2003, 2008, and 2010, Illustrator, InDesign and Photoshop CS4 it either crops or prints 1/4" borders depending on settings. My two year old Epson workforce printer seems to be able to print borderless, so I and the support reps are left to conclude there is some driver issues.
Also, from what I read on an HP support forum I wrongly concluded this unit does dual sided scanning and copying. It does not, you need to get the Plus or premium version to do that.
Other then that it seems promising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Prints, Poor Quality Product

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After having DOZENS of printers from various manufacturers, I decided to settle down and buy two good printers for our home. Accordingly, I purchased 2 HP Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless printers. Installation on my WIn7 computer was easy and flawless. That's where the good ended.
As I have many printers, these units did not see much service. After a few months, the first unit started making a clanging sound on each pass, which got louder as time went on (months). Finally, the printhead line just broke. This has never happened on any of my cheap printers, much less a mid-to-high end (for me) printer. Lost about $100 in ink, and the unit. Total use was a set of starter cartridges and 1/4 of a set of XL cartridges.
I still have the second unit, and am babying it along. (As my plan was to keep these units, I purchased 2 sets of XL cartridges for them. Hopefully, I'll get them used before this one dies.
DO NOT BUY THIS WITHOUT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. I thought HP meant quality, and performance. They got the performance right, but the quality is missing on this unit. NEVER AGAIN.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

8500 a910a

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:FM Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this to replace a 6180 photosmart which the wireless didn't work and its been nothing but great in all area's. Faxing, double side printing, copies, and eprint have been this side of fantastic. Document feeder feed 15 pages correctly and fax recieved 23 pages and printed out correctly. I have had this for a couple of months of heavy use and still on the original cortridges. Setup was easy and the wireless was the best ever and no problem. I haven't got it to print from my blackberry phone with the new os but working on it. So far too good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money on this 8500A lemon

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased the All-In-One 8500A printer model last October and had good service for about 9 months. The printer developed a problem where it leaks yellow ink inside the right front of the printer causing the ink to drip down on the paper and paper feed mechansim causing a real mess. Did some research on-line and found several instances of people who have purchased this same model reporting leaking ink problems. Seems like a design defect to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Purchase Ever from HP

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Churchville, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a quiet, fast, and feature rich workhorse. The e-All-in-One Printer is the best printer I have ever had. I'm impressed with the 2.4" color touch screen and the tracking it has for usages. I'm experimenting with two sided and color photos. There good but I think they can get better as I am using a paper not listed in the menu. I have not gotten APPS to work, I'll call customer service for that. PS, I loaded the software while the printer was initializing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Great All-in-One

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had great service out of my old L7590, so this was the recommended replacement. I did not really think that this could be this good. It does everything my old one did, but better. This is a pleasure to work with. 5 stars for this!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great SOHO printer

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Littleton, CO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far has been very easy to use, with only a slight exception with the scanning. I've setup wirelessly to access it from all our home PCs, and the duplex printing has been great. Quiet machine. The scanning doesn't like to start from the printer, but works fine when initiated from the computer. The quality is excellent for both prints and scans. I've checked the ink levels, and even after a couple of weeks of use they are all still indicating full. I would definitely recommend this all-in-one for those of us who simply cannot afford a color laser equivalent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Taking it Back

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Utah
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this printer at Costco and installed it yesterday. Everything seemed fine until I put 4 pages in the document feeder to scan. It took 2 of the 4 pages, then wouldn't take any pages at all no matter how many times I tried.
If a document feeder has the capability of holding 35 pages, yuo'd think it could pull 4 with no problems. I'm taking this back. Thank goodness I bought it at Costco... no problems returning to them. Ever.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfer HP products

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only disappointment I had was I expected more out of the HP Officejet Pro 8500A. I replaced my 5610 officejet all-in-one and was suprise how much noise it makes and how it shakes during the process of initalizing or setting up.Also the time to set up I was not use to waiting 20 minutes. Eventhough, I know this is a more advance machine than what I previously had, I was looking for and even better product. I expected more but, I do value the HP products and would perfer HP products inspite of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like eprint

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wichita, KS
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really appreciate the sprint feature. My only disappointment is that there is not a driver for my iMac which is 10.4.11. Other than that it works extremely well. I am very satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SUPPORT

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cincinnati OH
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer was a bit difficult to set up as the "fast start" illustrated guide is, at best, simply that, a guide...would be better to have fewer pictures and more detailed instructions.
Nonetheless, I ran into a wireless issue with the latest version of Lion OS on a new iMac, and the customer support personnel were the best. They are, for the most part, Mac users themselves and know how to quickly bring issues to a speedy resolve. They are both friendly and professional...a great combination when you are a frustrated customer with an issue!
The printer works flawlessly and wirelessly with my iMac and Mac Pro laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Manchester, NJ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a Photosmart printer and it got where it could not printer envoples and i think it was making too much noise and then it went out of warranty and the tech at HP were great help me at this point and the new printer got here in 2 days.
But so far this is by far the best printer so far.
The manual is I would have to rate a B needs some improvement. The auto fax I only wish it had a button to turn it on but you can make two clicks on the control panel and it is set.
Thank you HP
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase of Printer

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:KCK
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The printer "looked" good but "looks" can be deceiving. Unfortunately I was away just after setting up the machine and returned past the "return printer if unsatisfied for any reason" date. I am stuck with it!!! Color, fair, the machine needed to do much preparation on starting, aligning, and fussing that there was little time to do any actual printing. This made "printing" painfully slow. The end product's color was only fair--black or color. It ought to be scrapped! And worse yet, prior to my buying I called customer services and explained exactly what I wanted for "my" personal printing needs. The "agent" assured me this was a good machine and what I wanted. Now, this printer suited none of them--not even an envelope section and it could not produce printed envelopes well. HP please pay attention. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

wonderful customer service

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This review is following one I just wrote. This review is to say although I am still frustrated with the constant "out of paper" message on my printer, the service through live assistance just revived my faith in HP products. I'm not allowed to post details but I would now recommend HP again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like this printer

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had a le*ma*k and a *EL* and I had problems with both of them. Their ink cartridges would always dry up before I would have a chance to use them. They both had tech support that fixed the problems, but all the wasted time. I have must have spent at least 12 hours of my valuable time on the telephone with Asia fixing these printers.The wireless would never work for very long they would lose the signal. Like I said before the print quality would only be there when I would purchase 70 dollars worth of ink then if I did not print every five or six days the heads would clog up. I have had my 8500 now for a 3 weeks and all I do is wireless printing, I have done desk top maybe 7 times and I have yet to have a problem. I did have to call customer support to set it up the wireless network connection. I found that complicated After that no problem at all. Plus I bought mine at a store that offered 50 dollars for my L brand printer, this made the price that I paid ridiculously low under 130 dollars. So, to summarize I like my HP 8500 Officejet All-in-one Printer. ( I was not paid for this advertisement LOL )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissappointed

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have two older HP Officejet all-in-one printers. Thought would upgrade to newer model and get one that just sets up as network. Wrong... Set the new one up worked great for couple days then would have to turn off and on to get it to print after it rested for 30 minutes. Work with support and finally got esculated up to someone in USA. They were very nice took care of problem sent me another one. Set it up worked just fine the first couple times then same old thing had to shut down and turn back on. Called my esculated number they are sending me another one. My old ones are still working but this model is for the birds. Yes will still continue to buy HP everyone has trouble every now and then with a model. Do not consider this one try one of the other HP models.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Printer yet.

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Goose Creek,SC
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this printer 3 days ago and the setup went very well. Printing is great with no problems noted at this time. Im pleased with the purchase. All features are working well. Patrich.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HP8500 not all that its suppose to be

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East Orange, NJ
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer has the bells and whistles but it often fails to blow. Often time is wasted on fixing printer paper jams, or feeder not feeding properly for a fax going out. The failures always seem to happen when time is in the essence.
Most people want to "go green" and not print everything but often in our business review of documents are best previewed on paper. All too often I have had to bail out my boss from taking a sledge hammer to the printer because she needs to print something and can't get it. The printer is still under warranty and the problems encountered should not be for a printer that is less than a year old.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

color printing problems

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:York, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Since we bought this machine for our office I have used three different print head assemblies and it still will not print color documents. It also is very touchy when you scan documents, which we do several times a day.
We also have a L7680 which is a real work horse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A e-All-in-One Printer - A910a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A satisfied customer.

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arcadia, California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good. The copy quality is excellent. The scanning (both pictures & documents) have been fine. I especially like the document feeder; and the legal size copy/scan mode. I tested the wireless printing via my iPhone and it worked without any problems. Anyone who needs to scan/print legal size docs should make sure you get the A910g or A910n.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>