HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Single-function inkjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One

Prints, scans, and copies Print speeds up to 20 pages/min black, 16 color## 60-sheet fold-up input tray, 25-sheet output tray Wireless connectivity Created from 35% recycled plastic
Overall rating:
3.524 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
13
40 out of 63(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little printer.

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I confess that I did not buy this from HP directly but at the Apple Store with my Macbook Pro. (The printer rebate came in handy)
My last inkjet was an Epson Stylus CX7400--a workhorse printer--that I am comparing this little guy to. I say "little guy" because it almost 1/2 the size of my last inkjet.
Things I liked....
a) I love the Wireless printing feature....it works, and works well. Setup was less than 5 minutes on all the Macs in our home. (Gotta love Apple-supplied drivers via Software Update)
b) Scanner works really well. In order to use the "Scan To" feature, one must use the HP-supplied drivers over the Apple-supplied ones. No biggie, however, the HP supplied drivers will run a persistent app called "HP Device Monitor" that consumes 0.1%-2% CPU utilization and 31-50MB of RAM on average. However, installing the Apple-supplied stack will *NOT* include the HP Device Monitor so I use Apple-supplied drivers on laptops and the HP-supplied drivers on the iMac.
c) Print Quality is surprisingly good. I've always been an Epson snob for printing but my wife uses HP at her school primarily without an issue. The print quality for B&W plain paper is pretty good, however, it tends to crumple the paper if using a lot of ink (because of its wetness). My Epson Stylus never did this. However, allowing the paper to dry for a few minutes seems to even it back out slightly. Photo quality is arguably as good (if not better) than I had on my Epson, that says a lot. The box had two complimentary starter packs of HP Photo Paper and the photos look beautiful on it.
d) Prints very quickly and is very capable at handling large print jobs.
e) Sleep mode. I can leave the printer on all day and night, it goes into sleep mode and is ready at a moment's notice. Very handy.
f) Mac support is pretty good. Built-in web interface for the print server is a nice touch.
Things that could be better....
a) Borderless printing is something I miss from my Epson days....granted the print quality on the HP is excellent for photos but having to crop is a pain.
b) Draft printing is "ok" but seems to leave smudges... I realize it is "draft printing" for a reason but smudges and leaving ink residue on my finger is not something I expected. Not a big issue but something I wasn't expecting.
c) Photos tend to bind on the paper tray below.... make sure to leave a piece of paper in the tray if you are printing photos on photo paper. I notice some of the photos were binding on the bottom tray right where the tray separates.
d) Wish it supported AirPrint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, so good. Set up was easy. The quality of the printing is good , especially considering the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very happy with this product

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington State
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a replacement for my HP Deskjet 840C, so you can figure that I'm no techie.
The unit was easy for me to set up. I had it working very quickly. It is fast enough for what I need. The quality of printing is very good. I like the fact that it scans and copies. Using it is rather intuitive.
The only problem I had was that I chose the wrong language at setup. The online help site gave clear instructions on how to correct my error.
This is an excellent all-in-one printer for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

User Unfriendly

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this hoping to use it right away but set up was too difficult without proper illustrations. I left it until about six months since I did want to go through the ordeal of returning an opened machine. Now I was able to get it to work with my laptop not my Desktop and yet I could not print black and white document even though I have both black and colored in in the machine. It is very frustrating having a scanner, printer and fax combo in the house and spending money everyday to print things aoutside. The scanner is working after a rigorous set up and I have not tried faxing but printing is a nightmare.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellient printer

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northern California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rear feed great for photo paper. Printing very fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WARNING DO NOT BUY

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Manchester UK
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Having bought the printer at 9am this morning 23/Aug/2011 it has taken four hours to install and get the wireless option working through my Mac-book pro ox 10.6
There is very little useful written information given and what is given might as well not be there that way HP could lower its own carbon footprint..
The so-called install CD took 17 attempts to load properly without it I could not access the right WIFI IP address page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

4-star printer

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good value for money. Printer provides all I expected to get. Wireless connection to pc, printing quality and color resolution are fine. I recommend it for personal use.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NY
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fairly easy to set up and get going. I have had it for about 2 weeks with no problems, I hope it continues that way. It is a little loud but who needs to print quietly anyway?
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fair

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the printer is limited, but fairly good.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Inexpensive Light Duty WiFi Printer

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all, it works fine with Microsoft Windows 7, Vista, and XP. So the complaints that it does not work with Windows 7 are nonsense, the complainer's computer is more than likely the problem and not the 3050. I also live in an large apartment complex (a couple HUNDRED units) that is WiFi polluted. I can see at least 40 WiFi Access Points, 15 of them wide open not even using WEP. I followed the setup instructions, set up the 3050's wireless by connecting the USB cable to my laptop, and it was done. I turn it off for days at a time, have power outages ... it never loses its connection to my off-the-shelf LinkSys router and never tries to connect to my neighbors' routers. And it prints faster via WiFi and crisper than my USB connected Epson. So - slow printing is not a fault of the printer like others claim. There's no SD slot ... big deal ... the next model up and additional $20 tacked onto the price tag gets you that. I've never used SD features on a printer anyway so it's no loss to me. The printer DOES suffer from a copier function ANNOYANCE that HP hasn't fixed yet from it's earlier models of All-In-One printers - the last bottom line of a sheet of paper being copied will not be printed. Unlike most printer mfgs who cut costs everywhere, HP has gone back to providing a USB printer cable and full ink cartridges (instead of 30 page trial ink cartridges). This is not your end all, do all printer. I use it with my laptops downstairs in my home for quick WiFi printing, scanning (which it does very well), and copying. And the earth-friendly tote bag used to pack the printer in was a nice, earth responsible touch. The 3050 is a printer that does what it says its does ... no more, no less. I question the computer technical capabilities of some of the reviewers who gave the 3050 a thumbs down, because it works out of the box like it's supposed to do. :^)
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product For A Home Or Small Business!

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this printer in a package so it was only half price at like $30 I believe. We always wanted a wireless and a scanner but we could never afford one but now we could so we jumped at the opportunity. It was very fast to set up. Only a wire which hooked into the computer and wall. Took me less than 2 minutes. We used the printer and the first thing I did was scan some pages of my Microsoft book for further references and it was very fast and easy. I just had a little trouble finding how to actually scan but that is just my low knowledge on scanners so I am not going to blame it on the printer. I have no problems with like the Wireless connection. Just sometimes when you are using it wirelessly it is a little bit slower but I do not know if that is just how wireless works. The quality is very nice in my opinion. On the lowest 75 dpi it is very good. I can read the words and such and the quality is amazing and 1200 dpi is extremely good quality so quality is not an issue with this printer. I would definitely get this printer. It is worth the $70 or if you get it for cheaper.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would never recommend Deskjet 3050 or 1055

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northridge, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would never recommend Deskjet 3050 or 1055 to anyone because they share the same problem that is they do not copy to the end of the page. unlike my older adorable Deskjet F4480 the quality of new Deskjet series are getting worst!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice printer, scanner, copier

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York City
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to set up. My only problem is printing from the computer it is difficult to get it to print in black & white only. Keeps printing in color almost all the time. That could get expensive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

what a nightmare.

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I paid extra for a wireless printer...that I can't use wirelessly. It is too busy trying to connect to my neighbor's secured wireless connections, that it forgets to connect to the one it was programmed to connect to. Connected to the computer via cord it's a great printer. My suggestion: if you live in an apartment building, don't bother with the wireless feature, you'll be wasting your money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent choice of purchase

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Living Room/Brooklyn,NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This machine provides me with ease and functionality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I hate this printer!

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not only does it take forever to print something after I hit PRINT, IT DOESN'T WARN YOU THAT YOU ARE LOW ON INK! YOU JUST RUN OUT! SUPRISE! Every printer I have ever owned always warns me when my ink is low...NOT THIS ONE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Memphis, TN
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the 3050 deskjet for my daughter as a gift and she loves it for printing a lot of documents. I don't know how it is as a photo printer because I didn't buy it for myself but I kind of wish I had now because the cartridges are alot cheaper than the Epson I have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer at Target a few months ago and love it. The wireless option works great. I have it set up in my sunroom and can print from anywhere in the house. It was easy to set up and haven't had any issues with the printing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good Purchase

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas,NV
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a Cannon MP 830..needed ink so i went to Best Buys to get the ink...to my surprise the ink was going to cost $65.00 plus tax......uncle sam...came across this Deskjet 3050 wireless for the price of $59.00 plus tax...guess what?.....i bought the wireless HP...went home, 15 min later....I had not only my Laptop but my Granddaughter Laptop running the wireless printer......easy....easy....to set up! Cannon MP 830 setting in the storage unit collecting dirt.....lol
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 3050 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best printer i ever had

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being my first printer it is the best one, it does everything i need. it prints very fast and prints Bold colors.
very easy to install.
once again best printer ever had!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.