HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Officejet Pro or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g

hp HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g

HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating:
4.132 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(243 reviews) 243
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 243 reviews
5 Stars
151
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
12
1 Star
28
195 out of 243(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic All-in-One Printer

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer model was recommended to me, and I could not be happier with it. I wanted an All-in-One that could print documents and photos, scan (especially direct to email), fax, and copy - all in black and white or color and via WiFi. This printer does it all, and does it very well.
The touch screen is a huge bonus, since you can choose all of your options, including scan to email with the address included, while at the printer, instead of walking back and forth from the printer to a remote computer. I also found that initial set up could all be done at the touch screen, although a setup CD is included as well.
The print, scan, and copy quality is sharp and true to color. (I have not used the fax function yet.) The printer responds and completes jobs quickly. You can set up multiple authorized users and email addresses by using the website, with one primary email address as the default.
The quality of the printer also appears quite good. I ordered this online and had it shipped, and everything arrived in perfect condition.
Overall, I would highly recommend this for anyone wanting a multifunction printer for home, home office, or small business use, and I would purchase it again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This printer has everything I need.

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Richland, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is the first new I have purchased in six years. Oh what a difference. The only feature that I have not used is the fax capabilities, but will be doing so shortly. Copies are sharp, fast print speed, great for doing two-sided copying, easy to use scan feature. Could not be happier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer, Glad I Waited!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A year or so ago my Officejet 7210 was showing its age but was still doing a good job. So I looked at an OJ Pro 8500. The reviews we so bad I decided to wait for HP to re-engineer out the problems.
They did a great job with the 8600. It is a very nice upgrade. Much more solid feel that the 7210 and with more features.
I have nothing but Macs and contrary to some reports, the thing sets up and performs flawlessly on Snow Leopard.
NOTE: Never use a supplied software on new hardware. Always go to the manufacters website for the latest download. There is also a special update for Lion as well.
The touchpad is like all the recent ones from HP. Not as forgiving as the iPhone/iPad.
Pros:
- Solid Feel to all the plastic parts.
- Setup is a breeze on a Mac
- Embedded Web site on printer
- Flexible networking
Cons (maybe):
- Touchpad - it's fussy and will it last.
- Cost of Ink.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding so far with one exception

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Madison, AL.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I received my HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus with no problems and was able to set it up easy. I had it printing wireless in hardly no time at all. I was afraid that I would have to download the software since I had Windows 8.1 but I inserted the accompanying disk and the software was installed without having to download. At least, the printer prints fine. I am impressed with the speed at which it prints photos and also in two-sided printing. My HP OJ 8500 takes a lot longer to print those items. The only item I am still having trouble with is the so-called e-print feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for the price

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I've had this printer for over a year. In the last several months, I find trouble top feeding . I have had to uninstall and reinstall 2 different times because it could no longer find my Wi-Fi and the most recent of this has been this week. The Wi-Fi left me again, but the USB works great. I am a work at home accountant and rely on the top feed for documents. Would I recommend this product to someone else? Yes, I think for the price it is a good product. I will most likely purchase another one in the near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

DISAPPOINTED

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:LOS ANGELES
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GREAT PRINTER, HOWEVER CANNOT SHUT IT OFF - HAVE TRIED FOR DAYS - JUST WONT SHUT OFF.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland OH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using the 8600 pro for two months now & I am thrilled with it. Compared to my previous 6500 model, this runs circles around that. Have used ADF, scan from pc, print from pc, hpeprint, airprint, copying & all works well. Boots up quickly, prints quickly & quality is excellent. Ink doesn't smudge when highlighted & is pleasant to the eye. Very easy to set up (HP tech spt very helpful), quiet operation & I recommend this model very highly. I did get a refurbished one & it's just like new. Yippee for HP.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nogales, AZ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second purchase of the Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g. It is very easy to set up & use. It has all the features a small business needs & it is cost efficient too. I would highly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Im Satisfied

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cross Lanes, WV
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am satisfied with my HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus. The only thing I don't like is there is no separate tray for printing 4 x 6 pictures but that is not a problem. It does everything I want to do with a printer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bought 2 - 1 Great, 1 Really Bad

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northern Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First purchase: I bought one for my son to help him finish his thesis. The 8600 worked like a champ. Fast, clean print, no jams, easy setup, built and ran like a champ.
Second purchase: During setup the first test pages had drips of black ink. I printed one email message as a test and it had black drips on it. It then gave a message that there was a problem with the print head and to remove it. Followed the on screen animated instructions and pulled out the ink cartridges and printer head (very easy to do). My hand was underneath the print head to support it when withdrawing it from the 8600 and it was drizzling ink out (continuous stream). Before I could do anything it overflowed my hand onto my shirt, pants, leg, onto ceramic tile and the grout between the tiles. What a mess. Good news is the ink cleaned up pretty easy (a little scrubbing). I had the 3 year extended warranty and HP immediately shipped a new print head and another pack of starter ink cartridges. So a bimodal experience and in my book, the low score is the one that sticks for my grading. Unacceptable experience even if the new print head solves the problem. This is an Officejet Pro series printer yet this was far from a "Pro" experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printing for Inexpensive Machine

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP office jet pro 8600 was highly rated on all the comparison sites I checked. It does a super job in color and black and white. The HP online store was the least expensive to order from, and had the fastest shipping. Excellent experience overall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fax did not even work!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The fax did not work, but it was past the 30 days to get a knew one! The sales person did not say there were 2 other options were available, such as a Premium version. The sales person was probably not allowed to say this printer would be obsolete. It is also too big. Plus there are NOT abilities for sizes when copying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All-in-One and More......

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Hill, Washington
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced my old Office Jet 6310ix All-in-One with this new Office Jet PRO 8600. We are still working though all the features, but so far we love it and the number of pages it prints is like three times of my old printer.
The eprint is a great addition but we are still working out the bugs and have had three difference email address assigned. This is because of a problem with my Home Net, and the printer not being seen and when we re-connect HP Connect assigns a new address.
You need to think of it as being connected on two networks, one is the Home Net and the second is a internet (HP Direct Print) with the printers build in server. Just a bump in the road of setting things up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay but why so many this and thats

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:denver, colorado
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just okay for the 8600 because the feeder did not last long at all, but ad for online printer/server set up it gets 5 stars. I LOVE my 7500 and any printer made prior to that, as the ink lasts a super long time. I have had over 25 printers in my lifetime, and that said, I do think HP is the "best-of-the-best" overall. As for small home office type settings you cannot go wrong with HP. So, pick up an HP but grab a warranty, so you can trade in if needed. Technology is evolving daily.
I do love the older HP series, so I hope HP will go retro when designing in the future. As for 7500 series- my employees tend to make fun of the ol' workhouse, HP printer... until the have to print several documents @ flyers per cost-. After the employees use my 7500 for 1 day they ask how much I want to sell the "big" ol' machine for? I pass every time. ink is cheaper with older series so don't trade them in- if you can store one for just photos etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Printer

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Spokane Valley, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
So far so good. Surprised me how fast it printed. Others complained about how much ink it consumed. I haven,t found that problem to be more so than other printers. Ink is expensive. Still learning to use this printer. Haven't figured out how to set up the fax yet. Overall, I am happy with this printer. Very easy to set up (except fax).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Larger than expected - takes up a lot of space

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kirksville, Missouri
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It is set up to do a variety of thinks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Clinton, MS
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After a little online research I decided to replace my old HP Officejet 4500 G510g with a newer model which I purchased from the HP Home & Office Store online. I chose the HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus N911-g based on the price and the reviews, and I have not been disappointed! I have been using it for 2 weeks now and am most impressed. It was easy to set up all the functions (including fax), and the speed and quality of printing are excellent. This was my first purchase from hp.com online and they delivered my order within 5 days and in perfect condition. In my opinion this is a perfect all-in-one printer for home office application, and I'm looking forward to keeping this Officejet Pro 8600 Plus for as long as I had my 4500 (3 years). Brilliant!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Printer yet

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Duluth, MN.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had 5 HP printers in 12 years. This one is the best so far. I have no idea how long the ink will last but the model this replaced ( looked almost identical ) was plagued with problems and sucked the ink dry way to often. I pray for better experience with this one. GOOD SO FAR> ( I do very little printing ) Which may be part of the problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Printer!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Allen Park, MI
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an awesome printer! Very satisfied with it. Printouts are of incredible quality, including photos. Can print wirelessly, even from cell phone. One thing to consider though is its large size. Need to ensure you have room for it's size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is great. I have always had HP printers. This is a great upgrade from the 8500 which was fantastic as well. I run a home office and this printer handles all my needs. I bought the 8600 plus and now upgrading with the second tray. It has excellent print quality for graphics as well.
Thanks HP
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 to next page>>