HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Officejet Pro or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g

HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating:
4.117 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(256 reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 256 reviews
5 Stars
159
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
12
1 Star
31
205 out of 256(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic All-in-One Printer

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer model was recommended to me, and I could not be happier with it. I wanted an All-in-One that could print documents and photos, scan (especially direct to email), fax, and copy - all in black and white or color and via WiFi. This printer does it all, and does it very well.
The touch screen is a huge bonus, since you can choose all of your options, including scan to email with the address included, while at the printer, instead of walking back and forth from the printer to a remote computer. I also found that initial set up could all be done at the touch screen, although a setup CD is included as well.
The print, scan, and copy quality is sharp and true to color. (I have not used the fax function yet.) The printer responds and completes jobs quickly. You can set up multiple authorized users and email addresses by using the website, with one primary email address as the default.
The quality of the printer also appears quite good. I ordered this online and had it shipped, and everything arrived in perfect condition.
Overall, I would highly recommend this for anyone wanting a multifunction printer for home, home office, or small business use, and I would purchase it again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This printer has everything I need.

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Richland, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is the first new I have purchased in six years. Oh what a difference. The only feature that I have not used is the fax capabilities, but will be doing so shortly. Copies are sharp, fast print speed, great for doing two-sided copying, easy to use scan feature. Could not be happier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer, Glad I Waited!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A year or so ago my Officejet 7210 was showing its age but was still doing a good job. So I looked at an OJ Pro 8500. The reviews we so bad I decided to wait for HP to re-engineer out the problems.
They did a great job with the 8600. It is a very nice upgrade. Much more solid feel that the 7210 and with more features.
I have nothing but Macs and contrary to some reports, the thing sets up and performs flawlessly on Snow Leopard.
NOTE: Never use a supplied software on new hardware. Always go to the manufacters website for the latest download. There is also a special update for Lion as well.
The touchpad is like all the recent ones from HP. Not as forgiving as the iPhone/iPad.
Pros:
- Solid Feel to all the plastic parts.
- Setup is a breeze on a Mac
- Embedded Web site on printer
- Flexible networking
Cons (maybe):
- Touchpad - it's fussy and will it last.
- Cost of Ink.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional value, Great product

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Altadena, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my Officejet8600 Plus! Super easy to install, compact size for all that it can do. Love the screen, it tells you what function is working, home screen easy to manipulate. I was able to fax a 48 page immediately, (states that it can fax a 100 page document) and I color, double quick sided printing, copier was great and fast .Printing try can hold about half a ream of paper. eprinting and web printing wow. This printer is a must have for home office. I am a teacher and use it quite daily. I have two HP desktops and 2 HP laptops, 2 Mac Book Pros all use this fantastic printer daily. I ordered XL ink cartridges with my order with a 20% off discount. Colors are vibrant. A true must have for quality, efficient, economical printing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect "all-in-one"

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Petaluma, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced my by black and white laser all-in-one, and my photo printer with this replacement.
Love the two-sided page printing, the easy touch-screen set-up, and the easy individual four print cartridge installation.
Hard to believe I can get Color Copies, Photo prints, 4800 DPI scanning, Faxing, Document Feeding, Two-Sided printed pages, and wireless networking,all for a very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

0 features work with Windows 8.1

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hi, I've had this printer for about 3 years now. With the introduction of Windows 8.1, NONE of the features on the printer work anymore. Examples: 1 scanning from the Printer to the PC (you can't set it up anymore). 2) Faxing from the PC to the Scanner 3) Accessing the PC from the scanner.
Basically all you can do with this printer and Windows 8.1 is print and scan via the pc interface.
Hope this helps someone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good printer

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:oakland, ca
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having just got this printer, I have found it good and have encountered no problems. It seems to work fine. One feature I find annoying is that there is a paper drawer and my old printer had open access. I frequently print a couple of Sudoku puzzles from different sources and want to use both sides of the paper, so I have to open the drawer to reload the paper. If I am researching something and want to print from different sources, i have the same problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice mackine

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Everying is great except for printing photos. this was one of the thing is am interested in. The 8600plus has issues with slow printing of photos and also whit picking up photo paper.
The other functions work very well and more than meet expectations I will keep my photo printer however.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

printer office pro 8600

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:rutland vermont
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is the printer ive ben looking for it does so many fuctions if you buy it you wont be sorry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stinks

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Antonio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This one is in the category of getting one star only because I can't give it no stars. Pure and simple, this is the WORST HP printer I've ever purchased, and I've used HP printers since the LaserJet III. First, the color rendition is absolutely horrible. Muddy, poor resolution. I have no such problems with the same files printed on HP and Xerox color printers at my office. Second, the duplexer jams more often than not. Third, it has a very maddening tendency to put a crease in the paper about 2.5" from the leading edge. The first one was so bad I got it replaced. The second one was no better, but I'd been out of town and very busy during the month after the exchange and the vendor refused to take the unit back. No idea what this printer is good for. Not heavy enough for a boat anchor. Landfill?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will not take photo paper

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ventnor City NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Priter will not take photopaper even after spending over 2 hours on the phone with an HP teck. I was told they were sending a new one what I got was a new paper tray which also does not work. Will be back on the phone with them on monday meanwhile, I have been without a printer for 3 weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Outstanding All-In-One

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Rochelle, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had HP printers for approximately the past 15 years. My last printer, the 6500, lasted for three years and the one before that for nine years. I received my 8600 OfficeJet Pro and had it up and running within a very short period of time. It is, by far, the best HP Printer that I have owned. It is easy to operate, does exactly what it is supposed to do and produces clear, crisp copies. I have used all of the features; print, scan, fax, copy and they all work perfectly. A really neat feature is the ability to make a two-sided copy in all the modes. I absolutely love this machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I expected...

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kennett, MO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Upgraded from 8500, lot smoother when printing...haven't had long enough to know about ink usage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Easy set up.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Warren Oregon
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second multi use printer/fax/scan/. The set up was very easy and quick. No problems at this point. My concern would be if this model is discontinued in the future and no parts are available for any needed repair that may come along. Also the Ink jet printers should all use the same ink, you would get a lot more loyal customers with this one step.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply a great product. Just got my second one.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Higganum, CT
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son needed a printer for college, so I used the opportunity to update my current OJ Pro 8600 to the 8600 Plus. Simple installation- was up and printing in 14 minutes. Great features that are really simple to use. The larger display (than the earlier 8600) makes choosing options a snap. Very intuitive. If you need a copy machine, a scanner, a fax, and a terrific printer, this machine is what you want. It's well-built and dependable. And if you use one of the available coupon codes for August, it's even cheaper here than at Staples!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Prnter

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Korea
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one thing in copy setting i hope that hp upgrade the copy setting in two sided with 2 sided original and 2 sided copy same setting in Photosmart c309a if posible. but in all this printer is great i love it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding so far with one exception

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Madison, AL.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I received my HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus with no problems and was able to set it up easy. I had it printing wireless in hardly no time at all. I was afraid that I would have to download the software since I had Windows 8.1 but I inserted the accompanying disk and the software was installed without having to download. At least, the printer prints fine. I am impressed with the speed at which it prints photos and also in two-sided printing. My HP OJ 8500 takes a lot longer to print those items. The only item I am still having trouble with is the so-called e-print feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for the price

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I've had this printer for over a year. In the last several months, I find trouble top feeding . I have had to uninstall and reinstall 2 different times because it could no longer find my Wi-Fi and the most recent of this has been this week. The Wi-Fi left me again, but the USB works great. I am a work at home accountant and rely on the top feed for documents. Would I recommend this product to someone else? Yes, I think for the price it is a good product. I will most likely purchase another one in the near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

DISAPPOINTED

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:LOS ANGELES
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GREAT PRINTER, HOWEVER CANNOT SHUT IT OFF - HAVE TRIED FOR DAYS - JUST WONT SHUT OFF.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland OH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using the 8600 pro for two months now & I am thrilled with it. Compared to my previous 6500 model, this runs circles around that. Have used ADF, scan from pc, print from pc, hpeprint, airprint, copying & all works well. Boots up quickly, prints quickly & quality is excellent. Ink doesn't smudge when highlighted & is pleasant to the eye. Very easy to set up (HP tech spt very helpful), quiet operation & I recommend this model very highly. I did get a refurbished one & it's just like new. Yippee for HP.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 to next page>>