HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laserjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw

hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw

HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw Printer
Overall rating:
4.15 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
16 out of 20(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Stilwell,OK.
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love all the features!!!!But it would be more awesome if they have scanner or copier!!!!!.That's the only disappointed for not having a scanner or copier comes with it for the price of the printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this purchase

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Middle PA, PA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(HP Laserjet Pro 400 M451dw) is what all printers in this value should live up to. I have no issues with it at all. thank you HP
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

this product stinks

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:long island new york
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
To whom it may concern I consider HP products as some of the best , and use them in my architectural office for many years but........my experience to date with this product has me wanting to send it back, I have no idea as to how to load the paper in the trays "properly" and your pamphlet shows nothing, I went and called the HP number given only to wait on the phonr for 35 minutes and then get a women who had no idea of the product, I am sure this will fall on deaf ears but this makes me think before secifying your product again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect color printer

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used many black/white laser printers over the years, I've used several inkjet printers too. This is my first color laser printer. I'm very impressed by the quality and speed of printing. I'm not so impressed with the software installation using the software-from-the-printer option. It failed (Windows 7 PC). However, the installation from the CD worked perfectly. All is well that ends well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Downloaded latest software from support website

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Woodland, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Didn't work initially, there was a recurring error: error 79 turn off then turn on
Worked fine after downloading latest software (new software allowed firm upgrade as well)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product performed as expected

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooksville, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delivery was surprisingly quick after placing the order. The wireless features were easy to setup and was recognized by all users. It is hard to get the "eprint" feature going but with practice, it worked fine. The hook up with the tablet worked out. I strongly suggest downloading the user manual because you can figure how to use the buttons on the printer.
if you upgrade the memory, you will need to read the user manual to get the memory recognized. It is not difficult but you need to see where on the menu you do it. The retaining clips to hold the memory chip in place are very fragile and will break. I think the clips would have been better in metal than the plastic. The cartridges are easy to replace but you will need room to pull out the cartridge drawer/rack.The problem with the automatic duplexing feature being the default was not a default on my printer. You will have to open the menu to access this feature but you will have to turn it off after using it. The menus that I am referring to are in the software that is accessed by your computer. All users through the wireless connections can change the setup. Also as with all new electronic equipment, especially printers with toner cartridges, you have to get used to the initial burn smell and that will fade. Enjoy!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

set up was a breeze

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Dakoa
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am running Vista Business on 3 computers I put the CD in each and ran the wizard, Wired Network . Everything worked no problems.
Very heavy,
getting a few more paper jams than I had with my HP 2600, we will see long term how that goes.
happy over all
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I wanted in a printer, and more

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pelican Rapids, MN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the past I have always used Dell printers, but I took a chance on the HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw, and could not be happier for the decision! I run a small business that produces a small/medium output of printed material. This HP printer not only keeps up with my demand, the quality is excellent too. I used to have trouble printing on envelopes, and postcards, but not any more. This HP has printed everything that I have thrown at it. And so far I'm very happy with the toner use, it doesn't seem to be buring through toner, and I still have the toner that came with the printer and they're not even half used (and I've gone through 2+ reams of paper just in December). I will be purchasing the extra paper drawer, I really don't have to, but it would be nice to have when I'm using different print media throughout the day. The other things that I love - the duplex printing! WOW! and the small size of the printer, and I thought the cost was pretty reasonable. The printer is not super quiet (it's not super loud either), but then again neither were the other printers that I've owned. Definitely a perfect fit for me. I would recommend this printer to anyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product was not what I expected

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Queens Village, NY
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Upon initial use of printer, print-outs were streaking; color distorted; totally unsatisfied. Printer had to be returned; awaiting another printer to see if better performance. Could be that it was one bad apple in the bunch...
Not what I expected from HP, as HP as been at the top of my printer listing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very poor design

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The set up for legal paper is ridiculous. You are required to leave the tray sticking out to use legal paper. This design is a joke.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic delivery on time EASY setup!!

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Claremore, OK
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product was delivered quickly and as promised, It was expertly packaged and protected. The set up went quickly and easily. The product performance is exceptional. The whole process should be used as a model for all electronic service and product providers. I am a "mature" user with intermediate computer skills. It was good to be able to tell someone they "did good".
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best HP yet

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for its color and wireless capability to replace a 2200d that would not run on Windows 7, but otherwise was running great. Quality is great. Outstanding color. Ease of set up is very good. I found that to avoid the default color/double sided printing, it was necessary to set up the printer shortcuts to print the way I do - normally black and single sided. East to set up the shortcuts but you MUST set printing to grayscale. It took me hours to figure this out, but it's the only way to stop color default. But using the printer shortcuts is definitely the way to go.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything is great

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have hard time to understand WPA, WPS, etc. I never notice these until this printer. I had to call
HP support. They told me that my router is WPA. They bypassed it. The printer is working great. Later I will get a WPS Router. Then reinstall.
Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good unit

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One warning: this sucker is *heavy*. I had a color LaserJet prior to this (logic board died), and it was lighter *with* an extra paper tray. LIft with your legs -- I'm not kidding.
The setup is easy enough, though when you're using the front panel for the first time (or after a while), you'll be guessing a lot which way the menu structure goes. Some menu titles in the front panel configuration could have been better thought out.
Compared to my previous LaserJet, this one spits the printed pages forward, as opposed to in the back, which is good. It seems to take up less space, as well, and I hope the auto-sleep will save me a few cents on electricity compared to the old one.
The toner trays look puny, so I'm curious how long they will actually last.
But the printer is quick, compact, and easy to setup and use. Just remember to lift with your legs.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Printer has good features

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wellsboro, PA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This printer has really good features. Print quality is excellent. It is easy to use. The toner is quite expensive compared to my last hp LaserJet. My biggest complaint is that I can't get it to print on one side only if I print more than one page. For example, if I am printing pictures for a photo album, I cannot send more than one page of pictures or it will print on both sides. I have went in to turn the double sided print off, but it prints on both sides anyway. My last printer had the double sided printing on it and it was extremely easy to use. This one is set up the same way, but doesn't want to work correctly. It is for that reason only that I give it 3 stars.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extrememely capable product.

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A smart looking, capable printer which produces exceptional products. Easy to set up and use. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a new printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gallup, NM
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The printer is excellent for our small office use. The setup instructions for wireless setup were hard to follow but once I called and received support the printer worked great. Everyone in the office can print wirelessly and quickly to this printer. An added bonus is the ability to print from anywhere via HPePrint and to print from my iPad and iPhone. The print quality is GREAT. I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Takes some getting used to.

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tewksbury, MA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So far the printer works very well. The prints are beautiful, the machine is quiet (relatively) and setup was a cinch. There are however a few quirks. For one, you must recheck the two-sided setting before every print; the printer likes to decide on its own whether to print two-sided or not. When this function is activated, it works flawlessly. Also, I have on occassion tried printing every other page and that does not work at all. If you use Windows 7 (64) as I do, you may want to consider another printer if you will need to use these types of functions very much. This is my second LaserJet and the first one did not like Windows 7 (64) either. I never could get the duplex printing to function, even after lots of back and forth with HP. Maybe a future driver upgrade will fix it all. I hope so.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indiana
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We are very happy with the printer. It does a very good job. We purchased it to make mailers and brochures for our small business. The print quality is very nice. The duplexer is a little difficult to figure out to get it to do automatic duplexing, depending on the paper, etc. Overall, it is a good printer for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fit

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits in relatively small space. Excellent print quality. Software on CD does not work with OS X Lion. Had to download appropriate software. Other than that easy setup.
Paper trays stick out and leave paper exposed to dust & dirt when legal paper loaded.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.