HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d

hp HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d

HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating:
4.172 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
46 out of 58(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional WiFi Color Printer

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:The University of Texas, Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want an exceptional WiFi/ePrint with duplexing color printer without fax/scanner/copy then this is it. The footprint is a bit on the large size (approx 18" x 20" with papertray included) but the print quality is very good. This printer has separate ink cartridges and a 1 1/2" x 1 1/4" screen that shows the ink levels. Good build quality. Your choice of WiFi, Ethernet or USB connect. ePrint works fine. A very good all around printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and easy to setup

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Annapolis, Maryland
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer really makes a difference each page comes out in seconds, the setup was simple and the wireless abilities was just what I needed.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended.

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer was easy to set up. It has excellent print quality and print speed. I especially like the fact that each of the colors has its own ink cartridge.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Service and Product

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Westminster, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We always purchase HP. Our last printer was an HP6980, only $69 and it lasted us eight years! I looked and looked for another printer that uses the same cartridge, but couldn't find one :( We have an internet business and print a LOT of paper every day. When it finally started choking, I looked around and found this - had great reviews - the only drawback, and it really isn't that bad, is the paper holder doesn't lift up to fill the paper tray - you have to manually close it and open the tray below - to print envelopes you have to empty it and fill with envelopes; you can't print one at a time. The paper tray is twice as deep as our old printer, which I like, and it has a gauge to track ink levels in the cartridges. There's nothing like printing postage and looking up and seeing the page too pale to use. I like that the color cartridges are separate - you only have to replace the color that is empty and could be a savings. It does print double sided - don't know how yet, but that's a neat feature! So far I'm very happy - it's three times as fast as my old HP and the black cartridge is a little larger so should last three weeks instead of two (printing 50 to 100 pages per day plus postage labels). I had it set up and printing in twenty minutes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

8100 ePrinter

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Great printer, very easy to set up. Great for home networks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like the printer very much, it's great!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it because of all the features and how simple it is to operate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An efficient, responsive and fast printer

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a replacement HP printer for my old one that was not compatible with my new OSX operation system, so I called HP and this printer was recommended. They were right! It's fast, easy to understand and print quality is excellent. I couldn't be happier.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wilmington, nc
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to set up. Easy to use. That's what it's all about!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Print Quality, but

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:O'Fallon, Illinois
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Price! e-printing is a nice feature. Paper tray holds a lot. I like the compact size. What I do not like is having to take the tray completely out to put in letterhead or envelopes. Changing paper types is a huge hassle. In my older printer I could just lift the top and switch out (much more convenient). My previous printer was an Officejet Pro 8000.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not practical for multi format printing

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bryan OH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer is really good if you only use one size paper. If you want to use different size paper, or envelopes it is not easy to change as you have to unload the entire paper tray. It would be nice to have a single sheet feeder for envelopes and odd size/weight paper. Also the footprint is very large. The print quality has been very good so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A basic printer, nothing fancy -- but it's very fast, print output is very good, and the large capacity ink cartridges are very economical in the long run. Even draft mode is surprisingly good...because of this, we use draft mode for our in-house docs (and of course, for drafts), which saves even more on ink.
This printer permits printing up to the edge on regular paper. Choose borderless printing and output quality in the advanced options first though, then the paper type afterwards, else it will default to photo paper. Note, sometimes the print at the very bottom edge of the paper is not as crisp as it should be (i.e., slightly blurred); even so, we find the output still generally acceptable.
The printer can auto output two-sided copies. Two-sided printing is also very quick, and this HP manages it without offsetting the print on the page as some earlier HP models were prone to do.
We've had the printer for a short time but have printed a good number of reams of paper through it already. It rarely jams, maybe four total so far. When jams do occur, they are amazingly easy to clear: Pop off the rear duplexer (the paper routes through it even when not printing two-sided), remove the paper (comes right out, no hard pulling or tearing), pop the duplexer back on, and go. I wish our other printers had been as simple to clear! (Some printer jams were nightmarish situations involving multiple access points that still didn't provide enough access.)
On the downside, the printer has a fairly large footprint. Also, there is no rear paper feed slot; everything must be fed through the paper tray in front. To print different sized paper or envelopes, the paper already in the tray must be removed to load the new media so the paper guides can be adjusted. (A second tray can be purchased separately.)
Setup was easy enough; and it's operating fine, completely wireless, with multiple computers using Win 7 and XP.
Overall, the printer has proven to be fast and economical while providing good output. We're very pleased with it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I hate this printer

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Eureka, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have so much trouble printing just ONE page, let alone several. There are 30 sheets of paper in the tray, yet I keep getting errors that the printer is out of paper. The footprint of this monster is HUGE, much larger than should be required. The specs claim it will print on heavy paper, but it won't. There's no way to print just one sheet from the top feed. I came from a worn out Canon photoprinter, and this HP is just awful.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for price

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, OR
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
We have had this printer for 10 days. I was working on a craft project when my old printer stop working, so I was anxious to get the new one up and running. The installation was extremely easy and we love the wireless connection. Print features used so far have been as advertised and I am appreciating the deep paper tray. Good value for such an economical price.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features. Great Performance so far

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Needed an all-in-one printer to replace a good c6180. Printer 8100 version did not meet my expectation and had to return immediately because of some software/wireless hook-up issues. Also, black ink cartridge leaked in box.
Spoke to returns people at HP and they handled things perfectly. Replacement was overnight and loading two computers, with software (on-line version - drivers) for one laptop, took under an hour. Up and printing a will begin using all features shortly.
Recommend this printer
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features at a reasonable price

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Eureka, California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does a good job printing photographs on high grade hp photo paper as well as fast operation when doing general printing on regular paper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good printer, not perfect

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rapid City, SD
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a good performing printer, but there are a couple of problems in our opinion.
First, the envelope printing is not the best. All of the paper must be removed before the envelope is put in the paper tray and the feeding of the envelope is not smooth. The printer has a tendency to bend the leading edge causing the envelope to not fed straight. This results in the printing on the envelope to be slanted .
Second, when printing photos, it a best to feed the photo paper 1 sheet at a time after removing all of the other paper.
But other than these 2 deficiencies, the printer works great. The print quality is very good and photos do print very well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performer!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large footprint, but economical as far as ink usage. Have run at least 500 pages over the past 3 months, mostly on draft mode, and still using startup cartridges. Draft print is amazingly fast & clean...even in duplex mode. Have printed a few pictures and have no complaints. Plan to get a similar model, but with multi-functionality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent. Supports my needs

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for a printer that supported all my needs and this is the one. Reasonable price, excellent features and very easy to setup and install on all of my printers. I have multiple computers with various operating systems. This printer supports all of them. Completely setup and working with full functioinality in a matter of minutes. I am extremely pleased!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a excellent product

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Printer is very fast and prints beautifully. I am very pleased with my purchase. It was a great price for a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8100 ePrinter - N811a/N811d
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

decent printer.....rotten installation

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:maryland
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2 hrs after trying to set this thing up....found the only way my HP computer would recognixe the printer was via network ethernet connection....the direct USB connection just did nothing.....instructiond are silent on the issue....seems something so simple as a direct plug and play set up would be easy.....darn good thing i had a network to connect it too....also, the ink cartridges are help in with VERy flimsy springs.....i suspect they will nto last long at all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.