HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laserjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn

hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn

HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
9 out of 15(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointment

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this MFP less than a year ago. It has been replaced with a refurbished machine 2x already and now gets jams every time I try to print. I have requested a NEW machine or full refund. Have been an HP customer for 34 yrs and they have to send my request to corporate for decision which will take 24 - 48 hrs. I need to work TODAY. Bye bye HP
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK for the price.

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Rafael, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed a backup medium duty combo machine, and this serves the purpose. The copies do show a partial line across one edge, as mentioned in previous reviews. It is unfortunate that engineering shortcomings such as this are now accepted as normal by a once proud company. I still have an HP color laser-jet 2840 that won't scan to Windows 7. Web blogs indicate this is a problem that the company refuses to fix, or is unable to fix. HP used to be the premier hardware technology company. I hope that Meg Whitman can get the company back on that track.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All the features you can ask for

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this because I had to replace my existing MFC. This by far is the best unit. has everything you need plus much more. I recommend this for anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy setup

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lake Crystal, MN
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After reading the reviews, chose this model and am very satisfied. Was easy to set up and use.
But trying to use the preset numbers, you have to arrow down 5 names at a time and takes too much time to get to the one that I want to select. Unless I'm missing something - is there an easier way to select a number since I have entered 80 names and numbers?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT RELIABLE

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southern California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I received the printer on 03/13, 2013, and it worked well until about a month ago, when I began noticing that when I copy from the document feeder the copies come out with a black line along the bottom edge of the paper starting from about 1/4 inch from the left side and all across to the right side. I contacted technical support, who had me do a firmware update, followed by a cleaning of the glass and rollers, which did not resolve the problem. I am being sent a refurbished unit, with the same warranty as a new unit. I have no problem with the handling of my case, with exception that the replacement should not be refurbished, it should be new.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great upgrade from my HP Laserjet 3380

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all, I was in love with my HP LaserJet 3380, which I bought around 10 years ago. That thing never gave me any real problems, and I used it daily in my business. However, I had a LaserJet 3330 at my home which developed an incurable case of the "scanner error" problem after 12 years of use, so I decided to upgrade my 3380 rather than push my luck. I consider 10 years with the same printer to be a really good run.
I am very impressed with the LaserJet Pro 400 MFP, which I am now using daily in my business. Having just set it up today, here are my initial impressions:
1) Much faster: It barely takes 3 seconds after pressing print in my word processor before the page is shooting out of the printer. This thing is crazy fast. My old 3380 took around 10 seconds. The document feeder is also much faster & noticeably so than the older printer.
2) Easier installation: This was truly plug and play, no CD installation required on a PC. I had no problems whatsoever with blank pages or black pages or lines on the page that some other people have described.
3) Noisier: The machine is much faster, but it's also a bit louder than my old 3380. After a print job is done, there is also some fan noise for about 20 seconds. It's not loud enough to be annoying, but it's noticeable. Personally, I prefer the speed increase and think it offsets any noise issue.
4) Good looking machine: It's smaller than my 3380 and looks great, but I do wish they made it in white or grey rather than all black. This is a minor issue, though. I also wish it had an open-access envelope feeder, rather than making me open the door, but this isn't a deal breaker for me. It still appears better-built than competing multi function machines out there, some of which are ridiculously flimsy (i.e. not built to last).
5) Cost effective: I priced out the cost per page when buying the extended toner cartridge, and it's among the most affordable printers out there. It's also cheaper per page than my old 3380, which I also priced out. Color me happy about that.
Hopefully this review helps you make a decision. I don't think you'll go wrong with this machine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT.....SO FAR

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Upland, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I have only had it a week, but so far it prints, copies, scans, and faxes very good, much better than the HP LaserJet 3380 it replaced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ADC FEEDER WORKS PERFECT-USE FIRMWARE UPDATE

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
use the firmware update on site and it will make the ADF work like magic. Mine was blank, as soon as I did the firmware update, perfect print. So far an excellent printer. I have no clue what all the fuss was or is about since HP did the firmware update. I tested the scanning today and it works perfect, easy to save using the save feature just name your file where to save and name of document and you are done.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The copier doesn't perform

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Geneva, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am getting a refund for my replacement of HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn. The copier function produces copies with lines, as soon as it is installed. My second try took 11 days for the lines to appear. There is a firmware fix, written 9/4/2012, but it doesn't work either. I really like the unit, but need the ability to make a copy without black lines.
Response from HPBy HPCustomer serviceNovember 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. In most cases, lines on copies/scans is related to contamination on the scan glass. Please refer to this video for help on cleaning the glass, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CGn7FJvH8sE
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Defective units

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just received my second HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn. The first units automatic document feeder didn't work. The second unit has a bad scanner which produces black lines on all scans and copies. I'd say HP has a quality control problem which needs work.
Response from HPBy HPCustomer serviceNovember 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. In most cases, lines on copies/scans is related to contamination on the scan glass. Please refer to this video for help on cleaning the glass, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CGn7FJvH8sE

+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!!

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I highly recommend this printer for small business use. We have 7 employees using it in a networked environment. It is connected directly to our router via ethernet. It was very easy to set up including the scan to email and scan to folder settings. It literally only took me 30 minutes to set the entire printer up and the first page out setup took 15 minutes. It is very fast at faxing and scanning.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ADF does not work

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Automatic document feeder DOA. Everything works fine except when using the automatic document feeder. Copying, scanning or sending faxes with the ADF results in a solid black page. Scanning, copying, or faxing by manually placing document on glass is fine. Disappointed since it never worked. Defective out of the box. I am returning this to the reseller and purchasing another brand.
Response from HPBy HPCustomer serviceNovember 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. HP released new firmware that resolved calibration faiures that resulted in some cases of blank and black copies. To download this firmware, please visit http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareIndex.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodNameId=5096244&prodTypeId=18972&prodSeriesId=5096243&swLang=8&taskId=135&swEnvOID=4063
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Springfield, MN
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Although it was fairly easy to install it only worked for about 1 day, not what is expected from a new printer/fax/copier. After one day all faxes sent out ended up being all black at the receiving facility. Could not get it fixed with a technician via phone. Sending back.
Response from HPBy HPCustomer serviceNovember 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. HP released new firmware that resolved calibration faiures that resulted in some cases of blank and black copies. To download this firmware, please visit http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareIndex.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodNameId=5096244&prodTypeId=18972&prodSeriesId=5096243&swLang=8&taskId=135&swEnvOID=4063
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST PRINTER EVER

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Westlake Village, CA
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This has been the worst printer of my life. I know I sound like I'm exaggerating, but trust when I say that this has been my nightmare. I 1st bought this printer a month ago, from the start a vertical black line going down the center appeared, I called HP, they were kind enough to send me a replacement. Got the 2nd printer, same issue. So finally they sent me a 3rd printer SAME ISSUE. This model is defective and I've never been so dissatisfied. It has everything I need in a printer, is very fast, quiet but this vertical line issue is a deal breaker. Do not buy this printer.
Response from HPBy HPCustomer serviceNovember 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. In most cases, lines on copies/scans is related to contamination on the scan glass. Please refer to this video for help on cleaning the glass, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CGn7FJvH8sE
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 MFP M425dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Met my expectations

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer does what it said it would do and it was very easy to set up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.