HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g

hp HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g

HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating:
4.173 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(214 reviews) 214
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 214 reviews
5 Stars
138
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
10
1 Star
24
176 out of 214(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic All-in-One Printer

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer model was recommended to me, and I could not be happier with it. I wanted an All-in-One that could print documents and photos, scan (especially direct to email), fax, and copy - all in black and white or color and via WiFi. This printer does it all, and does it very well.
The touch screen is a huge bonus, since you can choose all of your options, including scan to email with the address included, while at the printer, instead of walking back and forth from the printer to a remote computer. I also found that initial set up could all be done at the touch screen, although a setup CD is included as well.
The print, scan, and copy quality is sharp and true to color. (I have not used the fax function yet.) The printer responds and completes jobs quickly. You can set up multiple authorized users and email addresses by using the website, with one primary email address as the default.
The quality of the printer also appears quite good. I ordered this online and had it shipped, and everything arrived in perfect condition.
Overall, I would highly recommend this for anyone wanting a multifunction printer for home, home office, or small business use, and I would purchase it again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This printer has everything I need.

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Richland, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is the first new I have purchased in six years. Oh what a difference. The only feature that I have not used is the fax capabilities, but will be doing so shortly. Copies are sharp, fast print speed, great for doing two-sided copying, easy to use scan feature. Could not be happier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer, Glad I Waited!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A year or so ago my Officejet 7210 was showing its age but was still doing a good job. So I looked at an OJ Pro 8500. The reviews we so bad I decided to wait for HP to re-engineer out the problems.
They did a great job with the 8600. It is a very nice upgrade. Much more solid feel that the 7210 and with more features.
I have nothing but Macs and contrary to some reports, the thing sets up and performs flawlessly on Snow Leopard.
NOTE: Never use a supplied software on new hardware. Always go to the manufacters website for the latest download. There is also a special update for Lion as well.
The touchpad is like all the recent ones from HP. Not as forgiving as the iPhone/iPad.
Pros:
- Solid Feel to all the plastic parts.
- Setup is a breeze on a Mac
- Embedded Web site on printer
- Flexible networking
Cons (maybe):
- Touchpad - it's fussy and will it last.
- Cost of Ink.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all-in-one printer

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Paradise Valley, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just received the HP Officejet 8600 Pro Plus to replace a six year old HP L7780 due to incompatability with MS 7. Driver loading and configuration of the 8600 for Print/Fax/Scan function was flawless. Great dashboard presentation to control all printer functionality. Scan functionality greatly improved, intuitive and significntly faster than the old drivers. Print quality excellent. Printer is very quite and front touch screen display is very intuitive and easy to operate. Highly recommended. Great job HP for another great product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Skip this model

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Issaquah, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We have 2 HP color laser printers and an HP Touchsmart PC and all have given very good service with minimal problems. Then we bought the HP 8600 Plus. Within 6 months the "paper jam" messages started. Sometimes true and often a "ghost" jam. Now, 3 months out of warranty, the machine has declared a permanent jam and is non-functional. Followed the online steps to resolve, bought new ink cartridges and HP paper. Nothing. So, we have one less device and one new boat anchor. Unless you have a boat, pass this model by and look at others in the HP line-up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Jam Master

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hawthorne, California
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer has jam from the time it was removed the box. I have always used HP printer but never again. I don't feel you should operate on a printer fresh out the box and after every other use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beaverton, Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received my printer safe and sound. I was able to set it up all by myself and soon everyone could print from my printer. We have a large house so it's great that anyone in it can print from their devices, iphone, ipad, or computer. I have my grown children come home at various times and they don't have to borrow my computer anymore to print. Yay! This is my 3rd HP printer (my other 2 HP printers still work, I just gave them to my kids so I can keep up with the most recent technology.) I am very happy I bought this printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excited about the possibilities

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've yet to try any (except print) of the features of this machine, as I've only had it for a couple of weeks, but have not tried any of the other features (scanning, faxing, duplexing, the apps etc.). Therefore, I'm excited about the possibilities, at this point. I hope to get some time to use it within the next couple of weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant all-in-one printer

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Middletown PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product with many features that we needed for our home computer. Have this same model at work and decided to get this one to upgrade our home printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The product is great

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It prints faster than the other HP printers I have in my home and it is my go to printer for faxes and other items. I have read some of the bad reviews I haven't had those issues. If you don't know how to set up your printer or load your paper or whatever you are printing on properly I guess you would have problems. Mine is a dream. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I have to replace the ink often. Every semester I replace the ink. That is about 4 months and the ink is pricey especially if you get them all. Other than that, this printer is awesome!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Merced, Ca
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works great just like all the hp products i have but i don' t like what happen i bought mine for 229.99 one week later you emailed me with a price of 169.99 not good business i m very unhappy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

8600 doesn't print small items well

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Richmond, VA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got the 8600 to replace an 8500 that I was just tired of fixing. I was dismayed to find out that the 8600 can't print small items straight.. As a small business we print a lot of small advertising items as well as small remittance envelopes( 3-1/2X 6). Nothing came out usable from the 8600 because it printed them crooked. I went out to the trash and pulled out the 8500 and repaired it again.to continue working. There is a change in the 8600 paper feed that doesn't allow it to perform this task as well as the 8500.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE!!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:IOWA
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I HAVE HAD MORE PROBLEMS WITH THIS PRINTER THEN ANYOTHER PRINTER I HAVE EVER OWNED! I SPENT DANG NEAR 350 BUCKS ON IT & I THINK I HAVE SPENT JUST AS MUCH MONEY ON PAPER & CHECKS THROWING THEM AWAY BECAUSE THE STUPID THING JAMS EVER SINCE I BROUGHT THE DANG THING HOME. FAX PART OF MACHINE DOESNT FEED RIGHT EITHER...
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't Print Envelopes

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington state
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I recently purchased the HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus as a replacement for my dead HP 1200 officejet printer. I soon found two office printer functions the 8600 does not perform. 1. I have not been able to print #10 envelopes with either MS Word 2007 nor WordPerfect X15. I followed the instructions found on the HP website to the letter and no joy. It feeds the envelopes fine but will not print them. In addition, there is no provision in the design for hand feeding either individual envelopes, individual card stock, label sheets or odd sized paper. The only way to feed the printer is via the paper tray. Thus, the tray must be removed, emptied, configured, loaded and reinserted for every change of paper type (including envelopes). Then these steps must be reversed to go back to normal printing. Very inefficient time management.
2. The design of the duplex fixture has no provision for straight through feeding of heavy card stock, label sheets, etc.
In short, the 8600 is an acceptable printer only if you never print on anything other than 8.5x11/14 plain paper.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Machine Does It All...

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently my HP6180 died after many years of good service. So, I decided to get this printer for my home office. This printer has everything, it even came with a duplexing attachment. Which was an extra cost option of the 6180 way back when. But, the neatest thing is that the printer has it's own email address so I or anybody else from around the world can email it a spreadsheet and it will be sitting on the printer when I get home. I thought Eprint was handy, but this takes a few steps out of the process and you don't have to be on the same network. It prints fast and I love the 200 sheet tray with an option to double it with a 2nd tray(which I don't need).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Printer

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have had this printer for about a month and love it. Easy installation because it is wireless and it almost set up itself. I was printing with it in no time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

very satisfied

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Dakota
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a small office that gets very busy during tax time. I was very please with the installation process as the printer virtually ask all the questions to get up and running. I have used all the features so far and for my small office it is working very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this printer, have only been using it for a couple weeks but it is fast at printing and love that I can do 2 sided printing now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

won't print on custom sized paper :(

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This printer is very fast and quality is pretty good. It seems to be very economical on the ink as well so far.
BUT, in the first two weeks of owning it, I have had 2 problems
1st: Upon faxing, the sheet of paper fed through but got stuck at the last bottom third so I had to yank it out
2nd: It will NOT print on custom sized paper. You can only pick from the preset sizes that are available but if you have a custom size you're out of luck. You will always get error message "paper size does not match." The only thing the tech could recommend to me is that I print on regular paper first and then cut to the size I want (which I can't do because I have already pre-cut the paper)
I have also had to re-start the printer a few times. It seems to give me problems because I do so much printing on special sizes and envelopes.
I think this is a great printer if you run an office without all the special papers.
I can't say anything about photo printing...never used it for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer - N911g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Printer Many Problems

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los angeles, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Within 8 months of purchase the printhead failed. HP sent another and all was well again. 2 months later the roller on the lower print tray went off track... Since I don't use the bottom
tray I ignored it. Immediately after warranty was out the printhead died again. This is the worst
experience I have ever had with a printer. I paid way over $300 and only got 1 year out of it.
How fair is that??????? Not happy at all. I was a loyal HP customer. It is difficult to remain loyal after this tragedy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 to next page>>