HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Scanjet & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 2140 Fax

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 2140 Fax

HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
20 out of 28(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 2140 Fax
Review 1 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No provision for working with TAD on same line

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gustavus, Alaska
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The HP 2140 Fax machine works OK, but I am disappointed that there is no provision for it to work with a telephone answering device on the same line. There is no "line out" port for connecting a TAD phone (as suggested on one HP web page relating to other HP fax machines). When connected to our phone line with a splitter, the 2140 does not "eavesdrop" on the message being left to detect a fax tone and automatically take an incoming fax. I set the fax machine to answer on the fifth ring while the TAD is set to answer on the fourth ring, but the fax did not respond to the incoming fax tone while the TAD was listening for a message. We have to be present when a fax call comes in, answer the line, hear the incoming fax tone, and then manually start the fax machine. We previously had a combination fax/TAD machine that took messages and faxes automatically when we were out, but good ones are becoming hard to find and they don't have extra wireless handsets for other locations in the house like our TAD phone does. The alternative with the 2140 is to pay for a separate fax line, which we were hoping to avoid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

REPLACES SIMILAR MODEL RECALLED

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Even after cartridge alignment, print quality from a sharp copy is poor.
Text edges are ragged and black density is poor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Faxes but causes phone problem.

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hoffman Estates, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It was easy to set up and it works, but I can't leave the phone line connected when not in use. It causes a buzzing/clicking sound I and the caller can hear; very annoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very good printer by HP

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Grass Valley, CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I installed it easily and was up and printing in no time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Fax Machine

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Burleson, TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased the HP 2140 to replace the recalled HP 1040 (fire hazard). I needed a good fax machine - not a copier, not a scanner, just a good fax machine. Several of my clients and associates send me articles and/or questions by fax vs waiting on me to get to my email. Since I don't live on my computer - a fax is usually a good way to reach me, so a good fax machine is hard to find and I have found one that I think will be the best one for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent fax machine

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Star, Idaho
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This machine is so light weight, doesn't take up much space and works wonderfully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to install, works well

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:The Villages, Fl
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect for small space. Easy to use. Might be improved by including a tray to catch papers when they come through. If unit was sitting on desk, not an issue, but my fax sits on top of narrow bookcase so, as papers are received, they fall to the floor. Minor drawback for very good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far So Good

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far this fax machine is performing well. We don't usually receive a lot of faxes but have had to send a good number out. So far everything has performed well. Am waiting to see how long the initial ink cartridge lasts, but so far everything prints out clearly. I'd recommend this product for those who don't want an all-in-one and don't expect high volume usage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good machine

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I amreal happy with the machine, only wish it would print caller id names like my old machine did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Old fax machine was better

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This fax machine was the direct replacement for my previous fax machine that was recalled due to possible fire issues. This machine seems junkier, noisier, just not as nice as my previous fax machine. I only use rarely, so hopefully it will hold up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the money !!!

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fax machine for the money, nothing fancy but works fine, easy to set up and operate !!!!! Thanks HP .. :)))
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't use it!

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unfortunately I can't get the cartridge in to be able to use this machine. They provided a diagram that has the smallest picture I've ever seen. Obviously there is some trick to inserting the cartridge, but I haven't found it yet. After struggling for an hour, I just gave up. Not sure what to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Altos, CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this was purchased to replace a recalled 1040 fax. It has performed great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Recall replacement

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:United States
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cheaply built, lower quality than the 1040 fax this replaces d/t product recall, yet much more expensive, and in this economy, yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Fax Machine

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm very pleased with the slim design and ease of operation of my new HP 2140 Fax.
The set-up was fast and intuitive, and the quick set-up instructions made the process a breeze.
Couldn't be happier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't load thin paper

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The ink cartridge that it came with was practically empty but the bigger problem is that it does not load the document with thin paper. I really don;t want to have to buy more expensive paper just to get the fax machine to work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wise choice

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wanted a fax that wasn't part of my copier/printer. First FAX recieved was 43 pages. Worked without a hitch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Setup, Smooth operation

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For limited use the Fax is great! An on/off switch would make the unit better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for small jobs

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, New York
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to install and easy to use. Hooked it up to our answering machine as well. This model is faster and quieter than their earlier version. I like the new feature that permits you to screen junk faxes. Ideal if you primarily need a land line phone and only occasional faxes. Very reasonably priced for what you get. Well worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 2140 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hemphill,Tx.
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
It is easy to use and works great. Would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.