HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a

HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating:
4.218 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(239 reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 239 reviews
5 Stars
142
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
7
1 Star
20
207 out of 239(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for dorm

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this for my daughter's first year at college and it installed quickly and easily. Unselected the performance reporting and bloatware during the install and it worked perfectly with Windows 7.
Doesn't have all the bells and whistles of an all-in-one but it fits on her desk when in use and folds up to get out of the way when she doesn't need it. As usual it doesn't come with a USB cable but it does have a handy carry bag if she wants to take it to a friend's room.
Over all, a simple good printer for well under $50. I'm sure she'll spend more than that for ink cartridges her first year.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this printer. It is easy to set upa nd so easy to use. I have 2 at home and one at work and they are "work horses" in that they see so many pages of data come off than any printer I have ever owned. I think HP products are great priced, easy to use and have excellent support. I have learned HP is the only brand I want to use. Try it you'll love the great low price and the excellent printing it does.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for print only.

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Blountsville, AL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a print only machine, and does exactly what it is supposed to do!! Does an excellent job on both color and black printing jobs. Will even print color pictures on plain copy paper!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Buy

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NYC
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a basic color inkjet printer, that's all it does,and it does it well. You can't beat the value for the price. Easy to set up, got the driver for my notepad from the website since I don't have a cd drive anymore and my old USB cable worked just fine.The printer is very light and compact and very quiet.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good printer

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Myers, fl.
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you are looking to buy an inexpensive good printer this would be it. It prints super fast and the ink isn't expensive either. Its simple to install and use. It does not have all the wonderful things other printers have but its simple even a 5 yearold can work it. I love it because of the price , performance, and its complication free. The print quality is wonderful as well......LOVE IT OVERALL.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit disappointed

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Blacksburg, Virginia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The set up went quickly and without a hitch. I used the attached c-d without a problem. The unit works and does what it is told. The estimated ink production does not meet advertised levels. After 104 pages of printing my black ink was dry and color close behind. I expected to be able to print more copies per ink cartridge.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

satisfactory purchase ever

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:kampala-uganda
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer is good for business and personal use.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like the printer, and have not had any problems. I would recommend this printer to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product has great features
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good bargain-priced printer

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i owned a 2500 series printer that lasted me 3-4 years. so i went to hp first when it came time to replace it. the 1000 is a good bargain-priced printer. a little noisy. a little slow. but it prints when i ask it to. so i'm happy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, So Far

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brandenburg, Ky
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only been using this product for a short time. Probably haven't made more than 10 copies, but no problems as of yet. If you decide to purchase this product, you have to purchase the 6 foot power cord separately. It is not included with the printer. The printer is small and compact and does not require a lot of space. The hook up was very easy and fast. For this low price, it seems to be a great bargain (so far).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Buy

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
At this price this is an excellent buy. However, it came without the data connect line, which I had to buy at $37, which is more than the price I paid for the printer! I wondered if they forgot to include the part but the installation instruction says "You may have to buy the data line separately," indicating that the missing part was intentional.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Printer

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been repairing computers and printers since 1960 and have never found a line of printers I like as well as HP. This model, the Deskjet 1000, is fast, simple to use, easy to install, and does a fantastic job for the price. I am now a published author and I do a lot of printing. The Deskjet 1000 does the job with ease and quietly, and is the sixth model printer I have owned. I have bought HPs from the low end to the top end and I like this one the best of all of them. It's even better than the workhorse HP PSC 1510 that I used for years and now my granddaughter uses it.
Good work, HP!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A decent printer without USB cable

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:IL
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The website says the printer cable is not included. I couldn't believe this would be true. It doesn't make any sense to me. Then I was reading customer reviews. One of the customer mentioned the box has everything she/he needed, and it took only 5 mins to set it up. That made me to "wish" the so-called "printer cable" was not the USB cable. So I purchased it without cable. When I opened the box, there was no USB cable. It just doesn't make any sense at all. I never had this experience with any other product purchase in my entire life. To me, this is worse than increasing the product price to include the USB cable.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Printer

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
A little slower than expected but can't knock the price.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was really surprised when I set up the DJ 1000. I have been using HP printers for nearly 30 years, from personal to business and professional. I got this because of the fantastic purchase price and the low cost for ink. Setup was super easy, following the graphical instructions. It prints really fast and the quality of print is as good as my expensive pro model. I'm very pleased.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got it for traveling

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was going on a cross country trip and wanted a printer for my laptop. This printer is perfect and easy to pack and unpack each day in the small box it came in. Works great and is fast.
Surprised at the generous amount of ink furnished. It is actually cheaper to buy a new printer than replacement ink.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to SET-UP!

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a really old T45xi that worked perfectly but, there were a few glitches getting it to work with Vista. This printer was really easy to set up and because I just wanted printing the interface was simple and there's not a lot of windows that open like when you scan, copy or fax a document.
Much easier to set up than an all in one Officejet. Excellent printer for the Money!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is easy to install and to use.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Roanoke, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not a technical person and the idea that I would be able to install this printer correctly so that I could use it completely surprised me and everyone who knows me. The directions and illustrations were so clear and helpful. I did not need to call HP for technical support to get it installed. Not everyone needs all the bells and whistles on a product to use it. I am very grateful to HP for producing an excellent printer and providing clear, uncomplicated instructions for its installation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 1000 Printer - J110a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Printer works after you go buy a USB cable

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
An elderly couple went looking for a simple printer to use in a simple houehold with limited computer skills and found the whole process confusing and complicated. I suppose it's an industry standard but, why sell a printer that doesn't come with everything needed to plug it up and use? A $3.99 USB cable could have had me printing the day I recieved the printer. I had to order one which took another week to arrive. And trying to navigate the HP web site to find out which cable was needed to make the HP 1000 work is a nightmare. No answers, no solutions. I had to go to a 3rd party vendor to find out what USB cable I needed to buy. I hope I don't need any technical support or warranty problems. I'm afraid that too will be a nightmare.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 to next page>>