HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laserjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn

hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn

HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Overall rating:
4.133 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
12 out of 15(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Great, Color Workhorse Nearing End of Its Life

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sunny Southern OR Coast
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my second purchase of this printer. My first was may a year earlier and is functioning well right beside this new printer.
My needs suggested a second, color printer with duplexing, and I had no qualms about getting a second of these HP451dn's. I've liked my experience with the first during the prior year. It seems to be conservative with toner use, tho there are 4 toner cartridges to maintain. Replace them all with HP toner & you've paid more than the price of the printer. But I use color very selectively, so the trail color cartridges that came with my first HP451 are all still in use 15 months later.
The downsides of this printer is that (1) it allows 256mb add-on memory to flush out its memory to 384mb; the major manufacturers as well as HP no longer offer this module so you have to scrounge for it at relatively high prices; (2) the printer is not the fastest printer by any means; (3) HP's documentation quality is bifurcated: either VERY detailed & sophisticated, or sorely lacking. You'll have to scratch around if you have any need for the PCL commands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it every bit as much as my old HP.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am particularly happy with the two-sided printing which I expect to be using frequently. I never had that before and it is amazingly fast. The extra cost for that feature will be more than made up in the savings on paper and the speed with which it produces the finished product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Typical HP!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Joliet, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned other printers, but HP always delivers top perferformance, quality, & reliability. I was not quite plug-n-play, but I set it up as a network printer. Even then, it was relatively easy with discovery software. The extra tray was instantly recognized when the top tray was empty...of course. What can I say? HP is the only brand I buy simply due to cost vs.value. They last longer than any other printer and print the best color laser image you will ever see...YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great duplexing printer

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Loas ANgeles
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this unit. The duplexing feature works just as you would expect. The driver was difficult to install (Windows 7) and failed several times, no idea why. Driver installation for OSX was flawless.
Once installed the printer works great. I upgraded the memory to 384MB and have no complaints about the unit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice workhorse

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NW ARK
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice color laser printer for a small business setting, good for signs, everyday printing, not the fastest printer out there but a lot of bang for the buck
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sylvania, OH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is great. First of all, hp website is so easy to use. Ordered at a great price & cartridges at a discount. Got it delivered in a couple of days as promised. Set-up was phenomenal - so quick and easy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice printer!

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Joliet, IL
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received the printer this morning. It is replacing a fairly new Epson Artison 810. I got tired of always replacing ink, the cartridges are very small. At work I have an HP and its been very reliable.
I literally took it out of the box, removed some tape for shipping, plugged the power cord followed by an ethernet cable to my router and powered on. That is it! Mac installation is always easy but this was extra breezy! My iPhone, iPad and iMac all recognized the printer without needing any special software at all. I guess the included CD is for the Windows crowd. I was hesitant to buy because some of the earlier reviews mentioned difficulty changing 2-sided printing and difficulty changing to just black and white. I suppose this might be a Windows issue, if any, because for Mac users a 2 year old could figure both out without installing any software!
The only thing about the printer was that I noticed a little bit of a strange noise when it's starting up from power-save mode. It goes for a few seconds and goes away. I am hoping it just needs a little breaking in since it goes away quickly. Also the Airprint feature does not allow for choosing between black and white or color. It does allow for 2-sided preference selection. So that means that when I print from my iPhone or iPad I will only be able to print in color but I can choose 2-sided printing. Not a big deal! I am printing from a mobile device!
As you can see the Pro's are great and the cons seem very minimal. I had lot's of projects I was working on today and it came at a good time. Since I used it quite a bit today I wanted to review it since I was quickly impressed. I hope you get it while it's still on sale! Can't beat this printer, with features, for the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Deal for Hawaii

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been looking for a quality business level Color Laser Printer for around a year. I have owned HP printers and still do. My first a Laserjet II, then Laserjet 6MP(maybe the best B/W printer ever for its day) and still works today except the plastic is brittle and breaking, Epson 1500 (a bust, never worked right), then finally a HP 6127 Inkjet. The HP 6127 is another great printer. It just works and prints anything and everything you send it on the network from any of my computers. My HP 6127 is beginning to age and the ink cartridges are getting harder to find.
So with the cost of color laser printers coming down was thinking I could find a HP unit for around $1K that would be very reliable and versatile. I seem to end up printing on card stock, game cards, index cards, and printing pictures and wanted a printer that would print from anything; have machines from win2000 through macs and ipads and iphones.
I looked around and saw the HP M451 Color Printer on sale at local store. I had asked about the higher end color printers there before and was directed to another supplier as it was not a common printer and demand was low. The HP M451 features were intriguing. So I decided to call HP for additional presales information.
The sales person was very polite and answered as many of my questions as she could. When I told her I saw the printer here locally on sale, she told me it was on sale at the HP Office Store too. Ok, I figured was same price and HP could never ship it to Hawaii and beat the local store. I was completely blown away when I learned that the HP price was cheaper and SHIPPING TO HAWAII WAS FREE!!! Thank You HP!!! Only a few other stores do this, Amazon being one.
Printer arrived here in Hawaii two days later (earlier than forecasted). I opened the box, setup the printer, plugged it into the network, and turned it on. Only minor thing was a sheet of paper must have been missing telling me what to do to remove the printer packing material... but I knew the cartridges were sealed and I needed to remove packing tape from previous printer setups.
The printer works great. The Mac recognized it immediately. Had some minor issues with XP, but finally got drivers loaded on my multiple machines. My windows 2000 machine was the only issue. There is a windows 2000 folder on the driver disk and it attempted to load it, but it gives an error at the last step. So I used the HP 6mp driver to print to it. This works for simple stuff. I cannot do the duplexing and I cannot do card printing as the margins don't get set correctly. So gave HP a 4 as they really should have supported earlier software; easy to do.
Overall this printer is a fantastic printer. It sits silently on the network in power saving mode. It wakes up when you send print jobs to it. It cleans itself. It goes back to sleep. I did have one file I sent it and something choked. It never woke up and printed. It was a big graphics job. Maybe there was a problem with too much graphics information (not enough memory in printer) or a bad HTML translation. Besides this, the printer just works. Next, plan to setup its email address so I can print with my ipad to it. Time will tell if this printer has the lasting endurance of ALL my previous HP printers. So far, HP has not let me down.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451dn
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.3 / 5
3.3 / 5
4 out of 7 recommend this product