HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Single-function inkjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One

Prints, scans, and copies Print speeds up to 20 pages/min black, 16 color## 60-sheet fold-up input tray, 25-sheet output tray Wireless connectivity Created from 35% recycled plastic
Overall rating:
3.524 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
13
40 out of 63(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ocean City, New Jeresy
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got it yesterday and the setup went flawlessly. In about 25 minutes I had it unboxed, plugged in and wirelessly printing from both of my laptops, one Vista and one Windows 7. I have so far used the scanner and the envelope feed and everything works well. Before I ordered I did an online search for HP coupons and found one for $25 that I entered before I hit submit and it worked. As I said, so far so good, and if it keeps working like this for a long time, then for the price it's a great deal.
+45points
46of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer - 100% Worthed!

PostedOctober 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Simi Valley, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great printer! Very easy to use and setup is a breeze. Great print quality and connects to wireless in seconds. I have been using HP for so many years and they never let me down. If you are looking for a new, affordable printer with easy to use features and excellent print quality, then you have to buy this. I absolutely recommend this product to everyone. Thank you again HP for a great printer!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer & Scanner

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this printer about two weeks ago, and I love it. I am especially pleased that I can print (and scan!) wirelessly.
A previous reviewer indicated that the printer had reduced functionality when used with Windows 7 Professional 64 bit. I had no problems using this printer with Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit.
As for compatibility and versatility, my desktop (the Win 7 PC) is connected via USB to the printer, and my laptop (running Win XP SP3) connects to the printer over the wireless network. I can print and scan from both machines easily. I also like the fact that the printer software allows me to scan directly to PDF (a feature I didn't have in my older HP printer).
Set up was quick and easy, and the print quality is excellent.
I highly recommend this printer.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One - GREAT

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Grant Tennessee
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this from HP about 3 days ago. Simply outstanding is the only word I can use. I am printing wireless from a home network and the setup took less than 5 minutes and it went flawless. The print quality is also great for this little printer. The paper loads from the back and has a paper tray in the front for the printer product to come out to. The shipping from HP was also very quick and efficient. You can't go wrong with HP and this printer. If you are looking for a good quality, simple to use, easy to setup wireless printer this is definitely a great choice. Also prints with a USB cable if you wish which comes with.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY NICE PRINTER!!!

PostedOctober 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall it works very well. It prints pretty fast and the prints come out amazing. I also love that this printer is wireless this is especially nice if you are using a laptop you don't have to run to the printer and plug your computer in. The only downside is that it is a little noisy when it is printing but no biggy for the price and performance I would say well worth it!
After spending hundreds on Lexmarks that would not configure! No more.
HP it is for printers
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless... can you believe it, at this price?

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:United Kingdom
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer took my eye for its wireless connectivity at LESS than £40.00GBP! Got it home and am so glad that I purchased this printer. Connected to WiFi in minutes (apart from an issue with my mac crashing, nothing to do with the printer) and requiring a reinstall. Prints REALLY quickly and excellent quality options available.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Inexpensive Light Duty WiFi Printer

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all, it works fine with Microsoft Windows 7, Vista, and XP. So the complaints that it does not work with Windows 7 are nonsense, the complainer's computer is more than likely the problem and not the 3050. I also live in an large apartment complex (a couple HUNDRED units) that is WiFi polluted. I can see at least 40 WiFi Access Points, 15 of them wide open not even using WEP. I followed the setup instructions, set up the 3050's wireless by connecting the USB cable to my laptop, and it was done. I turn it off for days at a time, have power outages ... it never loses its connection to my off-the-shelf LinkSys router and never tries to connect to my neighbors' routers. And it prints faster via WiFi and crisper than my USB connected Epson. So - slow printing is not a fault of the printer like others claim. There's no SD slot ... big deal ... the next model up and additional $20 tacked onto the price tag gets you that. I've never used SD features on a printer anyway so it's no loss to me. The printer DOES suffer from a copier function ANNOYANCE that HP hasn't fixed yet from it's earlier models of All-In-One printers - the last bottom line of a sheet of paper being copied will not be printed. Unlike most printer mfgs who cut costs everywhere, HP has gone back to providing a USB printer cable and full ink cartridges (instead of 30 page trial ink cartridges). This is not your end all, do all printer. I use it with my laptops downstairs in my home for quick WiFi printing, scanning (which it does very well), and copying. And the earth-friendly tote bag used to pack the printer in was a nice, earth responsible touch. The 3050 is a printer that does what it says its does ... no more, no less. I question the computer technical capabilities of some of the reviewers who gave the 3050 a thumbs down, because it works out of the box like it's supposed to do. :^)
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good Purchase

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas,NV
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a Cannon MP 830..needed ink so i went to Best Buys to get the ink...to my surprise the ink was going to cost $65.00 plus tax......uncle sam...came across this Deskjet 3050 wireless for the price of $59.00 plus tax...guess what?.....i bought the wireless HP...went home, 15 min later....I had not only my Laptop but my Granddaughter Laptop running the wireless printer......easy....easy....to set up! Cannon MP 830 setting in the storage unit collecting dirt.....lol
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Constant connection issues

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vernon, AL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have no issue with the printing, copying or scanning functions of this printer. All are very good for the price you pay. The problem is the connectivity of the wireless function. Every time there is a power outage or even a blink, I have to reinstall the printer. If the printer is turned off for ANY reason, I have to rerun the installation for it to reconnect. I finally gave up and now leave it connected all the time with a USB cable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not much luck

PostedJune 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this printer for my son's school work and really liked the fact it had wireless capabilities printed in black & white or color, copied and scanned but from the moment I set it up, I had problems with the paper feeding. It always gave an out of paper message even though there was paper and I had to pull out and reinsert the paper several times before it recognized it and printed. After just a few months, it gave me a paper jam error which could not be cleared even though there was no paper or debris. I did trouble shooting on the HP website and on line with a tech with no success. HP was great with replacing the printer with a different model as it was still under warranty. After reading other reviews most people have had good luck but my printer had issues. I will be trying a different model to see If I have better luck.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedApril 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gainesville, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've owned the HP 3050 all-in-one printer for 4 months. The printer continually goes offline when I loose my network connection and will not go online until I uninstall HP software and reinstall the software. This occurs every few days. So irritating.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would never recommend Deskjet 3050 or 1055

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northridge, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would never recommend Deskjet 3050 or 1055 to anyone because they share the same problem that is they do not copy to the end of the page. unlike my older adorable Deskjet F4480 the quality of new Deskjet series are getting worst!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice printer, scanner, copier

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York City
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to set up. My only problem is printing from the computer it is difficult to get it to print in black & white only. Keeps printing in color almost all the time. That could get expensive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

what a nightmare.

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I paid extra for a wireless printer...that I can't use wirelessly. It is too busy trying to connect to my neighbor's secured wireless connections, that it forgets to connect to the one it was programmed to connect to. Connected to the computer via cord it's a great printer. My suggestion: if you live in an apartment building, don't bother with the wireless feature, you'll be wasting your money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer at Target a few months ago and love it. The wireless option works great. I have it set up in my sunroom and can print from anywhere in the house. It was easy to set up and haven't had any issues with the printing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lil Printer

PostedJune 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East TN
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am newly retired, after 40 Years @ an International Corporation. I never learned too much office work as I had others to do it for me. I am now doing small business from home & LOVE LOVE LOVE this printer.
I have done multi-page brochures & printed pictures on the paper included in the box. My learning curve is the only thing holding me back. I will be doing your tutorials & will enjoy this printer.
I highly recommend it as it is not a space eater. Fits nicely in my small office room.
The price was right as well. :)
Thank you HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It Printed, It Scanned, It Copied, It Died.

PostedJune 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used this printer for about five months without too much trouble. The wireless network setup went easily when the printer was plugged in via USB, so no complaints there. The scanner functioned OK, but seemed much slower to scan than any other (even considerably older) printer/scanners I've owned. I avoided scanning at 300dpi or higher whenever possible due to the scan times at higher resolutions counted in multiple minutes, rather than seconds. This was the case whether scanning over the network or directly via USB.
I was only able to print through about half of the ream of paper I bought (about 250 sheets printed) before it died. A paper jam error came up one day, seemingly at random, and could not be fixed even using all the troubleshooting techniques offered by the online tech support chat agent. He quickly came to the conclusion that it was a mechanical failure and it would have to be sent back under warranty.
I was offered a gift card for more than the original purchase price and was provided a pre-paid shipping box and packing materials to send the old printer back. Customer service was excellent, so kudos to HP for that. My main gripe is that I still have most of the ink leftover from the first replacement pair of cartridges I bought!
Overall I was slightly disappointed with the performance of this printer, but while it lasted, it did everything you'd expect a $50 printer to do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Printer/Scanner

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The set up was FAST.
I set up everything by myself without any difficulties.
Shipping was AMAZING.
Ordered it on Monday and it came on Friday.
Pretty fast.
It also let me know where it is and when it will be here.
I would recommend it to any family members or friends.
Also the price was decent.
The printer colors were good quality.
BEST FIRST PRINTER :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I dont recommend this printer

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Columbus OH
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Never got as far as being able to print a test page until I spent the evening online with the support team. Problem there ended up being a defective print cartridge but I had to go out and buy a new cartridge myself.
After getting the new cartridge, I still had to spend a couple of hours online again with the support team to get it working.
Printer is very noisy when printing. Wish it could hold more blank paper. It seems that I am always reloading it. Also I lose the wireless connection at least once a week and have to turn my router off and on to get it to connect. This interupts all the computers using the internet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Painless !!!! GREAT PRINTER !!!!

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cold Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not a computer geek...... I set up a new Netgear N600 wireless router and wanted a wireless printer to compliment it....
Bought the 3050 from HP (new) and with online coupon avaliable paid about $53 with tax and shipping....
It was the most painless installation EVER of ANY PRINTER I had used...... 10 minutes max from out of the box to a WIRELESS generated copy...
The Quality was top notch also !!!!
Only caveat....a little noisy when printing....but who cares ??? The thing worked flawlessly..
I read the reviews extensively before I purchased....I think the problems people have had may be due to "less than quality" routers versus the printer....that's why I went with a top of the line router...
Soooo....now all 8 of our wireless devices can print......going to try my Droid X print program next on it....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.